Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Forum FAQ contains answers to many frequently asked questions, please browse or search there before posting.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: AMD Athlon 3000+ correct bios settings  (Read 3522 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

guerreiro2

  • Specs:
  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
AMD Athlon 3000+ correct bios settings
« on: 02-October-09, 11:50:52 »

Hi,

Please, I need the correct MANUAL settings for the bios of a MSI-KT4V to upgrade a 1800+ to a 3000+ (AMD Athlon XP 3000+ - AXDA3000DKV4D).

I need everything manual because in auto I didn't get any luck (it appears the 3000+ but becomes very instable, it boots but then shutdown and starts beeping), such voltage, Memory settings, FSB, etc. (Please all settings manual)

Brief specs of my PC:

AMD ATHLON 1800+ (333Mhz)
Corsair HX520 W
2 sticks DDRAM 400
MSI KT4V

Kind regards,

Paulo Guerreiro
Logged
Corsair HX 520W
Asus P6T Motherboard
Intel Core I7 920 2.66MHZ
Radeon Sapphire HD 3870
2x3GB Corsair XMS3 1600MHZ
2 DVD RW (Pioneer & Optiarc)
2 HDD IDE (Seagate & Samsung)
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64

eagle2

  • Afterburner
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 151
Re: AMD Athlon 3000+ correct bios settings
« Reply #1 on: 02-October-09, 12:38:57 »

Clear cmos

Set cpu frequency/bus speed to 166MHz

Set memory speed to 166/333ddr

Press F10(save and exit)

On restart go back into bios, check that the cpu is at around 2167MHz, go to hardware monitor, check voltages and cpu temperature over 5 minutes or so to allow cpu to reach a stable temperature.

If instability continues check motherboard for signs of blown capacitors and test your memory with a memtest boot disk. What memory is it(make, PC rating)?.
« Last Edit: 02-October-09, 12:42:32 by eagle2 »
Logged

guerreiro2

  • Specs:
  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
Re: AMD Athlon 3000+ correct bios settings
« Reply #2 on: 02-October-09, 12:49:23 »

Thank you eagle2, I'll try.
Logged
Corsair HX 520W
Asus P6T Motherboard
Intel Core I7 920 2.66MHZ
Radeon Sapphire HD 3870
2x3GB Corsair XMS3 1600MHZ
2 DVD RW (Pioneer & Optiarc)
2 HDD IDE (Seagate & Samsung)
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64

guerreiro2

  • Specs:
  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
Re: AMD Athlon 3000+ correct bios settings
« Reply #3 on: 02-October-09, 12:50:54 »

The memory brand is ADATA.
Logged
Corsair HX 520W
Asus P6T Motherboard
Intel Core I7 920 2.66MHZ
Radeon Sapphire HD 3870
2x3GB Corsair XMS3 1600MHZ
2 DVD RW (Pioneer & Optiarc)
2 HDD IDE (Seagate & Samsung)
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64

guerreiro2

  • Specs:
  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
Re: AMD Athlon 3000+ correct bios settings
« Reply #4 on: 02-October-09, 12:57:11 »

Sorry, VDATA 512MB each stick ddr 400Mhz
Logged
Corsair HX 520W
Asus P6T Motherboard
Intel Core I7 920 2.66MHZ
Radeon Sapphire HD 3870
2x3GB Corsair XMS3 1600MHZ
2 DVD RW (Pioneer & Optiarc)
2 HDD IDE (Seagate & Samsung)
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64

guerreiro2

  • Specs:
  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
Re: AMD Athlon 3000+ correct bios settings
« Reply #5 on: 02-October-09, 13:28:43 »

how can i see in bios if the cpu is at around 2167MHz?
Logged
Corsair HX 520W
Asus P6T Motherboard
Intel Core I7 920 2.66MHZ
Radeon Sapphire HD 3870
2x3GB Corsair XMS3 1600MHZ
2 DVD RW (Pioneer & Optiarc)
2 HDD IDE (Seagate & Samsung)
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64

eagle2

  • Afterburner
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 151
Re: AMD Athlon 3000+ correct bios settings
« Reply #6 on: 02-October-09, 16:24:42 »

The cpu speed is on the POST screen(first screen which shows when turning on). It's also given in Control Panel>System.
Logged

chef jeff

  • Platinum
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 435
Re: AMD Athlon 3000+ correct bios settings
« Reply #7 on: 02-October-09, 17:09:53 »

You may find this useful.  http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php
Logged
K8N Diamond Plus MS7220 AMI 1.34
Silverstone LC10M
AMD Opteron 185 @ 2991 1.42v
2X 1 GB Mushkin Enhanced Redline 991493 3-3-2-8CR1 2.8v
2X EVGA 896-P3-1265-AR GeForce GTX 260 Core 216 896MB 448-bit GDDR3 one superclocked edition 1267-AR in SLI
CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX 850W & 70a on 12V
2x WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 1 & 2
ASUS DRW-22B1LT SATA 3
AVerMedia AVerTV Combo PCIe M780WB
APC Smart UPS 700
Vista Ultimate service pack 2, XP Pro 64, & karmic koala
The lot under water

K9ND Speedster MS-9652 Ver. 1.1  Bios 2.20
2 x Opteron 2.8GHz OSY2220GAA6CQ  Water
4 x 2 GB Hynix HYMP525P72CP4-Y5
Corsair TX750
PNY Verto 9600GT and a very old, small Tatung touch screen
XP Pro x 64

Stu

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19581
  • Birmingham, UK
    • StuOnline.co.uk
Re: AMD Athlon 3000+ correct bios settings
« Reply #8 on: 02-October-09, 20:05:18 »

Hi,

Please, I need the correct MANUAL settings for the bios of a MSI-KT4V to upgrade a 1800+ to a 3000+ (AMD Athlon XP 3000+ - AXDA3000DKV4D).

I need everything manual because in auto I didn't get any luck (it appears the 3000+ but becomes very instable, it boots but then shutdown and starts beeping), such voltage, Memory settings, FSB, etc. (Please all settings manual)

Brief specs of my PC:

AMD ATHLON 1800+ (333Mhz)
Corsair HX520 W
2 sticks DDRAM 400
MSI KT4V

Kind regards,

Paulo Guerreiro


Do you actually have a XP3000+ CPU? Or are you trying to overclock an XP1800+ CPU? ???
Logged
Former moderator and admin, 2004-2012

guerreiro2

  • Specs:
  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
Re: AMD Athlon 3000+ correct bios settings
« Reply #9 on: 03-October-09, 01:32:04 »

Yes,  I really own an Athlon 3000+.

And with all your help I manage to put working the 3000+.

Thx   :)
Logged
Corsair HX 520W
Asus P6T Motherboard
Intel Core I7 920 2.66MHZ
Radeon Sapphire HD 3870
2x3GB Corsair XMS3 1600MHZ
2 DVD RW (Pioneer & Optiarc)
2 HDD IDE (Seagate & Samsung)
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64
Pages: [1]   Go Up