Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This is a User-to-User community forum run by MSI users for MSI users. If you need to contact MSI directly see: How to contact MSI

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Crossfire bridges  (Read 1491 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

TkOut

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
Crossfire bridges
« on: 14-March-11, 15:14:48 »

I have two 6970s, each one comes with a crossfire bridge and each card has two bridge ports.

How many of the bridge cables and ports do I use with only a two card configuration?

Does it matter which ports I use the cable on?

Thanks!
Logged
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T
MS-7640 BIOS 1.4
4 x 2GB Crucial PC3-10600 CAS 9 1.5v
2 x MSI 5870 1GB
1 x WD Raptor 300GB, 1 x WDBE 1TB 64MB, 1 x WDBE 1TB 32MB, 1 x LiteOn Blu-ray Combo
Creative X-Fi Fata1ity Pro
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Enermax Revolution85+ 850watt w/6 x 12V rails with 30A output

Mark

  • Xpower
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4643
  • Former Moderator
Re: Crossfire bridges
« Reply #1 on: 14-March-11, 16:50:25 »

You just connect one bridge. I'd suggest you connect it to the port closest to the back plate of the card.
Logged

TkOut

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
Re: Crossfire bridges
« Reply #2 on: 14-March-11, 17:09:07 »

The crazy thing is I'm trying to find this information and it seems like everyone if very confused on this topic.

The manuals don't say what to do either. Just has a image of what looks like two bridges connected.
Logged
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T
MS-7640 BIOS 1.4
4 x 2GB Crucial PC3-10600 CAS 9 1.5v
2 x MSI 5870 1GB
1 x WD Raptor 300GB, 1 x WDBE 1TB 64MB, 1 x WDBE 1TB 32MB, 1 x LiteOn Blu-ray Combo
Creative X-Fi Fata1ity Pro
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Enermax Revolution85+ 850watt w/6 x 12V rails with 30A output

Mark

  • Xpower
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4643
  • Former Moderator
Re: Crossfire bridges
« Reply #3 on: 14-March-11, 17:15:48 »

The subject is a bit contradictory. Some people will claim you need both connected but in fact this is not true; people have even claimed it causes problems. You only need one bridge connected for two cards, two bridges for three cards and three bridges for four cards.
Logged

TkOut

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
Re: Crossfire bridges
« Reply #4 on: 14-March-11, 23:44:16 »

Well it seems like it took care of the erratic fan throttling. Seems to be OK as I noticed that the both cards were being used on the Crysis 2 Demo while monitoring with Afterburner.
Logged
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T
MS-7640 BIOS 1.4
4 x 2GB Crucial PC3-10600 CAS 9 1.5v
2 x MSI 5870 1GB
1 x WD Raptor 300GB, 1 x WDBE 1TB 64MB, 1 x WDBE 1TB 32MB, 1 x LiteOn Blu-ray Combo
Creative X-Fi Fata1ity Pro
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Enermax Revolution85+ 850watt w/6 x 12V rails with 30A output

Mark

  • Xpower
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4643
  • Former Moderator
Re: Crossfire bridges
« Reply #5 on: 15-March-11, 10:57:57 »

Well it seems like it took care of the erratic fan throttling. Seems to be OK as I noticed that the both cards were being used on the Crysis 2 Demo while monitoring with Afterburner.

:biggthumbsup:
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up