Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Forum FAQ contains answers to many frequently asked questions, please browse or search there before posting.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 2.2T Boot screen 890FXA-GD70  (Read 10656 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Darren W

  • Cyclone
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
2.2T Boot screen 890FXA-GD70
« on: 11-June-11, 14:54:22 »

Is there a way to disable the 2.2T splash screen?  If I disable it in the bios in the boot sequence field the computer will not boot and says that there is no bootable drive.  My boot sequence is DVD, HD and "other" yes.
Boot 1-DVD
Boot 2-HD
2.2T- enabled-when set to disable will not boot (sorry I forget what this field says)
2.2T- enabled-when set to disbale will not boot (sorry I forget what this field says)
other- yes
And also I do not have the 2.2T enables in boot sequence.
But the 2.2T sceen comes up saying hit any key to select boot drive.
Thanks
Logged
Windows 7 Ult 64
MSI 890FXA GD70
AMD Phenom II 1090T
WD 750G Caviar Black HDD
Corsair H60
Corsair TX850 PS
HAF 922
Memory (to be decided)
Video (to be decided)

Ex Forum User 3

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26817
Re: 2.2T Boot screen 890FXA-GD70
« Reply #1 on: 11-June-11, 14:56:14 »

It's probably a BIOS add-on module to load >2TB (real size) drives.
So yes you can get rid of it by booting smaller drives then 2TB, so you can disable it.
Logged

Darren W

  • Cyclone
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
Re: 2.2T Boot screen 890FXA-GD70
« Reply #2 on: 11-June-11, 16:04:19 »

When it is disabled computer will not boot says not bootable drive.
Logged
Windows 7 Ult 64
MSI 890FXA GD70
AMD Phenom II 1090T
WD 750G Caviar Black HDD
Corsair H60
Corsair TX850 PS
HAF 922
Memory (to be decided)
Video (to be decided)

Stu

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19581
  • Birmingham, UK
    • StuOnline.co.uk
Re: 2.2T Boot screen 890FXA-GD70
« Reply #3 on: 11-June-11, 16:18:09 »

What size HDD do you have? >>Posting Guide<<
Logged
Former moderator and admin, 2004-2012

Darren W

  • Cyclone
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
Re: 2.2T Boot screen 890FXA-GD70
« Reply #4 on: 11-June-11, 23:40:46 »

MSI 890FXA-GD70 bios 1.8
CORSAIR CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9B 8G @ 1333
ROSEWILL|RBR1000-M 1000W RT
AMD|PH II X4 975 3.6G AM3 RT max temp 42'
CORSAIR| CWCH60 R
WD7502AAEX HD
PNY 560ti
just wd750
boots fine unless I disable 2.2T in bios
I am trying to clean up start up
Logged
Windows 7 Ult 64
MSI 890FXA GD70
AMD Phenom II 1090T
WD 750G Caviar Black HDD
Corsair H60
Corsair TX850 PS
HAF 922
Memory (to be decided)
Video (to be decided)

Stu

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19581
  • Birmingham, UK
    • StuOnline.co.uk
Re: 2.2T Boot screen 890FXA-GD70
« Reply #5 on: 12-June-11, 11:20:53 »

Quote
WD7502AAEX HD

= WD 750GB SATA 6Gb/s HDD


Did you install Windows with this 2.2T enabled?

And which SATA port is it connected to?
« Last Edit: 12-June-11, 12:43:46 by Stu »
Logged
Former moderator and admin, 2004-2012

Darren W

  • Cyclone
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
Re: 2.2T Boot screen 890FXA-GD70
« Reply #6 on: 12-June-11, 15:33:06 »

There is no 2.2T hd in my rig and never has been, 2.2TB infinity was enabled in bios during install (in default)
HD in SATA 1
DVD SATA 6
No other SATA devices installed
Boot seq. DVD, HDD, third disabled, other is "yes"
2.2TB Infinity- enabled
When I disable this I get message on boot
"reboot and select proper boot device or insert boot media in selected drive......."
Which is messed up becasue the boot sequence is DVD and then HDD
2.2TB infinity time out- enabled (which dissapears when I disable the 2.2TB infinity)
This is very annoying and strange
Does any have this board with the 2.2T disabled?
Logged
Windows 7 Ult 64
MSI 890FXA GD70
AMD Phenom II 1090T
WD 750G Caviar Black HDD
Corsair H60
Corsair TX850 PS
HAF 922
Memory (to be decided)
Video (to be decided)

Stu

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19581
  • Birmingham, UK
    • StuOnline.co.uk
Re: 2.2T Boot screen 890FXA-GD70
« Reply #7 on: 12-June-11, 15:35:37 »

Quote
Does any have this board with the 2.2T disabled?

Yes, me. :lol_anim:

Disable 2.2TB Infinity, and remove any trace from boot sequence list. Save and restart, then enter BIOS settings again. Set your HDD as the first boot device.
Logged
Former moderator and admin, 2004-2012

Darren W

  • Cyclone
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
Re: 2.2T Boot screen 890FXA-GD70
« Reply #8 on: 12-June-11, 15:46:58 »

If I set my HDD as first boot how do I boot from DVD? or USB? Won't it just boot from the first boot device it finds?
If it found no boot in DVD should it not then go to the HDD and then Boot?-
« Last Edit: 12-June-11, 15:53:01 by Darren W »
Logged
Windows 7 Ult 64
MSI 890FXA GD70
AMD Phenom II 1090T
WD 750G Caviar Black HDD
Corsair H60
Corsair TX850 PS
HAF 922
Memory (to be decided)
Video (to be decided)

Lithium466

  • Twin Frozr
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 76
Re: 2.2T Boot screen 890FXA-GD70
« Reply #9 on: 12-June-11, 16:08:05 »

You can use the "boot menu" (don't remember, F9 or F11 or F12 during post) if necessary  :smile:
I don't have the same motherboard, but I do have a "2,2Tb infinity" utility, currently disabled.
Logged
MSI 890GXM-G65
Phenom II X6 1055T & Zalman CNPS10x Flex
2x 2Go Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz
BeQuiet Straight Power E7 400W (+12V 30A)

Darren W

  • Cyclone
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
Re: 2.2T Boot screen 890FXA-GD70
« Reply #10 on: 12-June-11, 16:13:32 »

I took Stu's advied and tried
disabled 2.2T, saved, reboot
set boot device to HDD, DVD no 2.2T and got
"reboot and select proper boot device or insert boot media in selected drive......."
Looks like I might be stuck with 2.2T screen on start
Should I change SATA ports for HDD and DVD?
Stu what bios are you running? Maybe thats the issue I am on 1.8
« Last Edit: 12-June-11, 16:21:16 by Darren W »
Logged
Windows 7 Ult 64
MSI 890FXA GD70
AMD Phenom II 1090T
WD 750G Caviar Black HDD
Corsair H60
Corsair TX850 PS
HAF 922
Memory (to be decided)
Video (to be decided)

Lithium466

  • Twin Frozr
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 76
Re: 2.2T Boot screen 890FXA-GD70
« Reply #11 on: 12-June-11, 17:05:52 »

What about disabling only the 2,2Tb infinity timeout ?
Logged
MSI 890GXM-G65
Phenom II X6 1055T & Zalman CNPS10x Flex
2x 2Go Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz
BeQuiet Straight Power E7 400W (+12V 30A)

Stu

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19581
  • Birmingham, UK
    • StuOnline.co.uk
Re: 2.2T Boot screen 890FXA-GD70
« Reply #12 on: 12-June-11, 17:21:26 »

If I set my HDD as first boot how do I boot from DVD? or USB? Won't it just boot from the first boot device it finds?
If it found no boot in DVD should it not then go to the HDD and then Boot?-

Lets face it, for every day use, you're only ever going to need to boot from your system OS. I personally just set the HDD containing my OS as the only bootable device. Now, in those rare cases when you need to boot from USB or CD/DVD, there is always the Boot Menu for that purpose, which you access by pressing F11 during POST (when the BIOS logo shows).

Quote
Stu what bios are you running? Maybe thats the issue I am on 1.8

Having checked as I really didn't know (:laugh:) I'm actually on 1.9, but never noticed this issue on previous BIOS versions.

Quote
Looks like I might be stuck with 2.2T screen on start

If everything else works otherwise, then yes, leave it enabled if it that works. The splash screen won't show if you disable the 'timeout' option, as Lithium466 advises.

However, if you're prepared to dig a little deeper, with Infinity disabled (when your HDD won't boot), try booting from your Windows 7 DVD and seeing if you can get it to repair your current installation.
Logged
Former moderator and admin, 2004-2012

Darren W

  • Cyclone
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
Re: 2.2T Boot screen 890FXA-GD70
« Reply #13 on: 12-June-11, 18:38:18 »

I will try disabling the time out.
Thanks
Logged
Windows 7 Ult 64
MSI 890FXA GD70
AMD Phenom II 1090T
WD 750G Caviar Black HDD
Corsair H60
Corsair TX850 PS
HAF 922
Memory (to be decided)
Video (to be decided)

Darren W

  • Cyclone
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
Re: 2.2T Boot screen 890FXA-GD70
« Reply #14 on: 12-June-11, 19:02:41 »

That was messed up.  Disabled time- forced me to choose boot device HDD or DVD.   Went into bios, set boot seq. HDD only- still asked me to choose HDD or DVD.  And before you ask yes I saved before exit(went back to make sure).  Maybe it is a new rev of board (ver 1.3).  You know "improved".  I think I will have to live with 2.2TB splash screen.
Whose brilliant idea was it to put the SB leds behind PCIE slot 1 cant see them through the video card :bonk:
Just noticed that all four cpu phase leds are now stuck on regardless of cpu usage, they were working normally (sigh).
« Last Edit: 12-June-11, 19:51:14 by Darren W »
Logged
Windows 7 Ult 64
MSI 890FXA GD70
AMD Phenom II 1090T
WD 750G Caviar Black HDD
Corsair H60
Corsair TX850 PS
HAF 922
Memory (to be decided)
Video (to be decided)

Lithium466

  • Twin Frozr
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 76
Re: 2.2T Boot screen 890FXA-GD70
« Reply #15 on: 13-June-11, 11:06:13 »

What happened when you use the boot menu, pressing F11 during post ? Have you choose the right hard drive in the hard drive list ?
Logged
MSI 890GXM-G65
Phenom II X6 1055T & Zalman CNPS10x Flex
2x 2Go Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz
BeQuiet Straight Power E7 400W (+12V 30A)

Darren W

  • Cyclone
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
Re: 2.2T Boot screen 890FXA-GD70
« Reply #16 on: 13-June-11, 16:52:10 »

I only have one hard drive in computer.
If I have to hit f11, I mine as well just let it go to 2.2T screen- just as quick
I guess I will just have to live with it.
Logged
Windows 7 Ult 64
MSI 890FXA GD70
AMD Phenom II 1090T
WD 750G Caviar Black HDD
Corsair H60
Corsair TX850 PS
HAF 922
Memory (to be decided)
Video (to be decided)

Lithium466

  • Twin Frozr
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 76
Re: 2.2T Boot screen 890FXA-GD70
« Reply #17 on: 13-June-11, 16:57:13 »

No, what happened if you disable 2,2Tb infinity, than use the boot menu. Does you hard drive appear, and can you boot, or not ?
Logged
MSI 890GXM-G65
Phenom II X6 1055T & Zalman CNPS10x Flex
2x 2Go Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz
BeQuiet Straight Power E7 400W (+12V 30A)

Darren W

  • Cyclone
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
Re: 2.2T Boot screen 890FXA-GD70
« Reply #18 on: 13-June-11, 17:20:48 »

Hard drive appears and I can boot.
I was just trying to decrease start up times, so It just seems to me that I will have to deal with it
Logged
Windows 7 Ult 64
MSI 890FXA GD70
AMD Phenom II 1090T
WD 750G Caviar Black HDD
Corsair H60
Corsair TX850 PS
HAF 922
Memory (to be decided)
Video (to be decided)

Lithium466

  • Twin Frozr
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 76
Re: 2.2T Boot screen 890FXA-GD70
« Reply #19 on: 13-June-11, 17:41:34 »

Ok so I don't understand why you are not able to boot with 2,2Tb disabled, without using the boot menu...

Since MSI's bios are sometimes a bit "messy", are you sure you have tried all the possibilities ?
Logged
MSI 890GXM-G65
Phenom II X6 1055T & Zalman CNPS10x Flex
2x 2Go Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz
BeQuiet Straight Power E7 400W (+12V 30A)

Darren W

  • Cyclone
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
Re: 2.2T Boot screen 890FXA-GD70
« Reply #20 on: 13-June-11, 17:53:34 »

Believe me I have tried everything,
Sometimes you got to know when to give up.
But I do apprectiate your help.
Logged
Windows 7 Ult 64
MSI 890FXA GD70
AMD Phenom II 1090T
WD 750G Caviar Black HDD
Corsair H60
Corsair TX850 PS
HAF 922
Memory (to be decided)
Video (to be decided)

Ex Forum User 3

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26817
Re: 2.2T Boot screen 890FXA-GD70
« Reply #21 on: 13-June-11, 18:01:22 »

Maybe this helps: http://service.msicomputer.com/html/popup/techsup/formviewer.asp?esoformid=2909

The function only need to be disabled for >2TB (real size).
It's not needed for smaller drives, however it may prevent Windows from booting if you installed with the function enabled.

In fact you may even need to repartition/wipe the drive.

The problem is that it creates a new partition-table (GPT) that is not supported by a normal BIOS.
The new UEFI BIOS supports it too.

So if you disable it, you need to wipe the drive.
Also XP won't support it.

In short, turn it off, wipe the disk and reinstall Windows, that is the only way to make it work without.
Also handy if you want XP to run too.
Logged

Darren W

  • Cyclone
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
Re: 2.2T Boot screen 890FXA-GD70
« Reply #22 on: 13-June-11, 18:18:12 »

I will just deal with it, I have reinstalled windows so many times I am wearing out the disc :bonk:
(I am the guy with the 3d errors post- what a nightmare that was).
Wish I had know about that prior to install-
It should be disabled in bios defaults and needed to be turned on if you need it.  :biggthumbsup:
The manual doesn't say anything about this feature (enable or disable without mentioning the consequences), or much else for that matter.
This board is nice it has just taken me a while to get used to it, trial and error.
PS the rear CMOS reset is very convenient (hope I don't wear it out!)
Now about those 4 CPU phase lights being stuck on all the time.........(just kidding unless that indicates a problem brewing)
Thanks again for you time.
Logged
Windows 7 Ult 64
MSI 890FXA GD70
AMD Phenom II 1090T
WD 750G Caviar Black HDD
Corsair H60
Corsair TX850 PS
HAF 922
Memory (to be decided)
Video (to be decided)

Ex Forum User 3

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26817
Re: 2.2T Boot screen 890FXA-GD70
« Reply #23 on: 13-June-11, 18:44:55 »

Are you over/under-clocking anything? Because if you do the lights will stay on it will keep all phases running.
However, don't make to much of that as it hardly does anything to reduce power.
Phases that are turned off save about 1 Watt or so, not really worth it.
Logged

Darren W

  • Cyclone
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
Re: 2.2T Boot screen 890FXA-GD70
« Reply #24 on: 13-June-11, 19:09:29 »

No overclocking at this time but  I play with it every now and then .  It was a neat feature.
Them being stuck on appears to have occured during the attempt to get rid of the 2.2 screen (serveral trips in and out of  bios).  Prior to that it was working normally even when I increased the cpu ratio and cpu voltage (dont panic it is all set back to defaults) :biggthumbsup:.
But it is not a problem just annoying (like the 2.2T screen).
Logged
Windows 7 Ult 64
MSI 890FXA GD70
AMD Phenom II 1090T
WD 750G Caviar Black HDD
Corsair H60
Corsair TX850 PS
HAF 922
Memory (to be decided)
Video (to be decided)
Pages: [1]   Go Up