Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Why not utilise your system's redundant processing power for a worthy cause, and join the MSI HQ Red Rockets Folding@Home team?

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Bios reporting wrong value memory  (Read 4163 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

black beret

  • Neo
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
Bios reporting wrong value memory
« on: 31-July-11, 12:34:15 »

I am still running on my old AMD Athlon XP 1800+ on MS-6330 Motherboard.
I have 3 RAM slots: 512kb, 128kb, 512kb. (max allowed 1.5gb).
I have S.I.W. (Systems Information for Windows) installed that reports this as correct. However, since reinstalling XP following a drive failure, S.I.W. now reports that BIOS is reporting the wrong value; i.e. total 512kb only.
My question is; Is this a hiccup in BIOS or SIW?
Has anyone had a similar experience please? :confused2:
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50607
    • MSI BIOS/EC-FW Mods
Re: Bios reporting wrong value memory
« Reply #1 on: 31-July-11, 13:33:01 »

how much the bios counts during bios post?

Quote
i.e. total 512kb only.

kb :bonk: :bonk: :shocked:

black beret

  • Neo
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
Re: Bios reporting wrong value memory
« Reply #2 on: 31-July-11, 14:21:13 »

How do I determine that. If it's posted during Boot-up is there a way to freeze or slow down the boot screen?
Sorry, I'm a bit naive in this area.
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50607
    • MSI BIOS/EC-FW Mods
Re: Bios reporting wrong value memory
« Reply #3 on: 31-July-11, 23:41:37 »

You can press "PAUSE/BREAK" key, to stop the screen

Ex Forum Mod

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16672
Re: Bios reporting wrong value memory
« Reply #4 on: 31-July-11, 23:57:06 »

 Don't you mean 512MB, I haven't seen KB RAM since I had an Amiga 1000 in 1987-88. :grin:
Logged

eagle3

  • Platinum
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 284
Re: Bios reporting wrong value memory
« Reply #5 on: 03-August-11, 15:41:00 »

Use memtest boot disk. It will show amount of memory installed less 1MB which it uses to run the software.

It may be worth removing the 128MB stick if you get errors in memtest and testing again. http://www.memtest.org/
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up