Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This is a User-to-User community forum run by MSI users for MSI users. If you need to contact MSI directly see: How to contact MSI

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: My MSI 880GMA AM3 Issue.  (Read 2723 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

JasonNapolitano

  • Neo
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
    • it-sn.com
My MSI 880GMA AM3 Issue.
« on: 12-November-11, 05:15:59 »

Hello world. A few months ago I bought a open box MSI 880GMA Motherboard. Everything was working good, no need for extra graphics because the graphics that are built in (512MB ATI) are good enough for my needs.

However, one day, I decided to go with a new graphics card, to take some strain off of the motherboard and the built in GPU. So, I put in an inexpensive nVidia GT240 512MB. It was all working good. My cheap nVidia GT240 went out on me, so I figured no big deal I will just use regular integrated graphics again.

No problem, I thought... Once I took my GT240 out of my PCIe slot, and turned my PC back on, I got no display at all. None.

The only thing I can think of is that when I was messing with my BIOS settings, (I do not remember where in my BIOS), I ticked something to read my PCIe graphics only, and not my integrated GPU. I did this in order to properly read my graphics card.

Now, I think that this setting is not allowing me to show the display using my integrated GPU. I tried reseting the BIOS by removing and moving and moving back the JBAT1 jumper to reset my CMOS and BIOS settings, but there is still no display at all.

Does anyone have any advice, hopefully the MSI team can help here. Could it be the motherboard itself? Could it be the power supply? Could it be because the motherboard was open box, or could it be a BIOS error?

LOL, the funny thing is that I get paid to troubleshoot and go to school for it, but this one is really, really stumping my brain. I have never faced it before.

PS - I do not know what BIOS version it is. I looked at a thread in these forums that showed how to reset the BIOS, my problem is I can not get anything on the screen.
« Last Edit: 12-November-11, 06:24:31 by JasonNapolitano »
Logged
Hello, I am Jason. I am a PC technician and the administrator of it-sn.com.
------
My PC Specs
------
Motherboard: MSi 880GMA-E45 / 785GMA - E45
Future Motherboard: MSI 990XA-GD55
-
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 945 - 3.0GHz
Future CPU: AMD FX 8150 3.6GHz (8-Core)
-
RAM: 4X2 GB DDR3 1333 (9-9-9-24)
Future RAM: 4x4 GB DDR3 1333 Corsair
-
GPU: ATI 4250 512MB
Future GPU: nVidia 560 Ti / 1GB GDDR5
-
O/S: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Dual Boot w/: Windows XP Pro. x64
-
Internal HDD: FreeAgent 640 32MB 3.0Gb/s
External HDD's: 2x750GB FreeAgent's
-

PSU: In the market...
Future PSU: Corsair TX 850

Stu

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19578
  • Birmingham, UK
    • StuOnline.co.uk
Re: My MSI 880GMA AM3 Issue.
« Reply #1 on: 12-November-11, 10:56:46 »

Logged
Former moderator and admin, 2004-2012

JasonNapolitano

  • Neo
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
    • it-sn.com
Re: My MSI 880GMA AM3 Issue.
« Reply #2 on: 12-November-11, 16:49:09 »

Oh, I am sorry. Okay, here are my PC specs:

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 945 (No OC'ing)
RAM: 8GB (4x2GB) DDR3 1333 RAM (No OC'ing)
DVD: LS DL DVD Drive
GPU: Intergrated GPU: ATI 4250 512MB HD
O/S: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
HDD: 640 GB FreeAgent 32MB 3.0b/s
PSU: 575 Watt PSU

motherboard:
Motherboard: MSi 880GMA-E45 / 785GMA - E45
Model #: MS-7623 v.3.X


« Last Edit: 12-November-11, 18:18:56 by JasonNapolitano »
Logged
Hello, I am Jason. I am a PC technician and the administrator of it-sn.com.
------
My PC Specs
------
Motherboard: MSi 880GMA-E45 / 785GMA - E45
Future Motherboard: MSI 990XA-GD55
-
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 945 - 3.0GHz
Future CPU: AMD FX 8150 3.6GHz (8-Core)
-
RAM: 4X2 GB DDR3 1333 (9-9-9-24)
Future RAM: 4x4 GB DDR3 1333 Corsair
-
GPU: ATI 4250 512MB
Future GPU: nVidia 560 Ti / 1GB GDDR5
-
O/S: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Dual Boot w/: Windows XP Pro. x64
-
Internal HDD: FreeAgent 640 32MB 3.0Gb/s
External HDD's: 2x750GB FreeAgent's
-

PSU: In the market...
Future PSU: Corsair TX 850

Jack

  • Ex Forum moderator
  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14940
    • A user initiative by MSI fanatics to support all other MSI product users
Re: My MSI 880GMA AM3 Issue.
« Reply #3 on: 12-November-11, 16:59:03 »

Quote
Now, I think that this setting is not allowing me to show the display using my integrated GPU. I tried reseting the BIOS by removing and moving and moving back the JBAT1 jumper to reset my CMOS and BIOS settings, but there is still no display at all.

Did you remove the A/C power chord from the PSU before you did that?  If not, please remove the A/C power chord first and then also take out the CMOS Battery for 10 minutes.

After that, re-test with one memory module in the first slot only.
Logged

Ex Forum User 3

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26817
Re: My MSI 880GMA AM3 Issue.
« Reply #4 on: 12-November-11, 17:02:38 »

A $25 PSU :lol_anim:

+3.3V@38A, +5V@40A, +12V@25A, -12V@0.8A, +5VSB@2.0A  :rofl2:

Need to say more?
Logged

JasonNapolitano

  • Neo
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
    • it-sn.com
Re: My MSI 880GMA AM3 Issue.
« Reply #5 on: 12-November-11, 17:40:53 »

Did you remove the A/C power chord from the PSU before you did that?  If not, please remove the A/C power chord first and then also take out the CMOS Battery for 10 minutes.
Yes I did, and still nothing.

After that, re-test with one memory module in the first slot only.
I tried this as well originally, but it did not work for me still.

A $25 PSU :lol_anim:

+3.3V@38A, +5V@40A, +12V@25A, -12V@0.8A, +5VSB@2.0A  :rofl2:

Need to say more?

Yes, I know...But it was by far the best deal around for under $30 when I was looking for a new PSU for my build. I think it is my PSU myself, it is what I was mainly thinking, besides the BIOS issue that I posted in the first message in this thread. What PSU would you recommend?
« Last Edit: 12-November-11, 17:47:09 by JasonNapolitano »
Logged
Hello, I am Jason. I am a PC technician and the administrator of it-sn.com.
------
My PC Specs
------
Motherboard: MSi 880GMA-E45 / 785GMA - E45
Future Motherboard: MSI 990XA-GD55
-
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 945 - 3.0GHz
Future CPU: AMD FX 8150 3.6GHz (8-Core)
-
RAM: 4X2 GB DDR3 1333 (9-9-9-24)
Future RAM: 4x4 GB DDR3 1333 Corsair
-
GPU: ATI 4250 512MB
Future GPU: nVidia 560 Ti / 1GB GDDR5
-
O/S: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Dual Boot w/: Windows XP Pro. x64
-
Internal HDD: FreeAgent 640 32MB 3.0Gb/s
External HDD's: 2x750GB FreeAgent's
-

PSU: In the market...
Future PSU: Corsair TX 850

Ex Forum User 3

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26817
Re: My MSI 880GMA AM3 Issue.
« Reply #6 on: 12-November-11, 17:48:17 »

Corsair CX-500 or if you have plans to extent the system, then a CX-600

A crappy old-school PSU like yours can create all sorts of problems, you can't build a building on a broken foundation.
Logged

JasonNapolitano

  • Neo
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
    • it-sn.com
Re: My MSI 880GMA AM3 Issue.
« Reply #7 on: 12-November-11, 17:59:14 »

Corsair CX-500 or if you have plans to extent the system, then a CX-600
I am looking into these right now, my only problem is I do not have $60 or so for a new PSU, even though I know how worth it, it really is.

A crappy old-school PSU like yours can create all sorts of problems, you can't build a building on a broken foundation.
This is true, this could be my problem.

The only thing I am wondering is; why did it work for a few months, then when I took out my peripheral graphics card, it just...stopped working. That is why I am confused, because there are other things I am thinking could be wrong with it. That is another reason I am thinking it is the BIOS issue as well.

Does anyone know if these board automatically detect their display type?

For example, on this Motherboard,  if you set your BIOS up to read the PCIe graphics and not the integrated graphics, would the BIOS automatically detect that you have connected your graphics to the integrated graphics card and not the PCIe port, and then display it still, even though a BIOS setting was not changed to display it as a default?

I am pretty sure a BIOS is modern enough to notice when your displays output connection changes and then it knows to display it, even though you did not tell it too. It would of course use a different display driver, because the user has not updated that particular dirver, but that would not disallow you the display entirely.
« Last Edit: 12-November-11, 18:07:44 by JasonNapolitano »
Logged
Hello, I am Jason. I am a PC technician and the administrator of it-sn.com.
------
My PC Specs
------
Motherboard: MSi 880GMA-E45 / 785GMA - E45
Future Motherboard: MSI 990XA-GD55
-
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 945 - 3.0GHz
Future CPU: AMD FX 8150 3.6GHz (8-Core)
-
RAM: 4X2 GB DDR3 1333 (9-9-9-24)
Future RAM: 4x4 GB DDR3 1333 Corsair
-
GPU: ATI 4250 512MB
Future GPU: nVidia 560 Ti / 1GB GDDR5
-
O/S: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Dual Boot w/: Windows XP Pro. x64
-
Internal HDD: FreeAgent 640 32MB 3.0Gb/s
External HDD's: 2x750GB FreeAgent's
-

PSU: In the market...
Future PSU: Corsair TX 850

Ex Forum User 3

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26817
Re: My MSI 880GMA AM3 Issue.
« Reply #8 on: 12-November-11, 18:18:55 »

Quote
However, one day, I decided to go with a new graphics card, to take some strain off of the motherboard and the built in GPU. So, I put in an inexpensive nVidia GT240 512MB. It was all working good. My cheap nVidia GT240 went out on me, so I figured no big deal I will just use regular integrated graphics again.

You may killed the board with that card on your crappy PSU.

My advise:

1) Get a Corsair CX-430 (better a 500, but a 430 can do it: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139026)
Don't power the system again until you did.
Please notice the output on the lines, the 3.3/5V are 20A and 12V 28A, that is a modern school PSU and can run your system as it DOES output the 28A.

2) Take the board out of the case and run it on a carton-board, but WITH the new PSU. Cross your fingers it still works.
Else your PSU may have taken the entire system down, not only the card.

Seriously, I think your old-school PSU may have killed the entire system, for your sake I hope it's just a standoff under the board that should have been removed.
Logged

JasonNapolitano

  • Neo
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
    • it-sn.com
Re: My MSI 880GMA AM3 Issue.
« Reply #9 on: 12-November-11, 18:36:52 »

Else your PSU may have taken the entire system down, not only the card.

Well, I have a new update...I turned my PC on again, (before reading your last post) without the DVI connected to the integrated GPU port, and only plugged in a VGA connector, and now the PC turns on (which it di not do before I messed around with it and got it this far), the motherboard is operational (I think), the CPU fan is running, the PSU fan is running and everything seems to be running, except...no display..I push DEL, F5, ESC, etc upon startup, to see if I can access my BIOS or boot screen anything, and I cannot access any of them.

I also noticed (on most computers that is), that when you, for example, are starting up a PC, and you push DEL, or F5 or almost all keys too many times, your PC gives system beeps that basically say a "Hey, I heard your request the first time, hold on!" type of thing.

My computer does not do that...I wonder now if my board is gone, because I would hear some type of system beeps with the amount of buttons I pressed upon startup, unless quick boot is beating me to it, and going to the O/S after POST, before I can get to the BIOS.
« Last Edit: 12-November-11, 19:07:21 by JasonNapolitano »
Logged
Hello, I am Jason. I am a PC technician and the administrator of it-sn.com.
------
My PC Specs
------
Motherboard: MSi 880GMA-E45 / 785GMA - E45
Future Motherboard: MSI 990XA-GD55
-
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 945 - 3.0GHz
Future CPU: AMD FX 8150 3.6GHz (8-Core)
-
RAM: 4X2 GB DDR3 1333 (9-9-9-24)
Future RAM: 4x4 GB DDR3 1333 Corsair
-
GPU: ATI 4250 512MB
Future GPU: nVidia 560 Ti / 1GB GDDR5
-
O/S: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Dual Boot w/: Windows XP Pro. x64
-
Internal HDD: FreeAgent 640 32MB 3.0Gb/s
External HDD's: 2x750GB FreeAgent's
-

PSU: In the market...
Future PSU: Corsair TX 850

Ex Forum Mod

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16672
Re: My MSI 880GMA AM3 Issue.
« Reply #10 on: 13-November-11, 23:18:34 »

 Try a different KB to get into BIOS, repeatedly tap 'Delete' button as soon as you push power on.
Logged

Ex Forum User 3

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26817
Re: My MSI 880GMA AM3 Issue.
« Reply #11 on: 13-November-11, 23:27:04 »

Henry, sorry to interrupt, but he has no screen or anything.
I seriously believe his crappy PSU has blown the entire system to pieces.

Only 1 way to find out, he need to buy/borrow a decent PSU and hope everything still works.
I'm NOT joking.

(Ps. I think he better takes his PC-technician remark out of his sig, as he's clearly not)
Logged

Fredrik

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16126
  • There's always a risk.
Re: My MSI 880GMA AM3 Issue.
« Reply #12 on: 14-November-11, 04:21:04 »

Hello! Please change PSU. Logisys is no good, no good at all. Rosewills are bad enough, and like you see in the link you so kindly provided, you get two Logisys for the money of a Rosewill PSU rated at 530 W. (I can in other stores find it at $20.) In fact, that is a pretty good place to start the troubleshooting.

Logisys says the 575 W unit, the one you got, can do max:
+3.3V@38A, +5V@40A, +12V@25A, -12V@0.8A, +5VSB@2.0A
I simply don't believe it, and the high 5 volt tells me it is following an old, old standard. Well, 2004/2005 can be old, too.  :smile:

This is rather revealing: http://www.microcenter.com/single_product_results.phtml?product_id=0360348
Logged

JasonNapolitano

  • Neo
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
    • it-sn.com
Re: My MSI 880GMA AM3 Issue.
« Reply #13 on: 14-November-11, 08:16:03 »

(Ps. I think he better takes his PC-technician remark out of his sig, as he's clearly not)

Off topic for a moment... Well sir, I must say, with what was said, I got pretty upset. I am not however,  going to get into a heated debate on this scale/type of forum with an administrator of all people right now. Nor do I plan on doing it in the future. However, I will express some input, small and polite.

What you said was seriously offensive. And this is coming from an administrator of a support forum, that is responsible for public relations of one of the biggest companies in the world? I appreciate your help, but you lost points in my book for this.

You cannot make that assumption based off of a forum thread, coming from a person whom you know not. But, I understand you do not know who I am, or what I do. I am going to fill you in with a small "411", just so you know how wrong and rude and completely unprofessional you were.

I am a PC technician. I have been doing this type of work for 14 years. I am currently a Highest Honors Student and on schedule to graduate Top of my Class for Computer Science at ITT Technical Institute. So, my understanding in this aspect alone, is well....

I do not lie about these things. I have seriously never ran into this weird of a problem before. I am not lying about what I do, or trying to impress an online community of geeks and/or professionals like myself. I am truly confused.

Back on topic... I am going to try to switch my PSU, when I get some money. If that does not work out, I will buy a new board. I am going to, and have planned from the beginning to use process of elimination.

But, seeing as how this is such a recommended and world known company/support forum, I was hoping maybe someone had this problem and knew how to fix it, if at all repairable. Or, get help for my issue, as I am now.

Hello! Please change PSU. Logisys is no good, no good at all. Rosewills are bad enough, and like you see in the link you so kindly provided, you get two Logisys for the money of a Rosewill PSU rated at 530 W. (I can in other stores find it at $20.) In fact, that is a pretty good place to start the troubleshooting.

Logisys says the 575 W unit, the one you got, can do max:
+3.3V@38A, +5V@40A, +12V@25A, -12V@0.8A, +5VSB@2.0A
I simply don't believe it, and the high 5 volt tells me it is following an old, old standard. Well, 2004/2005 can be old, too.  :smile:

This is rather revealing: http://www.microcenter.com/single_product_results.phtml?product_id=0360348

I will look at the link you gave me in a moment. I am almost positive it is the PSU. I will try that, then the motherboard if the PSU does not work.

Any other ideas would not hurt.  :)

PS: Maybe a moderator wants to move this thread to another forum, it just seems that it is not at all BIOS related any more.  :cheesy:
« Last Edit: 14-November-11, 08:36:15 by JasonNapolitano »
Logged
Hello, I am Jason. I am a PC technician and the administrator of it-sn.com.
------
My PC Specs
------
Motherboard: MSi 880GMA-E45 / 785GMA - E45
Future Motherboard: MSI 990XA-GD55
-
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 945 - 3.0GHz
Future CPU: AMD FX 8150 3.6GHz (8-Core)
-
RAM: 4X2 GB DDR3 1333 (9-9-9-24)
Future RAM: 4x4 GB DDR3 1333 Corsair
-
GPU: ATI 4250 512MB
Future GPU: nVidia 560 Ti / 1GB GDDR5
-
O/S: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Dual Boot w/: Windows XP Pro. x64
-
Internal HDD: FreeAgent 640 32MB 3.0Gb/s
External HDD's: 2x750GB FreeAgent's
-

PSU: In the market...
Future PSU: Corsair TX 850

Ex Forum User 3

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26817
Re: My MSI 880GMA AM3 Issue.
« Reply #14 on: 14-November-11, 15:28:06 »

Cheap check, open up the powersupply and check for bad capacitors, typical when being overloaded they are not flat anymore.
There is no heated debate, we told you many times now to test against a better powersupply, as an PC-technician you should know that this is the first thing you do when a system doesn't start.
We give you advise, still you look the other way, why come here if you don't want our advise?
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up