Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

New members, please remember to read the Forum Rules and the Posting Guide before posting for the first time!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 990FXA-GD80 can't adjust memory frequency  (Read 2449 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

rsh2112

  • Neo
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
990FXA-GD80 can't adjust memory frequency
« on: 16-November-11, 23:57:05 »

Hey, I have the 990FXA-GD80 motherboard, and I have an FX-8150 processor hooked up with it as well. I have the latest BIOS and driver utilities installed for the board, but every time I try and adjust my memory DRAM frequency to 1866, my BIOS/motherboard won't post at all.

I have Patriot Viper Xtreme DDR3 memory installed, no issues with it, but the BIOS shows the frequency to be set at "auto" and 1066 MHz. If I try and manually adjust the frequency and reload the computer with the changes, it doesn't post. Anybody know why this is and what I can do to fix it?
Logged

Fredrik

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16126
  • There's always a risk.
Re: 990FXA-GD80 can't adjust memory frequency
« Reply #1 on: 17-November-11, 22:49:31 »

Hello! We would like to know some more about your system, if you'd be so kind. For example PSU, graphics card and how many sticks of memory, and I think processor temp according to BIOS would be interesting, too.

My thinking is, either the processor doesn't like your memory yet - and a new BIOS version is required - or the memory is not what you think it is nor what it claims to be.
Please try with a single stick if you haven't. Make sure you got right voltage for the memory; 1,65 volt if this is it http://www.thinkcomputers.org/patriot-viper-xtreme-division-2-ddr3-1866-8gb-dual-channel-memory-kit-review/
Logged

Ex Forum Mod

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16672
Re: 990FXA-GD80 can't adjust memory frequency
« Reply #2 on: 17-November-11, 23:20:38 »

 "I have the latest BIOS..."
 By that I assume you have B.6 (11.6)?

 Like Fredrik said, please list all of your components. See my signature below for example of information to provide.

    >> Posting Guide <<
Logged

rsh2112

  • Neo
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: 990FXA-GD80 can't adjust memory frequency
« Reply #3 on: 18-November-11, 01:30:44 »

I do have the latest BIOS version, 11.6.

As far as my system goes, I have:

990FXA-GD80 motherboard
FX-8150 processor
Patriot Viper Xtreme DDR3 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3 16000 
Radeon HD6970 video board
HT | OMEGA CLARO Plus+ 7.1 Channels PCI Interface Sound Card
Antec High Current Pro HCP-1200 Power Supply
Windows 7 64-bit
Logged

Fredrik

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16126
  • There's always a risk.
Re: 990FXA-GD80 can't adjust memory frequency
« Reply #4 on: 19-November-11, 01:03:26 »

And at least 1,65 volts?
I believe I read "Intel X58" a couple of times on the memory's home page, so you may have to wait for a BIOS update for full support.
http://patriotmemory.com/products/detailp.jsp?prodline=5&catid=34&prodgroupid=194&id=1004&type=1
Ask MSI, they might be able to help you.

Off: From the link "enhanced latency"! And I couldn't notice Patriot's memory configurator listed your motherboard.
Logged

rsh2112

  • Neo
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: 990FXA-GD80 can't adjust memory frequency
« Reply #5 on: 19-November-11, 16:09:15 »

All of the settings for both the CPU and memory, including frequency and voltage, are set to "auto" because I had to restore default settings after the motherboard failed to post with the AMD Bulldozer chip. I'm afraid if I try and change the settings manually again, with the Bulldozer still in the motherboard, it'll once again fail to post, and I'll have to go through the whole process of switching out processors, restoring default BIOS settings, and putting the Bulldozer back in. It's a pain in the butt.

Maybe I should just call MSI and see what they have to say.
Logged

viper

  • Guest
Re: 990FXA-GD80 can't adjust memory frequency
« Reply #6 on: 22-November-11, 01:24:03 »

hi

i had a msi 990fxa-gd80 i said about that problem before about not being able to select 1866mhz ram in bios.At the time i said about it i waas running a 1100t.i was told by people about my cpu. but i was saying whats point of motherboard that won,t let you select 1866 when you have a fx8150 installed i thewn was told it doesn,t support 1866 but by amd,s white sheets or doc,s it natively supports 1866 on memory controller.i now have my gigabyte board back in here and i can select 1866 asus crosshair 5 does as well.msi need to attend to a few more bios problems with the gd80 :smile:
Logged

Fredrik

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16126
  • There's always a risk.
Re: 990FXA-GD80 can't adjust memory frequency
« Reply #7 on: 22-November-11, 02:46:57 »

The memory controller is now in the processor. Motherboard can take the speed. Only some processors run well with 1866.
The poster has - not sure any longer - Intel LGA 1366 specified memory stated to run max either 1600 or 1866, and wants more volt than he is prepared to give it. As far as I can see in this late hour, the same goes for you.
Logged

viper

  • Guest
Re: 990FXA-GD80 can't adjust memory frequency
« Reply #8 on: 22-November-11, 07:22:20 »

hi fredrick i know the memory controller is on the cpu has been for sometime. people in this forum told me that 1866 is not supported by the 8150 fx when amd says it,s upto 1866 support on memeoy controller.So with that being said if the gentle man can,t select 1866 when running a 8150 on the msi 990fxa-gds80 and his ram is compat then msi need to attend to the bios again would you say?? :smile:
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up