Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

New members, please remember to read the Forum Rules and the Posting Guide before posting for the first time!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: VideoGenie  (Read 24655 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Tanoosh

  • Neo
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
VideoGenie
« on: 04-February-12, 02:46:01 »

New rig up and running at LAST - MSI Z68a GD80(G3), MSI 560GTX Ti Hawk, I5 2500K -

And VideoGenie.

I click it. It says - ON - and then goes away. I can find NOTHING anywhere about it - the links in google bring me to the MSI home page.

Anybody know of an actual page that describes what it is and what it does?

Thanks
Logged

Ex Forum Mod

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16672
Re: VideoGenie
« Reply #1 on: 04-February-12, 03:34:30 »

 Brief description:

 The MSI Video Genie software is an automatic modifier for the monitor in an attempt to optimize low brightness areas in videos/films. It does make an obvious difference in general when you first run the software, though whether it is applicable in a majority of cases is debatable—especially if what you are watching is intended to be dark.

 More than likely does the same as what you would do by adjusting gamma in video games.
 
Logged

Froggy Gremlin

  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11110
  • Master Air OC'er
Re: VideoGenie
« Reply #2 on: 04-February-12, 06:50:44 »

Your Software Application User Guide that came with the mainboard explains it along with several other available 'Genie' features.

Added: In case your mainboard didn't have a Guide with it, here is the downloadable version; http://eu.msi.com/service/download/manual-16898.html
« Last Edit: 04-February-12, 08:00:48 by Ex Forum User 2 »
Logged
The Last Hoorah! I Had Retired From All This! Can't Believe I'm Really Doing A Platform Test One More Time!  :shocked:

Z97 Gaming 7, 4790k, Zalman CNPS9900Max-R, Corsair AX-850, Corsair Dominator Platinum 2800's, WD 600 SATA III V.Raptor, Lite-On iHAS 424, GTX 680's In SLI, Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty Champion, Win 7 Ultimate 64 Bit    



Life Can Be Very Fulfilling Without Win 8/8.1, SSD's, RAID, Current AMD GPU's, G.Skill RAM, Hackers, Crackers, & Crypto Mining!

IXOYE

Tanoosh

  • Neo
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: VideoGenie
« Reply #3 on: 05-February-12, 22:45:47 »

thanks for the responses Guys!

BUT - the information provided does NOT give an example of how to invoke or activate VideoGenie. When I click VideoGenie a screen comes up that has and On/OFF option, and it goes away after 6 seconds or so, regardless of clicking the on or off option. The displays shown in the manual do not appear.

I have the most recent update, according to LiveUpdate. I suspect I can live without it. My inquiry was out of curiosity, since it's part of the suite of goodies provided with my new board.

In any event - thanks again.
Logged

Ex Forum Mod

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16672
Re: VideoGenie
« Reply #4 on: 05-February-12, 22:52:51 »

Brief description:
The MSI Video Genie software is an automatic modifier for the monitor in an attempt to optimize low brightness areas in videos/films. It does make an obvious difference in general when you first run the software, though whether it is applicable in a majority of cases is debatable—especially if what you are watching is intended to be dark.

 It is automatic operation, you don't do anything other than turn it on or off.
Logged

Nanobyte

  • Neo
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: VideoGenie
« Reply #5 on: 01-August-12, 11:52:03 »

But my MSI Notebook already has Cinema Pro II which seems to be the same thing as this VideoGenie. I got VideoGenie through an MSI update. Idk why it would say I needed this if I already have CinemaPro (P1 button)
Logged

flobelix

  • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14384
  • Lightning!
    • MSI Gaming
Re: VideoGenie
« Reply #6 on: 01-August-12, 22:23:11 »

Nanobyte this thread is inactive for more than a half year so nobody from the original posters is interested in it anymore and your Cinema Pro II has nothing to do with the topic. If you have an own issue please open an own topic.

This thread will be - closed -
Logged
MSI Z87 MPOWER MAX (MS-7815) Bios 1.8
Core i7 4770K (C0) @ 4300.54 MHz, 1.216V
Corsair H110 Liquid CPU Cooler
2*4GB ADATA AX3U2000GC4G9B-2G (1:8) 1066.8 MHz (DDR3-2133) @ 10-11-11-28-2T 1.54v
MSI R9 290X LIGHTNING @ 1150/3000 
256GB Samsung 830 SSD + 250GB Samsung 840 EVO
Corsair HX1050 +12V: 87.5A • +3.3V: 30A • +5V: 30A
Windows 8.1 Pro
Pages: [1]   Go Up