Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

New members, please remember to read the Forum Rules and the Posting Guide before posting for the first time!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MSI Vox Box USB 2.0 TV Tuner FAQ  (Read 19813 times)

Stu

• Hawk
  • Birmingham, UK
    • StuOnline.co.uk
MSI Vox Box USB 2.0 TV Tuner FAQ
« on: 19-February-05, 01:45:43 »

Hands up, I admit I've never used one of these devices before, but I'm looking to get hold of one, so I can have a play around with it.

So far, I'm guessing that the main guts of this thing are similar to (if not the same as) the TV@nywhere Master, so the steps described elsewhere for installing drivers and MSIPVS should be the same (apart from using Vox drivers from MSI website).

Any Vox users who have any good tips and tricks to share, please post below and I will incorporate them into my FAQ

Please start a new thread if you need help, inappropiate posts will be moved or deleted.

Some points to be aware of:

"I have installed the MSI Vox Box, but the picture is unstable and looks "flakey"
The Vox requires a USB 2.0 port to run. Also, it does clearly state in the manual that if your PC / laptop cannot provide enough power for the Vox directly through the USB port, then you will need to use the external power supply. Where you may obtain this even I am unsure of.

ffulkerth makes a suggestion in this post about a universal power supply: http://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=74361.msg523855#msg523855

wonkanoby has also suggested to use a self-powered external USB hub, but make sure you use a USB 2.0 type

also read what lance8 has to say about using the Vox with its power supply: http://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=74829.0

"How do I get sound? My laptop has no Line-In audio jack."