Close

Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: About SA Voltage, IO Voltage and CPU Voltage  (Read 956 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.
This topic contains a post which is marked as Best Answer. Press here if you would like to see it.

BelbolTopic starter

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 35
About SA Voltage, IO Voltage and CPU Voltage
« on: 05-June-19, 09:12:34 »

Hello

let's start with my first simple question, which is that i am setting my CPU voltage to 1.155 in the BIOS, but while checking in HWMonitor, it shows as 1.152 static, is that normal?

now my questions are about SA and IO voltage, i never changed them, but they show in the BIOS at Auto settings, on 1.31 volt each of them, are these voltages safe?

-Core i5 9600K 4.4GHz 1.155V
-MSI Z390 MPG Pro AC
-G.Skill 3600MHz Cl17 1.35V
Logged

Krank

  • FIRST LIEUTENANT
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 386

Hi,

Yes the Vcore is normal. The SA and IO voltages are also normal as it is the predetermined voltages to ensure stability. You can set it lower, but if you set it too low the overclock settings will fail.

Use HWiNFO to monitor voltages:
https://www.fosshub.com/HWiNFO.html

Attached is a HWiNFO screenshot of my system after running Prime95, 5GHz(Dynamic), Vcore 1.295V(Adaptive), SA 1.200V and IO 1.150V set in the BIOS.
Logged
MSI Z370 Gaming Pro Carbon (A.90 BIOS)
Intel 8700K 5GHz@1.312V Adaptive (Delidded)
MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Ti Duke Gaming 8GB (OC'd & Undervolted + Shunt Mod)
G.SKILL TRIDENT Z F4-3200C16D-16GTZB Kit (OC'd to 3333MHz CL16-18-18-38-499-2T 1.400V)
Samsung 960 Evo 250GB(OS), Samsung 860 Evo 250GB(Games, Portable programs, Batch scripts)
2x Western Digital Blue 1TB (Temp folders, Data backup)
11x Corsair ML120 Pro fans (Pressure optimized)
Corsair H150i Pro(Modified) (6x Shrouds)
Corsair RM850x
Raidmax Alpha Prime
Samsung 43" LCD TV
Windows 10 Pro WS (1903)
https://www.fosshub.com/HWiNFO.html?dwl=hwi_611_3915.zip
Manage Speculative Execution Settings Script v1.8

BelbolTopic starter

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 35
Re: About SA Voltage, IO Voltage and CPU Voltage
« Reply #2 on: 06-June-19, 08:58:15 »

Hi,

Yes the Vcore is normal. The SA and IO voltages are also normal as it is the predetermined voltages to ensure stability. You can set it lower, but if you set it too low the overclock settings will fail.

Use HWiNFO to monitor voltages:
https://www.fosshub.com/HWiNFO.html

Attached is a HWiNFO screenshot of my system after running Prime95, 5GHz(Dynamic), Vcore 1.295V(Adaptive), SA 1.200V and IO 1.150V set in the BIOS.
Thank you for help.

i have attached my results after about 5 minutes of Prime95 small FFTs test, i have noticed several strange things:

-Coes VID Voltage is about 1.27 while i set the Vcore voltage to 1.155, shouldn't it be same as Vcore voltage?
-CPU Package temp is higher than each core temp, which is illogical for me. because as i know, the core should be the highest temp in the CPU.
-Vcore was at about 1.144 most of the time, this is away from the 1.155 volt that i did set in the BIOS, is that normal?!
- tha last thing is CPU temp, at only 4.4GHz and 1.155V it's reaching 80C using MSI Core Froze L, which is referring to the reviews, not a bad CPU cooler, isn't that higher than it should be? you are getting was better temps at 5GHz using way higher voltage.
Logged
Marked as best answer by Belbol on 06-June-19, 11:14:07

Krank

  • FIRST LIEUTENANT
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 386

VID is the Voltage that is requested by the CPU. It is normal for the difference.

The CPU package temp is equal to the highest core temp and can sometimes be different due to the polling intervals used by HWiNFO to read each temperature sensor.

The lower Vcore is called Vdroop, it is normal behavior. Vdroop can easily be observed when running Cinebench R15. The LLC setting in the BIOS can be used to minimize Vdroop, but a too aggressive LLC setting will cause Voltage Overshoot.

The Intel 9th Gen CPU's run hot due to the thicker design of the CPU Die. My CPU is delidded and I have fitted six Corsair ML120 Pro fans with shrouds to the radiator and also I never run Prime95 Small FFT's. I only run Prime95 with these settings: 1344 Min/Max FFT's in Place with AVX disabled.
Logged
MSI Z370 Gaming Pro Carbon (A.90 BIOS)
Intel 8700K 5GHz@1.312V Adaptive (Delidded)
MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Ti Duke Gaming 8GB (OC'd & Undervolted + Shunt Mod)
G.SKILL TRIDENT Z F4-3200C16D-16GTZB Kit (OC'd to 3333MHz CL16-18-18-38-499-2T 1.400V)
Samsung 960 Evo 250GB(OS), Samsung 860 Evo 250GB(Games, Portable programs, Batch scripts)
2x Western Digital Blue 1TB (Temp folders, Data backup)
11x Corsair ML120 Pro fans (Pressure optimized)
Corsair H150i Pro(Modified) (6x Shrouds)
Corsair RM850x
Raidmax Alpha Prime
Samsung 43" LCD TV
Windows 10 Pro WS (1903)
https://www.fosshub.com/HWiNFO.html?dwl=hwi_611_3915.zip
Manage Speculative Execution Settings Script v1.8

BelbolTopic starter

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 35
Re: About SA Voltage, IO Voltage and CPU Voltage
« Reply #4 on: 06-June-19, 10:11:05 »

VID is the Voltage that is requested by the CPU. It is normal for the difference.

The CPU package temp is equal to the highest core temp and can sometimes be different due to the polling intervals used by HWiNFO to read each temperature sensor.

The lower Vcore is called Vdroop, it is normal behavior. Vdroop can easily be observed when running Cinebench R15. The LLC setting in the BIOS can be used to minimize Vdroop, but a too aggressive LLC setting will cause Voltage Overshoot.

The Intel 9th Gen CPU's run hot due to the thicker design of the CPU Die. My CPU is delidded and I have fitted six Corsair ML120 Pro fans with shrouds to the radiator and also I never run Prime95 Small FFT's. I only run Prime95 with these settings: 1344 Min/Max FFT's in Place with AVX disabled.
What the...  man you need another case just to contain your cooler :D
ok thanks for the info.|

so everything with my readings are ok. in your opinion, do i need to modify the Mode for Vdroop? currently it's Auto, and i think my MB choose Mode1 as Auto.
Logged

Krank

  • FIRST LIEUTENANT
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 386

Run Prime95 with 1344 Min/Max FFT's in Place and AVX disabled for one hour. Also keep HWiNFO open to check if any WHEA errors occur while you run the test. If no errors occur with Prime95 and HWiNFO after one hour you don't need to adjust the Voltage settings. Please post a screenshot of HWiNFO after stopping the Prime95 test.
Logged
MSI Z370 Gaming Pro Carbon (A.90 BIOS)
Intel 8700K 5GHz@1.312V Adaptive (Delidded)
MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Ti Duke Gaming 8GB (OC'd & Undervolted + Shunt Mod)
G.SKILL TRIDENT Z F4-3200C16D-16GTZB Kit (OC'd to 3333MHz CL16-18-18-38-499-2T 1.400V)
Samsung 960 Evo 250GB(OS), Samsung 860 Evo 250GB(Games, Portable programs, Batch scripts)
2x Western Digital Blue 1TB (Temp folders, Data backup)
11x Corsair ML120 Pro fans (Pressure optimized)
Corsair H150i Pro(Modified) (6x Shrouds)
Corsair RM850x
Raidmax Alpha Prime
Samsung 43" LCD TV
Windows 10 Pro WS (1903)
https://www.fosshub.com/HWiNFO.html?dwl=hwi_611_3915.zip
Manage Speculative Execution Settings Script v1.8

BelbolTopic starter

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 35
Re: About SA Voltage, IO Voltage and CPU Voltage
« Reply #6 on: 06-June-19, 14:44:50 »

Run Prime95 with 1344 Min/Max FFT's in Place and AVX disabled for one hour. Also keep HWiNFO open to check if any WHEA errors occur while you run the test. If no errors occur with Prime95 and HWiNFO after one hour you don't need to adjust the Voltage settings. Please post a screenshot of HWiNFO after stopping the Prime95 test.
you helped me a lot, thank you.
kindly check the attachment.
Logged

Krank

  • FIRST LIEUTENANT
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 386

It looks good.:biggthumbsup:
Logged
MSI Z370 Gaming Pro Carbon (A.90 BIOS)
Intel 8700K 5GHz@1.312V Adaptive (Delidded)
MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Ti Duke Gaming 8GB (OC'd & Undervolted + Shunt Mod)
G.SKILL TRIDENT Z F4-3200C16D-16GTZB Kit (OC'd to 3333MHz CL16-18-18-38-499-2T 1.400V)
Samsung 960 Evo 250GB(OS), Samsung 860 Evo 250GB(Games, Portable programs, Batch scripts)
2x Western Digital Blue 1TB (Temp folders, Data backup)
11x Corsair ML120 Pro fans (Pressure optimized)
Corsair H150i Pro(Modified) (6x Shrouds)
Corsair RM850x
Raidmax Alpha Prime
Samsung 43" LCD TV
Windows 10 Pro WS (1903)
https://www.fosshub.com/HWiNFO.html?dwl=hwi_611_3915.zip
Manage Speculative Execution Settings Script v1.8

BelbolTopic starter

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 35
Logged

BelbolTopic starter

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 35
Re: About SA Voltage, IO Voltage and CPU Voltage
« Reply #9 on: 09-June-19, 16:52:33 »

VID is the Voltage that is requested by the CPU. It is normal for the difference.

The CPU package temp is equal to the highest core temp and can sometimes be different due to the polling intervals used by HWiNFO to read each temperature sensor.

The lower Vcore is called Vdroop, it is normal behavior. Vdroop can easily be observed when running Cinebench R15. The LLC setting in the BIOS can be used to minimize Vdroop, but a too aggressive LLC setting will cause Voltage Overshoot.

The Intel 9th Gen CPU's run hot due to the thicker design of the CPU Die. My CPU is delidded and I have fitted six Corsair ML120 Pro fans with shrouds to the radiator and also I never run Prime95 Small FFT's. I only run Prime95 with these settings: 1344 Min/Max FFT's in Place with AVX disabled.
just want to ask a general question about CPU Vcore voltage.

using the settings you showed, i could easily reach 1.17V on 4.5GHz, but if i use Blend test with AVX enabled, i get BSOD, and i need to go all the way up to at least 1.195 to stay stable on 4.5GHz.

does that means better to stay at 1.195V for example? because sometimes i get like random crashes on PUBG, i am not sure if low voltage is the reason.
Logged

Krank

  • FIRST LIEUTENANT
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 386

Hi,

Please fill out the list here below with the settings that you used for 4.5GHz OC:

CPU Ratio Apply Mode:
CPU Ratio:
CPU Ratio Mode:
CPU Ratio Offset When Running AVX:
Ring Ratio:
EIST:
Enhanced Turbo:
CPU Loadline Calibration:
CPU Core Voltage Mode:
CPU Core Voltage:
CPU Core Voltage Offset Mode:
CPU Core Voltage Offset:
Logged
MSI Z370 Gaming Pro Carbon (A.90 BIOS)
Intel 8700K 5GHz@1.312V Adaptive (Delidded)
MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Ti Duke Gaming 8GB (OC'd & Undervolted + Shunt Mod)
G.SKILL TRIDENT Z F4-3200C16D-16GTZB Kit (OC'd to 3333MHz CL16-18-18-38-499-2T 1.400V)
Samsung 960 Evo 250GB(OS), Samsung 860 Evo 250GB(Games, Portable programs, Batch scripts)
2x Western Digital Blue 1TB (Temp folders, Data backup)
11x Corsair ML120 Pro fans (Pressure optimized)
Corsair H150i Pro(Modified) (6x Shrouds)
Corsair RM850x
Raidmax Alpha Prime
Samsung 43" LCD TV
Windows 10 Pro WS (1903)
https://www.fosshub.com/HWiNFO.html?dwl=hwi_611_3915.zip
Manage Speculative Execution Settings Script v1.8

BelbolTopic starter

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 35
Re: About SA Voltage, IO Voltage and CPU Voltage
« Reply #11 on: 11-June-19, 10:24:51 »

Hi,

Please fill out the list here below with the settings that you used for 4.5GHz OC:

CPU Ratio Apply Mode:
CPU Ratio:
CPU Ratio Mode:
CPU Ratio Offset When Running AVX:
Ring Ratio:
EIST:
Enhanced Turbo:
CPU Loadline Calibration:
CPU Core Voltage Mode:
CPU Core Voltage:
CPU Core Voltage Offset Mode:
CPU Core Voltage Offset:
i will try to tell you most of them as i remember:

CPU Ratio Apply Mode: All Cores
CPU Ratio: 45
CPU Ratio Mode: Fixed Mode
CPU Ratio Offset When Running AVX: Auto
Ring Ratio: Auto (43)
EIST: Disabled
Enhanced Turbo: Disabled
CPU Loadline Calibration: Auto
CPU Core Voltage Mode: Override
CPU Core Voltage: 1.17V
CPU Core Voltage Offset Mode:
CPU Core Voltage Offset:


Note: i have just tried:
4.4GHz
1.15V
CPU Loadline Calibration: Mode 3 (which works on 1.152-1.16 while on load)

and again i could do 1 hour on 1344, but couldn't cross the first minute on Blend.
i get BSOD with the error regarding WATCHDOG Clock etc...
Logged

Krank

  • FIRST LIEUTENANT
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 386

Did you disable the AVX when you did the Blend test?
Logged
MSI Z370 Gaming Pro Carbon (A.90 BIOS)
Intel 8700K 5GHz@1.312V Adaptive (Delidded)
MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Ti Duke Gaming 8GB (OC'd & Undervolted + Shunt Mod)
G.SKILL TRIDENT Z F4-3200C16D-16GTZB Kit (OC'd to 3333MHz CL16-18-18-38-499-2T 1.400V)
Samsung 960 Evo 250GB(OS), Samsung 860 Evo 250GB(Games, Portable programs, Batch scripts)
2x Western Digital Blue 1TB (Temp folders, Data backup)
11x Corsair ML120 Pro fans (Pressure optimized)
Corsair H150i Pro(Modified) (6x Shrouds)
Corsair RM850x
Raidmax Alpha Prime
Samsung 43" LCD TV
Windows 10 Pro WS (1903)
https://www.fosshub.com/HWiNFO.html?dwl=hwi_611_3915.zip
Manage Speculative Execution Settings Script v1.8

BelbolTopic starter

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 35
Re: About SA Voltage, IO Voltage and CPU Voltage
« Reply #13 on: 12-June-19, 16:09:30 »

mostly not disabled, i think that i left it standard options when i chose Blend.

can it be the cause of the system crash?
Logged

Krank

  • FIRST LIEUTENANT
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 386

You will have to increase the Vcore to be stable when running AVX intensive tasks/tests or you can set the "CPU Ratio Offset When Running AVX" to -2.
Logged
MSI Z370 Gaming Pro Carbon (A.90 BIOS)
Intel 8700K 5GHz@1.312V Adaptive (Delidded)
MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Ti Duke Gaming 8GB (OC'd & Undervolted + Shunt Mod)
G.SKILL TRIDENT Z F4-3200C16D-16GTZB Kit (OC'd to 3333MHz CL16-18-18-38-499-2T 1.400V)
Samsung 960 Evo 250GB(OS), Samsung 860 Evo 250GB(Games, Portable programs, Batch scripts)
2x Western Digital Blue 1TB (Temp folders, Data backup)
11x Corsair ML120 Pro fans (Pressure optimized)
Corsair H150i Pro(Modified) (6x Shrouds)
Corsair RM850x
Raidmax Alpha Prime
Samsung 43" LCD TV
Windows 10 Pro WS (1903)
https://www.fosshub.com/HWiNFO.html?dwl=hwi_611_3915.zip
Manage Speculative Execution Settings Script v1.8

BelbolTopic starter

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 35
Re: About SA Voltage, IO Voltage and CPU Voltage
« Reply #15 on: 13-June-19, 17:37:39 »

Ok then here we got one logical point that i am thinking about.

aren't we trying to get the most stable CPU performance with voltage? it it's more likely to crash on AVX, shouldn't we try the stress test with AVX enabled? so we can make sure that the system is more stable and won't crash anything.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up