Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: K9N Neo v2 Memory issue  (Read 233 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

shpoze

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
K9N Neo v2 Memory issue
« on: 27-February-17, 11:23:58 »

Hello MSI people! I have a question for you and i will be grateful if you answer me! I have a PC with motherboard K9N Neo v2, AMD Athlon 64 x2 4000+ and RAM 2x Corsair XMS2 DHX CM2X1024-6400C4DHX. Recently i bought a new ram for upgrade. The new ram is 2x Kingston KVR800D2N6/4G(For AMD motherboards). In the test repor(https://www.msi.com/file/test_report/TR10_1243.pdf) for this mobo, this model ram(my new one) is listed but the PC does not want to boot with it(nothing on screen)  I've try it everything.. I place 1 ram of 4g on every slot... nothing. The PC start(HDD's, FANS) but not boot and without any beeps. So my question... Is this mobo support anything over 2GB per slot or maybe my new ram is broken? What seems to be the problem in your opinion?

Thank you and sorry for my bad english!
Logged

HenryW

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 20159
« Reply #1 on: 27-February-17, 13:21:23 »

I think it only supports 2 GB per slot. It could be that is listed in error.
Logged
Z77A-GD65/BIOS 10.5, i7 2700K
CPU cooler ~ Zalman CNPS9900ALED
Corsair Vengeance Pro 1600 4x4Gb(16Gb)
W 7 Home Premium x64/SP1
Corsair TX650W +12V~52A,
300GB WD VelociRaptor 3000HLHX S-ATA 6.0
600GB WD VelociRaptor 6000HLHX S-ATA 6.0
Lite-On CD/DVD combo burner
MSI 560 HAWK, Drv. 368.82
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
DIYPC Solar-M1-G Black SECC case
HANNS-G HE245 monitor

shpoze

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
« Reply #2 on: 27-February-17, 16:39:27 »

Yeah, i thought so. Is there any bate BIOS that can fix this?
Logged

HenryW

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 20159
« Reply #3 on: 27-February-17, 17:48:58 »

No, a BIOS update won't change it.
Logged
Z77A-GD65/BIOS 10.5, i7 2700K
CPU cooler ~ Zalman CNPS9900ALED
Corsair Vengeance Pro 1600 4x4Gb(16Gb)
W 7 Home Premium x64/SP1
Corsair TX650W +12V~52A,
300GB WD VelociRaptor 3000HLHX S-ATA 6.0
600GB WD VelociRaptor 6000HLHX S-ATA 6.0
Lite-On CD/DVD combo burner
MSI 560 HAWK, Drv. 368.82
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
DIYPC Solar-M1-G Black SECC case
HANNS-G HE245 monitor

adam111966

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
« Reply #4 on: 04-March-17, 16:38:36 »

I'm not sure if your manual is correct, but it states you have a maximum of 4Gb total system memory for your board.  You may need to try a single 4Gb ram module or possibly 2x2Gb or even 4x1Gb.  I recently had a similar problem on my P6n Diamond.  My system supports 8Gb max and was trying to use 4x2Gb and had the same no boot on startup.  In my case though a BIOS update solved my problem.  Hope this helps.
Logged

shpoze

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
« Reply #5 on: 09-March-17, 13:30:56 »

K9N Neo v2 suppot 8GB total system memory
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up