Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Live Update issues? See here.  (Read 37216 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

mathscrawl

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
« Reply #150 on: 20-June-17, 15:48:50 »

I'm having similar issues to the posters with the gaming app problem, but in my case it's Live Update itself that hangs and takes up my CPU usage.  This is on a Z170A M5. If I uninstall and reinstall Live Update, it will work like it should for a reboot or two, but then will exhibit the same behavior.
Logged

NichromeTopic starter

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13426
« Reply #151 on: 06-July-17, 11:28:19 »

All you can do now is RMA the motherboard. LiveUpdate is not suitable for BIOS flashing (in my opinion) and doing so from Windows is the worst method for BIOS update.
See >>How to contact MSI.<<
PS: Warranty should not be affected, it was official BIOS update method.
Logged
I only take responsibility for what I say, not for what you understand.  Any posts are my own views!

greatdroid

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
« Reply #152 on: 06-July-17, 14:48:06 »

Hello can't update msi xboost even can't uninstall. I always says got the same version, even if uninstalled. How can I remove it completly to make a clean install?
Got msi B
Logged

emericaridr11

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
« Reply #153 on: 11-July-17, 18:49:33 »

Why why why is msi live update still being available to download if all it does is brick boards consistently?

Msi come on!
Logged

NichromeTopic starter

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13426
« Reply #154 on: 11-July-17, 20:06:20 »

Why why why is msi live update still being available to download if all it does is brick boards consistently?

Msi come on!
Ask MSI: >>How to contact MSI.<<
Logged
I only take responsibility for what I say, not for what you understand.  Any posts are my own views!

filetransfer7

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
« Reply #155 on: 12-July-17, 04:23:16 »

Just got done using Live Update to perfectly brick a B350 Tomahawk.  JBAT1 jumper short does nothing. Oddly this is one piece I bought this weekend with a no questions asked warranty.  I'm kind of shocked right now, as I don't think I've ever fully bricked a motherboard in the last 25 years...
Logged

ricburger

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
« Reply #156 on: 17-July-17, 16:06:28 »

I am having an annoying issue with Live Update.  Version is 6.20.14.  I have set the scan schedule but I keep getting a nag message every time I boot up asking me if I want to scan.  Is there anyway to turn this off?.  
Logged

mathscrawl

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
« Reply #157 on: 21-July-17, 16:20:58 »

After a bunch of trial and error I think I figured out my issue, albeit mostly by accident. I did a clean Windows install and things worked fine for the most part, but eventually I wound up having the same issue: Live Update 6 would fail to launch and eat roughly 40% of my CPU. At about the same time I noticed that Event Viewer was logging unexpected system crashes; these were crashes that I was failing to notice because they were apparently happening only at startup and shutdown. This turned to be caused by a display driver crash (which is odd because it never happened while I was actually gaming). Once I realized that was the issue, I noticed that my Live Update problems seemed to follow an installation of Realtek HD Audio Drivers. Reinstalling Nvidia's drivers following each Realtek update has solved my issues and Live Update 6 hasn't acted up since.

I haven't bothered to check and see if updating Realtek's drivers manually avoids the issue or not. I'll check to see if that makes a difference next time. I will probably take the advice that was posted upthread and do installs manually from here on out; I'll just use Live Update to see what's available.
Logged

kurt.callebaut

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
« Reply #158 on: 28-July-17, 10:36:10 »

Hi,

just got some new hardware from MSI a videocard and MSI Gaming mainboard.

I have 2 issues to report :
1. The liveupdater popups are showing deskop while playing games, not funny when the game dissapears when nobody is asking, So the only choise is selecting never update, no reminder.
2. After doing this : This week i notice stuttering in games and i finally noticed that MSI live updater is using 50 % CPU time ?? What for doing nothing.. After killing the MISLiveupdater process, my PC is running fine.. cmon guys a program that only should check online for new updates once a day or not at all... why does it use 50 cpu continiously ? 


Btw  Not related to this topic, but the gaming app takes minutes before it becomes visible...after starting the exe.

thx for listening.

Kurt
Logged

davide-x

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
« Reply #159 on: 30-July-17, 09:46:51 »

I bricked my B350 Tomahawk updating the bios through MSI Live update, and had to wait 1 month for the RMA, but now everything is working fine. The only problem is that the MB that came back from the RMA had installed the first BIOS version (v 1.00). For this reason I can't set the frequency of my rams above 2133 MHz; quite disappointing, since they can work at 3200 MHz. I would like to update the BIOS, but I'm really scared to brick again the MB. What would you suggest? What's the safest way to update the BIOS? Is there something I can do in advance that could safeguard me in case of problems? That is, a fail-safe method.
Thanks in advance.
Logged

flobelix

  • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 25187
  • 微星科技
    • Afterburner New Features Introduction | MSI
« Reply #160 on: 30-July-17, 11:35:52 »

Use bios included MFlash instead of Live Update. That is safe. LIve Update is flashing under Windows and can be troubled by any small software issue even not related to Live Update itself.
Logged
MSI X299 Gaming 7 ACK (MS-7A90) Bios 1.5 
Core i7 7820X @ 4200.95 MHz (42 * 100.02 MHz, fixed all cores), 1.088v
Corsair H110 Liquid CPU Cooler
32GB (4 x 8GB) Corsair CMK32GX4M4C3000C15R @ 1500 MHz (DDR4-3000), 15-17-17-35-2t 1.35v
MSI Radeon RX Vega 64 WAVE 8G
256GB Samsung 830 SSD + 2TB Seagate Firecuda SSHD
Seasonic G-750 • +12V: 62A • +3.3V: 20A • +5V: 20A
Windows 10 Pro
Cooler Master Masterbox 5 MSI Gaming Edition

davide-x

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
« Reply #161 on: 30-July-17, 11:44:31 »

Use bios included MFlash instead of Live Update. That is safe. LIve Update is flashing under Windows and can be troubled by any small software issue even not related to Live Update itself.
Thank you for the answer, may I upgrade from v1.00 straight to v1.6?
Logged

flobelix

  • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 25187
  • 微星科技
    • Afterburner New Features Introduction | MSI
« Reply #162 on: 30-July-17, 11:47:13 »

Yes, that is no problem. All later bios versions do include all previous fixes.
Logged
MSI X299 Gaming 7 ACK (MS-7A90) Bios 1.5 
Core i7 7820X @ 4200.95 MHz (42 * 100.02 MHz, fixed all cores), 1.088v
Corsair H110 Liquid CPU Cooler
32GB (4 x 8GB) Corsair CMK32GX4M4C3000C15R @ 1500 MHz (DDR4-3000), 15-17-17-35-2t 1.35v
MSI Radeon RX Vega 64 WAVE 8G
256GB Samsung 830 SSD + 2TB Seagate Firecuda SSHD
Seasonic G-750 • +12V: 62A • +3.3V: 20A • +5V: 20A
Windows 10 Pro
Cooler Master Masterbox 5 MSI Gaming Edition

kaisersolo

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
« Reply #163 on: 07-August-17, 15:21:07 »

@darkhawk, @nichrome

Latest version of LiveUpdate as of this date 07/08/2017

Updating my MSI x370 gaming plus. What you see in the image attached. Has been on my screen for 30+ mins, I previously have updated my bioses via mflash and Live Update, but it never has taken this long. Have I bricked the motherboard with MSi Live Update? Can I salvage this? Please help.
 
« Last Edit: 07-August-17, 22:42:33 by kaisersolo »
Logged
Ryzen 1700 (OC 3.8)
MSI X370 Gaming Plus (Bios Version 7A33v54)
Corsair 16GB  DDR4 3200 RAM (v5.39) @2993
Sapphire RX 480+ OC 8GB
2 x Crucial BX100 250 SSD
Phanteks P400s TG

NichromeTopic starter

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13426
« Reply #164 on: 07-August-17, 21:40:56 »

Let it sit for another 1-2 hours. If nothing happens, try rebooting it. It may be bricked, or just software crashed (or something).
In the worst scenario, you'll need to RMA the board. See >>How to contact MSI.<<

Also make sure to try >>Clear CMOS Guide<<
Logged
I only take responsibility for what I say, not for what you understand.  Any posts are my own views!

kaisersolo

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
« Reply #165 on: 08-August-17, 05:32:19 »

@Nichrome 

Phew...... that waS CLOSE.
followed your instruction and rebooted.
It's alive.

I will always update via mflash!

Thanks
Logged
Ryzen 1700 (OC 3.8)
MSI X370 Gaming Plus (Bios Version 7A33v54)
Corsair 16GB  DDR4 3200 RAM (v5.39) @2993
Sapphire RX 480+ OC 8GB
2 x Crucial BX100 250 SSD
Phanteks P400s TG

NichromeTopic starter

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13426
« Reply #166 on: 08-August-17, 07:17:03 »

That's great then :)
Logged
I only take responsibility for what I say, not for what you understand.  Any posts are my own views!

noodlesrap

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
« Reply #167 on: 24-August-17, 03:22:53 »

mobo: z68a-g43 g3

Trying to upgrade from geforce 560ti to geforce 1060.
b2 error.
b2 error fix: update bios.
option 1: mflash bios using usb stick with E7750v52
attempt 1: failure - freezes upon selection of USB stick in "select one source to update bios"
attempt 2: failure - same issue after changing USB sticks.
option 2: liveupdate 6
attempt: failure - no option in version 6.2.0.18 for updating or scanning MB BIOS.
option 3: liveupdate 6 earlier version
attempt: failure - downloads 4.30 to upgrade from 4.00, but does not attempt install
option 4: liveupdate 5
attempt: failure - does not attempt install but gives false "reboot your computer" message as if install had completed.

o_0

What the heck do I do!?

i5 2500k @ 3.3
16gb at 1833
win 10 64bit
« Last Edit: 24-August-17, 11:07:44 by noodlesrap »
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 69020
« Reply #168 on: 24-August-17, 12:37:50 »

@noodlesrap
if you have some issue open new topic
live update can't flash all in one .exe updates
Logged

ft55555

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
« Reply #169 on: 30-August-17, 07:08:01 »

When I ran Live Update 6, I received a notification that there was an update to Live Update. The setup program popped up and it abruptly quit. It turns out that Windows Defender identified an executable called "SUpdate.exe" that Live Update downloaded to my Internet cache folder as malware. The same thing happened when I tried installing a Realtek audio driver update through Live Update using the "Total Installer" button.
Logged

Nidhoggr

  • LIEUTENANT COLONEL
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2289
« Reply #170 on: 31-August-17, 06:53:05 »

When I ran Live Update 6, I received a notification that there was an update to Live Update. The setup program popped up and it abruptly quit. It turns out that Windows Defender identified an executable called "SUpdate.exe" that Live Update downloaded to my Internet cache folder as malware. The same thing happened when I tried installing a Realtek audio driver update through Live Update using the "Total Installer" button.

Whitelist (exclusion list) the SUpdate.exe then and retry.
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/4028485/windows-add-an-exclusion-to-windows-defender-antivirus
Logged

ft55555

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
« Reply #171 on: 31-August-17, 07:38:54 »

Whitelist (exclusion list) the SUpdate.exe then and retry.
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/4028485/windows-add-an-exclusion-to-windows-defender-antivirus

I've updated Live Update several times in the past. Why would I have to do this now?
Logged

jw1jones323

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
« Reply #172 on: 09-September-17, 17:10:58 »

Ugh.  I've been struggling with this issue all summer and have been to proud to post.  I put my pc together and it was taking forever to boot, if it booted at all.  I'd say it would only get to the OS maybe 1 out of 3 tries.  I decided to try the live update function.  It seemed to reboot and now won't get past debug code 07.   I've tried flashback to no avail, but tbh I've never had a bios update fail and didn't know what rev level it came with.  If someone can get that info by serial, I'd greatly appreciate it.  My board is an X370 gaming titanium.  S/N (I think) H316444165 01002.  At least that's the only number I see that resembles a serial number.  Oh, and I should add when I do try flashback, the white light blinks 3 times and stops.  I've stripped it down to nothing, tried all of my components except my CPU in another PC. I only have Intel CPU based pcs and this is a Ryzen 1700x.  This is the first build I've done in probably 15 years and probably the non sever I've touched in 7.
« Last Edit: 10-September-17, 02:09:17 by jw1jones323 »
Logged

gbonham

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
« Reply #173 on: 21-October-17, 04:03:31 »

I have a MSI Krait Gaming 3x and have absolutely no MSI Software installed.  I keep getting this message every time I boot up.  Nothing has been added to my start up list.  Please help.
Logged

NichromeTopic starter

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13426
« Reply #174 on: 21-October-17, 11:46:45 »

Download and install drivers and utilities from your product page.
Logged
I only take responsibility for what I say, not for what you understand.  Any posts are my own views!

gbonham

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
« Reply #175 on: 21-October-17, 14:30:00 »

Download and install drivers and utilities from your product page.
Ummm....No.  Everything works fine and I refuse to install a manufacturer's suite of applications because they have an annoying splash screen.  I need some real help here.
Logged

NichromeTopic starter

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13426
« Reply #176 on: 21-October-17, 18:20:50 »

So what's the issue?
Logged
I only take responsibility for what I say, not for what you understand.  Any posts are my own views!

gbonham

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
« Reply #177 on: 22-October-17, 18:25:52 »

So what's the issue?
I just don't want the splash screen to pop up.  I've had the motherboard since August of last year and have never had this issue.
Logged

NichromeTopic starter

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13426
« Reply #178 on: 22-October-17, 19:20:28 »

Just uninstall the software. 
Alternatively check start-up programs and disable anything that's related to MSI LiveUpdate, Command Center etc (whatever you actually have installed).
Logged
I only take responsibility for what I say, not for what you understand.  Any posts are my own views!

tomsromans20

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
« Reply #179 on: 24-October-17, 18:11:55 »

Weird things going on
Logged
MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon, BIOS 7A32v19
Zotac NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 8 GB Mini
Corsair CP-9020056-UK RM Series RM850 80 Plus Gold 850W, 12v rail Rating of listed PSU: Conforms to ATX12V v2.4 and EPS 2.92 standards and it is backward compatible with ATX12V 2.2 and ATX12V 2.01 systems
AMD Ryzen 5 1600X
G.SKILL Flare F4-2400C16D-16GFX 16 GB (8 GB x 2)
Crucial MX300 275GB M.2 (2280)(BOOT DRIVE), Seagate FireCuda 2 TB 3.5 inch Internal SSHD Hard Drive
Be Quiet BK019 Dark Rock Pro3
Be Quiet Silent Base 900Pro case
Operating System:  Windows 10 Pro X64 (OS Build 16299.64)

gordonskac

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
« Reply #180 on: 25-October-17, 18:14:32 »

Same here with B350 Gaming pro carbon. Any solution?
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]  All   Go Up