Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Trident 3 - Extend RAM to 16GB  (Read 403 times)

07nasioc and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

msiTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Trident 3 - Extend RAM to 16GB
« on: 29-August-17, 11:43:41 »

Hi everyone,

I have a MSI Trident 3 (VR7RC-027EU) and would like to upgrade RAM from 8 to 16GB. I am from the Netherlands.
The current memory bank is populated with 8GB RAM (MSI24D4S7D8MB-8).
Where can I buy MSI24D4S7D8MB-8? None of the retailers in the Netherlands offer this product on their websites. I've checked the distributors already.

If buying this part is not possible, what kind of memory could I buy as an alternative? The below ones are listed on the 'Recommend' section of the Trident 3 (https://www.msi.com/Desktop/support/Trident-3.html) , but the part numbers can't be found anywhere.



Thanks in advance.
Logged

Nidhoggr

  • LIEUTENANT COLONEL
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2206
« Reply #1 on: 29-August-17, 12:20:52 »

It seems to be a MSI OEM parts number so you won't be able to buy it through a retailer.

It appears to be Kingston ValueRAM ddr4-2400 with Micron DRAM chips.

https://m.newegg.com/products/20-242-384
Logged

msiTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
« Reply #2 on: 29-August-17, 12:57:08 »

Hi,

Thanks for your response.
I actually bought that exact module (KVR24S17S8/8) a month ago, from a Dutch retailer.

However, when;
- both modules (KVR24S17S8/8 and MSI24D4S7D8MB-8) were running together in dual channel, I got BSOD's when Windows booted up.
- only KVR24S17S8/8 was put in, the system didn't boot (often, not even BIOS).

Only when I restored it back to MSI24D4S7D8MB-8 (single unit), the system worked again. I therefore returned the RAM to the retailer.
Do you think that the new RAM was faulty? Or does the Trident not support it.

Thanks in advance.
Logged

Nidhoggr

  • LIEUTENANT COLONEL
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2206
« Reply #3 on: 29-August-17, 15:13:29 »

It's possible the ram was bad. I would contact MSI support if you need more information
Logged

msiTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
« Reply #4 on: 30-August-17, 08:44:07 »

Hi Nidhoggr,

Thanks for your response. I see that Yang is quite active on this forum as a MSI representative. Perhaps he can shed some insight on this.
Otherwise, I'll get in touch through 'Ask a question' and post the results here.

Thanks again.
Logged

Yang

  • AIO Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 521
« Reply #5 on: 31-August-17, 01:46:33 »

I don't know waht is this-MSI24D4S7D8MB-8.

Please provide some information as below to us for this system you used:
1. Serial number on the back cover and on the box.
It is SOP how to check it as below link:
http://www.msi.com/page/warranty
2. The number:9S6-xxxx-xxx that you can find it on the box.
And then i will be check what memory is shipping with this system.

If you want to buy MSI parts, please contact your nearest MSI branch office or local distributors for service.
You can find contact info with below link:
MSI branches: http://www.msi.com/about/contact-us/
Distributors: http://www.msi.com/service/wheretobuy/
Logged

msiTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
« Reply #6 on: 04-September-17, 08:09:51 »

Hi Yang,

I have sent you a PM with my box's details (incl S/N).
See below for CPU-Z screenshot of RAM. I mistyped the part number, it should be MSI24D4S7S8MB-8.

Logged

kelvin_diep

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
« Reply #7 on: 08-September-17, 14:27:35 »

Sorry for raiding the posts.

I am also in a similar situation trying to upgrade 16gb, I have the samsung one instead


Am I able to buy same model on ebay? particularly this one:
 http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Samsung-8GB-1x8GB-1Rx8-PC4-2400T-DDR4-2400-Low-Density-Non-ECC-RAM-Laptop-Memory/172601255629?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649

Greatly appreciate if someone can help.

Thanks.
Logged

msiTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
« Reply #8 on: 12-September-17, 08:04:01 »

Hi Kelvin,

I think you're pretty safe if you buy the same part number; M471A1K43BB1-CRC (8GB).
Yang has helped me through PM to identify the supported RAM parts based on the support page.
See the list below for the actual manufacturer numbers.

1. S7C-S68D201-H23 / HYNIX/HMA81GS6AFR8N 8GB/2400MHz
2. S7C-S68D501-K37 / KINGSTON/MSI24D4S7S8MB 8GB/2400MHz (MICRON/6DB77D9TBH)
3. S7C-S68D502-K37 / KINGSTON/MSI24D4S7D8MB 8GB/2400MHz (MICRON/MT40A512M8RH)
4. S7C-S69D501-K37 / KINGSTON/MSI24D4S7D8MB 16GB/2400MHz
5. S7C-S68D802-S02 / SAMSUNG/M471A1K43BB1 8GB/2400MHz
6. S7C-S69D801-S02 / SAMSUNG/M471A2K43BB1 16GB/2400MHz

For the difference between no. 2 and 3, see the parentheses; it's a different mem chip. Yang confirmed.

I did some of my own research on M471A1K43BB1 and its variants (M471A1K43BB1-CPB, M471A1K43BB1-CRC etc).
Looking at the below table (from Samsung) and the above information, we need M471A1K43BB1-CRC to satisfy the 2400MHz criterion. That matches your photo as well.

Logged

kelvin_diep

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
« Reply #9 on: 12-September-17, 11:17:44 »

Hi Msi,

Thank you for helping out and searching for me.

I was just concerned since you had a problem with buying additional ram and caused it not to boot up.

I have just purchased it and I will let you know if it goes well.

Thanks again.
Logged

msiTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
« Reply #10 on: 12-September-17, 11:42:45 »

You're welcome! (By the way I'm not working for MSI or anything, but I got this username automatically).
I bought a different piece of 16GB Kingstom RAM (1 slot, DDR4 SODIMM CR17-17-17 2400MHz) today as well, as none of the retailers I contacted here offer the 'supported' RAM parts... 
Will keep this topic updated on its compatibility.
Logged

kelvin_diep

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
« Reply #11 on: 12-September-17, 13:03:50 »

Haha, that is fine I have noticed.

Sounds good, it is hard to find compatible rams locally and I'm sure your posts will help out others :)
Logged

diangelojubitana

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
« Reply #12 on: 12-September-17, 13:40:29 »

Hi Kelvin,

I am also from the Netherlands (Amsterdam) and bought the Trident 3, it is easy to install another 8GB make sure it is a So-Dimm and not Dimm.
Logged

kelvin_diep

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
« Reply #13 on: 13-September-17, 10:45:06 »

Thanks for the reassurance diangelojubitana, I did check it is SO-DIMM and hopefully it will arrive soon. :)
Logged

samuga_igor

  • STAFF SERGEANT
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 52
« Reply #14 on: 13-September-17, 11:34:58 »

lol!!!
Logged

msiTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
« Reply #15 on: 13-September-17, 11:48:03 »

Well DIMM wouldn't fit as it's physically larger (lol). SODIMM is smaller (usually laptop) memory which fits the Trident 3, as it's small form-factor.
Logged

msiTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
« Reply #16 on: 14-September-17, 10:42:36 »

I just wanted to let everyone know that I bought KVR24S17D8/16 (Kingston ValueRAM 16GB SODIMM, CL17, 2400 MHz) from a local retailer. Happy to report it's compatible with the Trident 3.
I placed it in the primary slot - in slot 2 MSI24D4S7D8MB - and my PC is reporting 24GB of available RAM (=16+8).
I suspect the model KVR24S17D8/8 I ordered before is also compatible, but was malfunctioning (DOA).

Thanks everyone.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up