MSI Global English Forum

MSI GAMING => GAMING Motherboards => Topic started by: Ruudt on 10-December-14, 17:59:52

Title: How to connect 3-way and 4-way SLI / Crossfire using single bridges
Post by: Ruudt on 10-December-14, 17:59:52
3-Way SLI and 4-Way SLI
(This example is based on a MSI X99S GAMING 9 AC motherboard with enough space for graphics card cooling, other configurations are possible on this motherboard)
Title: Re: How to connect 3-way and 4-way SLI / Crossfire using single bridges
Post by: Ruudt on 10-December-14, 18:02:06
3-Way CrossfireX and 4-Way CrossfireX
(This example is based on a MSI X99S GAMING 9 AC motherboard with enough space for graphics card cooling, other configurations are possible on this motherboard. R9-290(X) don't need any bridges for CrossfireX operation)
Title: Re: How to connect 3-way and 4-way SLI / Crossfire using single bridges
Post by: tr4nc1d80m8 on 13-December-14, 02:44:20
Great reference, especially for those who are new to the system build community!
Title: Re: How to connect 3-way and 4-way SLI / Crossfire using single bridges
Post by: blanco111 on 08-January-15, 04:37:11
This a little off-topic, but I plan to build my computer with three graphic cards.  I won't be playing games.  I  will be using the computer to render images in Blender Cycles.  I was told for this purpose not to use sli, i.e. don't use any bridges.   Just have the three graphic cards installed.  Have you heard of using three graphic cards without any bridges I.e. sli serial linked interface?
Title: Re: How to connect 3-way and 4-way SLI / Crossfire using single bridges
Post by: badboy2k on 08-January-15, 05:11:59
sli connects the cards as a single core in essense so games tend to do very well with that!

as for using GPU's to render as long as your program supports multiple GPU's they can usually just communicate to all cards in series via PCI-E as all its doing is dumping the data into there compute engine of each card to be calculated and then thrown back out the results!

your renderer will see the cards like CPU cores (with no SLI/Crossfire) so rendering with multiple cards is like having a multi core CPU but they do not need SLI to do it as its direct multiple core independent region rendering where they are all working to make a single frame from the mesh but each is allocated a area to compute eg with 3 cards/cores you have 3 separate render areas where each card works on that section its been allocated to but the program just sends the data to each card independently that it sees fit to do so.

So if 3D rendering is the use its for DO NOT USE SLI or the render system will only see one of the 3 cards as Blender doesn't use SLI it will use CUDA computing and using SLI will Bind the cards together as one and because Blender is non SLI it will only have one usable card and the other 2 will be idle.
Title: Re: How to connect 3-way and 4-way SLI / Crossfire using single bridges
Post by: blanco111 on 08-January-15, 15:16:25
Thanks for responding.  I still have to find out how to choose the three cards in Blender Cycles, when I've only had experience choosing either CPU or GPU compute.  I read somewhere that my three gpu's will show up in the prefences->system->compute device menu and they can all be selected, but I'll have to see how that works if and when I finsih my build.

And if I wanted to go to sli (I'm getting 3 free games-Egghead promotion with the GPU's purchase), would I only have to attach a 3-way bridge to the gpu's.  Or is there something in BIOS or elsewhere I have to change?

Title: Re: How to connect 3-way and 4-way SLI / Crossfire using single bridges
Post by: badboy2k on 08-January-15, 17:27:20
if you plan on using SLI anyway you would need to disable it before you launch blender from the Nvidia Driver Suite and then launch so the SLI is disabled so  it separates the cards and turns off the bridge/s.

then you should be able to use all 3 of the cards to accelerate rendering!
Title: Re: How to connect 3-way and 4-way SLI / Crossfire using single bridges
Post by: joe on 21-May-15, 18:55:01
Hi,

I'm relativity new to the whole pc world and have 2 gtx 970s that I want to sli, I have them all done appart from the sli setup. What do I need to download to do that?  :think: and what do I do after that? Thanks alot
Title: Re: How to connect 3-way and 4-way SLI / Crossfire using single bridges
Post by: badboy2k on 21-May-15, 19:33:54
for SLI you just need the Bridge and the NVIDIA driver package and once installed you just go in and make sure SLI is enabled!
Title: Re: How to connect 3-way and 4-way SLI / Crossfire using single bridges
Post by: wharriman5 on 20-June-15, 19:41:48
can someone tell me what the proper configuration is for 2 way sli, i currently have 2 gtx 970's in slot e1 and e5 running at 8x 8x. but the nvidia control panel shows i have my display port cable plugged in the second card, when its plugged in the top card.if i put the cards in e1 and e2 one card runs at 16x and 8x but the performance goes down the drain.i am using windows 7 ultimate 64 bit.do i need to change my windows os to 8.1 or windows 10 for it to work correctly? the manual doesn't show anything and my motherboard is the x99-A not the x99S. something just doesn't seem right.i am also using the m.2 slot with a samsung sm951 256 gb.any help would be appreciated.
 :confused2: i am also using the latest bios update from march 2015,i cant find anything newer for the x99-A
Title: Re: How to connect 3-way and 4-way SLI / Crossfire using single bridges
Post by: voltosan on 06-August-15, 09:35:44
Hello

I just bought MSI X99S Gaminig 9 ACK MoBo

Because i bought this for 3 way sli setup my question is : if i connect my GPU on 1,2 &4 slot how can i connect sli bridges ? you attached only 2no short sli bridges which is if my knowledge is correct not enough for SLI ( probably its enough for amd but not for nvidia) ? so why there is no full set of sli bridges in box ? or is it only missing part in my box ?
Title: Re: How to connect 3-way and 4-way SLI / Crossfire using single bridges
Post by: badboy2k on 06-August-15, 17:59:27
the 2 ones are AMD Crossfire the upper image (1st) shows for 3 way SLI!
Title: Re: How to connect 3-way and 4-way SLI / Crossfire using single bridges
Post by: genesion on 01-September-15, 15:46:47
How about x99a gaming 9ack motherboard.

Looking for an exact fitting bridge for 3way sli configuration. I have a 5930k cpu with this motherboard and bought 3 nvidia 980ti vga cards for 3-way sli configuration. The manual says for 3-way sli /w 40 lanes configuration can be done in 2 ways.
1. PCI_E1 3.0 X8, PCI_E2 3.0 X8, PCI_E4 3.0 X8
2. PCI_E1 3.0 X16, PCI_E4 3.0 X16, PCI_E5 3.0 X8

 I would like to go with 2nd configuration, but I can't find the exact fitting bridge for this. slots E4 and E5 are close but the slot E1 is far away from E4.

 I wonder there is any fitting bridge available for 3 way sli on this motherboard. Where do I buy it?

Do I buy few flim type flexible bridges and connect it like x99s board diagram?

Another problem is when I put a vga card on E5 slot (fifth slot) I can't connect front audio output, direct audio power, usb3.0 cables. How do people figure this out?
Title: Re: How to connect 3-way and 4-way SLI / Crossfire using single bridges
Post by: flobelix on 01-September-15, 16:18:36
How about x99a gaming 9ack motherboard.

It's the exactly same board layout like X99S GAMING 9 AC or to be correct almost the same board with only USB3.1 and Killer WLAN added.

So the initial post from Ruudt shows the 3-way setup for your board. My X99A XPower using the same slot layout comes with a long bridge. The Gaming 9 versions just lists two bridges to be included (XPower: 4) so might be you need to buy one if both are just standard size.
Title: Re: How to connect 3-way and 4-way SLI / Crossfire using single bridges
Post by: genesion on 01-September-15, 22:38:59
[attachthumb=1]

mine for 16x 16x 8x configuration - requires 1, 4, and 5 slots.

so not exactly same as the diagram(1, 3, and 5 slot)
Title: Re: How to connect 3-way and 4-way SLI / Crossfire using single bridges
Post by: flobelix on 02-September-15, 18:44:34
It is exactly the same. No Gaming 9 has a different layout. Problems with the manual not listing all options was the purpose of the sticky thread: https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=251355.0 (https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=251355.0)
Title: Re: How to connect 3-way and 4-way SLI / Crossfire using single bridges
Post by: genesion on 12-September-15, 15:50:06
Bought 4 GTX980TI cards and plan to use it on my x99a gaming 9 ack board.

Is it ok to use 4 way bridge from evga? other than putting 3 flex type bridges as the diagram shows?
Title: Re: How to connect 3-way and 4-way SLI / Crossfire using single bridges
Post by: badboy2k on 12-September-15, 17:31:34
Bought 4 GTX980TI cards and plan to use it on my x99a gaming 9 ack board. Is it ok to use 4 way bridge from evga? other than putting 3 flex type bridges as the diagram shows?

YES use the 4 way bridge if it fits as these are just diagrams of how to do it with singles is if you do not have a 4 way bridge that fits!
Title: Re: How to connect 3-way and 4-way SLI / Crossfire using single bridges
Post by: jpouza on 30-November-15, 15:52:24
I´ve posted about this a long time ago, for 3Way SLI (nvidia cards), the super long bridge does not exist at all, even if it does, it is visually ugly for most users.

I had to use the normal 3way SLI bridge instead, knowing that the PCIe speeds are not in the recommended positions of the Gaming 9 AC board manual.

Cheers
Title: Re: How to connect 3-way and 4-way SLI / Crossfire using single bridges
Post by: freyjasdad on 09-January-17, 20:24:53
@badboy2k
So by these diagrams it IS possible to mount the 2nd card in the 3rd GPU slot in order to facilitate better cooling?
 *edit to add* For reference I'm using a X99A LG2011-v3 Pro Carbon MoBo with two GTX 1070 FTWs

The MoBo instructions specifically state to put the 2nd card in the 2nd slot.

I'd love to move my 2nd card to the 3rd slot.. please tell me I'm reading this correctly!!

Thanks!
Title: Re: How to connect 3-way and 4-way SLI / Crossfire using single bridges
Post by: flobelix on 09-January-17, 20:29:43
Open your own thread following >>Posting Guide<< (https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=38822.0). Slot population rules are no issue of this topic.
Title: Re: How to connect 3-way and 4-way SLI / Crossfire using single bridges
Post by: liahndileva on 24-January-17, 19:01:31
I wonder if anyone can help.. I'm running a    
MSI X99A-XPOWER-GAM-TITANIUM Intel mb. And I can only get 2 gtx 980ti Jetstream working with Sli. I  have  everything up to date and the cards are fat so I can only get them in certain slots.. the 3rd card will not Sli.
Title: Re: How to connect 3-way and 4-way SLI / Crossfire using single bridges
Post by: badboy2k on 24-January-17, 19:12:10
I wonder if anyone can help.. I'm running a MSI X99A-XPOWER-GAM-TITANIUM Intel mb. And I can only get 2 gtx 980ti Jetstream working with Sli. I have everything up to date and the cards are fat so I can only get them in certain slots.. the 3rd card will not Sli.
what CPU do you have?
Title: Re: How to connect 3-way and 4-way SLI / Crossfire using single bridges
Post by: liahndileva on 24-January-17, 19:21:08
I will post a screen shot
Title: Re: How to connect 3-way and 4-way SLI / Crossfire using single bridges
Post by: liahndileva on 24-January-17, 19:22:52
Haswell i7. 5820k
Title: Re: How to connect 3-way and 4-way SLI / Crossfire using single bridges
Post by: badboy2k on 24-January-17, 19:42:31
Haswell i7. 5820k

Due to your CPU being a 28lane one only slots E1, E2 and E4 will work with 3 way SLI as the lower slot is only x4 lanes and SLI needs x8 lanes to each card!

(https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=251355.0;attach=20951;image)
Title: Re: How to connect 3-way and 4-way SLI / Crossfire using single bridges
Post by: liahndileva on 24-January-17, 22:14:59
thanks very much ... now I need to think how I'm going to tackle this as I'm using 980ti and the coolers are massive and they will not fit in the slots where they need to go... sell the cards and replace or change the coolers
Title: Re: How to connect 3-way and 4-way SLI / Crossfire using single bridges
Post by: tobias90 on 21-March-17, 21:02:37
Nvidia officially does not support more the 2Way SLI anymore.
Its a waste of money to get 3 cards!!! especially for gaming uses! Most games dont support 3 Way SLI. Some will not even start with 3 cards!
Another problem is the limited number of PCI Lanes that make 3+ way SLI not practicable.  i also think all cards will drop down to x4 PCI in a 3+ way SLI.
In a 2 way SLI most mainboards drops both cards down to x8 PCi


DO NOT USE MORE THEN 2 CARDS IN A SLI!!!
Better buy a new bedder card and sell your old ones.
Title: Re: How to connect 3-way and 4-way SLI / Crossfire using single bridges
Post by: Nidhoggr on 21-March-17, 21:53:48
Nvidia SLI requires 8 PCIe lanes per card to work. period. AMD doesn't have a restriction with crossfire.

SLI is a waste for the most part anyway, especially 3 or 4 way.