MSI Global English Forum

MSI GAMING => GAMING Desktop PCs / Monitor / All-in-One PCs => Topic started by: claybear on 23-March-19, 00:42:15

Title: Optix MAG321CQR G-Sync Compatible ?
Post by: claybear on 23-March-19, 00:42:15
Hello everyone, 
I just bought Optix MAG321CQR and it is amazing, but I do have one issue. I can not get G-Sync compatibility to enable, I have turned on Freesync in the OSD but when I go to enable the G-Sync option the check box unchecks after I hit apply. I was using a Scepter 27" monitor before I upgraded and that worked no issues.
 Any thoughts on this?

My system is a Ryzen 5 2600, MSI X470 pro carbon, 16 GB ram, EVGA GTX 1070 Ti
Title: Re: Optix MAG321CQR G-Sync Compatible ?
Post by: kevinv4512 on 23-March-19, 22:51:04
I am having the exact same issue! The checkbox is unchecking itself on Nvidia control panel, but only with my Optix MAG321CQR and not with my other "G-SYNC Compatible" monitors. I have confirmed that I am using the latest Nvidia Geforce drivers as well.

My system specs are attached in the file "dxdiag.txt".
Title: Re: Optix MAG321CQR G-Sync Compatible ?
Post by: Yang on 26-March-19, 02:10:53
MSI monitors are NOT on NVIDIA list.
https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/geforce/products/g-sync-monitors/specs/ (https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/geforce/products/g-sync-monitors/specs/)
Title: Re: Optix MAG321CQR G-Sync Compatible ?
Post by: claybear on 26-March-19, 23:22:18
I get that they are not on the Nvidia list but MSI produced a list that shows it is compatible  
(https://assets.rockpapershotgun.com/images/2019/01/MSI-monitors.jpg/RPSS/resize/690x-1/format/jpg/)
Title: Re: Optix MAG321CQR G-Sync Compatible ?
Post by: Yang on 27-March-19, 06:31:58
MAG321CQR is support FreeSync.
For G-Sync, it must be setting FreeSync to Enabled first.

MAG321CQR is support FreeSync so should be used on G-Sync.
But it is not approved by NVIDIA so not on NVIDIA list.
Title: Re: Optix MAG321CQR G-Sync Compatible ?
Post by: claybear on 27-March-19, 15:10:35
Thank you for trying to help but as I stated in my original post I have turned on Freesync in the OSD and I get the option to enable G-Sync compatibility after doing so but for unknown reasons it will not allow me to enable it in that sub menu. I have tried every thing, different Display Port cables, Nvidia drivers from 417.71 all the way up to 419.67, fresh install of windows, driver install specifically for the monitor,  I even used MSI support option but they were absolutely no help(felt as if they didn't care if it worked or not) and my last test will be to try a RX580 graphics card (I have a few laying around) to see if Freesync is actually working. This is a pain in the butt just to get a feature that should work out of the box working.
Title: Re: Optix MAG321CQR G-Sync Compatible ?
Post by: Herlol1 on 29-March-19, 21:44:22
Maybe theres an issue with that model? I dont have the same monitor as you but i know it works with a mag271cqr and rtx2070. As long as freesync is enabled i can activate gsync. I just tested it before posting this msg. Though i will say it does not work that well, it still flickers alot in most games.
Title: Re: Optix MAG321CQR G-Sync Compatible ?
Post by: claybear on 31-March-19, 10:55:38
Yeah I'm thinking it's the monitor I've been having other issues as well white lettering ghosting and I even had to do a power cycle of the monitor as the white lettering was show signs of rainbow effect today. I bought the extended warranty so I should be golden but the real question is do I try another one or go to a different brand/model. Oh yeah and one more thing I tried some quick Freesync testing with a RX580 today and does not appear to be working, going to try do more testing later today to verify.
Title: Re: Optix MAG321CQR G-Sync Compatible ?
Post by: claybear on 03-April-19, 06:46:42
So I have done my testing and I can confirm that by turning on Freesync in OSD menu it does trigger the software for both RX 580 and GTX 1070 Ti, but the software (Freesync/Adaptive sync) in the monitor is not working properly. with the RX 580 installed with the windmill Freesync test is shows that Freesync is enabled but it does not actually do anything in fact the ghosting from the windmill blades was absolutely horrible and the tearing was evident. uninstalling the AMD software and moving back to the GTX 1070 Ti the same test shows the monitor is not Freesync  compatible. I don't pretend to know what is going on with these monitors but the Freesync portion of them is not working correctly.  I will be doing a full video review of this monitor on my YouTube channel in the next couple of weeks.
Title: Re: Optix MAG321CQR G-Sync Compatible ?
Post by: VikingAesir on 03-April-19, 11:12:15
I'm having the exact same problem. I have a second screen that works and have used it's display port cable on the MSI screen but still has the same issue. I'm running an RTX 2080 OC.
Title: Re: Optix MAG321CQR G-Sync Compatible ?
Post by: remi.farge on 24-April-19, 07:57:55
Hi guys,

I was having the exact same problem as all of you, i found the solution in this thread : https://foro.elchapuzasinformatico.com/monitores/95485-problema-al-activar-el-sync-compatible.html

Use google translate to understand it, it worked for me, now the gsync works fine.

Hope it will help some of you !
Title: Re: Optix MAG321CQR G-Sync Compatible ?
Post by: claybear on 24-April-19, 08:47:06
I sure wish this worked for me but it does not. I have a Monitor review posted on my YouTube channel if you guys are interested https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XjfMLBU924s&t=6s (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XjfMLBU924s&t=6s) I still can not get this to work. 
Title: Re: Optix MAG321CQR G-Sync Compatible ?
Post by: Yang on 24-April-19, 11:41:18
MAG321CQR is not proved by NVIDIA.
So cannot 100% guarantee GSYNC compatible on MAG321CQR.
MSI monitors are not on NVIDIA list of GSYNC compatible.
https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/geforce/products/g-sync-monitors/specs/ (https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/geforce/products/g-sync-monitors/specs/)
Title: Re: Optix MAG321CQR G-Sync Compatible ?
Post by: claybear on 25-April-19, 08:33:54
Oh Yang you do have that cut and paste down pat but maybe some other trouble shooting we can try would be more helpful.
Title: Re: Optix MAG321CQR G-Sync Compatible ?
Post by: remi.farge on 25-April-19, 10:49:02
Hi claybear,

I have same monitor as you, i did limit frame screen at 138, and then it worked, you sure you did follow what they told?
Title: Re: Optix MAG321CQR G-Sync Compatible ?
Post by: claybear on 25-April-19, 20:53:06
Yes I followed it down to the letter tried multiple refresh rates from 100 to 140 in steps of of 2 and still no G-Sync compatibility. Having said that should we have to limit the refresh rate on a monitor that cost this much to make it work for some?
Title: Re: Optix MAG321CQR G-Sync Compatible ?
Post by: dario.b101 on 03-May-19, 20:58:44
I have the MSI optix mag321cqr and been having the same issue and finally got it to work using the CRU by following along on https://foro.elchapuzasinformatico.com/monitores/95485-problema-al-activar-el-sync-compatible.html (https://foro.elchapuzasinformatico.com/monitores/95485-problema-al-activar-el-sync-compatible.html) I only used CRU not rivatunner. An issue that I got me stuck was in the monitor OSD it was saying my refresh rate was 139 but in the Nvidia control panel, it showed 138. The compatibility option would still not stay checked. So I played around with CRU some more and changed the refresh rate to 137 restarted monitor through CRU and it changed my MSI OSD refresh rate to 138. When I went to check the compatibility option it stayed checked and gave the prompt that I was applying the setting to the monitor. The pendulum test showed g-sync enabled and running.  Only tested apex legends so far but it's smoooooooothhhh. Been looking for a solution for a while thanks for the help!!!
Title: Re: Optix MAG321CQR G-Sync Compatible ?
Post by: Blast2008 on 04-May-19, 18:44:37
Any chance you can send the exact settings you used? I've also tried a range of frequencies with no success.

Thanks in advance!
Title: Re: Optix MAG321CQR G-Sync Compatible ?
Post by: HMS123 on 10-May-19, 13:59:19
Same exact issue. monitor is two days old. using display port and pretty much tried every driver and limiting fps did not work. please please if you can spell it out in bullet points ill love you 3000.
Title: Re: Optix MAG321CQR G-Sync Compatible ?
Post by: claybear on 11-May-19, 05:59:18
Hi guys, I finally got it to work here is a link to my YouTube video on how to get it to work https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oAiQBMqHIYg (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oAiQBMqHIYg). I hope this helps you guys out.
Title: Re: Optix MAG321CQR G-Sync Compatible ?
Post by: HMS123 on 11-May-19, 07:19:06
Can confirm that claybear's method worked in above video!!!! thanks!!!!
Title: Re: Optix MAG321CQR G-Sync Compatible ?
Post by: Ric9mm on 13-May-19, 02:13:18
Hi guys, I finally got it to work here is a link to my YouTube video on how to get it to work https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oAiQBMqHIYg (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oAiQBMqHIYg). I hope this helps you guys out.
Worked for me as well.  Thank you, claybear.
Title: Re: Optix MAG321CQR G-Sync Compatible ?
Post by: giannicolor on 03-June-19, 16:32:12
Hi guys, I finally got it to work here is a link to my YouTube video on how to get it to work https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oAiQBMqHIYg (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oAiQBMqHIYg). I hope this helps you guys out.

Thanks thanks thanks!!
Title: Re: Optix MAG321CQR G-Sync Compatible ?
Post by: vbarto3 on 08-June-19, 14:39:21
Yes worked for me too 
Thanks so much for posting !!!!

Anyone having issues with green disappearing in FPS mode? 
Anyone found any good calibration for this mode?
Title: Re: Optix MAG321CQR G-Sync Compatible ?
Post by: Yang on 10-June-19, 03:23:32
For FPS mode, setting value is removed green color and then found enemy easily during gaming.
If don't like, please use "User" mode for playing.