Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: [SOLVED] MSI FTP (K9A 4gb problem. Again)  (Read 6559 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

nickel

  • Guest
[SOLVED] MSI FTP (K9A 4gb problem. Again)
« on: 20-May-07, 18:51:20 »

Hi,

Hoping someone can help me. I've contacted MSI support and they've advised me to goto their ftp site to download a 1.61 beta bios which is not public yet. Unfortunately the username and password they provided don't seem to work.

I managed to find the bios 1.61 here and here.

Unfortunately this bios did not fix my problem. I've contacted MSI again but they don't reply. Does anyone know of the correct username and password for ftp://ftp.msi.com.tw/? Perhaps there are further beta bios's there which I could try?

The problem I'm having is:
BIOS 1.3 and 1.61 - Vista x64 boots but crashes regularly with 4gb (4x1gb modules). Sleep does not function, resume data is corrupted or sometimes displays an error in 1.3, a blank screen with 1.61.

BIOS 1.5 - Vista will not boot 4gb (4x1gb modules).

Other BIOS versions - 4gb not detected or won't post or windows won't start.

Memory tests report no RAM errors, removing the modules corrects the issue.

I've read that other people are having similar problems. As a last resort I'll probably take 2gb of my memory out or buy a new motherboard. Thought I'd try here first though.

Thank you!

Nick
------------------------------------------------------------

1.Product Type: K9A Platinum
2.BIOS version: v1.5 and 1.3 and 1.61 (and various others!)
3.External VGA Type:ati x1950pro
4.CPU Type: AMD athlon x2 4800
5.Memory Type: 4 x geil 1gb 800mhz 4 4 4 12
6.Power Supply Type: jeantech 450w (replacing this because I've heard its  :shocking: ly bad)
7.Operating System: vista hp x64
« Last Edit: 25-July-07, 06:38:38 by nickel »
Logged

Ex Forum User 3

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26817
Re: MSI FTP (K9A 4gb problem. Again)
« Reply #1 on: 20-May-07, 19:00:38 »
  • Best Answer

  • Well before doing anything else.
    Replace that PSU.
    Stop messing with BIOS'ses, I don't think the problem is BIOS related.
    Also, after you got a decend PSU, put XP on it, Vista is far from bug/problem free.
    Logged

    nickel

    • Guest
    Re: MSI FTP (K9A 4gb problem. Again)
    « Reply #2 on: 20-May-07, 19:06:34 »

    Thanks for the advice.  :)

    I am going to replace the PSU.

    Don't take this the wrong way, but I disagree that this isn't BIOS related. MSI acknowledged in their reply that it was a known BIOS problem, thats why they advised me to try v1.61. Further evidence comes from the fact that some people are also having the same problems with XP. Final evidence, the problem changes significantly with different BIOS versions. WIth earlier versions it actually goes away completely BUT not all my RAM is recognised.
    Logged

    Ex Forum User 3

    • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
    • *****
    • Offline Offline
    • Posts: 26817
    Re: MSI FTP (K9A 4gb problem. Again)
    « Reply #3 on: 20-May-07, 19:11:24 »
  • Best Answer

  • Could be, but your PSU has just 22A @ 12V if I'm not mistaken.
    AMD recommend 28A @ 12V for just 1 1950 VGA card in use.
    As Vista uses more 3D functions on the desktop, it's normal you have more problems with Vista as your videocard needs more power.
    You are lucky you can run Vista at all with that PSU.
    Logged

    nickel

    • Guest
    Re: MSI FTP (K9A 4gb problem. Again)
    « Reply #4 on: 20-May-07, 19:18:46 »

    Ok, i'll get hold of a new PSU in the next week or so and get back to you  :)

    Would a Corsair 520w do?

    Or should I future proof (might get a 2900xt, or the 65nm version when it comes out) with something more powerful? I never intend to do Crossfire.

    Thanks again.
    Logged

    Svet

    • T9246ED, Бивша комета
    • Administrator
    • *****
    • Offline Offline
    • Posts: 56873
    Re: MSI FTP (K9A 4gb problem. Again)
    « Reply #5 on: 20-May-07, 22:50:48 »
  • Best Answer

  • if you planning to use RX2900XT,(very power hungry) better go for more powerfull PSU.
    Logged

    dapeppe

    • Guest
    Re: MSI FTP (K9A 4gb problem. Again)
    « Reply #6 on: 20-May-07, 23:02:46 »

    I was using 1.5 and my 4GB would show up as 2850 in vista 32.  Even when I tried vista 64 it was the same. During boot up it showed 2900 (I don’t remember the exact number).  Now with bios 1.61 during boot up it shows 4 GB and in vista 32 it shows 3250.  This beta bios corrected the problem I was having.  Thanks for pointing me to it.
    Logged

    Ex Forum User 3

    • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
    • *****
    • Offline Offline
    • Posts: 26817
    Re: MSI FTP (K9A 4gb problem. Again)
    « Reply #7 on: 20-May-07, 23:08:12 »
  • Best Answer

  • Get a PC Power & Cooling PSU, they have way over 40A @ 12V...that's future proof  :lol_anim:
    Logged

    nickel

    • Guest
    Re: MSI FTP (K9A 4gb problem. Again)
    « Reply #8 on: 21-May-07, 03:42:10 »

    dapeppe: Glad the info helped. Maybe someone should create a post with links to all the k9a bios's?

    Don't think you can get PC Power & Cooling PSUs in the UK?

    Have read good things about the Corsair PSUs so think i'll go for one of them. I'm not being very good at following advice am I! :rolleyes:

    Logged

    Svet

    • T9246ED, Бивша комета
    • Administrator
    • *****
    • Offline Offline
    • Posts: 56873
    Re: MSI FTP (K9A 4gb problem. Again)
    « Reply #9 on: 21-May-07, 19:46:02 »
  • Best Answer

  • dapeppe: Glad the info helped. Maybe someone should create a post with links to all the k9a bios's?
    it can be found in beta & modded forum section:
    https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=108570.msg804682;topicseen#msg804682
    Logged

    nickel

    • Guest
    Re: MSI FTP (K9A 4gb problem. Again)
    « Reply #10 on: 08-June-07, 04:32:11 »

    Not sure if anyone else is experiencing the same problem/can help but just to keep this thread updated:

    I have upgraded my power supply to a Corsair 520w and updated my BIOS to the non-beta 1.6 just released. With 4gb I am still getting instability and corrupted sleep restoration. Going back to 2gb fixes both the issues.

    MSI have responded to my problem with...

    "Dear Nick,

    This issue is under testing. Please wait with patient. We will get back to you once there is a result.
    Sorry for any inconvenience caused.

    Best regards,
    MSI Technical Support"

    So I guess I wait  :)
    Logged

    NemesisSK

    • Guest
    Re: MSI FTP (K9A 4gb problem. Again)
    « Reply #11 on: 09-July-07, 21:52:13 »

    i found out that i have to disable restore vga bios on S3 or else my pc would not wake up correctly (freeze) im using S3 mode .. maybe it helps.. using XP32 .. vista64 is WAY BEYOND usefull yet.. driver problems are HUGE in there, maybe in 3months   ;-((
    « Last Edit: 09-July-07, 22:00:45 by NemesisSK »
    Logged

    tcsenter

    • MAJOR
    • *****
    • Offline Offline
    • Posts: 754
    Re: MSI FTP (K9A 4gb problem. Again)
    « Reply #12 on: 25-July-07, 06:35:00 »
  • Best Answer

  • Logged

    nickel

    • Guest
    Re: MSI FTP (K9A 4gb problem. Again)
    « Reply #13 on: 25-July-07, 06:38:10 »

    Should have mentioned that, I have had the MS 4GB patch installed throughout all this, doesn't fix my problem.

    Problems are solved now anyway! MSI emailed me BETA BIOS v173 which completely fixes the problems.
    « Last Edit: 25-July-07, 06:40:42 by nickel »
    Logged

    deaden_07

    • SERGEANT
    • *****
    • Offline Offline
    • Posts: 23
    Re: [SOLVED] MSI FTP (K9A 4gb problem. Again)
    « Reply #14 on: 26-July-07, 00:42:42 »
  • Best Answer

  • I should go email them and ask for the latest beta bios too then.
    Logged

    nickel

    • Guest
    Re: [SOLVED] MSI FTP (K9A 4gb problem. Again)
    « Reply #15 on: 26-July-07, 00:48:11 »

    I contacted them and was sent the BIOS via the following page:

    http://support.msi.com.tw/?language=eng
    Logged
    Pages: [1]   Go Up