Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Why not utilise your system's redundant processing power for a worthy cause, and join the MSI HQ Red Rockets Folding@Home team?

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: P35 Platinum FSB jumpers  (Read 3866 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Wolfheart

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
P35 Platinum FSB jumpers
« on: 28-June-07, 13:54:12 »

It seems that the default position of these jumpers is 200 MHz (x4). Why is this so? If this is a 1333 MHz board shouldn't the jumpers default be at 333 MHz (x4) position? I find this strange.

Is it okay to switch to 333 MHz (x4) position with a 1066 MHz processor?
Logged

Aaron

  • HydroGen
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5690
  • BOOST!
Re: P35 Platinum FSB jumpers
« Reply #1 on: 28-June-07, 14:10:06 »

Hi welcome to the forum,

Yes E4x00 or E6x00 CPUs can take 333FSB/1333FSB easy.
Logged
Refrain from having to solve most of your problems by not creating them in the first place.

DDR3 Memory Standards: Blurry Lines
Integrated Memory Controllers (IMC)
Intel EIST and Processor C-states
Overclock Database 2.0

Wolfheart

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Re: P35 Platinum FSB jumpers
« Reply #2 on: 28-June-07, 14:23:34 »

Hi welcome to the forum,

Yes E4x00 or E6x00 CPUs can take 333FSB/1333FSB easy.

Thanks for the answer. Can you tell me why the default position is 200 or am I looking at it wrong? Is it for the Celeron single-core or similar processors?
Logged

Aaron

  • HydroGen
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5690
  • BOOST!
Re: P35 Platinum FSB jumpers
« Reply #3 on: 28-June-07, 14:26:41 »

I'm not familiar with the board so I can't answer. But trial and error will give you your answer.
Logged
Refrain from having to solve most of your problems by not creating them in the first place.

DDR3 Memory Standards: Blurry Lines
Integrated Memory Controllers (IMC)
Intel EIST and Processor C-states
Overclock Database 2.0

NovJoe

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19148
  • ~DeSTinY~ Destined 2 Be HeRe ^^
Re: P35 Platinum FSB jumpers
« Reply #4 on: 28-June-07, 14:32:47 »

Thanks for the answer. Can you tell me why the default position is 200 or am I looking at it wrong? Is it for the Celeron single-core or similar processors?

What CPU are you using? Please list the model out.
Logged
HTPC - DVI to HDMI to Panasonic 42" Plasma
Pentium 4 - 2.4GHz (B) on MSI 865PE Neo2
512MB x 2 Kingston @ 333MHz, 80GB Seagate
MSI NX6800Ultra, AcBel 560w PSU, WinXP Pro SP3

MSI Wind Love U100 Netbook - VGA to Sony Bravia LCD
Intel Atom 1.6GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD, WinXP SP3

Acer Aspire 4741 - HDMI to Sharp 32" LCD
Core i5 M450 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Win 7 Hm Premium

HP Compaq V3136 - VGA to Sharp 32" LCD
C2D 1.66GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD, WinXP Media Centre SP3

Gigaworks S750, 7.1 THX Dolby Surround
Altec Lansing XA3501, 5.1 Gaming THX

MSI HQ Forum USB flasher

Wolfheart

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Re: P35 Platinum FSB jumpers
« Reply #5 on: 28-June-07, 14:34:00 »

Intel Core2Duo E6600.
Logged

NovJoe

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19148
  • ~DeSTinY~ Destined 2 Be HeRe ^^
Re: P35 Platinum FSB jumpers
« Reply #6 on: 28-June-07, 14:36:43 »

You should have it at 266MHz x 4 by default.
Logged
HTPC - DVI to HDMI to Panasonic 42" Plasma
Pentium 4 - 2.4GHz (B) on MSI 865PE Neo2
512MB x 2 Kingston @ 333MHz, 80GB Seagate
MSI NX6800Ultra, AcBel 560w PSU, WinXP Pro SP3

MSI Wind Love U100 Netbook - VGA to Sony Bravia LCD
Intel Atom 1.6GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD, WinXP SP3

Acer Aspire 4741 - HDMI to Sharp 32" LCD
Core i5 M450 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Win 7 Hm Premium

HP Compaq V3136 - VGA to Sharp 32" LCD
C2D 1.66GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD, WinXP Media Centre SP3

Gigaworks S750, 7.1 THX Dolby Surround
Altec Lansing XA3501, 5.1 Gaming THX

MSI HQ Forum USB flasher

Aaron

  • HydroGen
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5690
  • BOOST!
Re: P35 Platinum FSB jumpers
« Reply #7 on: 28-June-07, 14:44:34 »

Joe, Core 2's can handle the 1333FSb on stock voltages or decreased voltages anyway. :hypocrite:
Logged
Refrain from having to solve most of your problems by not creating them in the first place.

DDR3 Memory Standards: Blurry Lines
Integrated Memory Controllers (IMC)
Intel EIST and Processor C-states
Overclock Database 2.0

Exo

  • Big Bang
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 981
Re: P35 Platinum FSB jumpers
« Reply #8 on: 28-June-07, 16:49:09 »

From what i can gather those jumpers are for manual strap selection. great for overclocking  :-P)
Logged

NovJoe

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19148
  • ~DeSTinY~ Destined 2 Be HeRe ^^
Re: P35 Platinum FSB jumpers
« Reply #9 on: 29-June-07, 05:26:46 »

Joe, Core 2's can handle the 1333FSb on stock voltages or decreased voltages anyway. :hypocrite:

 :think:

I'm pointing to default FSB on an E6600. It should detect 266MHz Quad and not 200MHz Quad on default detection.
Logged
HTPC - DVI to HDMI to Panasonic 42" Plasma
Pentium 4 - 2.4GHz (B) on MSI 865PE Neo2
512MB x 2 Kingston @ 333MHz, 80GB Seagate
MSI NX6800Ultra, AcBel 560w PSU, WinXP Pro SP3

MSI Wind Love U100 Netbook - VGA to Sony Bravia LCD
Intel Atom 1.6GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD, WinXP SP3

Acer Aspire 4741 - HDMI to Sharp 32" LCD
Core i5 M450 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Win 7 Hm Premium

HP Compaq V3136 - VGA to Sharp 32" LCD
C2D 1.66GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD, WinXP Media Centre SP3

Gigaworks S750, 7.1 THX Dolby Surround
Altec Lansing XA3501, 5.1 Gaming THX

MSI HQ Forum USB flasher

Maesus

  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10522
  • in Penang, Malaysia
Re: P35 Platinum FSB jumpers
« Reply #10 on: 30-June-07, 07:34:02 »

when you put the CPU in, what's the actual speed running? is it 200Mhz or something else?
Logged
Please read the ==>MOAN Guide<==
Maesus

My PC:
Now using : IBM Thinkpad T60p

Core 2 Duo recipe
E6600 2.66Ghz with GB Rocket Cooler Pro : MSI 975X Platinum PUE BIOS 7.6 : DDR2-667 2x1GB + DDR2-800 2x1GB : MSI 8800 Ultra : 80GB WD Caviar SE : Maxtor 250GB SATA : LiteOn LH-20A1S DVD writer + Samsung SH-W162C DVD writer : MSI Theater 550 Pro : LOGITECH Z-680 : DELL E228WFP 22" LCD : PowerLogic 500W PSU with +12V1&+12V2 @ 32A total

Wolfheart

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Re: P35 Platinum FSB jumpers
« Reply #11 on: 30-June-07, 13:19:54 »

Here's how this works (I fairly sure). The jumper sets the minimum frequency you can use. So if you have a 1066MHz(FSB) processor like my E6600 then you can use both 200 MhHz or 266 MHz and the processor will run with it's factory FSB speed (266 MHz x4 in this case). If on the other hand you set the jumper to 333 MHz the processor will run at 1333 MHz(FSB) overclocking the processor. The multiplier in my prossessor is 9. I decided to run with 333 MHz so my processor operating frequency is now 3 GHz (Thermalright 120 Extreme cooling so it's not a problem). I hope this makes some sense. It can be confusing and I don't know all the right terms, but I think I understood this correctly.

I think the advantage of using a higher jumper setting is that you also reach higher maximum frequencies (by adjusting from bios) if you wish to try. I think the max is 600 MHz with a 333 MHz jumper setting. I only use the 333 MHz now because I don't want to remove my graphics card again to adjust the jumpers. I could have also overclocked to 333 MHz directly from bios with a lower MHz jumper setting.

Feel free to correct any mistakes.
Logged

Exo

  • Big Bang
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 981
Re: P35 Platinum FSB jumpers
« Reply #12 on: 30-June-07, 13:23:32 »

Yes, it's a manual strap selection. with 1333 strap you'll be able to reach a higher overclock but if you were to overclock in bios too 1333 with the jumper on 1066 you'll have better performance because off running the lower strap.
Logged

Wolfheart

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Re: P35 Platinum FSB jumpers
« Reply #13 on: 30-June-07, 13:29:29 »

Yes, it's a manual strap selection. with 1333 strap you'll be able to reach a higher overclock but if you were to overclock in bios too 1333 with the jumper on 1066 you'll have better performance because off running the lower strap.

Can you explain this more or provide some link where I could read about it. The processor frequency is 3 GHz either way. Why does it perform better with a "lower strap" as you say?

(Would it be even better to OC to 333MHz from the 200MHz jumper setting than the 266MHz jumper setting with a 1066MHz(FSB) processor or is the 266MHz jumper the best option?)
« Last Edit: 30-June-07, 13:34:16 by Wolfheart »
Logged

Exo

  • Big Bang
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 981
Re: P35 Platinum FSB jumpers
« Reply #14 on: 30-June-07, 13:35:04 »

Intel has diffirent FSB cpu's  533Mhz, 800Mhz, 1066Mhz and so on...
For each of these speeds there's a "strap" in their chipset - A Northbridge speed multiplier and latency settings, this makes sure the northbridge runs at its optimal settings for each of these FSB settings. If you install a 1066Mhz FSB cpu, coming from a 800Mhz FSB cpu, the strap change will alter the northbridge settings (lower its multiplier, loosen latencies, etc) so the northbridge is not overclocked.

Now, if you run 1333Mhz but force the strap to 1066Mhz with the jumpers, you'll be running a 1333Mhz FSB but with northbridge settings for 1066Mhz  - tighter timings and a higher multiplier. Usually provides more memory bandwidth and somewhat better overall performance.
 
Logged

NovJoe

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19148
  • ~DeSTinY~ Destined 2 Be HeRe ^^
Re: P35 Platinum FSB jumpers
« Reply #15 on: 30-June-07, 19:39:37 »

Which is to say that your FSB will still be 1333MHz, just that the NB will function coolly at 1066MHz async. This in turns will not stress your other components to run at the 1333MHz strap by the CPU.
Logged
HTPC - DVI to HDMI to Panasonic 42" Plasma
Pentium 4 - 2.4GHz (B) on MSI 865PE Neo2
512MB x 2 Kingston @ 333MHz, 80GB Seagate
MSI NX6800Ultra, AcBel 560w PSU, WinXP Pro SP3

MSI Wind Love U100 Netbook - VGA to Sony Bravia LCD
Intel Atom 1.6GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD, WinXP SP3

Acer Aspire 4741 - HDMI to Sharp 32" LCD
Core i5 M450 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Win 7 Hm Premium

HP Compaq V3136 - VGA to Sharp 32" LCD
C2D 1.66GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD, WinXP Media Centre SP3

Gigaworks S750, 7.1 THX Dolby Surround
Altec Lansing XA3501, 5.1 Gaming THX

MSI HQ Forum USB flasher

Exo

  • Big Bang
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 981
Re: P35 Platinum FSB jumpers
« Reply #16 on: 30-June-07, 20:33:57 »

Actually it does stress the northbridge more. You run 333Mhz FSB but by strapping the NB at 266Mhz it is running tighter internal timings and a higher multiplier.
Logged

Notorious_BMC

  • Guest
Re: P35 Platinum FSB jumpers
« Reply #17 on: 30-June-07, 21:48:50 »

Yeah, this befuddles me. Isn't the whole point to make the components run faster, as tighter timings are these days surpassed by sheer speed?

I have my P35 Platinum with the FSB jumper on 266, but overclocked to 425MHz. You're saying that 1, having the FSB jumper on this setting makes a difference even though I'm changing those settings in BIOS and 2, that having it at 266 is better than 333 because it's limiting my Northbridge frequency?
Logged

Exo

  • Big Bang
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 981
Re: P35 Platinum FSB jumpers
« Reply #18 on: 30-June-07, 22:25:32 »

Yes, i'll try to explain it simply...

Say the northbridge has a standard operating frequency of 1Ghz. You install a 200Mhz FSB CPU, normally the board would then set the 800 strap. The northbridge gets a internal x5 multiplier to get it to operate at 1Ghz and certain internal timings are set pretty tight. Now you install a 333Mhz FSB CPU - The board sets 1333 strap, the northbridge gets a x3 multiplier now again making it run 1Ghz and certain timings are relaxed to compensate for the greater external speeds. This also enables the chipset to reach a higher maximum FSB speed.

Now if you force a lower strap with the jumpers but set a higher FSB in bios you run this FSB speed with the higher multipliers and tighter timings of the lower strap, getting some more performance but you'll have a lower maximum oc.

Logged

Notorious_BMC

  • Guest
Re: P35 Platinum FSB jumpers
« Reply #19 on: 01-July-07, 00:17:36 »

Alright, so what I think you're saying is that the Northbridge has a set operating speed (in your example 1GHz), and that speed never changes regardless of what you do to the FSB. So, the operating speed is already maxed out, but the ratios that multiply to that operating speed are variable (200x5=1000, or 333x3=1000. You can't make the Northbridge run faster, but you can tell it to run at tighter timings (thereby requiring a higher multiplier) by using the jumper settings. Is that correct?

So, in your opinion, for my 425MHz FSB it's best to have it at the 266 jumper setting for tighter mobo timings, rather than the 333 setting? By the same priniciples, shouldn't I be using the 200 setting instead for even tighter timings (assuming I can reach 425 FSB at that setting, I don't know)?
Logged

Exo

  • Big Bang
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 981
Re: P35 Platinum FSB jumpers
« Reply #20 on: 01-July-07, 00:21:53 »

I don't think you'll reach 425FSB on the 800strap (jumper @ 200)
Logged

Notorious_BMC

  • Guest
Re: P35 Platinum FSB jumpers
« Reply #21 on: 01-July-07, 00:30:18 »

Am I correct in my interpretation of what you've said, though?
Logged

Wolfheart

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Re: P35 Platinum FSB jumpers
« Reply #22 on: 01-July-07, 09:17:01 »

Am I correct in my interpretation of what you've said, though?

This is what I'd like to know too.
Logged

NovJoe

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19148
  • ~DeSTinY~ Destined 2 Be HeRe ^^
Re: P35 Platinum FSB jumpers
« Reply #23 on: 01-July-07, 11:48:00 »

This is almost the same as RAMs timings vs FSB timings, if you have done before.

Setting a DDR 667MHz RAMs to 533MHz, thereafter upping your FSB to higher speed to run async.
Logged
HTPC - DVI to HDMI to Panasonic 42" Plasma
Pentium 4 - 2.4GHz (B) on MSI 865PE Neo2
512MB x 2 Kingston @ 333MHz, 80GB Seagate
MSI NX6800Ultra, AcBel 560w PSU, WinXP Pro SP3

MSI Wind Love U100 Netbook - VGA to Sony Bravia LCD
Intel Atom 1.6GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD, WinXP SP3

Acer Aspire 4741 - HDMI to Sharp 32" LCD
Core i5 M450 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Win 7 Hm Premium

HP Compaq V3136 - VGA to Sharp 32" LCD
C2D 1.66GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD, WinXP Media Centre SP3

Gigaworks S750, 7.1 THX Dolby Surround
Altec Lansing XA3501, 5.1 Gaming THX

MSI HQ Forum USB flasher

Exo

  • Big Bang
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 981
Re: P35 Platinum FSB jumpers
« Reply #24 on: 01-July-07, 12:43:01 »

Alright, so what I think you're saying is that the Northbridge has a set operating speed (in your example 1GHz), and that speed never changes regardless of what you do to the FSB. So, the operating speed is already maxed out, but the ratios that multiply to that operating speed are variable (200x5=1000, or 333x3=1000. You can't make the Northbridge run faster, but you can tell it to run at tighter timings (thereby requiring a higher multiplier) by using the jumper settings. Is that correct?
You CAN make the northbridge run faster. Say you run it at 800 strap and FSB is 200Mhz then NB is running it's stock settings. If you increase FSB speed NB speed will rise aswell, until you reach 266Mhz - If you change to the 1066 strap at 266Mhz the NB will once again be running it's nominal speed but if you remain on the 800 strap you will be pushing it even further and thereby increase performance.

This is why asus's P965 boards overclocked so well and MSI's didn't. Asus changed the strap at certain FSB speeds and MSI's didnt. Somewhere at 400Mhz FSB, where the chipset was reaching it's maximum for the 1066 strap (with a 1066 core2) the board changed it's strap to 1333 (beeing fooled by the bios) and thus releaving the stress from the NB and it could again clock higher.

Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up