Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Wolfdale needs BIOS v1.6 but I have v1.5  (Read 4211 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

sonetti

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Wolfdale needs BIOS v1.6 but I have v1.5
« on: 13-January-08, 18:33:19 »

Hello, I just got my new MSI Neo2-FIR motherboard

the version is MS-7345 Version 1.2

the BIOS is A7345IMS.150 (I notice the BIOS chip is soldered in place)

I want to buy a Wolfdale CPU for this board as soon as they are released. My question is will this BIOS version 1.5 boot a Wolfdale E8400. I don't need full Wolfdale support, but I'm hoping I can at least boot into DOS with BIOS 1.5 and then flash to BIOS 1.6. The problem is I'm coming from AMD platform, so I don't have a spare Intel chip. The e-tailer said he can't re-program the chip, and I don't know anyone to borrow an Intel chip from. I'm in a "catch 22" situation. I don't want to buy a cpu just to update the BIOS. Any advice is good ... thanks.
Logged

ebucemag

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
« Reply #1 on: 13-January-08, 19:43:49 »

Hello, I just got my new MSI Neo2-FIR motherboard

the version is MS-7345 Version 1.2

the BIOS is A7345IMS.150 (I notice the BIOS chip is soldered in place)

I want to buy a Wolfdale CPU for this board as soon as they are released. My question is will this BIOS version 1.5 boot a Wolfdale E8400. I don't need full Wolfdale support, but I'm hoping I can at least boot into DOS with BIOS 1.5 and then flash to BIOS 1.6. The problem is I'm coming from AMD platform, so I don't have a spare Intel chip. The e-tailer said he can't re-program the chip, and I don't know anyone to borrow an Intel chip from. I'm in a "catch 22" situation. I don't want to buy a cpu just to update the BIOS. Any advice is good ... thanks.

It's funny I am in the same situation...
I just ordered a MSI P35-Neo2 FR, and I am planning to get a E8400. I don't now what revision I will get or the BIOS version, but I hope the board will atleast allow me to boot and allow me to update the BIOS.
Can anybody test the board with older BIOS and with one of their Wolfdale's?
Logged

Aaron

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5690
  • BOOST!
« Reply #2 on: 13-January-08, 21:01:40 »

Can anybody test the board with older BIOS and with one of their Wolfdale's?

How is anyone going to do that? We aren't MSI, this is a user to user forum.

As for both your queries, ask MSI as we can't give much info on CPUs that aren't released: How to contact MSI.
Logged
Refrain from having to solve most of your problems by not creating them in the first place.

DDR3 Memory Standards: Blurry Lines
Integrated Memory Controllers (IMC)
Intel EIST and Processor C-states
Overclock Database 2.0

nightmare99

  • CAPTAIN
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 581
« Reply #3 on: 13-January-08, 21:39:20 »

You will probably find it will boot with a wolfdale as the samples have been available for ages, bios v1.6 probably just means the wolfdales work and dont have nay major issues (not waking up from suspend states seems to be a common one).

I think you should be ok but maybe just in case ask a friend if they will lend you a cpu if need be.
Logged
P35 Platinum v1.1 BIOS v1.9
Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 Step @ 3.0Ghz 
4x 1GB Elixir PC-5300 DDR2 667Mhz
Gigabyte 8800GT 512MB PCI Express
Maxtor 320GB SATA 300 AHCI
Maxtor 200GB SATA 300 AHCI
LiteOn 16x DVDRW SATA
Silverstone TJ-06 Case
X-Pro 500W PSU
Vista Ultimate x64 SP1 (Running well!)

Del UK

  • Del UK
  • MAJOR GENERAL
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3759
    • http://www.msi.com.tw/
« Reply #4 on: 13-January-08, 22:32:19 »

Two ways.........

Buy a cheap celeron based 775 processor, that works with mainboard and flash to 1.6

or

Goto local computer shop or Techy friend and ask for bios to be flashed to 1.6

Engineering samples are not always same as full release...........
Logged
Main system
MSI P45 FR3 V1, Q9550 with Corsair H50, Corsair TX 650, Nvidia 650 ti boost, 8Gb DDR2 Corsair XMS2, onboard NIC/Audio, WD 250 with Synapse  & 500 RE drives, Opti Bluray, Enermax batwing 120's. Win 7 Pro 64bit

ebucemag

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
« Reply #5 on: 13-January-08, 23:57:38 »

How is anyone going to do that? We aren't MSI, this is a user to user forum.

As for both your queries, ask MSI as we can't give much info on CPUs that aren't released: How to contact MSI.
Just relax, I heard people can get hot around here.
Yeah, I heard the Neo2-FR rev 1.2 have newer BIOS on them, starting with V1.4
Even If I do get a rev 1.1 I think it would still atleast boot, so I could update to a newer BIOS.
Thanks for the Replies.
Logged

Aaron

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5690
  • BOOST!
« Reply #6 on: 14-January-08, 08:47:01 »

Well at worst you won't get no POST and will have to buy a cheap CPU.

Like I said above: If the board doesn't have BIOS v1.6, MSI will gladly flash it in-house I'm sure. :yes:
Logged
Refrain from having to solve most of your problems by not creating them in the first place.

DDR3 Memory Standards: Blurry Lines
Integrated Memory Controllers (IMC)
Intel EIST and Processor C-states
Overclock Database 2.0
Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Up