Please login or register.
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5  All   Go Down

Author Topic: K9AGM3-F (MS-7367), ATI HD2600 and Vista problem  (Read 14309 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Marathonman

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
K9AGM3-F (MS-7367), ATI HD2600 and Vista problem
« on: 31-January-08, 00:13:21 »

My girlfriend has built her self a new PC. The PC is built on the following components:
MSI K9AGM3-F motherboard
AMD Athlon X2 4200+ AM2 socket
Corsair value RAM PC5300 4*1GB
Samsung Spinpoint 500GB 16MB SATA
Western Digital 250GB 16MB SATA
Optiarc AD-5170 IDE DVD burner
Vista Ultimate

From the start she used the on board VGA grafic board (ATI X1200) and it all worked fine. She then bought a PowerColor X1650Pro grafic board and installed ATI Vista driver and it worked fine. Unfortunatelly the X1650Pro got defective after 1,5 month and she got a new one on warranty. Unfortunatelly the second X1650Pro also got defective after 1,5 month. Same fault on both.
She uninstalled the driver for X1650Pro.
She then got a GeCube HD2600Pro and installed the grafic board on the MSI K9AGM3-F.
Now the problems begun!


When she powered up the PC Vista found new hardvare and started to install the driver for the board. Vista found HD2600Pro and requested to be rebooted. She rebooted the PC and when Vista should start it crached. The PC booted twice and the she booted up in Fail safe. A new rebbot and Vista started. When the desktop showed Vista informed her that the system had recovered from a serious fault and she was recommended to search for a solution to the problem.
In the Hardware manager the grafic board was found to be a standard VGA board.

She rebooted the PC again and when starting up Vista found new hardware and tried to install driver but failed. She then inserted the installation disc for the GeCube. The ATI window splashed up, red and nice and stayed in that position for about one hour before she rebooted the PC again. No menue from the installation disc appeared during the hour.
I came to her help and I spent 3 days trying to install the ATI HD2600 Vista driver to her system. It failed all the time.

We then removed the GeCube HD2600Pro and brought i home to me. I have a Gigabyte GA-M56S-S3 motherboard and a Sapphire HD2600XT running Windows XP Pro. We removed my grafic board and installed her GeCube HD2600Pro to my system. When booting my system powered up and run fine!

We then made a clean installation of Vista Ultimate on my system, with her GeCube installed. The installation run fine and when Vista was installed Vista also had found the HD2600Pro. We then inserted the ATI Driver disc and it took 30 seconds and the menue on the ATI windows splash was shown. The driver from the disc was installed successfully and the Vista system run fine.

We confirmed that her GeCube HD2600Pro did not have any fault.
Once again back to her home. We uninstalled her SATA drives, installed a Western Digital 80GB IDE drive, installed the GeCube HD2600Pro and made a clean Vista installation. When the Vista installation was finished and booted it crashed once again. We struggled for 1,5 days again to find out how to get the HD2600Pro to run with driver.

I finally found that if I forced Vista to install the driver for Windows XP the HD2600Pro was running fine and Vista was stable. Unfortunatelly all grafic functions does not work, like Vista Aero.
I borrowed the 80GB drive, installed into my system, made a clean Vista installation on the drive and did only install the driver for HD2600. I then got it back to my girlfriend, installed the drive and booted the PC. Vista craches as soon as the Vista driver is installed to the system.

I have now updated the BIOS to the latest BIOS, V3.3. Still the system refuses to run with Vista HD2600 driver in the system.
I have removed everything than can cause problems, changed the BIOS settings in all ways I can figure out but nothing helps getting the system to run with HD2600 grafic board. I have installed my Sapphire HD2600XT to her PC but still Vista crashes as soon as the Vista driver is to be installed.
If the XP driver is installed to the system the system runs, but Vista Aero does not work.

Now I have come to the conclusion that the fault is on the MSI K9AGM3-F motherboard. Mabye it is the on board VGA that causes the fault, even when it is "disconnected". Unfortunatelly there is no way to disable the VGA in BIOS. BIOS only allows "Auto detect" of external PCI-e grafic board and the disables itself from on board VGA.

Does anyone have any sollution on how to get around the problem, except for buying a new grafic board or a new motherboard? ATI HD2600 based grafic boards seems to create conflict with MSI K9AGM3-F.

Any help is appreciated!

Regards
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 62225
« Reply #1 on: 31-January-08, 00:17:45 »

What PSU you have there? (List PSU details, example in my signature)
Have you tried with 2 memory sticks only?
Does it work in XP?
Logged

Marathonman

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
« Reply #2 on: 31-January-08, 16:56:26 »

Thank you for your reply, BOSSKILLER.

Unfortunatelly I do not have the details for the PSU. The PSU is a Colors-IT 350W. That is what I know at present. I have to go to my girlfriend to find out more.
It is nothing wrong with the PSU. It is fine for her system and the power is enough.

No, I have not tried with only 2 DIMM. I can do so during the weekend.

I have not tried Windows XP on the system. Remember that her Windows Vista accepts the XP driver for HD2600Pro! When the XP driver is installed the system is stable but the Aero function in Vista can not be enabled (I assumes that Aero uses DirectX 10 and the XP driver does not support DirectX 10).
She can use the settings of 1600 * 1050, 32 bit color and 65Hz refresh rate.

As the system runs fine with the HD2600Pro and XP driver installed in the Vista OS there can not be any conflict with the PSU or the memory DIMM.

Regards
« Last Edit: 31-January-08, 23:58:59 by Marathonman »
Logged

Ex Forum User 3

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23406
« Reply #3 on: 31-January-08, 17:35:11 »

A 350W  is not enough for a modern system, get one that has at least 30A @ 12V and see if it solves your problems.
Logged

Marathonman

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
« Reply #4 on: 31-January-08, 19:29:39 »

I am sorry to tell you but 350W is more than enough for the system that I am working with!
If the system runs fine with Vista but with the driver for XP, stable and fine, then it is not the PSU causing the problem!

The PSU is not to blame that a driver can not be installed into a system! Blaming the PSU is an easy way to get away from trouble shooting.

If you do not agree, explaine to me how a driver can cause PSU problems.

Regards
Logged

Fredrik

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16126
  • There's always a risk.
« Reply #5 on: 31-January-08, 19:37:15 »

"From the start she used the on board VGA grafic board (ATI X1200) and it all worked fine. She then bought a PowerColor X1650Pro grafic board and installed ATI Vista driver and it worked fine. Unfortunatelly the X1650Pro got defective after 1,5 month and she got a new one on warranty. Unfortunatelly the second X1650Pro also got defective after 1,5 month. Same fault on both."
Might in fact be that the PSU couldn't handle either any longer. Only the onboard g. card was alright, wasn't it.

"When she powered up the PC Vista found new hardvare and started to install the driver for the board. Vista found HD2600Pro and requested to be rebooted. She rebooted the PC and when Vista should start it crached."
Very typical of a PSU problem.

What PSU do you have yourself, as things work better in your system?
You might try her PSU in your system.
Logged

Hans

  • Official Q-Tec Alert Specialist // 正式Q技术机敏的专家
  • LIEUTENANT GENERAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4243
  • If I fix it, it will never need fixing again!
« Reply #6 on: 31-January-08, 19:41:24 »

I agree with Bas: that PSU is not good enough. Comparing systems is not a good thing - too many things are different. Vista-systems do need quite some power, so you better change the power supply for one with at least 30 amps on 12V. Saying that the PSU cannot be blamed is nonsense, PSU's are very often the cause of a huge variety of problems.

Of course, it is no guarantee that this will solve the problem, so you maybe you can borrow a psu somewhere. But chances are big that it will solve the problem.

Now, try this suggestion first ...
Logged
You have a Q-Tec Power Supply? Change that first and come back later...

* MSI P55-GD85, bios 1.3
* Intel Core i7 860 (stock @ 2.8GHz)
* 2x 2048MB TakeMS @ 1333MHz (8-8-8-24, 1T)
* Club3D HD5770 1024MB
* OCZ Vertex 2 120GB (OS and apps)
* 5x Western Digital Caviar Green 500GB in RaID5 (storage)
* 2x DVD Rewriter (LG, Optiarc)
* PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
* Cooler Master Stacker CM101
* Dell Ultrasharp 2209AW 22\\\" (e-IPS) monitor
* Windows 7 Professional NL

MSI MediaLive: AMD Athlon X2 4800+, 2x1GB Crucial PC-4200, Seagate 160GB, Pioneer DVD-burner, Hauppauge PWR150 TV Tunercard, Windows 7 Home Premium NL.

MSI X-Slim X620 :like: :like:

Backup: Thecus N5200Pro NAS
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5  All   Go Up