Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

If you want to flash your BIOS, please use our own Forum USB Flash tool - NOW UPDATED!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: K7N2 Delta2 Platinum - How big a hard drive will it take?  (Read 7060 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Ballie

  • Easy OC
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 43

K7N2 Delta2 Platinum - MS-6570E

I would like to fit a new hard drive my current one is 120GB but its getting full I also have a 40GB second drive too.

Can anyone tell me whats the biggest drive the board will take and are there any makes of drives that work well (and fast) with this board?

Thanks

Sorry I should have said I don't know how to set up a SATA hard drive so I will be buying a serial ATA hard drive
« Last Edit: 25-June-08, 15:56:10 by Ballie »
Logged
MSI – 6570E (v1.x) K7N2 Delta2 Plat

Bios – v11.5 (B50)

CPU - AMD BARTON 3200+ (400mhz) running @ 2.20GHz - @ 1.650v

Memory - 1024mb DDR 400mhz (2x512 Corsair XMS3200XL TwinX)
In slot 1 and 2, Value 200 MHz - 2.0-2-2-5 @ 2.75v *(JUST ORDERED FROM CRUCIAL 3 X 1GB PC3200 - DDR400 TO REPLACE THE CORSAIR 23/6/08)

Graphics - BFG Nvida Gforce 6600GT o/c 128mb running at 525 mhz core clock and 1.05ghz memory clock and 1.5v

Sound – on board AC97
NEC DVD (DV5800b)
NEC DVD/RW (ND3520a)
HDD 1 - W/D 120GB 8mb cache
HDD 2 - Maxtor 40GB
PSU - Tagan TG480-u01 +12v 28A, +5v 48A, +3.3v 2
Monitor – Samsung SyncMaster 913N 60hz R/R

Fredrik

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16126
  • There's always a risk.
Re: K7N2 Delta2 Platinum - How big a hard drive will it take?
« Reply #1 on: 25-June-08, 15:56:36 »

As long as you have XP SP1 properly installed only the sky is the limit. - Almost. If you like to have a PATA device, I suggest you go for Seagate 7200.10. I also suggest you empty the 40GB disk of useful data and replace it with the new one. Use the 40 GB for occassional backups.

This is in Swedish, but you get the picture:
http://www.komplett.se/k/kl.aspx?bn=10089
Logged

Stu

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19578
  • Birmingham, UK
    • StuOnline.co.uk
Re: K7N2 Delta2 Platinum - How big a hard drive will it take?
« Reply #2 on: 25-June-08, 19:23:30 »

Brief answer: you can use any hard drive with your board. :hat tip:
Logged
Former moderator and admin, 2004-2012

Richard

  • nForce & GeForce Guru
  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14483
Re: K7N2 Delta2 Platinum - How big a hard drive will it take?
« Reply #3 on: 25-June-08, 19:42:07 »

Ballie,

You will find that the OS will limit the size of the HD.

Take Care,

Richard
Logged
Richard J. Gentil, Pres.
Custom Computers of Naples, Inc.


LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
Athlon64 3700+ Sandy
(o/c'd 2.8Ghz)
Zalman CNPS9500LED
2-1Gb Mushkin Extreme PC-4000 (Slots 2 & 4)
(o/c'd 510Mhz)
2 x MSI NX6800GT-T2D256 (o/c'd Stock)
X-Mystique 7.1 GOLD - Dolby Digital Live
2-WD Raptors Raid 0
(16k Stripe)
NEC 16 Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
Logitech Z-680 500W Dolby Digital DTS THX 5.1
Logitech MX1000 Laser Mouse
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard

Ex Forum User 3

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26817
Re: K7N2 Delta2 Platinum - How big a hard drive will it take?
« Reply #4 on: 26-June-08, 18:35:44 »

I have put a 500GB IDE in a 10 year old machine!



Didn't even need to set the jumper to drive-limit, with that jumper you can use any size!
Simply put a boot-loader in front and it works! Even in Pentium-1 machines, just make sure it HAS that jumper! (just in case)



Logged

go_for

  • Afterburner
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 239
  • doh!
Re: K7N2 Delta2 Platinum - How big a hard drive will it take?
« Reply #5 on: 28-June-08, 07:12:44 »

Quote
Sorry I should have said I don't know how to set up a SATA hard drive so I will be buying a serial ATA hard drive
I take it you mean buying a PATA drive. I recommend buying a SATA drive, it'll give you the best bang for the buck and its not difficult to set up, besides there are a lots of tips and guides to help out in case of doubts.
Logged

nthums

  • Easy OC
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
Re: K7N2 Delta2 Platinum - How big a hard drive will it take?
« Reply #6 on: 29-June-08, 03:38:43 »

Definitely buy SATA, unless you plan on having need for a soon to be obsolete PATA.
SATA is not hard to set up, although there is an extra step involved with loading OS to it and needs to be XP maybe SP2.
Because the SATA is significantly faster than PATA I'd recommend making it your primary drive with OS.
I noticed your memory upgrade. Over 2 sticks of RAM will likely disable dual channel. I would like to know how that works out.
You could leave your old drives connected and use them as extra storage or backing up critical stuff.
Logged
UltraWizard midATX case, Belkin USBkybd Ergo&5button mouse.
PSU Ultra X-connect 400W-3.3V30A,5V32A,12V16A,-12V0.8A,-5V0.3A,5VSB2A
MSI K7N2 Delta2FSR-bios B50, Spire WhisperRockIV cooler, Sempron-Barton3300+sock A, 2200MHz 512KB, 400MT/s, 11x, 1.65V, 64W,SDA3300DKV4E  Patriot 2x1GB D-C PC3200 lo latency 2,3,2,5 1T -ATI9600(bios PRO)128M
MasterATA primary & slave  WD800BB-22JHA0   SecondaryATA primary LTR-52327S -(CS all)
USB2- 80GB HDD, DVDRW SOHW-1673S,

PandaZ3

  • Military Class
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 126
Re: K7N2 Delta2 Platinum - How big a hard drive will it take?
« Reply #7 on: 29-June-08, 03:46:17 »

I think what he loses in dual channel efficiency will be made up with the much greater amount of memory.  I had a Via KT600 based board and tried it with 512 and 768,  it sang with 768.  Also his board is only capable of SATA I thruput so it wouldn't make as big a difference to go Sata as it would on a more modern board, at least that is the way I understand it.   :)
Logged
Rig1 MSI K9A2 Platinum, 6400+ Black, 2 X 2 Giel PC6400, MSI 3870, 500 Gig Seagate, Vista 64 Ultimate; Rig 2, MSI K9A2 CF-F, 5000+ Black, 2 X 1 Patriot PC6400, ATI X1900 Crossfire and X1900 XT, Vista HP 64; Rig 3 ABIT Fatal1ty AN8, Opteron 185, 2 x 1 Corsair PC3200C2PT, ATI X1950 XTX, 320 Gig Seagate, XP64
Others in house AM2 5000+ Blackie, 939's X2 4400, single cores 4000, 3800, 3800, 3500, 148, a 754 3200 and several Socket A's

Stu

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19578
  • Birmingham, UK
    • StuOnline.co.uk
Re: K7N2 Delta2 Platinum - How big a hard drive will it take?
« Reply #8 on: 29-June-08, 15:31:14 »

Quote
SATA is not hard to set up, although there is an extra step involved with loading OS to it and needs to be XP maybe SP2.

SATA drives are not a problem with the K7N2 Delta2, as single SATA drives are used as Native IDE devices, so there are no extra steps involved, and you do not need to press F6 during Windows Setup. Its exactly the same as installing Windows onto a IDE drive. ;-))
Logged
Former moderator and admin, 2004-2012

Richard

  • nForce & GeForce Guru
  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14483
Re: K7N2 Delta2 Platinum - How big a hard drive will it take?
« Reply #9 on: 29-June-08, 16:28:42 »

PandaZ3,

The TwinBank is the best option and if you do a CTRL + Alt + DEL and find that your memory useage exceeds you current physical memory, then you scrap the two sticks (sell them on Ebay or something) and go with two larger matched sticks of RAM.

Take Care,

Richard
Logged
Richard J. Gentil, Pres.
Custom Computers of Naples, Inc.


LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
Athlon64 3700+ Sandy
(o/c'd 2.8Ghz)
Zalman CNPS9500LED
2-1Gb Mushkin Extreme PC-4000 (Slots 2 & 4)
(o/c'd 510Mhz)
2 x MSI NX6800GT-T2D256 (o/c'd Stock)
X-Mystique 7.1 GOLD - Dolby Digital Live
2-WD Raptors Raid 0
(16k Stripe)
NEC 16 Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
Logitech Z-680 500W Dolby Digital DTS THX 5.1
Logitech MX1000 Laser Mouse
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard

Fredrik

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16126
  • There's always a risk.
Re: K7N2 Delta2 Platinum - How big a hard drive will it take?
« Reply #10 on: 29-June-08, 17:46:57 »

Shouldn't we old SocketA fans get some more input from the thread starter Ballie before we continue the debate?  ;D
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up