Close

Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: -SOLVED - K9A2 Platinum v2 + 4850 / 4870 1GB GDDR5 Problems  (Read 17098 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

HfestosTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7

Hello all, I bought the following configuration to set up

m/b MSI K9A2 Platinum V2
cpu AMD Phenom 9950 2.6GHz BE
ram G.skill F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK DDR2 2GB (2X1GB) CL5 PC8500 1066MHZ DUAL CHANNEL KIT
psu Chieftec 750W
gfx Sapphire 4850 512MB DDR3
OS  Windows XP Professional 2002 SP3

The ram couldnt run in 1066MHz under AUTO option in BIOS, so I set it up manually ( 1:2.66 ) without touching the voltage and it works fine now. I also ran memtest and seems to be ok

For the graphics card I connected the JPWR1 too while installing (later I noticed that either it is connected or not, is the same thing..). The whole system looked fine. I had problems running 3D Mark 06. VPU Recovers and crashes. Now it runs fine. I had (and I still have) the same problems every time I play the game NFS Prostreet also for a couple of minutes. I returned the graphics card back and bought a Sapphire 4870 1GB GDDR5 and the same again. I uninstalled all the graphics driver and catalyst and reinstalled the original ATI or Sapphire versions and the problem remains.

All my sys is not o/c. All temperatures seem to be ok (My 9950 wears Scythe Cooler Mugen).

Please help, I dont know what else I can do..

Thanx in Advance,

.Aggelos.
Logged
AMD Phenom 9950 2600 ΒΕ
MSI K9A2 Platinum v2 (BIOS 1.5)
G.Skill 2GB (2x1GB) DDR2-1066Mhz
ASUS ENGTX260 896MB DDR3
2xWD6400AAKS 640GB Sata2
Optiarc AD-7203S & Optiarc DDU1671S
Chieftec 750Watt
XP Pro 2002 SP3
2-ndRig:MSI 845PE Max/P4 @ 2.6GHz/1.28GB DDR1/Nvidia Ti4600 128MB/WD PATA 80/250GB
3-rdRig:Amiga 1200/68030 @ 50MHz/18MB Ram + 2xAmiga 500

Ex Forum User 3

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23397
Re: K9A2 Platinum v2 + 4850 / 4870 1GB GDDR5 Problems
« Reply #1 on: 20-October-08, 10:06:21 »

Not quite sure if a Chieftec can handle such a system, it's not exactly the best brand PSU.
Logged

wlahdone

  • MAJOR
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1030
  • Hamangia figurine (5000–4600 BC)
Re: K9A2 Platinum v2 + 4850 / 4870 1GB GDDR5 Problems
« Reply #2 on: 20-October-08, 13:20:48 »

I have a system with K9A2 Platinum v2 and i needed 6 months to test drivers and memory settings to make it rock stable.Finally i had one week without COD 4 crashes :).
We dont have a very similar configuration, but i had 2 Chieftec PSU-s one with Sirtec electronics(560W 36Amps on 12 V) and one with Delta electronics(550W with 33 Amps on 12 V line) and though the voltages are not as steady as they are with Corsair, i have found that the PSU-s werent the cullprit.
Updating to BIOS version 1.5 helped me a lot ,along with using the RAM at a relaxed timing with the voltage to the highest level recommended by their manufacturer.
I never had errors with the RAM in Memtest or other sintetic tests, but in Windows, in real life usage wasnt to "steady".
So play with the RAM settings because they are the key,put them at timings lower than the SPD ones ,tRAS would be the first to try out.Because of the memory errors video card drivers may generate crashes/errors during gaming.
Also after you find best ram settings i would recommend you a clean Windows install, because you may have corruption in that installation.
Logged
AMD FX 6300 + H60 + ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0, MSIA88X-G41 PC Mate(17.9) + AMD 860K + Sapphire R7 265, AMD FM2 A4-5300 + MSI FM2 A75-E35, MSI AM1M + Athlon 5350

jmc74

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
Re: K9A2 Platinum v2 + 4850 / 4870 1GB GDDR5 Problems
« Reply #3 on: 20-October-08, 18:50:48 »

on the PC8500 make sure you set the timings manually including the correct voltages for the RAM, as most DDR2 1066 requires extra voltage.
Logged

HfestosTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: K9A2 Platinum v2 + 4850 / 4870 1GB GDDR5 Problems
« Reply #4 on: 21-October-08, 05:23:04 »


To BAS: Any suggestion in what PSU should I use? I ll return it and I ll get an other one if this is the problem. The computer store here has only Chieftec CoolerMaster Corsair Enermax Hiper Hipro-Tech L&C NO BRAND NAME PC Power & Cooling Premier Silverstone if I want to change it..

I thought that Chieftec PSU's were tough.... :(

--

To Sm3K3R: Thanx mate for the info.. Below is my RAM settings according 3D Mark 06 and CPU-Z

Memory Slot 1/4
Installed Enabled Size   1.00 GB     
Form Factor   DIMM     
Frequency   0.0 Hz     
Slot   DIMM0 [BANK0]     
Manufacturer   Manufacturer0     
Type   DDR2     
Type Details   Synchronous     
Enabled Size   1.00 GB     
Total Bit Width   64 b     
Data Bit Width   72 b

Memory Slots 1 & 2 are similar.



My system @ windows looks steady.. lots of applications and processes running and no prob at all.. I got tired of testing and testing... :( I got so bored that I am thinking of using my old pc again ( P4 @ 2.6GHz )

--

To jmc74: I set ram voltage to 2.1V and my sys wasnt stable.. :( so I return the voltage setting back to AUTO. What other settings could I use? I have no idea about timings.. :S I think that I should visit g.skill site and set the timings that manufacturer suggests eh? I will..

So, my problem is RAM!? PSU?! From where should I begin? Should I leave ram in Auto mode in Bios ( 800 MHz ) ?

.Aggelos.
Logged
AMD Phenom 9950 2600 ΒΕ
MSI K9A2 Platinum v2 (BIOS 1.5)
G.Skill 2GB (2x1GB) DDR2-1066Mhz
ASUS ENGTX260 896MB DDR3
2xWD6400AAKS 640GB Sata2
Optiarc AD-7203S & Optiarc DDU1671S
Chieftec 750Watt
XP Pro 2002 SP3
2-ndRig:MSI 845PE Max/P4 @ 2.6GHz/1.28GB DDR1/Nvidia Ti4600 128MB/WD PATA 80/250GB
3-rdRig:Amiga 1200/68030 @ 50MHz/18MB Ram + 2xAmiga 500

Svet

  • T9246ED
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 73323
Re: K9A2 Platinum v2 + 4850 / 4870 1GB GDDR5 Problems
« Reply #5 on: 21-October-08, 05:26:54 »

Leave it to Auto and see if you have troubles or not.
Also do memory check with >>Memtest86<<
Logged

wlahdone

  • MAJOR
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1030
  • Hamangia figurine (5000–4600 BC)
Re: K9A2 Platinum v2 + 4850 / 4870 1GB GDDR5 Problems
« Reply #6 on: 21-October-08, 06:21:01 »

Hfestos,have you tryed to move the memory sticks to the other 2 slots?
What is the BIOS version you are using?
My board came with BIOS 1.2 and this wasnt to good for me.The version i have now 1.5. seems much better for my configuration.
You can try ,ON YOUR OWN RISK ,to update the mobo bios,if the board refuses to work properly with factory settings for the RAM modules.Use the MSI USB tool because its excellent ,but read very carefully all the info available for it and take all measures to recover from a bad flash(just in case).The bioses for version 1 of the board apply to version 2 also so you can use them safelly.

Edit:Almost everyone in this forum will recommend you a Corsair PSU  :agrees:

Logged
AMD FX 6300 + H60 + ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0, MSIA88X-G41 PC Mate(17.9) + AMD 860K + Sapphire R7 265, AMD FM2 A4-5300 + MSI FM2 A75-E35, MSI AM1M + Athlon 5350

Mike

  • aka Frankenputer
  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9815
  • Virginia, USA
Re: K9A2 Platinum v2 + 4850 / 4870 1GB GDDR5 Problems
« Reply #7 on: 21-October-08, 07:30:08 »

The Corsair VX450 might just squeak by, but I'd recommend no less than the Corsair VX550 or TX650.  Get the TX750 if you want some future proofing.
Logged
#1:
MSI X38 Diamond/Bios 1.5; Core2Duo E8400 3.0Ghz; Thermalright Ultima-90HS/120 fan; 2X1GB DDR3 CorsairTWIN3X2048-1333C9DHXG; PIONEER|DVR-215DBK SATA DVD-DL & Lite-on DVD-ROM PATA; FDD; MSI 260GTX-T2D896; 196.34beta; Seagate 320GB  & WD 500GB SATA HDDs; PC P&C Silencer 750 +3.3V/24A~+5V/30A~+12V/60A; X-FI Xtreme PCIe; Antec P182 Case; XP PRO SP3

#2:
MSI 865PE Neo2-PFS Platinum/Bios 3.A; P4 2.8C HT; Thermalright XP-90HS; 2GB DDR400 RAM(2x1GB kit Mushkin HP3200 2-3-2-6); Nec ND-3550A DVD-DL & TDK 52X24X48 CD-RW; FDD; Nvidia GeForce 7800GS; 84.21; Maxtor 200GB & Seagate 200GB PATA HDDs; Enermax 465P VE-FMA +3.3V/35A~+5V/35A~+12V/33A; Audigy 2ZS; XP PRO SP3
Dell 2209WA LCD on a DVI KVM switch

MSI Wind U100

Ex Forum User 3

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23397
Re: K9A2 Platinum v2 + 4850 / 4870 1GB GDDR5 Problems
« Reply #8 on: 21-October-08, 09:09:41 »

Second that, Corsair 550 or higher.
Logged

Russ_xp

  • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • MAJOR
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 821
  • Folding 24/7
Re: K9A2 Platinum v2 + 4850 / 4870 1GB GDDR5 Problems
« Reply #9 on: 21-October-08, 09:27:08 »

I am now biased towards the PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750w which has 60A on single 12v rail - I now own 2. Also if you plan to add more graphics cards to use Crossfire then this is a great PSU.

For the memory, what does the SPD tab show for 533 - some RAM can do 1066 but there is no SPD profile, so Auto gives weird settings - then set vendor timings manually in BIOS to get stable 1066.
Logged
MSI K9A2 Neo (1.7), Phenom 9850 Black 0811BPMW DD-MCTDX
8Gb (4x2) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500 5-5-5-15-2T, HD4870 EK-FC4870
Hitachi 160Gb SATA2, HP 1070i DVDRW, PCP&C 750w 60A
CM Centurion, XSPC 2xRS120, Bay Res, MCP655, Windows Server 2008 x64 Hyper-V, FAH_SMP+GPU

MSI K9A2 CFv1 (1.7), Phenom 9600 B2 0743APMW DD-MCTDX
4Gb (4x1) A-Data PC2-6400 5-5-5-18-2T, HD3870 XSPC Razor & HD3850 512Mb EK-FC3850
Hitachi 160Gb SATA2 & 2x160Gb SATA-RAID, NEC ND3520 DVDRW, PCP&C 750w 60A
CM Stacker, XSPC RS240, Bay Res, Eheim 1048, Windows Server 2008 x86, FAH_SMP+2xGPU

Belkin UPS 1500VA, Belkin Switch2 KVM, Acer X222Wd, SC101 400Gb zSAN, 10Mbps Cable BB, Safe@Office500w
PlayStation 3 - F@H 24/7

Mike

  • aka Frankenputer
  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9815
  • Virginia, USA
Re: K9A2 Platinum v2 + 4850 / 4870 1GB GDDR5 Problems
« Reply #10 on: 21-October-08, 10:01:28 »

Russ, I'd recommend the PC P&C as well, but I'm not sure how available it is for this user.  This user is in Europe.

Anyone in the USA reading this thread. NewEgg, and maybe other e-tailers, have the PC P&Cs with mail-in-rebates, often making them cheaper than the Corsairs with their MIRs, mail-in-rebates. 
Logged
#1:
MSI X38 Diamond/Bios 1.5; Core2Duo E8400 3.0Ghz; Thermalright Ultima-90HS/120 fan; 2X1GB DDR3 CorsairTWIN3X2048-1333C9DHXG; PIONEER|DVR-215DBK SATA DVD-DL & Lite-on DVD-ROM PATA; FDD; MSI 260GTX-T2D896; 196.34beta; Seagate 320GB  & WD 500GB SATA HDDs; PC P&C Silencer 750 +3.3V/24A~+5V/30A~+12V/60A; X-FI Xtreme PCIe; Antec P182 Case; XP PRO SP3

#2:
MSI 865PE Neo2-PFS Platinum/Bios 3.A; P4 2.8C HT; Thermalright XP-90HS; 2GB DDR400 RAM(2x1GB kit Mushkin HP3200 2-3-2-6); Nec ND-3550A DVD-DL & TDK 52X24X48 CD-RW; FDD; Nvidia GeForce 7800GS; 84.21; Maxtor 200GB & Seagate 200GB PATA HDDs; Enermax 465P VE-FMA +3.3V/35A~+5V/35A~+12V/33A; Audigy 2ZS; XP PRO SP3
Dell 2209WA LCD on a DVI KVM switch

MSI Wind U100

Fredrik

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16121
  • There's always a risk.
Re: K9A2 Platinum v2 + 4850 / 4870 1GB GDDR5 Problems
« Reply #11 on: 21-October-08, 10:19:55 »

It is around here in the Old World, too. Hfestos says he can get it.

A bit puzzled though. I find two problems, and that is running the game NFS and 3D Mark 06, but the latter has been fixed as it seems. Are there no other problems?

Must reveal I am biased.  :smile: Have had only very good experience from Chieftec things I bought.

Don't think one 750W is much different from another, but which one have you got? http://www.chieftec.com/products.html
Logged

Mike

  • aka Frankenputer
  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9815
  • Virginia, USA
Re: K9A2 Platinum v2 + 4850 / 4870 1GB GDDR5 Problems
« Reply #12 on: 21-October-08, 10:26:37 »

Nice to see that the PC P&C PSUs are more available in Europe.  I figured since OCZ purchased the company, but is having PC P&C still essentially run itself, the PC P&C units would be more available to our European family--I just wasn't sure how soon.
Logged
#1:
MSI X38 Diamond/Bios 1.5; Core2Duo E8400 3.0Ghz; Thermalright Ultima-90HS/120 fan; 2X1GB DDR3 CorsairTWIN3X2048-1333C9DHXG; PIONEER|DVR-215DBK SATA DVD-DL & Lite-on DVD-ROM PATA; FDD; MSI 260GTX-T2D896; 196.34beta; Seagate 320GB  & WD 500GB SATA HDDs; PC P&C Silencer 750 +3.3V/24A~+5V/30A~+12V/60A; X-FI Xtreme PCIe; Antec P182 Case; XP PRO SP3

#2:
MSI 865PE Neo2-PFS Platinum/Bios 3.A; P4 2.8C HT; Thermalright XP-90HS; 2GB DDR400 RAM(2x1GB kit Mushkin HP3200 2-3-2-6); Nec ND-3550A DVD-DL & TDK 52X24X48 CD-RW; FDD; Nvidia GeForce 7800GS; 84.21; Maxtor 200GB & Seagate 200GB PATA HDDs; Enermax 465P VE-FMA +3.3V/35A~+5V/35A~+12V/33A; Audigy 2ZS; XP PRO SP3
Dell 2209WA LCD on a DVI KVM switch

MSI Wind U100

Fredrik

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16121
  • There's always a risk.
Re: K9A2 Platinum v2 + 4850 / 4870 1GB GDDR5 Problems
« Reply #13 on: 21-October-08, 12:04:23 »

Swedish prices are unparalelled, and the value of money is ever changing, but PCP&C are from about 100 $ (500W) to 170 $ (750W). There is also one at 600 $ (1200W) but I guess that is in a different league.
Logged

Mike

  • aka Frankenputer
  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9815
  • Virginia, USA
Re: K9A2 Platinum v2 + 4850 / 4870 1GB GDDR5 Problems
« Reply #14 on: 21-October-08, 14:43:25 »

I figured the PC P&Cs were quite a bit more expensive in Europe compared to the Corsairs in Europe(one reason I recommend the Corsairs for non-USA users.  At NewEgg, you can get the PC P&C Silencer 750 for 135 USD before rebate with free shipping(110 USD after mail-in-rebate). I'm unsure of the pricing in Canada.
Logged
#1:
MSI X38 Diamond/Bios 1.5; Core2Duo E8400 3.0Ghz; Thermalright Ultima-90HS/120 fan; 2X1GB DDR3 CorsairTWIN3X2048-1333C9DHXG; PIONEER|DVR-215DBK SATA DVD-DL & Lite-on DVD-ROM PATA; FDD; MSI 260GTX-T2D896; 196.34beta; Seagate 320GB  & WD 500GB SATA HDDs; PC P&C Silencer 750 +3.3V/24A~+5V/30A~+12V/60A; X-FI Xtreme PCIe; Antec P182 Case; XP PRO SP3

#2:
MSI 865PE Neo2-PFS Platinum/Bios 3.A; P4 2.8C HT; Thermalright XP-90HS; 2GB DDR400 RAM(2x1GB kit Mushkin HP3200 2-3-2-6); Nec ND-3550A DVD-DL & TDK 52X24X48 CD-RW; FDD; Nvidia GeForce 7800GS; 84.21; Maxtor 200GB & Seagate 200GB PATA HDDs; Enermax 465P VE-FMA +3.3V/35A~+5V/35A~+12V/33A; Audigy 2ZS; XP PRO SP3
Dell 2209WA LCD on a DVI KVM switch

MSI Wind U100

Fredrik

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16121
  • There's always a risk.
Re: K9A2 Platinum v2 + 4850 / 4870 1GB GDDR5 Problems
« Reply #15 on: 21-October-08, 17:47:20 »

I'm not even sure it is a PSU problem.  :lol_anim: Anyway, AFAIK Corsair, Antec, Zalman, and CoolerMaster are the best sold around here, for the quality PSU:s. Well, I don't normally like CoolerMaster, but there are so many worse things. Chieftec is also very well spread I believe, but that has much to do with they often come with the cases.
Logged

Mike

  • aka Frankenputer
  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9815
  • Virginia, USA
Re: K9A2 Platinum v2 + 4850 / 4870 1GB GDDR5 Problems
« Reply #16 on: 21-October-08, 19:23:41 »

I'm not sure I'd stick Antec or CoolerMaster in that PSU line-up.  Silverstone's single rail and Tagen PSUs that can combine the rails to a single +12V rail in the PSU line up.
Logged
#1:
MSI X38 Diamond/Bios 1.5; Core2Duo E8400 3.0Ghz; Thermalright Ultima-90HS/120 fan; 2X1GB DDR3 CorsairTWIN3X2048-1333C9DHXG; PIONEER|DVR-215DBK SATA DVD-DL & Lite-on DVD-ROM PATA; FDD; MSI 260GTX-T2D896; 196.34beta; Seagate 320GB  & WD 500GB SATA HDDs; PC P&C Silencer 750 +3.3V/24A~+5V/30A~+12V/60A; X-FI Xtreme PCIe; Antec P182 Case; XP PRO SP3

#2:
MSI 865PE Neo2-PFS Platinum/Bios 3.A; P4 2.8C HT; Thermalright XP-90HS; 2GB DDR400 RAM(2x1GB kit Mushkin HP3200 2-3-2-6); Nec ND-3550A DVD-DL & TDK 52X24X48 CD-RW; FDD; Nvidia GeForce 7800GS; 84.21; Maxtor 200GB & Seagate 200GB PATA HDDs; Enermax 465P VE-FMA +3.3V/35A~+5V/35A~+12V/33A; Audigy 2ZS; XP PRO SP3
Dell 2209WA LCD on a DVI KVM switch

MSI Wind U100

Fredrik

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16121
  • There's always a risk.
Re: K9A2 Platinum v2 + 4850 / 4870 1GB GDDR5 Problems
« Reply #17 on: 22-October-08, 18:15:35 »

Oh, I was unclear. "Most" sold, instead of "best". Silverstone is around, but it is too expensive to be common. Seasonic is in fact more common, I would say. ...I see the thread owner coming. Better stop chatting!! :fear:
Logged

HfestosTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: K9A2 Platinum v2 + 4850 / 4870 1GB GDDR5 Problems
« Reply #18 on: 23-October-08, 19:26:51 »


Here is what I did. I used the computers' store technical call support and described the problem. They suggested to bring my pc to their service dept and check it out. So I did.

Here is what they told me.. They had some issues with the graphics card device driver so they finally installed MSI's VGA driver (via Live Update I assume..) and 3D mark 06 ran a lot of times succesfully (@ VISTA! I use XP professional 2002 SP3). Took my pc back and checked some bios settings the technician did.. Such as PHENOM TLB-BUG fix was ENABLE (My 9950 has B3 Step so its useless and I had it Disable..), Memory voltage @ 2.1V , 800MHz and everything else @ AUTO. He also enabled Spread Spectrum that I had disabled...

All this seemed stable after unistalling and cleaning ALL graphics drivers (using Driver cleaner as well) and installed MSI's VGA driver via liveupdate...)  I ran NFS Prostreet lots of times and 3D Mark 06 too. I was very happy. Untill Blue screen appeared (for the first time i saw this in my system, it usually crashed.. ) after 3D Mark 06 ran for about 2 hours... Same thing happened when I did it again.. same amount of time, same message....

Also i checked gskill's forum for my manual ram settings (to reach stable 1066MHz) but I am not sure if this is causing all my problems, so I set it back to AUTO (as I write above) until they are solved..

To Bosskiller: I left everything into AUTO mode and same o' situation..

To Sm3K3R: At first, memory modules were in 3 & 4 position. Now they are in slot 1 & 2. Bios update succesfully updated to 1.5 by a professional technician (from the computer store that I bought almost my config).. Do your think that I must spend 6 months to have a working pc??

To Fredrik: I own the Chieftec Turbo series 750W.. Windows seems to be stable. Games too. After a while something goes totally wrong ( ~2 hours, Blue screen )

At the moment I am downloading MSI' s ati system driver 8.54 that was released 2-3 days before...

Also at the computer store NOBODY said NOTHING for my PSU except that it is big and enough powerfull for a system like mine.. what can I say...

.Aggelos.
Logged
AMD Phenom 9950 2600 ΒΕ
MSI K9A2 Platinum v2 (BIOS 1.5)
G.Skill 2GB (2x1GB) DDR2-1066Mhz
ASUS ENGTX260 896MB DDR3
2xWD6400AAKS 640GB Sata2
Optiarc AD-7203S & Optiarc DDU1671S
Chieftec 750Watt
XP Pro 2002 SP3
2-ndRig:MSI 845PE Max/P4 @ 2.6GHz/1.28GB DDR1/Nvidia Ti4600 128MB/WD PATA 80/250GB
3-rdRig:Amiga 1200/68030 @ 50MHz/18MB Ram + 2xAmiga 500

Svet

  • T9246ED
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 73323
Re: K9A2 Platinum v2 + 4850 / 4870 1GB GDDR5 Problems
« Reply #19 on: 23-October-08, 19:39:38 »

"To Bosskiller: I left everything into AUTO mode and same o' situation.. "


What are memtest results?

Leave it to Auto and see if you have troubles or not.
Also do memory check with >>Memtest86<<


Also you may try to bump memory voltage to 2.0V according to your memory vendor recommendation & re-test.
Make sure that memtest is passed without error{s}, for details you can read here:
https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=103598.msg760534#msg760534
Logged

Fredrik

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16121
  • There's always a risk.
Re: K9A2 Platinum v2 + 4850 / 4870 1GB GDDR5 Problems
« Reply #20 on: 23-October-08, 20:10:16 »

I should be in bed now, so take it as it comes. When I read blue-screen I read Windows. Vista in this case. Vista and Realtek don't always mix very well. Perhaps you can give details on the blue-screen, please.

Made a very quick look at the 750W Chieftecs and can find no difference between them, and they all follow the ATX standard, which makes Bas, our chief tek., very happy.   ;-))

And thank you very much for the detailed report!   You allocated questions and answers in good order despite Frankenputer's and mine little drift-off.

After last post:
RAM memory is a grid, a system of coordinates. Memtest checks the coordinates are paralell, sort of. There might be a little piece of a RAM chip that is damaged.
Logged

HfestosTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: K9A2 Platinum v2 + 4850 / 4870 1GB GDDR5 Problems
« Reply #21 on: 24-October-08, 10:27:51 »

Blue screen details:

A problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer.

The problem seems to be caused by the following file: ati2dvag

If this is the first time you ve seen this stop error screen, restart your computer. If this screen appears again, follow these steps:

The device driver got stuck in an infinite loop. This usually indicates problem with the device driver programming the hardware correctly.

Please check with your hardware device vendor for any driver updates.

Technical Information:

*** STOP: 0x000000EA ( some mem addresses )

ati2dvag
Beginning dump of physical memory


To BOSSKILLER: Memtest results were all ok... (booting from the floppy according to the procedure etc)

Memory seems not to be the problem.. at least not as the graphics driver seems to be right now :(

To Fredrik: I use windows xp professional 2002 SP3. In the service department installed a fresh vista copy into a hard disc of them for their test purposes. I didnt give them my HDDs  :biggthumbsup:

Thank you too for your insterest mate.

So, here is what I did. I talked with the technician (@ the computer store) and told me that maybe m/b's chipset (ATI) and ATI graphics cards do not match sometimes. Like a conflict, like a dislike to each other.. he didnt know why. But he met before such a situation. So we decided to give him my pc ONCE AGAIN and remove my 4870 and to replace it with an ASUS GTX260 896 MB DDR3 ...  I left my hard disk inside my pc this time, so he will work with my OS. Tomorrow or Monday I ll know what will happen. Ofcourse I ll have to pay something more ( 308 - 240  = 68 Euros )  :shocked_anim:

.Aggelos.
Logged
AMD Phenom 9950 2600 ΒΕ
MSI K9A2 Platinum v2 (BIOS 1.5)
G.Skill 2GB (2x1GB) DDR2-1066Mhz
ASUS ENGTX260 896MB DDR3
2xWD6400AAKS 640GB Sata2
Optiarc AD-7203S & Optiarc DDU1671S
Chieftec 750Watt
XP Pro 2002 SP3
2-ndRig:MSI 845PE Max/P4 @ 2.6GHz/1.28GB DDR1/Nvidia Ti4600 128MB/WD PATA 80/250GB
3-rdRig:Amiga 1200/68030 @ 50MHz/18MB Ram + 2xAmiga 500

Svet

  • T9246ED
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 73323
Re: K9A2 Platinum v2 + 4850 / 4870 1GB GDDR5 Problems
« Reply #22 on: 24-October-08, 10:44:45 »

"Memory seems not to be the problem.. at least not as the graphics driver seems to be right now"

Its not sure yet, memtest is just good start to catch basic error{s}.
Do stability test with Orthos ==> http://sp2004.fre3.com/beta/orthos_exe_20060420.cab
Use "Large, in-place FFT's", with priority 9
Leave it for at least 12 hours.
If no errors occur., then you have problem with VGA or PSU or driver issue.{go for latest drivers from ATI Cat. 8.10 http://game.amd.com/us-en/drivers_catalyst.aspx }
Logged

Fredrik

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16121
  • There's always a risk.
Re: K9A2 Platinum v2 + 4850 / 4870 1GB GDDR5 Problems
« Reply #23 on: 24-October-08, 12:22:25 »

[size10pt]Thank you for the BSOD text! I have had this problem myself, but with an x1950 AGP card. It has to do with motherboard drivers or a possibly bad graphics driver installation.
 
Here is one way, I stole it from http://www.ngohq.com/graphic-cards/11899-ati2dvag-infinite-loop.html , but I know I've done it before.
"Right click on My Computer
Choose Properties
Choose the Hardware(Tab)
Choose Device Manager(button)
Click the
  • next to System devices

Right click on CPU to AGP Controller
Choose the Update Driver(button)

Select Install from a list or specific location (Advanced)
Choose Next(button)
Select "Don't search. I will choose the driver to install."
Choose Next(button)
Select PCI standard PCI-to-PCI bridge
Hit Next(button)
Hit Finish(button)
Reboot
."

Another option is to use DriveCleaner and then use the driver that came on the install CD for the graphics card.[/size]
Logged

wlahdone

  • MAJOR
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1030
  • Hamangia figurine (5000–4600 BC)
Re: K9A2 Platinum v2 + 4850 / 4870 1GB GDDR5 Problems
« Reply #24 on: 24-October-08, 12:58:31 »

[size10pt]Thank you for the BSOD text! I have had this problem myself, but with an x1950 AGP card. It has to do with motherboard drivers or a possibly bad graphics driver installation.
 
Here is one way, I stole it from http://www.ngohq.com/graphic-cards/11899-ati2dvag-infinite-loop.html , but I know I've done it before.
"Right click on My Computer
Choose Properties
Choose the Hardware(Tab)
Choose Device Manager(button)
Click the
  • next to System devices

Right click on CPU to AGP Controller
Choose the Update Driver(button)

There is no such device on a K9A2 Platinum using XP SP 3.
He is able to update only "AMD low level device driver" and "ATI SM Bus" or the PATA/SATA drivers with older february ,march and july chipset driver packages.Wiith the latest chipset driver package PATA/SATA drivers were totally removed.
Logged
AMD FX 6300 + H60 + ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0, MSIA88X-G41 PC Mate(17.9) + AMD 860K + Sapphire R7 265, AMD FM2 A4-5300 + MSI FM2 A75-E35, MSI AM1M + Athlon 5350

HfestosTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: K9A2 Platinum v2 + 4850 / 4870 1GB GDDR5 Problems
« Reply #25 on: 27-October-08, 14:32:51 »

Hello all!! I got my pc back today  :agrees: and it works fine!!! My brand new ASUS ENGTX260 896MB DDR3 seems to work great with the rest of my config.. They tested it @ the store and they noticed no problem as I did some hours later. I also set my memory modules according to g.skill forum admin instructions (its for an asus m/b but it works fine with me too) Details at: http://xs.to/xs.php?h=xs231&d=08373&f=dsc_9699445.jpg

The conclusion seems to be that Sapphire 4850 512MB & 4870 1GB were not compatible with K9A2 Premium v2 OR something else from my config didnt like them while running on xp or vista.

Thanks everyone for the time who spent for my problem... ;)

.Aggelos.
Logged
AMD Phenom 9950 2600 ΒΕ
MSI K9A2 Platinum v2 (BIOS 1.5)
G.Skill 2GB (2x1GB) DDR2-1066Mhz
ASUS ENGTX260 896MB DDR3
2xWD6400AAKS 640GB Sata2
Optiarc AD-7203S & Optiarc DDU1671S
Chieftec 750Watt
XP Pro 2002 SP3
2-ndRig:MSI 845PE Max/P4 @ 2.6GHz/1.28GB DDR1/Nvidia Ti4600 128MB/WD PATA 80/250GB
3-rdRig:Amiga 1200/68030 @ 50MHz/18MB Ram + 2xAmiga 500

wlahdone

  • MAJOR
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1030
  • Hamangia figurine (5000–4600 BC)
Re: K9A2 Platinum v2 + 4850 / 4870 1GB GDDR5 Problems
« Reply #26 on: 27-October-08, 18:47:35 »

Hfestos ,what modifications did they do at the store (apart from replacing the video card)?
What BIOS version are you using now ,what mobo chipset drivers,what Nvidia video driver version ,OS and what PSU?
I m just extremelly curious  :shocking:

Logged
AMD FX 6300 + H60 + ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0, MSIA88X-G41 PC Mate(17.9) + AMD 860K + Sapphire R7 265, AMD FM2 A4-5300 + MSI FM2 A75-E35, MSI AM1M + Athlon 5350

HfestosTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: -SOLVED - K9A2 Platinum v2 + 4850 / 4870 1GB GDDR5 Problems
« Reply #27 on: 03-November-08, 09:20:08 »

Sm3K3R, they just replaced the card and oh,they did some useless bios modifications (which I changed them already) such as TLB bug enable (as I have b3 step 9950 is useless), fast boot enable etc.

I use Bios v1.5 like you, latest MSI mobo chipset drivers, latest nvidia driver ver and also my psu remains the same. I adjusted the ram voltage settings for stability (2.1V)

I am a happy pc user now powered by MSI again (my previous sys is based on MSI 845PE Max and I was very pleased!)

.Aggelos.
Logged
AMD Phenom 9950 2600 ΒΕ
MSI K9A2 Platinum v2 (BIOS 1.5)
G.Skill 2GB (2x1GB) DDR2-1066Mhz
ASUS ENGTX260 896MB DDR3
2xWD6400AAKS 640GB Sata2
Optiarc AD-7203S & Optiarc DDU1671S
Chieftec 750Watt
XP Pro 2002 SP3
2-ndRig:MSI 845PE Max/P4 @ 2.6GHz/1.28GB DDR1/Nvidia Ti4600 128MB/WD PATA 80/250GB
3-rdRig:Amiga 1200/68030 @ 50MHz/18MB Ram + 2xAmiga 500

wlahdone

  • MAJOR
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1030
  • Hamangia figurine (5000–4600 BC)
Re: -SOLVED - K9A2 Platinum v2 + 4850 / 4870 1GB GDDR5 Problems
« Reply #28 on: 04-November-08, 06:13:36 »

THX Hfestos!  :agrees:
Logged
AMD FX 6300 + H60 + ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0, MSIA88X-G41 PC Mate(17.9) + AMD 860K + Sapphire R7 265, AMD FM2 A4-5300 + MSI FM2 A75-E35, MSI AM1M + Athlon 5350
Pages: [1]   Go Up