Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Forum FAQ contains answers to many frequently asked questions, please browse or search there before posting.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MS-6702 (socket 754) + Athlon64 3400 Clawhammer  (Read 2456 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

sepukkake

  • Neo
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
MS-6702 (socket 754) + Athlon64 3400 Clawhammer
« on: 21-October-08, 09:32:27 »

I finally decided to install vista on this system and only just discovered this.
My 3400 (rated at 2.2ghz) is running at 2.0ghz. On the motherboard page it shows that it supports 200fsb / 11x multiplier but there is no option to change the multiplier in my bios (newest version is 2.2).

CPU-Z shows:

CPU: Athlon 64 3400+ (revision SH7-CO)
Core Voltage: varies due to Cooln'Quiet
Core Speed: 800mhz - 2.0ghz
Multiplier: 4x - 10x
Bus Speed: 200mhz
HT Link: 800mhz
Cache: (64, 64, 1024)
DRAM freq: 200mhz
FSB:DRAM: CPU/10
PC3200 - 2.5,3,3,8

My bios settings are CPU FSB at 200mhz, voltages at Auto

I've never been big on OC'ing and I never used this system intensively to care much about the performance, but I'd like to finally get that extra 200mhz. What do I need to do?

I have a 550w Enermax psu with 36A on the +12v rail in case anyone thinks it's a power issue.
« Last Edit: 21-October-08, 09:50:07 by sepukkake »
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 49173
    • MSI BIOS/EC-FW Mods
Re: MS-6702 (socket 754) + Athlon64 3400 Clawhammer
« Reply #1 on: 21-October-08, 11:35:26 »

Are you sure that the CPU is 3400+ and not 3200+?
Can you post the CPU OPN code?
Have you done >>Clear CMOS Guide<< with power cord removed?

sepukkake

  • Neo
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: MS-6702 (socket 754) + Athlon64 3400 Clawhammer
« Reply #2 on: 22-October-08, 08:27:24 »

I've got it running at 2.2ghz now, but I had to manually set the voltage to 1.5v and turn off Cooln'Quiet.
I'm really not sure why I'd have to do that especially since I love Cooln'Quiet, but I've never seen it go above 2.0ghz with it on.

Where can I find the OPN code? I'm almost certain it's a 3400 - it was purchased from Fry's Electronics sometime ago. I know they have a reputation of faulty items, but they wouldn't sell me fake parts.
Logged

Fredrik

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16126
  • There's always a risk.
Re: MS-6702 (socket 754) + Athlon64 3400 Clawhammer
« Reply #3 on: 22-October-08, 13:33:25 »

It is printed on the processor chip. If you want to learn that way you have to reseat the processor.
Not sure, if you and Fry's saved any receipts or documents of the purchase you might learn that way, too.

But Bosskiller has a good nose for things like this.  :smile:

I on the other hand change so slowly. Do not want 2.5..... settings for the memory with FSB 200, want 3.... settings.

"FSB:DRAM": CPU/10, is that Automatic setting?
Logged

workknot

  • Platinum
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 412
Re: MS-6702 (socket 754) + Athlon64 3400 Clawhammer
« Reply #4 on: 22-October-08, 15:08:56 »

Won't windows display the CPU type by looking in the Properties tab of My Computer in the General tab? Or is that not accuratly displayed for all CPU'S. Just a thought I had while reading this post.
Pop's
Logged
MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum Ultra 7125-010 Bios 1.6
AMD 64 4000+ San Diego
MSI NX6600GT TD128E
Aspire X-Plorer Case
OCZ Modstream 520 W, 3.3@28a, +5@52a, +12@28a
OCZ 2GB Kit DDR400 @ 2-3-2-5  1T
LiteOn DVD-RW LiteOn CD-RW
Sony FDD
WD 36.7 Sata Raptor No RAID
XP Pro SlipStreamed SP2
Samsung 17" LCD

Rig 2
Raidmax Tower
Corsair PSU 550 Watt
MSI K9A2 Neo-F
AMD 5400 @ 2.8 GHZ
Corsair Memory 2GB DDR2 800
MSI N9600GSO T2D384 OC
WD Raptor 36.7 GB
LiteOn DVDRW SHW-160P6S04C
Sony FDD
Win XP SP3
Acer 22" Widescreen

Ex Forum User 3

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26817
Re: MS-6702 (socket 754) + Athlon64 3400 Clawhammer
« Reply #5 on: 22-October-08, 15:48:33 »

Run CPU-z it will show exactly what CPU you have.
Logged

Hans

  • Official Q-Tec Alert Specialist // 正式Q技术机敏的专家
  • Xpower
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4243
  • If I fix it, it will never need fixing again!
Re: MS-6702 (socket 754) + Athlon64 3400 Clawhammer
« Reply #6 on: 22-October-08, 18:17:56 »

If you are using a Clawhammer CPU, do NOT use bios 2.2. It is NOT a good bios for this board in combination with this type of processor.

Fall back to version 1.9 and you'll probably be fine.
Logged
You have a Q-Tec Power Supply? Change that first and come back later...

* MSI P55-GD85, bios 1.3
* Intel Core i7 860 (stock @ 2.8GHz)
* 2x 2048MB TakeMS @ 1333MHz (8-8-8-24, 1T)
* Club3D HD5770 1024MB
* OCZ Vertex 2 120GB (OS and apps)
* 5x Western Digital Caviar Green 500GB in RaID5 (storage)
* 2x DVD Rewriter (LG, Optiarc)
* PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
* Cooler Master Stacker CM101
* Dell Ultrasharp 2209AW 22\\\" (e-IPS) monitor
* Windows 7 Professional NL

MSI MediaLive: AMD Athlon X2 4800+, 2x1GB Crucial PC-4200, Seagate 160GB, Pioneer DVD-burner, Hauppauge PWR150 TV Tunercard, Windows 7 Home Premium NL.

MSI X-Slim X620 :like: :like:

Backup: Thecus N5200Pro NAS

sepukkake

  • Neo
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: MS-6702 (socket 754) + Athlon64 3400 Clawhammer
« Reply #7 on: 23-October-08, 03:20:52 »

Thanks for all the replies. Don't think I'll take out the processor to make sure it's a 3400 as I'm almost 100% sure it is.
As I've said, it's working now but I had to set the CPU V to 1.5 and turn off Cooln'Quiet (I have no idea why this is necessary)
CPU-Z shows an Athlon 3400
I may fall back to bios 1.9 to see what happens. Thanks for all the replies!
Logged

Hans

  • Official Q-Tec Alert Specialist // 正式Q技术机敏的专家
  • Xpower
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4243
  • If I fix it, it will never need fixing again!
Re: MS-6702 (socket 754) + Athlon64 3400 Clawhammer
« Reply #8 on: 23-October-08, 19:09:35 »

The problems you have are typical for a Clawhammer with the "wrong" bios.
Logged
You have a Q-Tec Power Supply? Change that first and come back later...

* MSI P55-GD85, bios 1.3
* Intel Core i7 860 (stock @ 2.8GHz)
* 2x 2048MB TakeMS @ 1333MHz (8-8-8-24, 1T)
* Club3D HD5770 1024MB
* OCZ Vertex 2 120GB (OS and apps)
* 5x Western Digital Caviar Green 500GB in RaID5 (storage)
* 2x DVD Rewriter (LG, Optiarc)
* PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
* Cooler Master Stacker CM101
* Dell Ultrasharp 2209AW 22\\\" (e-IPS) monitor
* Windows 7 Professional NL

MSI MediaLive: AMD Athlon X2 4800+, 2x1GB Crucial PC-4200, Seagate 160GB, Pioneer DVD-burner, Hauppauge PWR150 TV Tunercard, Windows 7 Home Premium NL.

MSI X-Slim X620 :like: :like:

Backup: Thecus N5200Pro NAS

Fredrik

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16126
  • There's always a risk.
Re: MS-6702 (socket 754) + Athlon64 3400 Clawhammer
« Reply #9 on: 23-October-08, 23:28:00 »

CoolnQuiet reduces MHz and vcore. But many can't make it work like they want it to.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up