Close

Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Media Live VFD Driver issue?  (Read 11361 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

melgishTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Media Live VFD Driver issue?
« on: 11-November-08, 21:15:49 »

I'm working with MSI support on an issue I'm having with the VFD driver.  I'm wondering if anyone else is having the same probelm

Put bluntly, MGSysCtl.exe leaks memory.

this first image is just after reboot, (7-24 AM) (sorry I didn't get headers)
http://fun.fiorellonj.com/images/msi/2008-11-11_7-24AM.png

this next image is 20 minutes later (7-44 AM)
http://fun.fiorellonj.com/images/msi/2008-11-11_7-44AM.png

and 13 hours later (8-44 PM)
http://fun.fiorellonj.com/images/msi/2008-11-11_8-44PM.png

It's ticking away memory handles at the rate of 1/sec, and eating roughly 4k every 5 seconds.

Anyone else seeing similar trends?

BTW, OS is XP Pro w/ SP 3.
Logged

Volker

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
    • Sprintweb
Re: Media Live VFD Driver issue?
« Reply #1 on: 12-November-08, 01:43:48 »

same here with XP Pro
once a week I kill the process and restart the driver
Logged

melgishTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Media Live VFD Driver issue?
« Reply #2 on: 12-November-08, 08:51:10 »

Aha, so I'm not the only one!

I offered to fix the problem (for free) if they give me the source ... but all I was told was to update bios and reinstall XP.

Anyone else having the issue?  Maybe we can compare systems and find common ground?


Bios: 1.63 (haven't reinstalled yet)
RAM: 1G
CPU: Athalon X2 4200+

XP Pro w/ SP 3
1G RAM

Haupauge Tuner in the PCI-E slot
Gravis USB Wireless Keyboard / Mouse
Logged

Stu

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19551
  • Birmingham, UK
    • StuOnline.co.uk
Re: Media Live VFD Driver issue?
« Reply #3 on: 12-November-08, 12:57:51 »

Its not something I've noticed I must admit, but I use Vista Home Premium on my Media Live.
Logged
Former moderator and admin, 2004-2012

Volker

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
    • Sprintweb
Re: Media Live VFD Driver issue?
« Reply #4 on: 13-November-08, 10:29:10 »

BIOS: ??? (never changed)
RAM: 2GB
CPU: X2 4400+

XP Pro, XP MCE, SP2 and SP3, with or without TV-Tuner makes no difference, VFD driver eats memory

I will have a try with Vista the next days
If I find time I will try a new BIOS and a fresh XP install on my second ML
Logged

melgishTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Media Live VFD Driver issue?
« Reply #5 on: 13-November-08, 14:31:02 »

I was poking around with WinDBG and noticed that one of the modules loaded into the process space was from AVG?  What antivirus are you running?  (BTW, I did confirm it to be a true 'leak' ... the allocated memory is no longer referenced anywhere within the process space)  I didn't feel like setting up symbols and such to try and get a stack trace.

I'll be doing a clean install as directed this weekend.  (since it's the only way to move support to the next step) 

What I'll do is install just XP and the VFD driver and see what happens.  (and then probably restore from backup)


Logged

Volker

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 33
    • Sprintweb
Re: Media Live VFD Driver issue?
« Reply #6 on: 13-November-08, 14:50:43 »

No antivirus on the single computers. We run a separate filter and harwarefirewall for the whole network. So AVG is not and causes not this problem.
Logged

Stu

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19551
  • Birmingham, UK
    • StuOnline.co.uk
Re: Media Live VFD Driver issue?
« Reply #7 on: 13-November-08, 15:58:52 »

I don't use any anti-virus software on my Media Live either ;-))
Logged
Former moderator and admin, 2004-2012

melgishTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Media Live VFD Driver issue?
« Reply #8 on: 15-November-08, 14:12:36 »

This morning, I fired up Acronis True Image 11 and imaged my system partition, then I pulled out my Windows XP Pro w/ SP2 CD and did a clean install.

After the install finished, I installed VFD driver version 1.05 from the download site.

The first time I rebooted, I got this very helpful message:



Before clicking OK, I checked Task manager.  MGSysCtrl.exe was running, but showed no sign of leakage.  Then I clicked OK... and the leaks came back.  (Conclusion, Message box was from MGSysCtrl.exe, either before the leaky thread got started, or from the leaky thread itself.)

So I restored from backup, and wait to see what support says next.

side note: Does anyone know what XYNTService.exe does?  (Show's up as 'MyTestService' under service manager) it's also part of the VFD driver package.  Doesn't seem to make a difference if it's running or not.


Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 73043
Re: Media Live VFD Driver issue?
« Reply #9 on: 17-November-08, 07:32:29 »

Try this:
Install "VFD driver version 1.05".
Get attached file, extract both files. {MGKBHook.dll [dfc5446b3bab8066cb3435d686f2237d] & MGSysCtrl.exe [fc0cd973141131424b74da0d82cc95c5]}.
Reboot PC and enter in "Safe Mode".
Navigate to ...Program Files\VFD Controller and overwrite both files there.
Reboot PC && Retest.

Logged

melgishTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Media Live VFD Driver issue?
« Reply #10 on: 18-November-08, 20:57:39 »

Gave it a shot, didn't seem to make a difference.  I notice the files have the same date/time stamp as the 1.05 version but are larger (presumably a debug build?)

Thanks for tryin.
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 73043
Re: Media Live VFD Driver issue?
« Reply #11 on: 19-November-08, 16:59:44 »

I notice the files have the same date/time stamp as the 1.05 version but are larger (presumably a debug build?)

Thanks for tryin.

Yep
Logged

melgishTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Media Live VFD Driver issue?
« Reply #12 on: 19-November-08, 20:27:01 »

Yep

If you happen to have the .pdb file from the same build, I can get a stacktrace for the leak.

EDIT, Ok it's not necessary.  I was bored tonight and decided to dig deep.  The only thing the PDB might add would be the name of the method in MGSysCtrl.exe



Here's the stack trace of the offending allocation(s) (in this case 299 events at time of capture)

+   635c4 ( 635c4 -     0)    299 allocs   BackTrace8C3
+     299 (   299 -     0)   BackTrace8C3   allocations

   7C96CF9A : ntdll!RtlDebugAllocateHeap+000000E1
   7C949564 : ntdll!RtlAllocateHeapSlowly+00000044
   7C918F01 : ntdll!RtlAllocateHeap+00000E64
   7C809A6F : kernel32!LocalAlloc+00000058
   688F1465 : HID!HidD_GetPreparsedData+0000004C
   004590F6 : MGSysCtrl!???+00000000

So some function in MGSysCtrl.exe is calling HID!HidD_GetPreparsedData. 

According to the documentation found here:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms790951.aspx

"When an application no longer requires the preparsed data, it should call HidD_FreePreparsedData to free the preparsed data buffer."

Something tells me this is not happening reliably
Logged

melgishTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Media Live VFD Driver issue?
« Reply #13 on: 06-December-08, 10:32:43 »

After showing them exactly where the problem is :-)  they fixed it....

update here: (haven't tried it yet, but am about to)

http://global.msi.com.tw/index.php?func=downloaddetail&type=driver&maincat_no=134&prod_no=1113
Logged

Stu

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19551
  • Birmingham, UK
    • StuOnline.co.uk
Re: Media Live VFD Driver issue?
« Reply #14 on: 06-December-08, 10:39:12 »

Great work! :biggthumbsup:
Logged
Former moderator and admin, 2004-2012
Pages: [1]   Go Up