Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: K9N Neo-F Max Ram/Speed  (Read 6451 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Nation5

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
K9N Neo-F Max Ram/Speed
« on: 26-December-08, 07:00:58 »

I currently run 2x512 DDR2 800 @ 800mhz dual channel.
I'd like to buy 4x1gb DDR2 800.  Will this slow down to 667 since I will have to populate all 4 dimms? 
I have an AMD64 3500+ for a memory controller.
Logged
AMD Athlon64 3500+ Orleans
MSI K9N Neo (MS-7260 - nForce 550)
Corsair XMS2-DHX DDR2 800mhz (4x1GB)(4-4-4-12-2T)
MSI GeForce 6600 - 256MB 128bit
XClio 450BL
WD Caviar SE16 - 250GB 16MB 7200RPM 3GB/s
WD Caviar SE16 - 500GB 16MB 7200RPM 3GB/s

Ex Forum User 3

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23406
« Reply #1 on: 26-December-08, 15:58:00 »

Yes you have to set them at 667 with 4 sticks.
Else the system probably gets terribly unstable.
Logged

Nation5

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
« Reply #2 on: 27-December-08, 19:10:37 »

Thank you for the reply!
Could you answer me this one more question?
My manual says that there is a 4GB max that it will recognize.  While trying to figure this out for myself, I ran across a ram requirements site that listed my motherboard as having 4 dimms (correct), 4GB max (correct), and that it would only recognize 1GB max per dimm slot (??).
It doesn't say that in my manual.  Do you know if that is correct?
If not, in your opinion would it be better to do 2x2GB @ 800 or 4x1GB @ 667?  Reason being is that I've heard that servers utilize every slot they can since they have great memory controllers and actually can utilize all dimm slots at once, so the bandwidth is greater, albeit at slower speeds.  Does this same strategy apply to my setup with the AMD64 3500+ onboard memory controller?  Thanks again for the reply!
Logged
AMD Athlon64 3500+ Orleans
MSI K9N Neo (MS-7260 - nForce 550)
Corsair XMS2-DHX DDR2 800mhz (4x1GB)(4-4-4-12-2T)
MSI GeForce 6600 - 256MB 128bit
XClio 450BL
WD Caviar SE16 - 250GB 16MB 7200RPM 3GB/s
WD Caviar SE16 - 500GB 16MB 7200RPM 3GB/s

Fredrik

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16126
  • There's always a risk.
« Reply #3 on: 29-December-08, 21:32:39 »

Can you point us to the site that says there is a 1GB limit / slot, please. The info might be dated. Could also be the wrong input.  :smile:
Corsair says, for K9N Neo-F V3 "4 DIMMs w/ DDR2 800+ up to 8GB ".
The MSI K9AG Neo-F has the limits you describe.
Logged

Nation5

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
« Reply #4 on: 30-December-08, 19:03:22 »

Can you point us to the site that says there is a 1GB limit / slot, please. The info might be dated. Could also be the wrong input.  :smile:
Corsair says, for K9N Neo-F V3 "4 DIMMs w/ DDR2 800+ up to 8GB ".
The MSI K9AG Neo-F has the limits you describe.
My motherboard is the MS-7260, K9N Neo-F Version 1, if that makes a difference.  Could have different hardware components.

The site I found that info for was:

http://www.crucial.com/store/listparts.aspx?model=MS-7260+(K9N+Neo)
 
From the webpage: "Each memory slot can hold DDR2 PC2-8500,DDR2 PC2-6400,DDR2 PC2-5300 with a maximum of 1GB per slot.*
*Not to exceed manufacturer supported memory."

Now, my motherboard manual shows that PC2-6400 is the fastest ram supported, and the Crucial site shows 8500.

I had read that the memory controller on my CPU should be able to handle 4x1GB @ 800MHz, is this true?

Thanks again for all the help it is greatly appreciated!
« Last Edit: 31-December-08, 02:06:14 by Nation5 »
Logged
AMD Athlon64 3500+ Orleans
MSI K9N Neo (MS-7260 - nForce 550)
Corsair XMS2-DHX DDR2 800mhz (4x1GB)(4-4-4-12-2T)
MSI GeForce 6600 - 256MB 128bit
XClio 450BL
WD Caviar SE16 - 250GB 16MB 7200RPM 3GB/s
WD Caviar SE16 - 500GB 16MB 7200RPM 3GB/s

Ex Forum User 3

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23406
« Reply #5 on: 30-December-08, 19:08:42 »

It depends on de CPU, as the memory-controller is inside the CPU.

Phenom -> 2x DDR1066 or 4x DDR800
Athlon / Sempron -> 2x DDR800 or 4x DDR667

Has nothing to do with the board.
Logged

Fredrik

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16126
  • There's always a risk.
« Reply #6 on: 30-December-08, 22:13:49 »

Crucial says:
"Q: How much memory can my computer handle?
A: 8192MB. Adding the maximum amount of memory will improve performance and help extend the useful life of your system as you run increasingly demanding software applications in the future."

"Each memory slot can hold DDR2 PC2-6400,DDR2 PC2-8500,DDR2 PC2-5300 with a maximum of 2GB per slot."
Don't know if anything will come out of this link:
http://www.crucial.com/store/listparts.aspx?model=K9N%20Neo-F&pl=MSI%20%28Micro%20Star%29&cat=RAM

They even suggest 4 x 2 GB memory
Logged
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up