Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

If you want to flash your BIOS, please use our own Forum USB Flash tool - NOW UPDATED!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MSI P35 Neo3(MS-7395 v1.0) not posting after succesful bios update.  (Read 8075 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

mr47

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16

Hey guys

I have a MSI P35 Neo3 (MS-7395 v1.0)
Originally bios v1.1 was loaded.

I was updating to v1.4 and followed the this guide.

I carefully followed every step. Got a bios successfully updated message.
I shutdown the system. Removed power cord. Waited for a min. Cleared the CMOS. Reset CMOS jumper. Reconnected power cable.
Started the system. No post.  :cry:

What could be the probable cause? and what course of action to follow..

P.S. I have an 8800gt

Update : I removed the cmos battery and put it back in after 10secs.
Turned on the system. It powered on, switched off within 2-3 seconds, powered on and switched off again. Again powered on but didnt post

Its double posting without actuling posting :O

TIA

regards
47
 


« Last Edit: 15-January-09, 17:41:38 by mr47 »
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 49176
    • MSI BIOS/EC-FW Mods

Can you list full system spec, read >>Posting Guide<<
Repeat Clear CMOS,{remove power cord 1st} and leave just one memory stick in 1st DIMM and try to boot.

mr47

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16

Processor : Intel E7200 2.53Ghz on Sumbeam CCF
MOBO : MSI P35 Neo3 (MS-7395 v1.0)
RAM : 2x2GB GSKILL 800Mhz CL4 (FC2-6400CL4D-4GBPI-Black)
GPU : XFX 8800GT (G92) 512mb 640/1600/950 PCI-E on Xigmatek VD964 Battleaxe
PSU : Corsair VX450 (450W,33A on 12v)
HDD : 1x Seagate 250GB + 1x Segate 500GB + 1x Seaget 640GB (All are SATA)
Optical Drives : 1x ASUS DVDRW 1814BL
OS : Win Vista Ultimate SP1 32bit
3x 120mm Fans

Ram were running in dual channel. I removed one of them, Cleared the CMOS again..

Powered On(Didn't post) -> pressed reset button -> didn't post ->  pressed reset button -> powered on and switched off after 2-3 secs, powered back on and didnt post.

This sorta thing use to happen at times when after OC'ed my system. It use to post after second reset after doing a power off power on like above.

The mobo also has 2 hardware OC jumpers(FSB-200,266,333Mhz).
But they are under my gigantic xigmatek vga cooler. Should I remove it and see their position and/or set them to 200?
« Last Edit: 15-January-09, 19:15:56 by mr47 »
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 49176
    • MSI BIOS/EC-FW Mods

Yes, also leave only one memory stick and repeat Clear CMOS.

mr47

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16

I had already removed one of the stick.
Now I unplugged the power cable. Hardware OC jumpers were set to 200Mhz.
I set them to 266 since my CPU default is 2.53(266*9.5).

Plugged in the power cable. Powered it on. It again double posted, there was a consistent hdd led of 3 seconds, I was getting hopeful of it posting, but it didn't.

:'(

Edit: I just remembered, before updating the bios, in the bios boot sequence i had set only two thing
1st - usb drive
2nd - asus dvdrw
3rd - disabled.
boot from other devices - yes.

could this have something to do with this issue?
nonetheless it should still post..
« Last Edit: 15-January-09, 19:35:56 by mr47 »
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 49176
    • MSI BIOS/EC-FW Mods

Nope, try to flash back to your last good known working BIOS, use that way ==> http://www.msicomputer.com/support/BIOS_AMI_Recovery.asp

mr47

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16

Alright.
I have a floppy drive. Finding a floppy disk will be tough.
anyways

Thanks BOSSKILLER, you are a big help.

I have the backup.bin saved during the bios update. should I use it?
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 49176
    • MSI BIOS/EC-FW Mods

Yes, you can use that as well. Rename backup.bin to AMIBOOT.ROM and place it at blank formatted diskette.

mr47

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16

I'm trying to force flash it, but in vain.
I've tried with 2 floppy drives and some perfectly working floppy diskettes.

It just power's on and the floppy light comes on, the diskette starts spinning but the floppy head doesn't move..
I keep Ctrl+Home pressed for over a min, but nothing happens.

what now?.. RMA?
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 49176
    • MSI BIOS/EC-FW Mods

Try again, leave just one memory stick in 1st DIMM.
Clear CMOS 1st, before proceed with Ctrl+Home, also make sure the BIOS file is named AMIBOOT.ROM on diskette.
If no change sent it back for repair.

mr47

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16

Okay so I figured out the problem.
After the bios update. the system is not posting with my gskill memory no matter where i put em.

It boots up perfectly fine with kingston value ram 667mhz or 800mhz 1GB in the first DIMM slot.

Why the hell isnt it posting with my skill ram??
Shd i downgrade the bios now?
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 49176
    • MSI BIOS/EC-FW Mods

Try bump memory voltage to GSKILL recommendation and re-test.
Else contact to MSI Tech here: http://ocss.msi.com.tw/ and explain the issue they can send you A7395IMS.151 to try.

mr47

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16

gskill has 1.8v at default.
screw it i'll go back to d previous bios.  :wall: :wall: :wall:
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 49176
    • MSI BIOS/EC-FW Mods

Yes, that's another option if you don't really need to go for 1.4

mr47

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16

shd i try 1.3?  :idea:
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 49176
    • MSI BIOS/EC-FW Mods

No... what's your idea for BIOS update?
If there is no reason stuck with BIOS which works fine for you, else ask MSI Tech for A7395IMS.151.

mr47

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16

So I tried with all versions.(Single stick, ram position - A1)

Didnt work with v1.4, 1.3, 1.2, 1.1, although originally I had v1.1

Worked first time I flashed to 1.0, then the second time it didn't.
So I repositioned the stick. Didn't work in A1,A2,B1. Worked in B2.
Now running dual channel in A2,B2.

But the bios is all screwed up, doesn't show rated clock shows something wierd like 25.19Ghz. Multi doesn't set to 9.5 in bios and in windows it shows 9.5 when set to 9 in bios
(E7200 2.53=266*9.5 default)
Wierd  :rolleyes_anim:.


Anyways, thnx KILLER once again  :biggthumbsup:
« Last Edit: 22-January-09, 15:02:01 by mr47 »
Logged

mr47

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16

There is another issue now. With Bios v1.0 the my GPU shader clock is being read as 197779Mhz while it should be 1600Mhz.
The wrong reading is preventing me from OC'ing the card.

Bios v1.1 seems to fix both the CPU multi as well as wrong GPU reading issues but then it wont pick up Gskill.
Now, I'm running my Gskill(4gb)+kingston(1gb) with bios v1.1.

When I received my board back from RMA, they had put the unreleased v1.51 on it, but even that didn't post with gskill, so I flashed it back to v1.0 and now to v1.1.
I don't think I have any other choice than request for A7395IMS.151 from my local RMA.

What say..

P.S. - Tech support form on http://ocss.msi.com.tw/ doesn't list my board (7395). What to do?
« Last Edit: 24-January-09, 17:47:12 by mr47 »
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up