Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Down

Author Topic: K9N2 SLI Platinum - No Video  (Read 5558 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

tamerlin

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
K9N2 SLI Platinum - No Video
« on: 19-January-09, 03:05:07 »

Howdy.  Built my new system yesterday, and after building a version of WinXP with SP3 slipsteamed everything went well.  I left the system on overnight and found it off in the morning.  Thinking "that's not usually a good thing" I powered it on and heard a <pop>.  "That's never a good thing."

I took all the parts out, re-built it piece by piece and applied power each time.  No problems.  So before I added the video cards I tried running on the internal video and had absolutely no video output.  I've tried with a PCI-E card and even a PCI card I had hanging around.  No joy.

Anyone have any ideas on what should I investigate next, or just RMA the board?

PS: total PSU specs: +3.3V@25A,+5V@30A,+12V1@18A,+12V2@18A,+12V3@18A, +12V4@18A,-12V@0.5A,+5VSB@3.0A
Logged
MB: K9N2 Platinum SLI 750a MS-7374 v1.2
BIOS: AMI A7374NMS ver 3.3 12232008
CPU: AMD Phenom x4 9950 BE @ 2.6 GHz
RAM: Corsair Dominator 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500)
VC: 2 EVGA GeForce 9800 GTX+ (SLI)
HD: WD Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB (SATA)
PS: PC PPCT860 (12V@64A)
Case: Antec P182
OS: Win XP Pro SP3

blankman69

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
« Reply #1 on: 19-January-09, 06:19:17 »

From what I've read from post's is that usually a popping sound is a capacitor blowing.  You can usually see the top of the capacitor's cracked open and sometimes see a substance hardened out of it.  When you have your cards in do you see the blue lights above the pci-e slots light up, and is your monitor showing a no signal when you turn your computer on?
Logged

tamerlin

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
« Reply #2 on: 19-January-09, 07:25:04 »

Yes, I see the blue lights when I install a PCI-E (and PCI) card.  When my DVI-D cable is not connected my monitor says "No DVI-D Cable"; when the DVI-D cable is connected (to any video source; on-board, PCI-E or PCI) and I boot, the monitor simply stays in power-save mode.

The last several tried the status LEDs have stayed "Red-Green-Red-Green", which I see in the manual means "Testing VGA BIOS".

I don't see any cracked components on the board, but I haven't looked underneath.  And it's hard to look below the "Circu-Pipe" heat sink.
« Last Edit: 20-January-09, 01:32:24 by tamerlin »
Logged
MB: K9N2 Platinum SLI 750a MS-7374 v1.2
BIOS: AMI A7374NMS ver 3.3 12232008
CPU: AMD Phenom x4 9950 BE @ 2.6 GHz
RAM: Corsair Dominator 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500)
VC: 2 EVGA GeForce 9800 GTX+ (SLI)
HD: WD Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB (SATA)
PS: PC PPCT860 (12V@64A)
Case: Antec P182
OS: Win XP Pro SP3

blankman69

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
« Reply #3 on: 19-January-09, 16:59:57 »

I couldn't find anything or anyone else I had talked to about this didn't really have any idea's either.  I mean if your vga chip isn't working and you have a pci-e card in one would think you could still get some kind of output through that.  So when you boot you don't even get a screen or anything?  Only other thing i could think of would be going into the bios and disabling the vga onboard.  RMA'ing sounds like it might be your only option.
Logged

Wonkanoby

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31262
« Reply #4 on: 19-January-09, 18:22:16 »

it could have been something in psu went pop

have you other parts to swap out and try
Logged
P5Q Deluxe
Intel QX 6700
4GB OCZ
60 GB Vertex drive
ATI 5850

tamerlin

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
« Reply #5 on: 19-January-09, 18:31:40 »

So when you boot you don't even get a screen or anything?  Only other thing i could think of would be going into the bios and disabling the vga onboard.

That's correct, I don't get a screen.  And the cable is good as I'm swapping it with my existing system.  It's kind of hard changing the BIOS when I have no screen.
Logged
MB: K9N2 Platinum SLI 750a MS-7374 v1.2
BIOS: AMI A7374NMS ver 3.3 12232008
CPU: AMD Phenom x4 9950 BE @ 2.6 GHz
RAM: Corsair Dominator 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500)
VC: 2 EVGA GeForce 9800 GTX+ (SLI)
HD: WD Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB (SATA)
PS: PC PPCT860 (12V@64A)
Case: Antec P182
OS: Win XP Pro SP3

tamerlin

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
« Reply #6 on: 19-January-09, 18:34:36 »

it could have been something in psu went pop

have you other parts to swap out and try

I'm getting LED lights on, the fans are moving and the hard drive spins.  I don't have another high power PSU to swap in (but I can get one if I must).  Is there something else I can examine for more evidence about the PSU?
Logged
MB: K9N2 Platinum SLI 750a MS-7374 v1.2
BIOS: AMI A7374NMS ver 3.3 12232008
CPU: AMD Phenom x4 9950 BE @ 2.6 GHz
RAM: Corsair Dominator 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500)
VC: 2 EVGA GeForce 9800 GTX+ (SLI)
HD: WD Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB (SATA)
PS: PC PPCT860 (12V@64A)
Case: Antec P182
OS: Win XP Pro SP3
Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Up