Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: 790FX GD70 BIOS Unlocking cores  (Read 4406 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Schmooz

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
790FX GD70 BIOS Unlocking cores
« on: 24-July-09, 12:14:32 »

When is MSI ever going to release a BIOS making us able to unlock cores on the X2 and X3 AMD chips? At the moment MSI seems to be the ONLY major motherboard manufacturer who doesn't allow the unlocking of the extra cores. Why? I'm about ready to go back to my old motherboard maker pretty quick. Makes no sense that MSI doesn't allow this feature especially on the high end boards, since all other companies do. Give us a BIOS for unlocking cores please!!
Logged
PII X4 965 @3.8ghz w/ Corsair Hydro H70
MSI 790FX-GD70 BIOS 1.6 SLI hacked
2x2GB Ballistix Tracer 1333 @ 1466mhz 6-6-6-20 1T 1.8v
2x2GB Corsair Dominator GT 1600 @ 1466mhz 6-6-6-20 1T 1.8v
2 MSI N465GTX Twin Frozr II in SLI on 22" Acer Widescreen
SB Extreme Music PCIe w/ Monsoon 2.1 Audio
2 x 120GB WD RAID0
Samsung DVD-RW/Floppy
Thermaltake Armor with 250mm 130cfm side intake
650w Primary Xclio PSU for system/450w secondary FSP BoosterX5 PSU for graphics
front x2 and rear 120mm, top and rear 92mm fans
All fans run through Nexus controller

Michael

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
  • MSI Technical Engineer
« Reply #1 on: 24-July-09, 12:22:52 »

there you go:
http://forum.coolaler.com/showthread.php?t=207961

Keep in mind that we do not give any warrantee that it will work nor will we help if your CPU does not support it.
Logged
My system:

MB: MSI P7N Sli Platinum
VGA: 2x MSI 8800GT 512 G92 with Coolermaster Cool Viva pro
CPU: Intel Q9450
Memory: 2x OCZ PC6400 Reaper 4GB
Hdd: 2x Raptor WD 36Gb Raid 0, WD250GB Sata drive, Maxtor 200Gb IDE drive, 500GB Mirror NAS Linksys, Toshiba 200Gb drive.
DVD/Burner: Samsung Dvd reader, Plextor 4x DVD burner
Casing: Chieftec CX-01B-B-SL
PSU: OCZ 750Watt Cool'n'Quiet

Schmooz

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
« Reply #2 on: 25-July-09, 02:10:38 »

Thanks much.
Logged
PII X4 965 @3.8ghz w/ Corsair Hydro H70
MSI 790FX-GD70 BIOS 1.6 SLI hacked
2x2GB Ballistix Tracer 1333 @ 1466mhz 6-6-6-20 1T 1.8v
2x2GB Corsair Dominator GT 1600 @ 1466mhz 6-6-6-20 1T 1.8v
2 MSI N465GTX Twin Frozr II in SLI on 22" Acer Widescreen
SB Extreme Music PCIe w/ Monsoon 2.1 Audio
2 x 120GB WD RAID0
Samsung DVD-RW/Floppy
Thermaltake Armor with 250mm 130cfm side intake
650w Primary Xclio PSU for system/450w secondary FSP BoosterX5 PSU for graphics
front x2 and rear 120mm, top and rear 92mm fans
All fans run through Nexus controller

Halley

  • STAFF SERGEANT
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 63
  • My cubicle looks like a prison cell.
« Reply #3 on: 26-July-09, 13:33:54 »

there you go:
http://forum.coolaler.com/showthread.php?t=207961

Keep in mind that we do not give any warrantee that it will work nor will we help if your CPU does not support it.

Version 1.8 of MSI DKA 790GX Platinum lets me unlock my 550be. Vista Task Manager showed 4 cores. We thank MSI for that. However, on my dual boot machine, Win 7 Task Manager showed only 2 cores.

That discrepancies were confirmed by CPU-Z V. 1.52 on both Vista and Win 7.

Would MSI fix that after the official launch of Win 7?
Logged
Windows Vista Home Premium
Antec 180
Zerotherm Nirvana 120
Corsair 520HX
MSI DKA790GX, bios 1.2
AMD 9950 Black edition
2 x 2g OCZ DDR2 1066
Mitsumi floppy + 3-in-1 USB reader
Lite-On DVDRW
Samsung 750 gig
WD 650 gig
USB keyboard & USB mouse
Windows XP Home
Antec 300
Cooler Master Hyper 212
Corsair 550VX
MSI P35 Neo 2 FR
Intel Q6600 GO
2 x 1gig Crucial Tracer DDR2 800
LiteOn DVDRW Lightcriber
WD 160 gig
Seagate Free Agent 750 gig
USB keyboard & mouse

DevMan77

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
« Reply #4 on: 21-October-09, 16:35:11 »

there you go:
http://forum.coolaler.com/showthread.php?t=207961

Keep in mind that we do not give any warrantee that it will work nor will we help if your CPU does not support it.

I've tried all BIOS revs. 1.36, 1.4, 1.5, 1.6... and now I'm with 1.5b4.  but when I'm trying to unlock the second core of mine Sempron 140, the BIOS correct recognize it as Athlon II X2 4400e, but the windows (XP & Vista) can't boot... it is stopped while loading \WINDOWS\system32\acpitabl.dat

With BIOS 1.6  I was able to boot, but there was only 1 core in the Task Manager :-(

Keep in mind that the same CPU is running @ 2 cores great with my other MB - ASRock M3A790GXH/128M !?!

Please advise.
Logged

Panther57

  • CAPTAIN
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 606
« Reply #5 on: 22-October-09, 02:23:46 »

With or without a Bios to allow unlocking not all CPU's unlock. I have a 720BE and it doesn't unlock, it fails. The ability to unlock is like a lottery. If you have a CPU that doesn't unlock, it won't on any board, plus many who have unlocked have stability problems. Those buying less expensive CPU's hoping to get more for thier money don't always get the results. It is better to buy a processor and use it as designed. Some sold CPU's are actual multi core CPU's that had addl. core turned off for the purpose of sales. Those unlock great if you are fortunate to get one of those. I read an article that stated that MSI turned off cores to get more 720BE's to market. 4 core made to operate as three. My information is not from MSI but from several articles.
Good Luck
Logged
MSI: 990FXA-GD80 v13.4
AMD: FX-8150
Kingston HyperX 1866 2X4GB
Sapphire 6870 Crossfire, EyeFinity 3 Screens
2-OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD's / Raid0
Western Digital Cavier Black 500Gb HDD
OCZ Vertex 2 120GB SSD
Zalman: 9900NT
Windows 7 64bit Professional
CoolMax: CUG950B 950w
Antec P280 Case


MSI 990FXA-GD65
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T
Zalman 9700NT
Coolmax 900 PSU
MSI R7770
Kingston HyperX 4X4GB 1600
2-OCZ Vertex 2 120Gb/SSD's / Raid0
Samsung 500GB HDD
Windows 7 64Bit Professional
Antec P180b Case

SiliconDust: HDHomeRun Prime Digital Cable Card, 3 Tuners HDTV LAN. 2 PCs, 1 HDTV

Stu

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19582
  • Birmingham, UK
    • StuOnline.co.uk
« Reply #6 on: 22-October-09, 18:08:36 »

Quote
I read an article that stated that MSI turned off cores to get more 720BE's to market.

Well your article is misinformed as MSI don't make CPUs, AMD does.
Logged
Former moderator and admin, 2004-2012
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up