Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

New members, please remember to read the Forum Rules and the Posting Guide before posting for the first time!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Do MSI Boards have a Windows Based BIOS flash utility?  (Read 8716 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

BestJinjo

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
Do MSI Boards have a Windows Based BIOS flash utility?
« on: 13-September-09, 19:04:21 »

Hi,

I recently sold my Q6600 2.4ghz and Gigabyte P35-DS3L rev 1.0 board and upgraded to a Core i7 860, MSI P55-CD53 Bios 1.0 and OCZ 4GB Gold Low Voltage DDR3 1600.

My old board had the ability to flash the bios straight from Windows but I can't seem to figure out how to do that with this MSI board.

I set OCZ voltage to 1.651 in the BIOS and laxed the timings to 8-8-8-24 but constantly keep getting blue screens.  My videocard is the same MSI 4890 1GB OC as was used on the C2Q system.

I am hoping that bios 1.1 will solve my issues (perhaps memory incompatibility)? 

I don't have a USB key to flash the bios...and MSI Live Update 4.0 version 4.0.0.18 is NOT picking up the latest 1.1 bios since there is no Windows 7 support (and Live Update Online doesn't work Either).

What should I do?

« Last Edit: 13-September-09, 19:29:40 by BestJinjo »
Logged
Athlon XP 1600+ @ 1400mhz (stock)
MSI KT3 Ultra 2 BIOS v5.70
256mb DDR PC2100 Simpletech
WD 80gb 2mb cache
24x10x40 TEAC CD-Writer + 52x Creative Labs CD-ROM
Sony HS73H 17" LCD
ATI Rage 128 Pro 16mb

Jack

  • Ex Forum moderator
  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14940
    • A user initiative by MSI fanatics to support all other MSI product users
Re: Do MSI Boards have a Windows Based BIOS flash utility?
« Reply #1 on: 13-September-09, 19:12:02 »

Quote
My old board had the ability to flash the bios straight from Windows but I can't seem to figure out how to do that with this MSI board.

There is an AMI BIOS WinFlash utility that is basically used by every manufacturer that uses AMI BIOS Releases.  However, I highly recommend not use any kind of Windows based BIOS Flashing application as this is a procedure that is very, very risky. 

If you do not have an USB Flash Drive, I suggest you get yourself one and >>Use the MSI HQ Forum USB flasher<<.
Logged

BestJinjo

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
Re: Do MSI Boards have a Windows Based BIOS flash utility?
« Reply #2 on: 13-September-09, 19:32:09 »

Hey,

I am very disappointed that MSI doesn't have a Windows based BIOS flash utility since Gigabyte and Asus have used those for years.  I guess I should have done my research when considering buying a board.

I'll have to get that USB Key then. 

Thanks for the help Jack.
Logged
Athlon XP 1600+ @ 1400mhz (stock)
MSI KT3 Ultra 2 BIOS v5.70
256mb DDR PC2100 Simpletech
WD 80gb 2mb cache
24x10x40 TEAC CD-Writer + 52x Creative Labs CD-ROM
Sony HS73H 17" LCD
ATI Rage 128 Pro 16mb

Jack

  • Ex Forum moderator
  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14940
    • A user initiative by MSI fanatics to support all other MSI product users
Re: Do MSI Boards have a Windows Based BIOS flash utility?
« Reply #3 on: 13-September-09, 19:45:22 »

Quote
I am very disappointed that MSI doesn't have a Windows based BIOS flash utility

It does have one.  It is called MSI Live Update.  The BIOS Version you are looking for is not in the database yet (too knew).  That is why the tool is not offering it to you.  MSI Live Update is utilizing the AMI BIOS WinFlash utility (just like the Update programs used by Asus or Gigabyte are using either AMI WinFlash or AWARD WinFlash (based on the BIOS type of the specific board in question).  There really isn't that big of a difference.  AMI WinFlash is available to everybody who wants to use it.  However, I cannot recommend to use Windows based flashed as long as it can be avoided. 

It does not matter if we are talking about an Asus, a Gigabyte or an MSI Mainboard, the risk is simply to high under Windows.  The problem is not the mainboard, the BIOS or the BIOS flasher, but the fact that Windows has tons of services, background applications and drivers running in the background and each of these pieces of software posts a potential risk to the update process.  If something crashes in the background which causes the flasher to crash during programming, the board will basically be dead after that. Even if the failure rate is between 6-10%, this is unacceptable in my opinion.

All of this is not part of the equation if you run a DOS based flasher from a pure DOS environment.  There is basically just the kernel and a command line interpreter, nothing else.  The failure rate is below 1% here.  And that is way better.

In the best interest of your system, try to avoid Windows based flasher if possible, no matter if you are using an MSI or an ASUS or Gigabyte board.
Logged

BestJinjo

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
Re: Do MSI Boards have a Windows Based BIOS flash utility?
« Reply #4 on: 13-September-09, 20:16:49 »

Good points!

I am going to try to get the USB flash to work and will let you know.

Thanks.
Logged
Athlon XP 1600+ @ 1400mhz (stock)
MSI KT3 Ultra 2 BIOS v5.70
256mb DDR PC2100 Simpletech
WD 80gb 2mb cache
24x10x40 TEAC CD-Writer + 52x Creative Labs CD-ROM
Sony HS73H 17" LCD
ATI Rage 128 Pro 16mb

Ex Forum User 3

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26817
Re: Do MSI Boards have a Windows Based BIOS flash utility?
« Reply #5 on: 13-September-09, 21:32:56 »

Just look a bit in this section of the forum, many people have killed their board using Windows-flashing (Live-Update).
BTW, I doubt flashing will solve your Bluescreens, do you know what the errors are?
Have you run >>Memtest86<<?
Logged

BestJinjo

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
Re: Do MSI Boards have a Windows Based BIOS flash utility?
« Reply #6 on: 14-September-09, 02:33:32 »

Board: MSI P55-CD53 Bios 1.1 Version (Latest Flashed thanks to Jack's help)
Memory: OCZ DDR3 PC3-12800 Gold Low Voltage Dual Channel CL8-8-8-24 1.65V #OCZ3G1600LV4GK
CPU: Core i7 860 SLBJJ
Cooler: Stock Intel
PSU: Corsair 520 Modular
Videocard: MSI 4890 1GB factory OC

I have set everything to Optimized defaults in the latest bios.

- MemTest86+ v. 2.11 passes memory at DDR3 1600 8-8-8-24 1.651V
- MemTest86+ v. 2.11 passes memory at DDR3 1066 7-7-7-18 1.651V
- Tried setting CPU voltage to +0.200 from stock of 1.128V for a total of 1.328V (1.27V in CPU-Z 1.52)

Tried running the memory at 1066 and 1600.  The system fails Prime95 Blended test within 1-2 minutes.  Sometimes the mouse completely freezes on the screen when running Prime 95 Blend within seconds of starting the test requiring reboot.  Otherwise the system BSOD at random even when I am browsing the Internet.

- CPU temperatures are 40*C idle and 74*C load, which is still under the threshold.
- 3.3V rail is 3.30V, 12V rail is 12.11V

The system also fails after enough passes of Resident Evil 5 Benchmark.
Same PSU and Videocard ran in the Q6600 @ 3.4ghz system (sig below) without any problems.

I am running out of ideas....mobo? cpu?
« Last Edit: 14-September-09, 02:37:38 by BestJinjo »
Logged
Athlon XP 1600+ @ 1400mhz (stock)
MSI KT3 Ultra 2 BIOS v5.70
256mb DDR PC2100 Simpletech
WD 80gb 2mb cache
24x10x40 TEAC CD-Writer + 52x Creative Labs CD-ROM
Sony HS73H 17" LCD
ATI Rage 128 Pro 16mb

Aaron

  • HydroGen
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5690
  • BOOST!
Re: Do MSI Boards have a Windows Based BIOS flash utility?
« Reply #7 on: 14-September-09, 10:21:05 »

What happens in the Prime95 large FFTs test?
Logged
Refrain from having to solve most of your problems by not creating them in the first place.

DDR3 Memory Standards: Blurry Lines
Integrated Memory Controllers (IMC)
Intel EIST and Processor C-states
Overclock Database 2.0

Ex Forum User 3

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26817
Re: Do MSI Boards have a Windows Based BIOS flash utility?
« Reply #8 on: 14-September-09, 15:41:02 »

Cool, you run without a powersupply :bonk:
Logged

BestJinjo

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
Re: Do MSI Boards have a Windows Based BIOS flash utility?
« Reply #9 on: 14-September-09, 20:41:45 »

Bas, what do you mean? It's powered by

CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W ATX12V v2.2 and EPS12V 2.91 SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139001&Tpk=corsair%20520

I will try Large FFT's tonight.
Logged
Athlon XP 1600+ @ 1400mhz (stock)
MSI KT3 Ultra 2 BIOS v5.70
256mb DDR PC2100 Simpletech
WD 80gb 2mb cache
24x10x40 TEAC CD-Writer + 52x Creative Labs CD-ROM
Sony HS73H 17" LCD
ATI Rage 128 Pro 16mb

BestJinjo

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
Re: Do MSI Boards have a Windows Based BIOS flash utility?
« Reply #10 on: 15-September-09, 15:54:30 »

Update: Tested each ram stick in DIMM #1 (which is 2nd slot from the cpu cooler). Both pass.  Left 2 sticks in DIMMs #1 and #3 overnight for 12 hours.  Now it fails under prolonged use in Memtest86+. 

Ok guys I went for all the marbles here:

- Ram set at rated OCZ Gold low voltage 1600 speed 8-8-8-24 @ 1.651V 2T (from 1T)
- CPU voltage from 1.124V to 1.322 (+0.198V)
- PCH 1.8V (CPU PLL) --> increased to 2.0V
- PCH 1.05V --> Increased to 1.20V
- CPU spread spectrum Disabled
- there is no option at all for QPI or Uncore Voltage on this board (maybe CD65 or CD80 have it). There is also no option for Load Line Calibration.

All PSU voltages are steady but Prime95 fails core by core within minutes until the whole system just completely crashes. CPU temperatures reach 86*C on the dinky heatsink from idle of 37-39*C. I tried resetting the heatsink fan. No changes whatsoever.

I really wanted to give the new MSI boards a try with DrMos fast switching.  Unfortunately, at this point I am going to return the board and the ram and restart my build. I am not going to fault MSI's new boards since I probably got a dud.  However, not having Uncore voltage and QPI voltage and Loal Line Calibration to manage the massive 0.05 Vdroop I experienced at load certainly tarnished my view of this particular CD53 board.  Perhaps CD65 and CD80 will do better in all of these areas.

Thanks for all the help.  :biggthumbsup:
Logged
Athlon XP 1600+ @ 1400mhz (stock)
MSI KT3 Ultra 2 BIOS v5.70
256mb DDR PC2100 Simpletech
WD 80gb 2mb cache
24x10x40 TEAC CD-Writer + 52x Creative Labs CD-ROM
Sony HS73H 17" LCD
ATI Rage 128 Pro 16mb

Ex Forum User 3

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26817
Re: Do MSI Boards have a Windows Based BIOS flash utility?
« Reply #11 on: 15-September-09, 16:03:49 »

Quote
Gold Low Voltage Dual Channel

That memory isn't ment for the I7, try I7 tested memory.
The memory controller moved from the chipset to the CPU, and thus you need different memory with more relaxed timings.
I7 memory is triple channel, not dual.

Logged

Aaron

  • HydroGen
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5690
  • BOOST!
Re: Do MSI Boards have a Windows Based BIOS flash utility?
« Reply #12 on: 15-September-09, 16:27:07 »

That memory isn't ment for the I7, try I7 tested memory.
The memory controller moved from the chipset to the CPU, and thus you need different memory with more relaxed timings.
I7 memory is triple channel, not dual.

Dual channel kits run fine on i7.  And please read:  this is socket 1156 - it has a dual channel memory controller.

Here, look at the P55 board:





BestJinjo, first: do not go buying a triple channel kit. ;-))

Second:  try using DDR-1066, 9-9-9-27 and 1.50V.  You shouldn't need the extra 0.15V to run at stock speed.
Logged
Refrain from having to solve most of your problems by not creating them in the first place.

DDR3 Memory Standards: Blurry Lines
Integrated Memory Controllers (IMC)
Intel EIST and Processor C-states
Overclock Database 2.0

Ex Forum User 3

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26817
Re: Do MSI Boards have a Windows Based BIOS flash utility?
« Reply #13 on: 15-September-09, 19:55:51 »

I should stick to AMD, Intel is way too difficult for me :lol_anim:

Anyway, if the memory isn't I7 tested, it could have too tight timings for the I7.
Logged

Aaron

  • HydroGen
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5690
  • BOOST!
Re: Do MSI Boards have a Windows Based BIOS flash utility?
« Reply #14 on: 15-September-09, 20:28:39 »

The i7's IMC seems better than the MCH in the older X48 and P35 chipsets.  Any memory that runs on X48/P45 is pretty much guaranteed to run on LGA 1366 or LGA 1156.

I should stick to AMD, Intel is way too difficult for me :lol_anim:

Sounds like a good idea.
Logged
Refrain from having to solve most of your problems by not creating them in the first place.

DDR3 Memory Standards: Blurry Lines
Integrated Memory Controllers (IMC)
Intel EIST and Processor C-states
Overclock Database 2.0

BestJinjo

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
Re: Do MSI Boards have a Windows Based BIOS flash utility?
« Reply #15 on: 16-September-09, 16:30:02 »

@ Bas:

I purchased the memory from Microcenter:
http://www.microcenter.com/single_product_results.phtml?product_id=0317775

OCZ low-voltage DDR3 kits are designed specifically for the IntelĀ® P55 Chipset and subsequent IntelĀ® Core i7, i5, and i3 (Socket 1156) processors.  OCZ website confirmed that these dual-kits were specifically binned for low voltage 1.65V.  I know some OCZ memory runs at 1.7-1.9V, which may have been your concern.

@ Aaron

The odd thing is the memory passes memtest86+ when I only use 1 stick in DIMM #1, but fails Test #5 and Test #8 with 2 sticks over 12 hour period.  However, BSOD is a lot more frequent at 1333 and 1600 mhz in Windows 7 64-bit. 1066 runs significantly more stable but that still does not pass Prime 95 blend.

As an update I have found other users reporting very similar issues to mine (i.e. board passes with 1 stick but fails with 2) for their MSI boards but using different brand of ram:

BSOD msi p5-gd65 core i5 team extreme ddr3 1333mhz ram
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?p=40311093

BSOD msi p55 gd53 + corei5 750 team elite ddr3 1333mhz 2gb x 2
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2499733
« Last Edit: 16-September-09, 16:37:32 by BestJinjo »
Logged
Athlon XP 1600+ @ 1400mhz (stock)
MSI KT3 Ultra 2 BIOS v5.70
256mb DDR PC2100 Simpletech
WD 80gb 2mb cache
24x10x40 TEAC CD-Writer + 52x Creative Labs CD-ROM
Sony HS73H 17" LCD
ATI Rage 128 Pro 16mb
Pages: [1]   Go Up