Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

New members, please remember to read the Forum Rules and the Posting Guide before posting for the first time!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MSI Wind u100x unable to enter bios recovery mode  (Read 13717 times)

dbradford259

• Winki
MSI Wind u100x unable to enter bios recovery mode
« on: 15-September-09, 17:21:42 »

Hi I have this u100x MSI wind notebook I was getting ready to load windows 7 on. I went to the MSI website and grabbed the latest bios for it. I am a dell certified tech and have flashed 1000's of bios' so I know what I was doing when I flashed this one. After I flashed the system and it was 100% completed I made sure I disconnected the battery and AC for a few mins upto an hour. System basically became a brick. I've read all the fourms about the recovery mode process and it doesn't seem to work.

All I get is a black screen and a soild power light. I follow the recovery by holding down the power and plugging in the AC then pressing the power button twice. I put the EN011IMS.ROM on three usb drives, floppy disk, sd card and CD rom and all do the same thing. Power light comes hard drive light for a second, usb or floppy or cd rom light for 2 seconds then it just sits there. I wait like 10 mins and nothing. Once and a while it'll Leave the USB light on and eventually turn itself leaving the usb light still on.

I basically get no response from the LCD. I even plugged it into an external monitor.

I bought this system off craigs list brand new so I have no clue really were it came from. Has a spanish looking keyboard I had to re-sticker it so I know what keys are what.

Any help would be great. I don't understand how you can truely brick it if there is a recovery mode. What really happens in recovery mode does it by-pass the damaged bios install or what?

Ex Forum User 3

• Hawk
Re: MSI Wind u100x unable to enter bios recovery mode