Close

Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge  (Read 16673 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

eire1130Topic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« on: 14-January-10, 11:41:34 »

Hello all,

I need to remove the Northbridge heatsink and reapply TIM. Has anyone done this yet for this board, or is aware of how to do this properly?
Logged

Ex Forum User 3

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23397
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #1 on: 14-January-10, 11:46:34 »

First of all, the NB is inside your CPU, you are referring to the chipset.

Second, why do you want to redo the grease? It doesn't get very hot at all and it's not possible to overclock that chip, also useless to try.

Why do you ask the question?

Logged

eire1130Topic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #2 on: 14-January-10, 11:55:31 »

First of all, the NB is inside your CPU, you are referring to the chipset.

Second, why do you want to redo the grease? It doesn't get very hot at all and it's not possible to overclock that chip, also useless to try.

Why do you ask the question?



Temps are about 72 at idle and 78 when running games. Testing for stability (such as prime95), the system shuts down once it hits 80 degrees (which according to customer support is the safe operating temp). I have not OCd my system.

Heat problems and poor heatsink seating on the NB are a well known problem on this board as well.
Logged

Hans

  • Official Q-Tec Alert Specialist // 正式Q技术机敏的专家
  • LIEUTENANT GENERAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4242
  • If I fix it, it will never need fixing again!
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #3 on: 14-January-10, 12:30:43 »

"Well known"? First time I hear this... and I must say that I often read in here...

Are you 100% sure that you are reading the temps correctly? What tool are you using?
Logged
You have a Q-Tec Power Supply? Change that first and come back later...

* MSI P55-GD85, bios 1.3
* Intel Core i7 860 (stock @ 2.8GHz)
* 2x 2048MB TakeMS @ 1333MHz (8-8-8-24, 1T)
* Club3D HD5770 1024MB
* OCZ Vertex 2 120GB (OS and apps)
* 5x Western Digital Caviar Green 500GB in RaID5 (storage)
* 2x DVD Rewriter (LG, Optiarc)
* PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
* Cooler Master Stacker CM101
* Dell Ultrasharp 2209AW 22\\\" (e-IPS) monitor
* Windows 7 Professional NL

MSI MediaLive: AMD Athlon X2 4800+, 2x1GB Crucial PC-4200, Seagate 160GB, Pioneer DVD-burner, Hauppauge PWR150 TV Tunercard, Windows 7 Home Premium NL.

MSI X-Slim X620 :like: :like:

Backup: Thecus N5200Pro NAS

Ex Forum User 3

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23397
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #4 on: 14-January-10, 12:31:03 »

Go into the BIOS and check the idle temps there.
Looks to me your CPU is overheating....chipsets ATI/VIA generally don't go above 40~50C tops even if you remove the heatsink they have.

80C is NOT safe, not even for the CPU.
For the Videocard, yes.

How do you measure this?
Check the BIOS to be sure you are reading the right temps.

From the looks of it, your CPU is in trouble, but the BIOS pages should confirm that with high readings.
Logged

eire1130Topic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #5 on: 14-January-10, 13:12:26 »

Go into the BIOS and check the idle temps there.
Looks to me your CPU is overheating....chipsets ATI/VIA generally don't go above 40~50C tops even if you remove the heatsink they have.

80C is NOT safe, not even for the CPU.
For the Videocard, yes.

How do you measure this?
Check the BIOS to be sure you are reading the right temps.

From the looks of it, your CPU is in trouble, but the BIOS pages should confirm that with high readings.

No, it's the Northbridge. I'm using speedfan. Remote1 is the NB sensor.

GPU: 44
Remote1: 68C
Remote2: 40C
Local: 32C
Temp1: 34C
Temp2: 40C
Temp3: 32C
core: 32C


Hans,

There are at least a couple other threads dealing with this issue on this forum and also on many other forums.

Anyway, I'm just looking for advice on how to remove the heatsink as this heatsink is designed a little differently. I'm sure I can figure it out on my own, but I would rather hear from the experts first.

https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=131871.0
https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=134382.0
http://www.overclock.net/amd-motherboards/528400-official-msi-790fx-gd70-owners-club-343.html
http://www.overclock.net/amd-motherboards/528400-official-msi-790fx-gd70-owners-club-336.html
http://forums.extremeoverclocking.com/showthread.php?t=329854

edit:

https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=129015.msg971365
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=297275
Logged

Hans

  • Official Q-Tec Alert Specialist // 正式Q技术机敏的专家
  • LIEUTENANT GENERAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4242
  • If I fix it, it will never need fixing again!
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #6 on: 14-January-10, 14:40:41 »

Okidoki, probably missed some.

About speedfan: I don't believe that tool, never. Does the heatsink on the chip feel very hot?
Logged
You have a Q-Tec Power Supply? Change that first and come back later...

* MSI P55-GD85, bios 1.3
* Intel Core i7 860 (stock @ 2.8GHz)
* 2x 2048MB TakeMS @ 1333MHz (8-8-8-24, 1T)
* Club3D HD5770 1024MB
* OCZ Vertex 2 120GB (OS and apps)
* 5x Western Digital Caviar Green 500GB in RaID5 (storage)
* 2x DVD Rewriter (LG, Optiarc)
* PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
* Cooler Master Stacker CM101
* Dell Ultrasharp 2209AW 22\\\" (e-IPS) monitor
* Windows 7 Professional NL

MSI MediaLive: AMD Athlon X2 4800+, 2x1GB Crucial PC-4200, Seagate 160GB, Pioneer DVD-burner, Hauppauge PWR150 TV Tunercard, Windows 7 Home Premium NL.

MSI X-Slim X620 :like: :like:

Backup: Thecus N5200Pro NAS

eire1130Topic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #7 on: 14-January-10, 15:07:17 »

Okidoki, probably missed some.

About speedfan: I don't believe that tool, never. Does the heatsink on the chip feel very hot?

Well, if the heatsink isn't conducting heat off the chip, it won't feel very hot. Otherwise, it would be cooling off the chip as designed. It does feel warm, but probably not over 110 degrees F.

If a heatsink is hot, that's an indication of poor ventilation. That isn't the problem here.

The fact here is when that number reaches 80 or so, I get a system shut down. The way others have dealt with this is to remove the heatsink and reapply the TIM. Everything I have read indicates the TIM that was used during manufacturing was of low quality. By the way, that number also agrees with Everest, which reports it has "Northbridge" as well.

So, back to my inquiry, how can I remove the heatsink without damaging my board (and hopefully without removing it from my case)?
Logged

brozly

  • STAFF SERGEANT
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 77
    • http://msn
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #8 on: 14-January-10, 20:36:53 »

I'm pretty sure if you remove the NB heatsink, you will Void any warrenty...
Logged
AMD Phenom II 955
MSI790GX-65
4GB OCZ3P1600LVAM 2*2GB
WD5001AALS(x2 Raid 0)
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream
OCZ ModXstream 700W PSU

Hans

  • Official Q-Tec Alert Specialist // 正式Q技术机敏的专家
  • LIEUTENANT GENERAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4242
  • If I fix it, it will never need fixing again!
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #9 on: 15-January-10, 05:58:03 »

I honestly believe something else is going on. Reasons for this:
1. Your heatsinks feel warm at the touch, right? Well, mine do too. Knowing that ATi-chipsets don't have the habit of heating up very much (when not under load), this makes me believe that your heat is conducted in the same manner as the heat in my system.

But since your system locks up, I just ran Prime95 with Speedfan as well. These are the results after about 30 minutes:
Remote 1: 77
Remote 2: 63
Local: 38
Temp 1: 70
Temp 2: 48
Temp 3: 36
Core: 68

How long does it take for your system to reach 80?
Is the airflow over the chipset's heatsink good enough? You can apply the best thermal compund you want, but if the hot air remains over the heatsink, then you keep on getting this problem.
To find out whether that is the problem or not: leave the pc case open and put a room fan next to your pc. Point it towards the NB heatsink. If it can now reach 80C, then the heat isn't conducted of the chipset to the heatsink enough. If it doesn't reach 80, then I think that you could better find a way to cool the heatsink than to take it of, voiding waranty.

I understand your problem, but I  would be reluctant to take of this heatsink, that's why I'm trying to solve the problem another way.
Logged
You have a Q-Tec Power Supply? Change that first and come back later...

* MSI P55-GD85, bios 1.3
* Intel Core i7 860 (stock @ 2.8GHz)
* 2x 2048MB TakeMS @ 1333MHz (8-8-8-24, 1T)
* Club3D HD5770 1024MB
* OCZ Vertex 2 120GB (OS and apps)
* 5x Western Digital Caviar Green 500GB in RaID5 (storage)
* 2x DVD Rewriter (LG, Optiarc)
* PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
* Cooler Master Stacker CM101
* Dell Ultrasharp 2209AW 22\\\" (e-IPS) monitor
* Windows 7 Professional NL

MSI MediaLive: AMD Athlon X2 4800+, 2x1GB Crucial PC-4200, Seagate 160GB, Pioneer DVD-burner, Hauppauge PWR150 TV Tunercard, Windows 7 Home Premium NL.

MSI X-Slim X620 :like: :like:

Backup: Thecus N5200Pro NAS

benonikenobi

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #10 on: 15-January-10, 07:26:10 »

I´m ni expert so forgive me if I´m wrong.

I installed speefan a while ago to control the fans on the same board. Like you the Remote 1 gave readings like 70-80 c (and that was idle not stressing the cpu). Thought this was very high since I have alot of cooling, both on the cpu and in the case.

After some google-searches I found out that others have experienced similar problems, and apparantly speedfan doesnt give correct readings for all sensors on the 790fx-gd70 board, Remote 1 is one of them. The developer of speedfan is aware of the problem but I dont know when it will be updated.

So, I wouldnt trust your readings. Your system shutting down is probablt due to something else.

/ Benjamin
Logged
i7 2600k @ 4,5GHz, Corsair H70 PnP with GT 1850, MSI P67A-GD80 (B3), 2x4 Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz, MSI GTX 570 TwinFrozrII/oc @ 900/1800/4200, Intel 80 gb SSD + WD Black 640 gb, Corsair HX750W PSU, Fractal Design Define R2 case

Ex Forum User 3

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23397
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #11 on: 15-January-10, 08:35:47 »

As said before, look in the BIOS what they are.
Logged

Hans

  • Official Q-Tec Alert Specialist // 正式Q技术机敏的专家
  • LIEUTENANT GENERAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4242
  • If I fix it, it will never need fixing again!
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #12 on: 15-January-10, 09:02:02 »

The bios on this board only shows CPU and ambient temperatures, not the chipset.
Logged
You have a Q-Tec Power Supply? Change that first and come back later...

* MSI P55-GD85, bios 1.3
* Intel Core i7 860 (stock @ 2.8GHz)
* 2x 2048MB TakeMS @ 1333MHz (8-8-8-24, 1T)
* Club3D HD5770 1024MB
* OCZ Vertex 2 120GB (OS and apps)
* 5x Western Digital Caviar Green 500GB in RaID5 (storage)
* 2x DVD Rewriter (LG, Optiarc)
* PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
* Cooler Master Stacker CM101
* Dell Ultrasharp 2209AW 22\\\" (e-IPS) monitor
* Windows 7 Professional NL

MSI MediaLive: AMD Athlon X2 4800+, 2x1GB Crucial PC-4200, Seagate 160GB, Pioneer DVD-burner, Hauppauge PWR150 TV Tunercard, Windows 7 Home Premium NL.

MSI X-Slim X620 :like: :like:

Backup: Thecus N5200Pro NAS

nt650_999

  • SECOND LIEUTENANT
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 199
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #13 on: 15-January-10, 16:48:25 »

I placed a fan on the chipset heatsink and the reported-as-NB temperature decreased.

For the record, Speedfan reports the same temps as Everest for me on this board.  As reference, my readings are:

GPU: 45
NB: 56
CPU/Core temps all in the 35C range.
Logged
-790FX-GD70; BIOS rev. 1.6.
-Phenom II X4 945 3.0 GHz.
-Corsair Dominator 2x 2GB DDR3 1600 @1600 9-9-9-24 1T.
-BFG 9800 GTX+.
-Corsair TX750 - single 12v+ rail @60+ amps.
-Raptor SATA 140 GB internal for OS, data on external.
-Pioneer external/USB CD/DVD multi.
-Vista Business, all available updates.
Antec 800 case.

Hans

  • Official Q-Tec Alert Specialist // 正式Q技术机敏的专家
  • LIEUTENANT GENERAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4242
  • If I fix it, it will never need fixing again!
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #14 on: 15-January-10, 18:26:53 »

Well, that seems quite okay...
And it's not a northbridge, that one is inside the cpu.
Logged
You have a Q-Tec Power Supply? Change that first and come back later...

* MSI P55-GD85, bios 1.3
* Intel Core i7 860 (stock @ 2.8GHz)
* 2x 2048MB TakeMS @ 1333MHz (8-8-8-24, 1T)
* Club3D HD5770 1024MB
* OCZ Vertex 2 120GB (OS and apps)
* 5x Western Digital Caviar Green 500GB in RaID5 (storage)
* 2x DVD Rewriter (LG, Optiarc)
* PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
* Cooler Master Stacker CM101
* Dell Ultrasharp 2209AW 22\\\" (e-IPS) monitor
* Windows 7 Professional NL

MSI MediaLive: AMD Athlon X2 4800+, 2x1GB Crucial PC-4200, Seagate 160GB, Pioneer DVD-burner, Hauppauge PWR150 TV Tunercard, Windows 7 Home Premium NL.

MSI X-Slim X620 :like: :like:

Backup: Thecus N5200Pro NAS

nt650_999

  • SECOND LIEUTENANT
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 199
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #15 on: 15-January-10, 19:00:20 »

Well, that seems quite okay...
And it's not a northbridge, that one is inside the cpu.

I get that.  The point is that it's referred to as the NB diode by any software that cares to name it (instead of something like "temp 1").  Additionally, the thing being reported as NB is the temp of the chip covered by the heat sink as determined by the fact that I can affect the temp reading with a fan on the heat sink over that chip, alone.  The reference data is for OP to have a data point about something "normal".  These temps taken with the chipset fan turned off.
Logged
-790FX-GD70; BIOS rev. 1.6.
-Phenom II X4 945 3.0 GHz.
-Corsair Dominator 2x 2GB DDR3 1600 @1600 9-9-9-24 1T.
-BFG 9800 GTX+.
-Corsair TX750 - single 12v+ rail @60+ amps.
-Raptor SATA 140 GB internal for OS, data on external.
-Pioneer external/USB CD/DVD multi.
-Vista Business, all available updates.
Antec 800 case.

Fredrik

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16121
  • There's always a risk.
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #16 on: 15-January-10, 20:27:56 »

Could be a matter of production lines. Hope you see what I mean! It might cost more to remove the diod and it's connection to BIOS than to keep it. Even is there might not be anything rather sensitive for the diod to watch.
- Wild idea, but you must agree motherboard PCB:s aren't too different one from the other.
Logged

nt650_999

  • SECOND LIEUTENANT
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 199
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #17 on: 16-January-10, 11:01:23 »

There are stories around the Internet of MSI having been using junk thermal compound.  People are reporting 5-15C temp drops that I've seen, by replacing the factor thermal goo.
Logged
-790FX-GD70; BIOS rev. 1.6.
-Phenom II X4 945 3.0 GHz.
-Corsair Dominator 2x 2GB DDR3 1600 @1600 9-9-9-24 1T.
-BFG 9800 GTX+.
-Corsair TX750 - single 12v+ rail @60+ amps.
-Raptor SATA 140 GB internal for OS, data on external.
-Pioneer external/USB CD/DVD multi.
-Vista Business, all available updates.
Antec 800 case.

eire1130Topic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #18 on: 16-January-10, 11:40:55 »

There are stories around the Internet of MSI having been using junk thermal compound.  People are reporting 5-15C temp drops that I've seen, by replacing the factor thermal goo.

I agree.

For the record, I bought some 40MM fans to test this myself, and when I installed on the lower portion of the heatsink, I found a 4-5 C drop. Others have said if I reapply the TIM I will get an immediate additional 10C drop.

65Cs is still pretty high, but I'm going to leave it as is. First I'm going to get my ram stable at 1266 and then I worry about the NB heat issue. But then, I may be forced to look into the NB heat issue if my heat rises to 80C again.
Logged

Hans

  • Official Q-Tec Alert Specialist // 正式Q技术机敏的专家
  • LIEUTENANT GENERAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4242
  • If I fix it, it will never need fixing again!
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #19 on: 16-January-10, 12:54:00 »

Well, if you overclock the board, then this could be an isue. Normal use should not give a problem. A few degrees higher (within the spec, of course) doesn't matter then. But if you use the board not overclocked, then there should not be an overheating problem. If there is, RMA the board.
Logged
You have a Q-Tec Power Supply? Change that first and come back later...

* MSI P55-GD85, bios 1.3
* Intel Core i7 860 (stock @ 2.8GHz)
* 2x 2048MB TakeMS @ 1333MHz (8-8-8-24, 1T)
* Club3D HD5770 1024MB
* OCZ Vertex 2 120GB (OS and apps)
* 5x Western Digital Caviar Green 500GB in RaID5 (storage)
* 2x DVD Rewriter (LG, Optiarc)
* PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
* Cooler Master Stacker CM101
* Dell Ultrasharp 2209AW 22\\\" (e-IPS) monitor
* Windows 7 Professional NL

MSI MediaLive: AMD Athlon X2 4800+, 2x1GB Crucial PC-4200, Seagate 160GB, Pioneer DVD-burner, Hauppauge PWR150 TV Tunercard, Windows 7 Home Premium NL.

MSI X-Slim X620 :like: :like:

Backup: Thecus N5200Pro NAS

eire1130Topic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #20 on: 16-January-10, 13:05:08 »

Well, if you overclock the board, then this could be an isue. Normal use should not give a problem. A few degrees higher (within the spec, of course) doesn't matter then. But if you use the board not overclocked, then there should not be an overheating problem. If there is, RMA the board.

I meant 1366 earlier, and that is considered "stock" for this processor. You do need adjust bios settings to achieve it, which is too bad. It should run at 1366 automatically if you have ram that supports 1366, but I think this is AMDs limitation, not MSIs.

That said, I've been running prime95 now for nearly an hour and it is holding steady at 71c. This is with manually adjusting some bios settings for tighter timings with my ram (7 7 7 21 24). I will eventually need to reapply TIM, but it's less urgent now with the fan on there.

I'm also going to work on case flow in general as I think I have some turbulence problems and that should give me another 1-2C.

Next step will be to switch 1366 and I will update with temps and stability with that as well.
Logged

Hans

  • Official Q-Tec Alert Specialist // 正式Q技术机敏的专家
  • LIEUTENANT GENERAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4242
  • If I fix it, it will never need fixing again!
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #21 on: 16-January-10, 15:22:18 »

You mean 1333, I suppose... Must be typo?
Logged
You have a Q-Tec Power Supply? Change that first and come back later...

* MSI P55-GD85, bios 1.3
* Intel Core i7 860 (stock @ 2.8GHz)
* 2x 2048MB TakeMS @ 1333MHz (8-8-8-24, 1T)
* Club3D HD5770 1024MB
* OCZ Vertex 2 120GB (OS and apps)
* 5x Western Digital Caviar Green 500GB in RaID5 (storage)
* 2x DVD Rewriter (LG, Optiarc)
* PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
* Cooler Master Stacker CM101
* Dell Ultrasharp 2209AW 22\\\" (e-IPS) monitor
* Windows 7 Professional NL

MSI MediaLive: AMD Athlon X2 4800+, 2x1GB Crucial PC-4200, Seagate 160GB, Pioneer DVD-burner, Hauppauge PWR150 TV Tunercard, Windows 7 Home Premium NL.

MSI X-Slim X620 :like: :like:

Backup: Thecus N5200Pro NAS

eire1130Topic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #22 on: 16-January-10, 15:49:31 »

You mean 1333, I suppose... Must be typo?

Yes you're correct. I've just completed my first run of prime95 (small FFT). I'll do the other one tomorrow (blend). NB at 72~
Logged

Hans

  • Official Q-Tec Alert Specialist // 正式Q技术机敏的专家
  • LIEUTENANT GENERAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4242
  • If I fix it, it will never need fixing again!
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #23 on: 16-January-10, 18:43:54 »

Just do the torture test. If that goes okay, then you'll be fine.
Logged
You have a Q-Tec Power Supply? Change that first and come back later...

* MSI P55-GD85, bios 1.3
* Intel Core i7 860 (stock @ 2.8GHz)
* 2x 2048MB TakeMS @ 1333MHz (8-8-8-24, 1T)
* Club3D HD5770 1024MB
* OCZ Vertex 2 120GB (OS and apps)
* 5x Western Digital Caviar Green 500GB in RaID5 (storage)
* 2x DVD Rewriter (LG, Optiarc)
* PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
* Cooler Master Stacker CM101
* Dell Ultrasharp 2209AW 22\\\" (e-IPS) monitor
* Windows 7 Professional NL

MSI MediaLive: AMD Athlon X2 4800+, 2x1GB Crucial PC-4200, Seagate 160GB, Pioneer DVD-burner, Hauppauge PWR150 TV Tunercard, Windows 7 Home Premium NL.

MSI X-Slim X620 :like: :like:

Backup: Thecus N5200Pro NAS

Aqualoon

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #24 on: 05-February-10, 16:46:47 »

eire1130, did you ever find a way to remove the NB HS?  I, like many other users of this board am having extremely high load and idle temps on this board.  Yes it is actually a decently common issue and yes I do OC my CPU on this board --> This board being an OC board and all.  Yes the programs I am using to determine the temps are accurate and I understand that this would void the warranty, however that doesn't stop the fact that there is a batch of these boards with horrible TIM on the NBHS that is causing rather high and unstable temps.

Logged

Fredrik

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16121
  • There's always a risk.
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #25 on: 05-February-10, 18:34:20 »

The temp. may be unstable, but is the system? What is referred to as Northbridge in BIOS is a hub concerned with very little these days. (Some hard disk controlling?) So adjusting things to help the sensor, that tells you it measures the Northbridge, read lower temp. serves no purpose. If the processor temp. is alright you are mostly fine.

Let me be bold: The Northbridge sensor is a memory from motherboard PCB:s of old.
Logged

Hans

  • Official Q-Tec Alert Specialist // 正式Q技术机敏的专家
  • LIEUTENANT GENERAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4242
  • If I fix it, it will never need fixing again!
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #26 on: 05-February-10, 19:31:05 »

What is that about the Northbridge cooling? Northbridge is inside the CPU... removing the cooling = removing CPU heatsink...
Logged
You have a Q-Tec Power Supply? Change that first and come back later...

* MSI P55-GD85, bios 1.3
* Intel Core i7 860 (stock @ 2.8GHz)
* 2x 2048MB TakeMS @ 1333MHz (8-8-8-24, 1T)
* Club3D HD5770 1024MB
* OCZ Vertex 2 120GB (OS and apps)
* 5x Western Digital Caviar Green 500GB in RaID5 (storage)
* 2x DVD Rewriter (LG, Optiarc)
* PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
* Cooler Master Stacker CM101
* Dell Ultrasharp 2209AW 22\\\" (e-IPS) monitor
* Windows 7 Professional NL

MSI MediaLive: AMD Athlon X2 4800+, 2x1GB Crucial PC-4200, Seagate 160GB, Pioneer DVD-burner, Hauppauge PWR150 TV Tunercard, Windows 7 Home Premium NL.

MSI X-Slim X620 :like: :like:

Backup: Thecus N5200Pro NAS

nt650_999

  • SECOND LIEUTENANT
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 199
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #27 on: 06-February-10, 12:53:31 »

What is that about the Northbridge cooling? Northbridge is inside the CPU... removing the cooling = removing CPU heatsink...

Instead of pretending that you have no idea what they're talking about, why not educate about the chipset and explain how to remove the chipset/MOSFET heat sink if you know anything about how to do that?
Logged
-790FX-GD70; BIOS rev. 1.6.
-Phenom II X4 945 3.0 GHz.
-Corsair Dominator 2x 2GB DDR3 1600 @1600 9-9-9-24 1T.
-BFG 9800 GTX+.
-Corsair TX750 - single 12v+ rail @60+ amps.
-Raptor SATA 140 GB internal for OS, data on external.
-Pioneer external/USB CD/DVD multi.
-Vista Business, all available updates.
Antec 800 case.

Ex Forum User 3

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23397
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #28 on: 06-February-10, 13:29:54 »

Looks to me it's pretty much all said, but for some strange reason the topic-starter reads only what he wants to read.
And ignores the rest :bonk:
Logged

harsh

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #29 on: 06-February-10, 19:09:51 »

...
http://www.overclock.net/amd-motherboards/528400-official-msi-790fx-gd70-owners-club-343.html
...

Go to the first post in the above thread.  Under the "Guides" section, you will see a link called "How to remove your NB/mosfet/SB heatsinks. By mangoSeed".

Mine used to idle around 68C, now 43C.  The max that I saw before while gaming was 75C, now 55C.  I never had any problems (even with stress tests), but I figured it might get even hotter in the summer, so I nipped it in the bud.  The CPU fan usually takes care of putting air on that heatsink, but if you use a cooling solution that doesn't blow air down at the board you won't get as much help from it.
Logged
MSI 790FX-GD70 bios 1.6
AMD PII 965BE C3 @ 3.8 (200x19, stock voltage)
Mushkin Blackline 8GB (4x2GB) @1600 7-7-7-20 2T 991657 (996657)
PCP&C Silencer 750W
EVGA GTX 285 SC
Dell 2407-WFP
Antec 900
Seagate 750GB 7200.11 SATA
Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Windows 7 Pro x64

Hans

  • Official Q-Tec Alert Specialist // 正式Q技术机敏的专家
  • LIEUTENANT GENERAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4242
  • If I fix it, it will never need fixing again!
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #30 on: 07-February-10, 06:46:28 »

Instead of pretending that you have no idea what they're talking about, why not educate about the chipset and explain how to remove the chipset/MOSFET heat sink if you know anything about how to do that?
+

The term "northbridge" is far too often used in the wrong way. That's why I keep on mentioning this.
If it bothers you, don't read it.
Logged
You have a Q-Tec Power Supply? Change that first and come back later...

* MSI P55-GD85, bios 1.3
* Intel Core i7 860 (stock @ 2.8GHz)
* 2x 2048MB TakeMS @ 1333MHz (8-8-8-24, 1T)
* Club3D HD5770 1024MB
* OCZ Vertex 2 120GB (OS and apps)
* 5x Western Digital Caviar Green 500GB in RaID5 (storage)
* 2x DVD Rewriter (LG, Optiarc)
* PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
* Cooler Master Stacker CM101
* Dell Ultrasharp 2209AW 22\\\" (e-IPS) monitor
* Windows 7 Professional NL

MSI MediaLive: AMD Athlon X2 4800+, 2x1GB Crucial PC-4200, Seagate 160GB, Pioneer DVD-burner, Hauppauge PWR150 TV Tunercard, Windows 7 Home Premium NL.

MSI X-Slim X620 :like: :like:

Backup: Thecus N5200Pro NAS

nt650_999

  • SECOND LIEUTENANT
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 199
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #31 on: 07-February-10, 23:42:29 »

+

The term "northbridge" is far too often used in the wrong way. That's why I keep on mentioning this.
If it bothers you, don't read it.

It doesn't bother me that you mention it.  It bothers me that you make no effort to address the issue to help the person.
Logged
-790FX-GD70; BIOS rev. 1.6.
-Phenom II X4 945 3.0 GHz.
-Corsair Dominator 2x 2GB DDR3 1600 @1600 9-9-9-24 1T.
-BFG 9800 GTX+.
-Corsair TX750 - single 12v+ rail @60+ amps.
-Raptor SATA 140 GB internal for OS, data on external.
-Pioneer external/USB CD/DVD multi.
-Vista Business, all available updates.
Antec 800 case.

Stu

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19551
  • Birmingham, UK
    • StuOnline.co.uk
Re: 790FX-GD70 Northbridge
« Reply #32 on: 08-February-10, 05:54:37 »

Topic closed, as the topic-starter has already addressed the issue, no need for further arguments.
Logged
Former moderator and admin, 2004-2012
Pages: [1]   Go Up