Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This is a User-to-User community forum run by MSI users for MSI users. If you need to contact MSI directly see: How to contact MSI

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: H55M-E33 ram problem  (Read 3934 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

fgiannone

  • Neo
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
H55M-E33 ram problem
« on: 26-December-10, 20:01:33 »

Hi everybody,

I'm building a new htpc rig with an H55M-E33 board. I can't have a stable system! The problem seems to come from ddr sticks, OCZ gold edition as in my signature. First reboot is always the problem, no blue screen or window message, just a reboot after the loading screen (black one with windows logo splash). I'm using the 1.9 bios, with standard settings for ram (no manuals)

Suggestions?
Logged
CPU: Intel i3 530
MB: H55M-E33 bios v1.9
RAM: OCZ3G1333LV4GK
PSU: Enermax Liberty 620W
HDD: WD 2Tb Green Power
OS: Windows Seven Ultimate x64

Ex Forum Mod

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16672
Re: H55M-E33 ram problem
« Reply #1 on: 27-December-10, 02:26:31 »

 I don't see how they claim that as low voltage RAM at 1.65V when normal for your system would be 1.5V and true low voltage RAM is 1.35V. My suggestion would be to return that stuff and get Crucial CT2KIT25664BA1339. Everyone I know that uses this Crucial has had no problems with it. Seems to be well suited for i3/i5/i7 H55H55M.
Logged

fgiannone

  • Neo
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: H55M-E33 ram problem
« Reply #2 on: 27-December-10, 11:51:44 »

Thanks! The problem is that crucial is really difficult to get in Italy..any other brand/type suggested?
is there any parameter to change in bios conf to be sure that the power consumed by ddr is the real problem or any test to do in window to see if the problem comes really from the memory and not from the mainboard?

After a re-flash of the bios (v1.9) now i'm able to boot windows...but the system isn't stamble! Can be the problem the cpu graphic? I'm not using a PCI-ex video card....
Logged
CPU: Intel i3 530
MB: H55M-E33 bios v1.9
RAM: OCZ3G1333LV4GK
PSU: Enermax Liberty 620W
HDD: WD 2Tb Green Power
OS: Windows Seven Ultimate x64

NovJoe

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19148
  • ~DeSTinY~ Destined 2 Be HeRe ^^
Re: H55M-E33 ram problem
« Reply #3 on: 27-December-10, 13:59:07 »

One thing you can try for now is to increase the RAM voltage to 1.55v and see if it is much more stable.
Logged
HTPC - DVI to HDMI to Panasonic 42" Plasma
Pentium 4 - 2.4GHz (B) on MSI 865PE Neo2
512MB x 2 Kingston @ 333MHz, 80GB Seagate
MSI NX6800Ultra, AcBel 560w PSU, WinXP Pro SP3

MSI Wind Love U100 Netbook - VGA to Sony Bravia LCD
Intel Atom 1.6GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD, WinXP SP3

Acer Aspire 4741 - HDMI to Sharp 32" LCD
Core i5 M450 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Win 7 Hm Premium

HP Compaq V3136 - VGA to Sharp 32" LCD
C2D 1.66GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD, WinXP Media Centre SP3

Gigaworks S750, 7.1 THX Dolby Surround
Altec Lansing XA3501, 5.1 Gaming THX

MSI HQ Forum USB flasher

fgiannone

  • Neo
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: H55M-E33 ram problem
« Reply #4 on: 30-December-10, 12:14:54 »

Ram supply setting moved to 1.65V (as specs) with no difference at all, today I got two new sticks (econ. version of kingstone, I can't remember the model, they are pretty standard memories, 1.5V, 1333...etc) with no difference at all (system boots only in windows x86 - some times takes a lot of time to boot -, I can't install 64 bits version...and is always instable...)

Mobo problems?!
Logged
CPU: Intel i3 530
MB: H55M-E33 bios v1.9
RAM: OCZ3G1333LV4GK
PSU: Enermax Liberty 620W
HDD: WD 2Tb Green Power
OS: Windows Seven Ultimate x64

Froggy Gremlin

  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11110
Re: H55M-E33 ram problem
« Reply #5 on: 30-December-10, 13:02:57 »

Have you tried with just one RAM stick in the primary black dimm slot? All RAM related settings left to default and/or on auto?
Logged


Life Is Very Good Without Any Win 8/8.1, SSD's, RAID, Current AMD GPU's, G.Skill RAM, Hackers, Crackers, & Crypto Mining!

NovJoe

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19148
  • ~DeSTinY~ Destined 2 Be HeRe ^^
Re: H55M-E33 ram problem
« Reply #6 on: 02-January-11, 02:27:05 »

How about XMP profile in BIOS? Try enabling it to see if there's any difference.
Logged
HTPC - DVI to HDMI to Panasonic 42" Plasma
Pentium 4 - 2.4GHz (B) on MSI 865PE Neo2
512MB x 2 Kingston @ 333MHz, 80GB Seagate
MSI NX6800Ultra, AcBel 560w PSU, WinXP Pro SP3

MSI Wind Love U100 Netbook - VGA to Sony Bravia LCD
Intel Atom 1.6GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD, WinXP SP3

Acer Aspire 4741 - HDMI to Sharp 32" LCD
Core i5 M450 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Win 7 Hm Premium

HP Compaq V3136 - VGA to Sharp 32" LCD
C2D 1.66GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD, WinXP Media Centre SP3

Gigaworks S750, 7.1 THX Dolby Surround
Altec Lansing XA3501, 5.1 Gaming THX

MSI HQ Forum USB flasher

Jack

  • Ex Forum moderator
  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14940
    • A user initiative by MSI fanatics to support all other MSI product users
Re: H55M-E33 ram problem
« Reply #7 on: 02-January-11, 10:29:18 »

Please take screenshots of the CPU-Z "SPD" and "Memory" tabs, upload the pics somewhere and include the links to the images here for comparison.
Logged

fgiannone

  • Neo
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: H55M-E33 ram problem
« Reply #8 on: 02-January-11, 12:07:28 »





Always same problems..if I left the computer switched off for a couple of hours first boot fails (!?!?), working with it I can experience different micro stops (few seconds with no control on a particular application)..
Logged
CPU: Intel i3 530
MB: H55M-E33 bios v1.9
RAM: OCZ3G1333LV4GK
PSU: Enermax Liberty 620W
HDD: WD 2Tb Green Power
OS: Windows Seven Ultimate x64

Jack

  • Ex Forum moderator
  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14940
    • A user initiative by MSI fanatics to support all other MSI product users
Re: H55M-E33 ram problem
« Reply #9 on: 02-January-11, 13:26:15 »

Okay, you may not like what I am going to say now, but whatever causes your stability problems, the messed up memory modules you have definately add their own weight to the whole issue:

"OCZ3G1333LV4GK" memory modules are famous troublemakers.  Enter this model number into the search field of the OCZ Forums and you will find about 170 topics which are mostly concerned with stability problems on all kinds of motherboard models.  One of the things that seems to be obvious from your screenshots is that OCZ did not even care to include their own brand information into the SPD Information Table.  That is why your modules identify themselves as Kingston RAM to the system.  That, however, is only a cosmetic issue.

The bigger problem is that the only really JEDEC compliant SPD Profile is the 533 MHz (DDR3-1066) / 7-7-7-20 profile.  All the other profiles are utterly useless and it is impossible to set any of these on any current motherboard as the frequency values are far from any known standard.  Of course, a DDR3-1333 profile is missing entirely. 

The fact that OCZ recommends 1.65V for DDR3-1333 / 9-9-9-24 tells us the following:  This is an OC rating that actually exceeds the specifications of the chips used on the memory modules.  That is why there is a recommendation to overvolt to 1.65V in the first place (DDR3 standard voltage is ALWAYS 1.5V +/-0.075V --> Whenever "rated" speed and timing values have a voltage recommendation that is higher than 1.5V +/- 0.075V, then these speed and timing values are non-native OC ratings that do not reflect the real specs of the memory modules & chips.

Please test the following settings:

- unplug your PSU from A/C power, >>Clear CMOS<< and then load "Optimized Defaults" in BIOS Setup
- set the memory speed to DDR3-1066
- manually set the command rate to 2T (double-check that it is really manually set to 2T at all times)
- set the memory voltage to 1.6V just to pre-compensate any voltage related stability issues

In case you cannot get the system stable with these settings, the best idea is to get rid of these modules and test better memory sticks.  I have encountered users that had problems with OCZ3G1333LV4GK on a variety of different systems and were actually unable to stabilize the system even @DDR3-1066.  Memory related stability problems disappeared when different modules were used.

If I was you, I would throw these sticks into the trash and go for something better and less messed up.  These modules are not worth the time and effort it may take to find stable settings.  Whatever other reasons there may be for your stability issues, it will be impossible to track the causes down as long as your modules add their own problem potential to the equation.
Logged

fgiannone

  • Neo
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
Re: H55M-E33 ram problem
« Reply #10 on: 02-January-11, 13:31:42 »

thank you for the answare...but wait just a second...
Screen shots i've send are with new memory sticks...kingston in, OCZ out in a new rig. The problems i get from the system are more or less the same, now I'm not sure everythig is due to the memory...
Logged
CPU: Intel i3 530
MB: H55M-E33 bios v1.9
RAM: OCZ3G1333LV4GK
PSU: Enermax Liberty 620W
HDD: WD 2Tb Green Power
OS: Windows Seven Ultimate x64

Jack

  • Ex Forum moderator
  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14940
    • A user initiative by MSI fanatics to support all other MSI product users
Re: H55M-E33 ram problem
« Reply #11 on: 02-January-11, 13:55:40 »

Your signature still mentioned the OCZ memory sticks.

In any case, please look on the memory modules themselves for the exact model number and do what I recommended in my last post:

Quote
Please test the following settings:

- unplug your PSU from A/C power, >>Clear CMOS<< and then load "Optimized Defaults" in BIOS Setup
- set the memory speed to DDR3-1066
- manually set the command rate to 2T (double-check that it is really manually set to 2T at all times)
- set the memory voltage to 1.6V just to pre-compensate any voltage related stability issues

The following things are still true even though you switched to Kingston sticks:

- Command Rate is set to 1T (which is a typical stability killer)
- DDR3-1333 @1.65V is an OC/overvoltage rating
- all SPD Profiles except the one for 533 MHz (DDR3-1066) are utterly useless on any current system
Logged

rewoffl

  • Neo
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Re: H55M-E33 ram problem
« Reply #12 on: 08-January-11, 14:51:32 »

I also had problems with OCZ "Low Voltage" sticks on my H55M-E33 (errors every 3rd or 4th run of memtest86+).  I RMA'd them back to OCZ and asked for "Ultra Low Voltage" (1.5V instead of 1.65V) :rolleyes: modules as a replacement, which have been rock solid since.

Have you tried memtest86+ to remove Windows from the equation?
« Last Edit: 08-January-11, 15:10:38 by rewoffl »
Logged
msi H55M-E33
Intel i3-530
OCZ Gold 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3-1333 Ultra Low Voltage (OCZ3G1333ULV8GK)
2 x Seagate 1000GB SATA 7200.12 (ST31000528AS)
Samsung SH-S223C DVD Writer
Silverstone Sugo SG02B-F
Generic (Delta Power) 550W PS
Windows Server 2008 R2 Datacenter

Ex Forum Mod

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16672
Re: H55M-E33 ram problem
« Reply #13 on: 08-January-11, 23:19:44 »

 Crucial 1.5V RAM are also an excellent choice for H55/H55M MB's.
Logged

Kommando Kodiak

  • Easy OC
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 41
Re: H55M-E33 ram problem
« Reply #14 on: 09-January-11, 18:52:12 »

I agree with getting ram, ive had nothign but trouble with that brand, and if you look on various other forums that the ram that most people have trouble with. When selecting your ram make sure its under 1.65v especially if you want to over clock. If you want triple channel ram make sure you buy the kit because you cant mix and match 2 6gb kits to make a 12 gb kit youll only end up with 8gb in single channel.
Logged

Ex Forum Mod

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16672
Re: H55M-E33 ram problem
« Reply #15 on: 10-January-11, 00:00:30 »

Kommando Kodiak, why are you going on about 3 channel RAM for this MB? It uses dual channel not 3 channel.
Logged

Kommando Kodiak

  • Easy OC
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 41
Re: H55M-E33 ram problem
« Reply #16 on: 10-January-11, 07:50:57 »

Ive seen this problem all over the forums I bought 2 of kit x and only 8 out of 24gb is recognized whats wrong with my mobo?

 It was just an example to illustrate the nature of the issue, his ram is at single channel regardless because he used 2 seperate kits.
Logged

NovJoe

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19148
  • ~DeSTinY~ Destined 2 Be HeRe ^^
Re: H55M-E33 ram problem
« Reply #17 on: 11-January-11, 03:22:30 »

Kommando Kodiak,

While I agree that RAM mixing is always not recommended and it is best to get kit sets for Dual Channel / Triple Channel. However, for fgiannone (threadstarter), he did not mentioned that he mixed both Kingston and OCZ together in the system while encountering this problem.

Jack, rewoffl & Henry have already pointed out on the right type of RAM to be used, especially when rewoffl has encountered similar issue and got it sorted out as mentioned in his post. As such, let's not confused the rest and we shall stick on the current issue fgiannone is facing.

For Dual Channel / Single Channel portion, it all boil down to how and what type of RAMs are being mixed.
Logged
HTPC - DVI to HDMI to Panasonic 42" Plasma
Pentium 4 - 2.4GHz (B) on MSI 865PE Neo2
512MB x 2 Kingston @ 333MHz, 80GB Seagate
MSI NX6800Ultra, AcBel 560w PSU, WinXP Pro SP3

MSI Wind Love U100 Netbook - VGA to Sony Bravia LCD
Intel Atom 1.6GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD, WinXP SP3

Acer Aspire 4741 - HDMI to Sharp 32" LCD
Core i5 M450 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Win 7 Hm Premium

HP Compaq V3136 - VGA to Sharp 32" LCD
C2D 1.66GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD, WinXP Media Centre SP3

Gigaworks S750, 7.1 THX Dolby Surround
Altec Lansing XA3501, 5.1 Gaming THX

MSI HQ Forum USB flasher
Pages: [1]   Go Up