Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Forum FAQ contains answers to many frequently asked questions, please browse or search there before posting.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: CPU temp monitor  (Read 11066 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

J_Bone

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
CPU temp monitor
« on: 22-January-11, 18:56:21 »

I got MSI 870A-G54 with Phenom IIx4 955 BE.
I can't see the CPU temps in any program like Core Temp or HWMonitor. I can see it when I go into the Bios. But I don't want to so that every time I want to see what temps my CPU are running when making OC adjustments.

Is it the Software? My Bios setting? or anything else?

thanks,
Logged

J_Bone

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
Re: CPU temp monitor
« Reply #1 on: 22-January-11, 18:57:23 »

Here's a screen shot of Software.




here's a link http://members.cox.net/j_bone//pics/CPUtemp.jpg
Logged

Mike

  • aka Frankenputer
  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9818
  • Virginia, USA
Re: CPU temp monitor
« Reply #2 on: 22-January-11, 20:20:58 »

Have you tried Everest, or Speedfan?

More than likely, Core Temp and HW Monitor need some updates.
Logged
#1:
MSI X38 Diamond/Bios 1.5; Core2Duo E8400 3.0Ghz; Thermalright Ultima-90HS/120 fan; 2X1GB DDR3 CorsairTWIN3X2048-1333C9DHXG; PIONEER|DVR-215DBK SATA DVD-DL & Lite-on DVD-ROM PATA; FDD; MSI 260GTX-T2D896; 196.34beta; Seagate 320GB  & WD 500GB SATA HDDs; PC P&C Silencer 750 +3.3V/24A~+5V/30A~+12V/60A; X-FI Xtreme PCIe; Antec P182 Case; XP PRO SP3

#2:
MSI 865PE Neo2-PFS Platinum/Bios 3.A; P4 2.8C HT; Thermalright XP-90HS; 2GB DDR400 RAM(2x1GB kit Mushkin HP3200 2-3-2-6); Nec ND-3550A DVD-DL & TDK 52X24X48 CD-RW; FDD; Nvidia GeForce 7800GS; 84.21; Maxtor 200GB & Seagate 200GB PATA HDDs; Enermax 465P VE-FMA +3.3V/35A~+5V/35A~+12V/33A; Audigy 2ZS; XP PRO SP3
Dell 2209WA LCD on a DVI KVM switch

MSI Wind U100

J_Bone

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
Re: CPU temp monitor
« Reply #3 on: 22-January-11, 22:38:10 »

Have you tried Everest, or Speedfan?

More than likely, Core Temp and HW Monitor need some updates.
I have speedfan as well and it shows 0 as well. I don't have Everest. I can try that as well.

Coretemp and HWMonitor are updated and current.
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 49181
    • MSI BIOS/EC-FW Mods
Re: CPU temp monitor
« Reply #4 on: 22-January-11, 22:39:19 »

try with aida
http://www.aida64.com/downloads/aida64extreme150exe


Have you tried Everest, or Speedfan?

More than likely, Core Temp and HW Monitor need some updates.

Everest is renamed back to his original name AIDA

J_Bone

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
Re: CPU temp monitor
« Reply #5 on: 22-January-11, 22:41:55 »

try with aida
http://www.aida64.com/downloads/aida64extreme150exe


Everest is renamed back to his original name AIDA
Yup....downloading right now. But it's a trial version.  :(
Logged

Fredrik

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16126
  • There's always a risk.
Re: CPU temp monitor
« Reply #6 on: 22-January-11, 23:27:21 »

The first image shows your PSU:s 12V line at near and above 14 volts, so the program is not right. My guess is it collides with some other monitoring program, such as DualCoreCenter.
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 49181
    • MSI BIOS/EC-FW Mods
Re: CPU temp monitor
« Reply #7 on: 23-January-11, 00:37:05 »

It wont matter that's trial or not,
see if can readed temp will be the same as others or not

Mike

  • aka Frankenputer
  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9818
  • Virginia, USA
Re: CPU temp monitor
« Reply #8 on: 23-January-11, 01:28:40 »

Regardless of your having the latest CoreTemp or HWmonitor or Speedfan, they may still need to have an update released.
Logged
#1:
MSI X38 Diamond/Bios 1.5; Core2Duo E8400 3.0Ghz; Thermalright Ultima-90HS/120 fan; 2X1GB DDR3 CorsairTWIN3X2048-1333C9DHXG; PIONEER|DVR-215DBK SATA DVD-DL & Lite-on DVD-ROM PATA; FDD; MSI 260GTX-T2D896; 196.34beta; Seagate 320GB  & WD 500GB SATA HDDs; PC P&C Silencer 750 +3.3V/24A~+5V/30A~+12V/60A; X-FI Xtreme PCIe; Antec P182 Case; XP PRO SP3

#2:
MSI 865PE Neo2-PFS Platinum/Bios 3.A; P4 2.8C HT; Thermalright XP-90HS; 2GB DDR400 RAM(2x1GB kit Mushkin HP3200 2-3-2-6); Nec ND-3550A DVD-DL & TDK 52X24X48 CD-RW; FDD; Nvidia GeForce 7800GS; 84.21; Maxtor 200GB & Seagate 200GB PATA HDDs; Enermax 465P VE-FMA +3.3V/35A~+5V/35A~+12V/33A; Audigy 2ZS; XP PRO SP3
Dell 2209WA LCD on a DVI KVM switch

MSI Wind U100

J_Bone

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
Re: CPU temp monitor
« Reply #9 on: 23-January-11, 06:53:25 »

It wont matter that's trial or not,
see if can readed temp will be the same as others or not

It too doesn't read the temp.

Logged

Lithium466

  • Twin Frozr
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 76
Re: CPU temp monitor
« Reply #10 on: 23-January-11, 10:57:53 »

Since Everest Ultimate Edition v5.50.2123 work on my motherboard that has (almost ?) the same Fintek diode, last Aida should have worked...



This version is no more avalable :/

http://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=138436.0

Edit : running SB850 in ahci, I am not able to monitor hard drives temperature  :confused2:

Edit 2 : what about using MSI control center http://eu.msi.com/index.php?func=downloaddetail&type=utility&maincat_no=1&prod_no=2012

or AMD overdrive ?
« Last Edit: 23-January-11, 11:00:56 by Lithium466 »
Logged
MSI 890GXM-G65
Phenom II X6 1055T & Zalman CNPS10x Flex
2x 2Go Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz
BeQuiet Straight Power E7 400W (+12V 30A)

J_Bone

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
Re: CPU temp monitor
« Reply #11 on: 23-January-11, 17:05:22 »

AMD overdrive is the only program to see my Core temps. :undecided:
Logged

Fredrik

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16126
  • There's always a risk.
Re: CPU temp monitor
« Reply #12 on: 23-January-11, 17:32:00 »

Have you tried yet, to find out why programs don't work? Check auto-starting programs, for  example.
Logged

J_Bone

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
Re: CPU temp monitor
« Reply #13 on: 23-January-11, 17:50:34 »

Have you tried yet, to find out why programs don't work? Check auto-starting programs, for  example.
That's why I'm here. All programs I listed as "not working" actually work but just don't read the individual cores. I have gone through the "startup" and any updates or newer and even tried older versions. None seem to read each individual cores except AMD overdrive and in the Bios, which I found out this morning since I never used overdrive before. The programs I have used over the years have always worked til now! I TRIED to get updates and even contacted the software developers. One was helpful and others were not. I did a bit more work before I even started this thread.
At this moment, I do not know why. It seems to be an isolated problem to my computer. I don't know what else to do except deal with it.
« Last Edit: 23-January-11, 17:53:28 by J_Bone »
Logged

Knightcrawler

  • Easy OC
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31
Re: CPU temp monitor
« Reply #14 on: 25-January-11, 00:16:33 »

This seems to be a bug with MSI boards. It's either zero or reads very low.  :biggthumbsdown:
Logged
MSI 785GT-E63 REV 1.1 BIOS V28.5  S.5 (09.09.2010)
PSU: Enermax 460watt 12v@33amps
Video: ATi 4200 integrated
RAM: 2GB OCZ DDR2-800
HDD: Western Digital 640GB Black Edition
OS: Windows 7 64-bit (clean install)

J_Bone

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
Re: CPU temp monitor
« Reply #15 on: 25-January-11, 04:44:00 »

After installing AMD drive and overclocking, I now get temps readings in AIDA64. Not sure if there was a missing parameter or file before, but it works now.
Logged

bnborg

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
Re: CPU temp monitor
« Reply #16 on: 12-February-11, 06:33:28 »

This is wierd.  I just noticed this problem one of my two 870A-G54's.  They are configured essentially the same.  The other one shows all six cores at about 31C with minimum of 31C and max of 33C.

I need to see just what the differences are.  They both have 17.8 BIOS.  I know the one where it works is motherboard version 3.1.
Logged
Two MSI 870A-G54's with Phenom II x6 1090T's and 16GB of Gskill DDR3 1333.  Radeon graphics cards.

J_Bone

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
Re: CPU temp monitor
« Reply #17 on: 12-February-11, 06:44:52 »

Something is up. It was working for a short while, but I no longer get temps again.   :biggthumbsdown:
Logged

Fredrik

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16126
  • There's always a risk.
Re: CPU temp monitor
« Reply #18 on: 12-February-11, 14:36:51 »

Sounds still as there are software problems.
I'd better ask about your PSU, brand model and 12 vold max. amps. please.
Is your Windows installation older than the motherboard?
If somethings isn't working right it is usually best to get rid of it, so try dumping all monitoring programs, and start afresh.
Logged

bnborg

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
Re: CPU temp monitor
« Reply #19 on: 12-February-11, 23:19:53 »

I wonder if it has something to do with the chipset.  I tried HWMonitor on an 870A motherboard by a different manufacturer.  It is acting the same way there.  The LPCIO chip is different, for what that's worth.

The one I thought was working is not any more.  I've tried tweaking oc settings a little, but so far no luck.  That one had had the DDR voltage set too high (I thought it was a different set of memory).
Logged
Two MSI 870A-G54's with Phenom II x6 1090T's and 16GB of Gskill DDR3 1333.  Radeon graphics cards.

J_Bone

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
Re: CPU temp monitor
« Reply #20 on: 13-February-11, 02:24:30 »

Sounds still as there are software problems.
I'd better ask about your PSU, brand model and 12 vold max. amps. please.
Is your Windows installation older than the motherboard?
If somethings isn't working right it is usually best to get rid of it, so try dumping all monitoring programs, and start afresh.
Don't know what software? It's come and gone. Yes, I have removed all monitoring software and installed one at a time. The only one to bring up temps at all was AMD overdrive. But after a few weeks it too no longer monitors temps.

Power supply is http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817341022.

I even have a overclock issue with this board. It will over clock for a week at a time(test it and benchmark it), then I go to boot up and the Bios flashes red and says Overclock is bad and I have to F1 or any other option and fix it. I've gone back to stock settings. Kind of bums me out.
Logged

Fredrik

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16126
  • There's always a risk.
Re: CPU temp monitor
« Reply #21 on: 13-February-11, 02:37:26 »

We don't help overclockers in this part of the forum. Please remove the overclock, makes cherchez-la-faute impossible.  ;-)) But I imagine you have that thing in normal use, too.

If one worked, even for a little time, at least the sensor(s) seems to work.

You did a new, fresh installation of Windows (and motherboard drivers etc) when you got the new motherboard?
Logged

J_Bone

  • Winki
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
Re: CPU temp monitor
« Reply #22 on: 13-February-11, 02:39:11 »

We don't help overclockers in this part of the forum. Please remove the overclock, makes cherchez-la-faute impossible.  ;-)) But I imagine you have that thing in normal use, too.

If one worked, even for a little time, at least the sensor(s) seems to work.

You did a new, fresh installation of Windows (and motherboard drivers etc) when you got the new motherboard?
YES, fresh install on new HD.
Logged

OldFart58

  • Neo
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: CPU temp monitor
« Reply #23 on: 03-April-11, 23:55:59 »

Hey guys, I just installed CoreTemp and it does almost everything MSI dual core center did!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up