Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Down

Author Topic: H61M-P23 Motherboard with Intel i3-2100  (Read 5432 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Dave R

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
H61M-P23 Motherboard with Intel i3-2100
« on: 04-June-11, 23:13:28 »

I purchased a MSI H61M-P23 Motherboard with Intel i3-2100 from Tiger Direct as part of a barebones system. I cannot get the system to show any video through the VGA port on the Motherboard. Does this motherboard have on-board graphics using the i3-2100 processor. It seems like it should.
Logged

Henry

  • Guest
« Reply #1 on: 05-June-11, 01:30:41 »

 Yes the CPU has the graphics, not the MB.

 Please list the rest of your PC components.

      >> Posting Guide <<
Logged

Tradesman

  • STAFF SERGEANT
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 92
« Reply #2 on: 05-June-11, 02:21:38 »

Might check your BIOS, primary graphics may default to PCI-E
Logged
Fatal1ty Performance, 2500K 4.873GHz, Zalman CNPS5X w/ AS 5 @ 37C, 16GB Sniper @ 1895 9-9-9-28 1T, Sniper 120 SSD x2 RAID 0, 250 WD x2 RAID 0, 750 WD, BFG 285 GTX XXX, ASUS TV Tuner, 28" Hanns-G, 23" AOC

PassMark 5055

Work in progress, 2 days old as of 6/2/2011, haven't decided on new GPU yet.   Will take higher in another couple days after AS 5 cures a bit more.

Dave R

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
« Reply #3 on: 05-June-11, 13:45:37 »

Thanks for the quick responses.

Here are the specs for the whole PC -

MSI H61M-P23 B3 Mobo
Intel Core i3-2100 CPU
Corsair 4GB DDR3 RAM
Seagate 500GB HDD
Sony 24x DVDRW
Apex ATX Black Tower Case
PowerUp 400W Power Supply

If the BIOS has defaulted to PCI-E graphics and I don't have a PCI-E graphics card, how do I get it to recognize the on-board graphics?
Logged

Stu

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19582
  • Birmingham, UK
    • StuOnline.co.uk
« Reply #4 on: 05-June-11, 14:01:21 »

Please try clearing the CMOS, and then try again: >>Clear CMOS Guide<<

Quote
PowerUp 400W Power Supply

What are the specs of this unit? Specifically, look at the label on its side, and tell us what output (amps) it gives on the 12v rail.

I'm suspecting your PSU may be too weak, if it is a cheap and cheerful PSU.
Logged
Former moderator and admin, 2004-2012

Dave R

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
« Reply #5 on: 05-June-11, 14:14:33 »

Already tried clearing the CMOS. That didn't work.

Power supply specs are -

+3v 28A
+3.3V 18A
+12V 20A
-12V 0.6A
+5VSB 2A
Logged

Stu

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19582
  • Birmingham, UK
    • StuOnline.co.uk
« Reply #6 on: 05-June-11, 14:36:22 »

Try another PSU, something a lot better. It looks woefully underspec'd, even for a 400W.
Logged
Former moderator and admin, 2004-2012
Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Up