Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

New members, please remember to read the Forum Rules and the Posting Guide before posting for the first time!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 3x256 ram dual channel ok ?  (Read 1780 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Kurva100

  • Twin Frozr
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 91
3x256 ram dual channel ok ?
« on: 12-March-03, 22:21:31 »

hi agian,,,
                  Can I run dual channel memory mode with 3x 256Mb (2100) or does it only work with 2 banks "DUAL" ????

And if I cant run D/C mode will my pc be better with 2x256 D/C Mode or with 3x256 normal ...

cheers
Logged

MSI K7N2-L
Athlon Xp 2500 @ 3200
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ xaser
Crucial Technologies R9800pro The Devils Own R350
Sound Blaster Audigy
2xMaxtor DiamondMax plus 9 80Gig UDMA/133 Hdd
1 Gig OCZ Premier 3200 Copper Heat spreader 1:1 cpu
Samsung Syncmaster 753DFX Monitor
Antec PlusView 1000 AMG Case
BTC 48x16x48
Memorex 40x12x48 Cdr
ThermalTake Silent PurePower 480w psu


6849  3D 2K3 Marks #2 in class

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=2929701

skipparoo

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: 13-March-03, 16:05:21 »

TwinBank Memory Architecture is utilized as soon as 2 DIMM slots are populated.  Adding a third stick of RAM to the second channel is fine, because that channel still consists of a DIMM, or in this case 2 DIMMS, so both channels will be in use.  I am currently using 3 identical 256MB sticks of Crucial DDR 2100 DIMMS, and there is no performance loss compared to using only 2 sticks, and no indication that TwinBank has been disbaled.  The only thing you will notice is increased system efficiency, significantly lower pings in online games, and in some cases smoother video performance in memory intensive 3D applications.  All a big + if you ask me =]

-Skippy
Logged

Kurva100

  • Twin Frozr
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 91
(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: 13-March-03, 22:03:23 »

Cheers m8 ive ordered another strip of 256 , should be with me in a few days  :)...
Logged

MSI K7N2-L
Athlon Xp 2500 @ 3200
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ xaser
Crucial Technologies R9800pro The Devils Own R350
Sound Blaster Audigy
2xMaxtor DiamondMax plus 9 80Gig UDMA/133 Hdd
1 Gig OCZ Premier 3200 Copper Heat spreader 1:1 cpu
Samsung Syncmaster 753DFX Monitor
Antec PlusView 1000 AMG Case
BTC 48x16x48
Memorex 40x12x48 Cdr
ThermalTake Silent PurePower 480w psu


6849  3D 2K3 Marks #2 in class

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=2929701

verk

  • Guest
How would I know if dual ddr is enabled or not?
« Reply #3 on: 13-March-03, 22:53:02 »

I don't see a message on boot up that it is indeed enabled or disabled. Is there a way to find out?

Also, what if I have 2 identical rams and 1 different ram installed (ie 1 pc 512 mb and 2 pcs 256 mb), will twinbank still work?
Logged

Richard

  • nForce & GeForce Guru
  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14483
(No subject)
« Reply #4 on: 14-March-03, 02:10:06 »

verk,

The way you can tell is by running a memory Benchmark. That is where you will tell that you are running in Twinbank.

Take Care,

Richard
Logged
Richard J. Gentil, Pres.
Custom Computers of Naples, Inc.


LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
Athlon64 3700+ Sandy
(o/c'd 2.8Ghz)
Zalman CNPS9500LED
2-1Gb Mushkin Extreme PC-4000 (Slots 2 & 4)
(o/c'd 510Mhz)
2 x MSI NX6800GT-T2D256 (o/c'd Stock)
X-Mystique 7.1 GOLD - Dolby Digital Live
2-WD Raptors Raid 0
(16k Stripe)
NEC 16 Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
Logitech Z-680 500W Dolby Digital DTS THX 5.1
Logitech MX1000 Laser Mouse
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard

Marshall

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #5 on: 14-March-03, 02:21:45 »

I just got off the phone with MSI and I was told that 3 sticks will disable twin bank.  The tech even asked his manager.  This is not what I thought was true but is what I have been reading in this forum lately, so I'm still a little unsure.
They also said that twinbank does not give a big performance boost on Nforce1.  So now I'm wondering if I would be better off with 768 without twinbank or 512 with twinbank.
I'm also wondering if I can mix my Crucial pc2100 sticks with a  Crucial 2700 stick (Crucial claims they have fixed the incompatability problem and the 2700 is back on the nforce recommended list.  Both Crucial and MSI techs said it should be fine as the 2700 will just drop back to 2100 , but now I no longer believe anyone.
Logged

Richard

  • nForce & GeForce Guru
  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14483
(No subject)
« Reply #6 on: 14-March-03, 02:24:30 »

Marshall,

Above 256Mb of RAM you start slowing your system down. When you get to 512Mb you can disable in the Registry Paging to Disk and gain Speed back. But unless you are running huge Grahics or Audio Editing Programs, stick to 2 sticks of 256Mb DDR.  That is your best bet.

Take Care,

Richard
Logged
Richard J. Gentil, Pres.
Custom Computers of Naples, Inc.


LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
Athlon64 3700+ Sandy
(o/c'd 2.8Ghz)
Zalman CNPS9500LED
2-1Gb Mushkin Extreme PC-4000 (Slots 2 & 4)
(o/c'd 510Mhz)
2 x MSI NX6800GT-T2D256 (o/c'd Stock)
X-Mystique 7.1 GOLD - Dolby Digital Live
2-WD Raptors Raid 0
(16k Stripe)
NEC 16 Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
Logitech Z-680 500W Dolby Digital DTS THX 5.1
Logitech MX1000 Laser Mouse
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard

wee777

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #7 on: 14-March-03, 06:49:40 »

Quote
Above 256Mb of RAM you start slowing your system down.


Huh?  I thought more ram Increased the speed and performance of your computer.
Logged

Richard

  • nForce & GeForce Guru
  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14483
(No subject)
« Reply #8 on: 14-March-03, 17:43:07 »

wee777,

Don't buy into the propaganda from the Memory Makers.  :D

It has to do with the index to manage all the memory. The more RAM you have the larger the index to manage it.

Richard
Logged
Richard J. Gentil, Pres.
Custom Computers of Naples, Inc.


LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
Athlon64 3700+ Sandy
(o/c'd 2.8Ghz)
Zalman CNPS9500LED
2-1Gb Mushkin Extreme PC-4000 (Slots 2 & 4)
(o/c'd 510Mhz)
2 x MSI NX6800GT-T2D256 (o/c'd Stock)
X-Mystique 7.1 GOLD - Dolby Digital Live
2-WD Raptors Raid 0
(16k Stripe)
NEC 16 Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
Logitech Z-680 500W Dolby Digital DTS THX 5.1
Logitech MX1000 Laser Mouse
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard

jrhvball

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #9 on: 14-March-03, 17:59:34 »

Quote
Originally posted by Deathstalker
When you get to 512Mb you can disable in the Registry Paging to Disk and gain Speed back.


Richard/Deathstalker,

How do you disable paging to disk in the Registry?

And what are the effects of doing this disabling besides a gain in speed with 2*256mb?  

Thanks,

James
Logged

wee777

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #10 on: 14-March-03, 19:04:24 »

Deathstalker:

So you are saying that 256Mb is better than 512Mb performance-wise, unless you disable the paging to disk in the Registry?  I'm just a bit confused if I should stick with one stick of 512 or one of 256.  Probably RMA my current Crucial and get two 256.

Thanks  
Logged

Marshall

  • Guest
More F...in Confusion
« Reply #11 on: 15-March-03, 17:42:20 »

Just spoke to Tom at Crucial.  He is the one who ran the benchmarks on nforce for them and an nforce user himself.  He says that using 3 dimms does not disable twin bank.  They are just two physical buses and as long as there are any dimms in both buses you are using twin bank.  He gets his info from an engineer at MSI.  He also said there is and never was a problem with Crucial 2700 modules and nforce.  They took them off the list because of some calls and forum posts, retested, found no problems, and put them back on the list.
I also called MSI and was told by tech support that using 3 dimms does disable twin bank.
Logged

Cho-Ram

  • Platinum
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 262
(No subject)
« Reply #12 on: 15-March-03, 21:15:14 »

The original nForce would not handle 3 double sided dimms so 3 sticks could potentially disable twinbank.

Logged

Marshall

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #13 on: 16-March-03, 04:21:16 »

Yup, I know that is true.  So 3 single sided chips are ok for Twin Bank....I guess.
Logged

stilup

  • Diamond
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 608
really now
« Reply #14 on: 16-March-03, 05:15:42 »

I have run benches and have not lost a single fps using 2x 512 compared to a single 512.
Using memtest I was assured that the bandwidth was increased using combined slots 1 and 3. Actually came out to be 35% increase over using 1 512 memory in slot 1 only.
The page file should stay enabled  as the system needs it in the event your system experiences a kernel mode STOP error to capture a Memoey Dump file.
I have already experienced this and I'm sure I'm not alone.
1  1/2 times ram for min and 3 x ram for max preferably on seperate IDE or hard drives.
I have min max set 768 for each HD for a combined 1536 which falls in the recomended allotment.
The system uses the inactive drive for the swap file.
Using AIDA 32 I see that I am now using 285MB ram that would be over the 256 max stated. Humm
I have most unneeded services disabled no restore running either.
Logged
MSI K9N6PGM2-V
AMD X2 6000+ 125 watt/FX55 stk HP cooler
Mushkin HP6400 2 GB
Evga geforce 8800 GTX
OCZ 600W Mod Stream
XP SP3

Marshall

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #15 on: 16-March-03, 15:49:05 »

Has anyone benched with 3 single sided DIMMS ?
Logged

RobRobinson

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #16 on: 16-March-03, 20:05:00 »

Quote
Originally posted by stilup
The page file should stay enabled  as the system needs it in the event your system experiences a kernel mode STOP error to capture a Memoey Dump file.
I have already experienced this and I'm sure I'm not alone.


Actually what Deathstalker is most likely talking about is the DisableExecutivePaging flag, which isnt getting rid of the virtual memory. What it does is keep Windows from sending part of its own code to disk, therefore keeping it all in memory where it will fun faster.
Logged

Marshall

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #17 on: 16-March-03, 21:25:19 »

I also have seen recommendations to do away with the paging file on systems with 512megs of ram and up.  The idea obviously  is to avoid paging altogether so as  not to slow down the system.  I have also heard that this can be a problem with some apps. because they will hog a large amount of RAM for paging even if they don't use it.  This is a good article on XP paging
Logged

badbuck

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #18 on: 17-March-03, 00:03:21 »

all i know is i get the same bench marks with 3 sticks of
ram as two
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up