Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Whats everything in the BIOS do?  (Read 10339 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

N49ATV

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
Whats everything in the BIOS do?
« on: 24-December-11, 18:06:29 »

Merry Christmas,

My Rig to start:
MSI Z68A-GD65 (g3) BIOS 23.1B5 100010 Base clock (to bring it to 100.1)
i5 2500K under Noctura NH-D14 (N-S)
16GB G.Skill DDR3 1333 CL9 (4x4GB)
Crucial M4 128GB (on Intel Sata3)
MSI R6950 TF II, 900/1325 (1168mV) 6970 Unlocked
Logitech G510/Performance MX


I haven't OCed in years. I finally upgraded my antique machine (S478 P4HT 3.0C, Asus P4C800DLX, OCZ Plat Rev 2).

So I have been messing around with my 2500k, and no matter what I try, I cant get it to load windows if I change the multiplier. I updated the bios to latest Beta, as I couldnt enter the bios with my G510, and mouse was twitchy in stock bios.
I have even tried to set the same settings as OC Genie, and no go. OC genie works. If I change the multiplier, it posts, and goes to MSI splash screen, then when it normally loads windows it just blinks. I have tried some of the bios settings I have seen around the web in OC posts, and even tried giving more voltage than needed (like 4.0/4.2ghz on 1.4V core).

So before I get to crazy, I was wondering if someone can post what everything does, or spot I can see what they all do. Also whats the stock bios look like on these boards, because if I load the defaults, the only thing that seems to change is base clock, multiplier, and core voltage. Things like power options etc, dont go back to enabled.
Logged

Bernhard

  • Support the MSI Red Rockets Team Members 나는 한국을 사랑
  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6228
  • Read the user manual first. Properly
« Reply #1 on: 25-December-11, 08:31:23 »

Start your machine with OC Genie enabled. You did say those settings work ?  :think:
If so, let it load into the OS once. Then restart and go into the BIOS. Save this OC Genie setting as a Profile.
Save and shutdown. Disable OC Genie. Go into the BIOS and apply your saved profile. Save and restart. Test if it loads.
Logged
1.MSI Z77A-GD65 BIOS10.6B7 Mothballed
2. H97 Performance; i5-4670; Corsair CML8GX3M2A1600C9W 2X4GB; CX430; Crucial M500 240GB Win7-64;WD2TB Data;WD1TB Data;LG DVD
3.Z97 Extreme 4;4790K;Noctua NH-C14; Win7-64;MSI GTX660Ti PE;Corsair 4X4Gb CML16GX3M4A2133C11B; Neutron 256GB SSDWin7-64;Seasonic750W;ST1TB Data;WD300V-R Backup OS;SonyDVD; 



"veni vedi doctus"
MSI 미친

dubflex

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
« Reply #2 on: 25-December-11, 10:40:36 »

Update Bios to last version to fix your keyboard and mouse issues, lastest official/beta fix G50 cause your bios look like first one (not update).
Using MSI HQ Flash Tool you shuld get this report
MSIHQ: Information detected by MSIHQ Tool ver: 1.19R9
MSIHQ: Report generated in 24/12/2011 at 22:58:23,87
*********************************
Mainboard:  Z68A-GD65 (G3) (MS-7681)
PCB Version:  4.0
BIOS Version: VN.4B9 (aka Version: V23.4B9)
BIOS Date:  14/12/2011
*********************************

I use turbo mode for overclock leaving nearly all voltages at auto , except ram (set to ram specifications).
I think the problem is on those 16 gb ram try to make OC test with just 8gb on dual channel at stock speeds setting manual voltages and timings.
I can try to make son snaps of my config if you want cause we have similar rig

-MSI Z68-GD65 (g3) Bios -> B49
-i5 2500k  4.6Ghz / NOCTUA NH-U9B SE2
-Corsair Vengeance Low Profile White (1.35V) 8GB 1600
-Samsung 830 128 GB SSD
-MSI GTX560-TI OC 2GB/DDR5
-OCZ ZS 750W
Logged

N49ATV

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
« Reply #3 on: 25-December-11, 19:59:46 »

Ill give that a go tomorrow or the next day. Right now im running OC Genie II @ 4.2 just fine.
Logged

N49ATV

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
« Reply #4 on: 26-December-11, 21:37:06 »

Where can I download the B49 Bios, i went into the beta thread, but all i see is N31 as the last one listed in the sig?
Logged

Froggy Gremlin

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11111
  • Master Air OC'er
« Reply #5 on: 26-December-11, 21:52:49 »

Logged
The Last Hoorah! I Had Retired From All This! Can't Believe I'm Really Doing A Platform Test One More Time!  :shocked:

Z97 Gaming 7, 4790k, Zalman CNPS9900Max-R, Corsair AX-850, Corsair Dominator Platinum 2800's, WD 600 SATA III V.Raptor, Lite-On iHAS 424, GTX 680's In SLI, Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty Champion, Win 7 Ultimate 64 Bit    

Life Can Be Very Fulfilling Without Win 8/8.1, SSD's (Exception: Testing PCI-E M.2), RAID, Current AMD GPU's, G.Skill RAM, Hackers, Crackers, & Crypto Mining!

IXOYE

N49ATV

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
« Reply #6 on: 27-December-11, 12:09:34 »

Well, I updated the bios,

im still having issues. It double posts all the time, and now tells me its not using the first bios rom when trying to OC (not oc genie II). Im thinking double post is a failed post on main bios, then loads backup with stock speeds?

Here is what im after,

Id like a nice high OC, without running into temp issues, or 100% fan speed on the NH-D14. Ideally id like to be in the 4.8 area if my chip allows it, and thats the sweet spot. Id like to maintain the step down to 16x multi. After that, it dont really matter.
« Last Edit: 27-December-11, 19:30:06 by N49ATV »
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7  All   Go Up