Please login or register.
Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Down

Author Topic: A75A-G55 8GB Memory problem on Win 7 64bit (only recognizes 3,47GB)  (Read 6365 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

sullthan

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11

I bought some days ago a new system:

MB : MSI A75A-G55
Memo: 2x4GB GSkill 1600MHz 9-9-9-24 DDR3 : F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL
CPU: AMD A8-3870

It works fine, but i have this problem, on Control Panel -> System it says " Mem installed 8GB ( you can use only 3,47GB) " it doesn't say exactly this thing with those words , but its that. i was looking for some config on bios to reduce the mem the system save for ...i don't know graphics maybe ? I'm looking for a way to fix that problem and have not all the mem because i know some mem is shared with the IGP on the cpu but not for sure 4GB.
On  AMD System monitor App. it says :
 
Hardware reserved (including graphics) : 4639MB
The rest ...3553MB (In use/Modified/Standby/Free)

If i can change it on the bios , pls tell me where is the option in it because i didn't fin it.

Logged

Ex Forum User 3

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23406
« Reply #1 on: 21-January-12, 11:51:58 »

Looks like on of your sticks isn't working properly.

>>Memtest86<<
Logged

kippie

  • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • SECOND LIEUTENANT
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 171
« Reply #2 on: 21-January-12, 20:36:40 »

Memory is OK,
reserved + free = total memory
    4639 + 3553 = 8192MB = 8GB
Logged
MSI News            MSI News            MSI News
MSI Whitebook M635 (MS-1029) ; AMD Turion MT40 2.2GHz ; Windows XP Pro x64 SP2
MSI Wind Netbook U270-086NL (MS-1245) ; W7 HP x64 ; Linux XFCE 4.8
FAH: 2x MSI N9800GTX-T2D512 ; AMD Phenom 9750 ; INTEL Q9450 ; INTEL E8400

sullthan

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
« Reply #3 on: 22-January-12, 04:02:57 »

I tried to run Memtest 86 , and first thing it says Memory installed : 3569MB , the tests were fine so i check the Ram on BIOS and it says 8192MB , so maybe the problem is with the bios ??
Logged

vertical

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
« Reply #4 on: 22-January-12, 21:36:55 »

I had the same problem as you. M/b A75MA-G55. I was trying for a weekend to find solution. I upgraded BIOS and the last thing I tried was to install the 2 DIMMs in single channel mode and saw that it was recognized in full 8GB in BIOS (with the penalty of not running in full capacity of the dual channel). In dual channel, BIOS could see both DIMMs but was recognizing only half of the RAM (4GB). I took it back to the store I bought it and verified that it had a problem with EVERY RAM brand they tried. I got a replacement and voila, 8GB in BIOS, 7.49 in Windows.
Logged

sullthan

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
« Reply #5 on: 23-January-12, 02:14:30 »

Wich Ram did you have ? same as me GSkill ? and wich one did you buy , or was a problem with the MB ?
« Last Edit: 23-January-12, 09:23:27 by sullthan »
Logged

vertical

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
« Reply #6 on: 23-January-12, 19:18:12 »

I have this:

http://www.corsair.com/memory-by-product-family/value-select-memory-upgrades/cmv4gx3m1a1333c9.html

2 of those, total of 8GB. The RAM had no problem. Tried it in other PC and it was showing fine as 8GB (2x4GB). It was a motherboard issue and it was sent for RMA. In dual channel, it was recognizing both DIMMs but the system was getting half of the RAM. In single channel mode, it was showing full RAM but it is pointless to go for single channel considering that the negative effect especially in GPU will be big enough.

They replaced it with a brand new A75MA-G55. In the beginning I was afraid that the new m/b will also have the same issue but I was wrong. And it worked with the original BIOS, didn't have to upgrade (although I upgraded later).

You should try yours in single channel, one DIMM in black and one in blue socket. See what happens.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Up