Close

Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: A55M-P33 Blue Screen installing Windows XP?  (Read 1885 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

zfmaxTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
A55M-P33 Blue Screen installing Windows XP?
« on: 07-October-12, 10:02:14 »

Very simple build:

A55M-P33
AMD A4-3400 Llano 2.7GHz Socket FM1 65W Dual-Core Desktop APU (CPU + GPU)
G.SKILL Ares Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-1600C9D-8GAB
Kingston HyperX 3K SH103S3/90G 2.5" 90GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
Lite-On BD player
Nothing else in the system at all

I left all BIOS settings at their defaults, all I did was set the date and time.
SATA ports are set for IDE mode

I boot to the CD - Windows XP Home, an old CD with no service packs - and run setup. All seems to be working fine.
After the first auto reboot the Setup performs, it's continuing setup, it gets to the point where it's "Installing Devices", and BAM, the BSOD. IRQL not equal or some such nonsense.

Additional info:
- Win 7 installs and runs fine (but I need XP due to a particular very important app that only runs in XP)
- Tried swapping out the SSD in favor of a Seagate 500GB SATA drive - got the exact same symptom
- I an put an image of a working XP system onto the SSD, and it starts to boot, but then before it gets to the welcome screen it reboots, and is stuck in a never ending cycle
- A repair installation of the aforementioned image appears to complete successfully, but the boot loop repeats
- An attempt to boot into safe mode in the aforementioned image causes a hang while loading winnt\system32\drivers\agp440.sys (the image came from a system with agp video)

I'd just as soon do the clean install, as opposed to the image thing, but the BSOD issue prevents it
Any idea what I'm doing wrong?
Does anything in the BIOS need to be changed to install and run XP?
Anything else I should try?

Thanks
Logged

flobelix

  • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 35152
  • 微星科技
    • Afterburner New Features Introduction | MSI
Re: A55M-P33 Blue Screen installing Windows XP?
« Reply #1 on: 07-October-12, 10:11:50 »

Using old images from totally different systems will in no case work. A fresh install should do with default settings. Maybe try with just one stick of ram first.
Logged
MSI X299 Gaming M7 ACK (MS-7A90) Bios 1.D0
Core i7 7820X @ 4404.45 MHz (44 * 100.1 MHz, fixed all cores), 1.245v - delidded and using der8auer Skylake-X Direct Die Frame
Corsair H110 Liquid CPU Cooler
32GB (4 x 8GB) Corsair CMR32GX4M4Z3200C16 @ 1602.9 MHz (DDR4-3206), 16-18-18-36-2t, 1.35v
MSI GeForce RTX 2080 Ti DUKE 11G OC
1TB Crucial MX500 M.2 SSD + 2TB Crucial MX500 SSD
Thermaltake Toughpower Grand RGB 1200W Platinum • +12V: 100A • +3.3V: 25A • +5V: 25A
Windows 10 Pro
MSI MAG BUNKER Case

zfmaxTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: A55M-P33 Blue Screen installing Windows XP?
« Reply #2 on: 07-October-12, 10:42:13 »

Using old images from totally different systems will in no case work. A fresh install should do with default settings. Maybe try with just one stick of ram first.

Thanks for the suggestion ... tried it, no change, still get the BSOD while "Installing Devices".

Grrr, this is aggravating. This should be very simple.

Just an FYI, I've had some success in the past with changing motherboards in existing systems without doing a clean install of Windows ... but yeah, it's hit or miss. Sometimes the Repair Install of XP turns a miss into a hit but not this time.
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 73323
Re: A55M-P33 Blue Screen installing Windows XP?
« Reply #3 on: 07-October-12, 10:44:19 »

Use XP with SP3 integrated else will not work
Logged

zfmaxTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: A55M-P33 Blue Screen installing Windows XP?
« Reply #4 on: 07-October-12, 10:47:53 »

Use XP with SP3 integrated else will not work

Thanks for the suggestion. That occurred to me, that it might need an SP3 install disc. I'm downloading it via BitTorrent as we speak (or type, as the case may be).
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up