Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MSI FM2-A75MA-E35 Sata Drivers?  (Read 5246 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

NomadskiTopic starter

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
MSI FM2-A75MA-E35 Sata Drivers?
« on: 30-October-12, 04:05:06 »

Im planning on building a W8 HTPC, and want to first install Windows XP 32bit so I can use the upgrade option.

In the build will be a MSI FM2-A75MA-E35 Mobo paired with a AMD A6 5400K CPU.

Now Im going to hit the inevitable wall of pre SP1 XP Disc missing SATA drivers so Im learning how to combine my XP disc with the mobo's SATA drivers to create a new install disc.

I downloaded the ATI System Drivers for Axx Series driver package from MSI's download page for the mobo, but I really don't know where the files are I need for a successful 32 bit XP install on a new machine, within the extracted RAR file.

Im guessing its somewhere in Packages > Drivers > ???

Any help would be appreciated, Im not overly techy and already overreaching myself a bit here, so any info useful.
Logged

Bernhard

  • Support the MSI Red Rockets Team Members 나는 한국을 사랑
  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6230
  • Read the user manual first. Properly
« Reply #1 on: 30-October-12, 06:22:33 »

Have a read through this thread  https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=162816
Similar challenge  :yes:
You should first load XP with SP3 at least or get someone to assist you with an installation of Win7  possibly.
The thread itself makes reference to nlite which I have no experience with, but I trust the discussion there may assist you.
Logged
1.MSI Z77A-GD65 BIOS10.6B7 Mothballed
2. H97 Performance; i5-4670; Corsair CML8GX3M2A1600C9W 2X4GB; CX430; Crucial M500 240GB Win7-64;WD2TB Data;WD1TB Data;LG DVD
3.Z97 Extreme 4;4790K;Noctua NH-C14; Win7-64;MSI GTX660Ti PE;Corsair 4X4Gb CML16GX3M4A2133C11B; Neutron 256GB SSDWin7-64;Seasonic750W;ST1TB Data;WD300V-R Backup OS;SonyDVD; 



"veni vedi doctus"
MSI 미친

Stu

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19582
  • Birmingham, UK
    • StuOnline.co.uk
« Reply #2 on: 30-October-12, 21:22:24 »

Why not just do a clean install of Windows 8?

Better still, why not just use Windows 7 instead? :idea:
Logged
Former moderator and admin, 2004-2012

Bernhard

  • Support the MSI Red Rockets Team Members 나는 한국을 사랑
  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6230
  • Read the user manual first. Properly
« Reply #3 on: 31-October-12, 06:01:41 »

Quote
Better still, why not just use Windows 7 instead

Now why didn't I think of that.  :lol_anim:
Win8 (Vista) bugs will be sorted when Win9 come out.  ;-))
Logged
1.MSI Z77A-GD65 BIOS10.6B7 Mothballed
2. H97 Performance; i5-4670; Corsair CML8GX3M2A1600C9W 2X4GB; CX430; Crucial M500 240GB Win7-64;WD2TB Data;WD1TB Data;LG DVD
3.Z97 Extreme 4;4790K;Noctua NH-C14; Win7-64;MSI GTX660Ti PE;Corsair 4X4Gb CML16GX3M4A2133C11B; Neutron 256GB SSDWin7-64;Seasonic750W;ST1TB Data;WD300V-R Backup OS;SonyDVD; 



"veni vedi doctus"
MSI 미친

NomadskiTopic starter

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
« Reply #4 on: 31-October-12, 20:58:15 »

Why not just do a clean install of Windows 8?

Better still, why not just use Windows 7 instead? :idea:

Windows 7 costs a lot more! At the moment its possible to get Windows 8 upgrade for £15, the only caveat being you need a pre installed copy of Windows. I dont have a spare W7 lying around, but I do have XP spare....if I can get it installed.

Bernhard - I have made a combined SP3 + XP ISO disc, would that have the sata drivers necessary to at least recognise the hard drive to boot the install (ie no "Press F6 for drivers")?
Logged

HenryW

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20326
« Reply #5 on: 31-October-12, 22:12:50 »

 XP with SP3 slipstreamed should be OK. XP SP1 will never do on newer MB's but is fine with SP3 slipsreamed in.
Logged
Z77A-GD65/BIOS 10.5, i7 2700K
CPU cooler ~ Zalman CNPS9900ALED
Corsair Vengeance Pro 1600 4x4Gb
W 7 Home Premium x64/SP1
Corsair TX650W
300GB WD VelociRaptor 3000HLHX
600GB WD VelociRaptor 6000HLHX
Lite-On CD/DVD combo burner
MSI 560 HAWK, Drv. 368.82
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium

Ex Forum User 3

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23406
« Reply #6 on: 01-November-12, 12:58:03 »

You could set Sata to native-IDE mode, then XP will install without problems.
Logged

NomadskiTopic starter

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
« Reply #7 on: 02-November-12, 00:52:34 »

You could set Sata to native-IDE mode, then XP will install without problems.

Once installed can I set the SATA back to ACHI without issues?
Logged

flobelix

  • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23728
  • 微星科技
    • MSI 30 years anniversary
« Reply #8 on: 02-November-12, 06:59:15 »

No! Once installed AHCI can not be used again. A Windows installed under IDE will Bluescreen and not boot with SATA set to AHCI.
Logged
MSI X99A Gaming 9 ACK (MS-7882) Bios 3.6 
Core i7 6800K @ 4100.51 MHz (41 * 100.01 MHz), 1.294v
Corsair H110 Liquid CPU Cooler
32GB (4 x 8GB) Corsair CMK32GX4M4C3000C15R @ 1500.2 MHz (DDR4-3000), 15-17-17-35-2t 1.35v            
MSI GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
500GB Crucial MX200 SSD + 750GB Crucial MX300 SSD + 480GB Crucial BX200 SSD
Corsair RM1000 +12V: 83.30A • +3.3V: 25A • +5V: 25A
Windows 10 Pro
Cooler Master HAF XB EVO case

Ex Forum User 3

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23406
« Reply #9 on: 02-November-12, 14:50:59 »

Logged

NomadskiTopic starter

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
« Reply #10 on: 02-November-12, 23:54:40 »

No! Once installed AHCI can not be used again. A Windows installed under IDE will Bluescreen and not boot with SATA set to AHCI.

Is there a real difference in performance between one and the other? What am I losing (if anything) by setting the SATA to IDE?

Also, is it possible to streamline ACHI drivers into my Windows XP disc, just like I streamlined SP3?
« Last Edit: 03-November-12, 06:57:13 by Nomadski »
Logged

flobelix

  • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23728
  • 微星科技
    • MSI 30 years anniversary
« Reply #11 on: 03-November-12, 00:11:13 »

In IDE mode you will loose NCQ (Native Command Queuing) which will result in lower HDD performance.

Quote from: Nomadski
Is there a real difference in performance between one and the other? What am I losing (if anything) by setting the SATA to IDE?

Also, is it possible to streamline ACHI drivers into my Windows XP disc, just like I streamlined SP3?

I think most tools to slipstream will only add drivers to be installed after windows start while you need SATA drivers before being able to install Win XP. None the less with SP3 it should work without further drivers needed if I remember correctly.
Logged
MSI X99A Gaming 9 ACK (MS-7882) Bios 3.6 
Core i7 6800K @ 4100.51 MHz (41 * 100.01 MHz), 1.294v
Corsair H110 Liquid CPU Cooler
32GB (4 x 8GB) Corsair CMK32GX4M4C3000C15R @ 1500.2 MHz (DDR4-3000), 15-17-17-35-2t 1.35v            
MSI GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
500GB Crucial MX200 SSD + 750GB Crucial MX300 SSD + 480GB Crucial BX200 SSD
Corsair RM1000 +12V: 83.30A • +3.3V: 25A • +5V: 25A
Windows 10 Pro
Cooler Master HAF XB EVO case

NomadskiTopic starter

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
« Reply #12 on: 03-November-12, 01:27:10 »

In IDE mode you will loose NCQ (Native Command Queuing) which will result in lower HDD performance.

I think most tools to slipstream will only add drivers to be installed after windows start while you need SATA drivers before being able to install Win XP. None the less with SP3 it should work without further drivers needed if I remember correctly.

So with my XP + SP3 slipstreamed install cd, I can leave the mobo to ACHI?
Logged

flobelix

  • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23728
  • 微星科技
    • MSI 30 years anniversary
« Reply #13 on: 03-November-12, 01:28:48 »

Should work, just try.
Logged
MSI X99A Gaming 9 ACK (MS-7882) Bios 3.6 
Core i7 6800K @ 4100.51 MHz (41 * 100.01 MHz), 1.294v
Corsair H110 Liquid CPU Cooler
32GB (4 x 8GB) Corsair CMK32GX4M4C3000C15R @ 1500.2 MHz (DDR4-3000), 15-17-17-35-2t 1.35v            
MSI GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
500GB Crucial MX200 SSD + 750GB Crucial MX300 SSD + 480GB Crucial BX200 SSD
Corsair RM1000 +12V: 83.30A • +3.3V: 25A • +5V: 25A
Windows 10 Pro
Cooler Master HAF XB EVO case

Mike

  • aka Frankenputer
  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9818
  • Virginia, USA
« Reply #14 on: 03-November-12, 22:00:24 »

XP and AHCI do not play nice and you does NOT support TRIM for SSDs.   IMHO, AHCI is a waste of time and causes more issues than helps.  Even with an OS that supports TRIM, unless you require hot-swapping with SSDs, don't bother with AHCI.
Logged
#1:
MSI X38 Diamond/Bios 1.5; Core2Duo E8400 3.0Ghz; Thermalright Ultima-90HS/120 fan; 2X1GB DDR3 CorsairTWIN3X2048-1333C9DHXG; PIONEER|DVR-215DBK SATA DVD-DL & Lite-on DVD-ROM PATA; FDD; MSI 260GTX-T2D896; 196.34beta; Seagate 320GB  & WD 500GB SATA HDDs; PC P&C Silencer 750 +3.3V/24A~+5V/30A~+12V/60A; X-FI Xtreme PCIe; Antec P182 Case; XP PRO SP3

#2:
MSI 865PE Neo2-PFS Platinum/Bios 3.A; P4 2.8C HT; Thermalright XP-90HS; 2GB DDR400 RAM(2x1GB kit Mushkin HP3200 2-3-2-6); Nec ND-3550A DVD-DL & TDK 52X24X48 CD-RW; FDD; Nvidia GeForce 7800GS; 84.21; Maxtor 200GB & Seagate 200GB PATA HDDs; Enermax 465P VE-FMA +3.3V/35A~+5V/35A~+12V/33A; Audigy 2ZS; XP PRO SP3
Dell 2209WA LCD on a DVI KVM switch

MSI Wind U100

Pages: [1]   Go Up