Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

If you want to flash your BIOS, please use our own Forum USB Flash tool - NOW UPDATED!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MSI MPOWER Z77 first bios corrupt  (Read 2130 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

tinuz97

  • Easy OC
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
MSI MPOWER Z77 first bios corrupt
« on: 21-February-13, 18:46:53 »

Hi, i upgraded from a z68a g-45 (b3) to the z77mpower.
Everything did worked fine, but after i used the onboard power key the system does not boot anymore,it will only boot if i switch to the 2nd bios.

Now i did the save the 2nd bios to my usb drive, but i have no idea how to recover the 1st bios,it is not in the manual.
I have standard bios 17.6.

Help  :noidea:
Logged

xmad

  • MSI HQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8249
  • Salisbury MD
Re: MSI MPOWER Z77 first bios corrupt
« Reply #1 on: 21-February-13, 18:49:20 »

http://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=160450.0

Mind as well follow that procedure with a newer bios: >>Beta BIOSes<<
Logged
New:
Board MSI Z77 Mpower
Bios: Latest Official
VGA   MSI GTX 760
PSU:  Corsair GS700
Intel Core I7-3770K
MEM: Corsair 2133 2x4gb CL: 9 Dominator Platinum
500GB HHD
COOLER: Zalman 9900
OC: (Turbo)4.5Gh
Ram: 2133Mhz 1.55v
CL 9

Board: X79A-GD65 (8D)
Bios: 4.6
CPU: Intel 3930k Hexa-Core
Ram: Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x4gb 2133 CL:9
Vid: GTX 780TI 3GB in SLI
PSU: Corsair AX1200I
Cooler: Corsair 80I
SSD: Corsair Neutron GTX 240 GB SSD
Startech Raid Controller Card
HDD: 2x Seagate 500gb 7200 in Raid 0
HDD: 2x Seagate 1tb 7200 in Raid 0
OS: Win 8.1 Pro in UEFI mode
Corsair Link
Corsair H-100I Cooler

tinuz97

  • Easy OC
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: MSI MPOWER Z77 first bios corrupt
« Reply #2 on: 21-February-13, 18:51:08 »

But is hitting the onboard power button bad?
I only did that and nothing else,can it corrupt bios????
Logged

xmad

  • MSI HQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8249
  • Salisbury MD
Re: MSI MPOWER Z77 first bios corrupt
« Reply #3 on: 21-February-13, 18:52:50 »

It shouldn't have, but none the less if the primary bios isn't booting and the back-up bios is fine this is the procedure to follow.

I have assumed you did a full cmos clear of the primary bios. >>Clear CMOS Guide<<
Logged
New:
Board MSI Z77 Mpower
Bios: Latest Official
VGA   MSI GTX 760
PSU:  Corsair GS700
Intel Core I7-3770K
MEM: Corsair 2133 2x4gb CL: 9 Dominator Platinum
500GB HHD
COOLER: Zalman 9900
OC: (Turbo)4.5Gh
Ram: 2133Mhz 1.55v
CL 9

Board: X79A-GD65 (8D)
Bios: 4.6
CPU: Intel 3930k Hexa-Core
Ram: Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x4gb 2133 CL:9
Vid: GTX 780TI 3GB in SLI
PSU: Corsair AX1200I
Cooler: Corsair 80I
SSD: Corsair Neutron GTX 240 GB SSD
Startech Raid Controller Card
HDD: 2x Seagate 500gb 7200 in Raid 0
HDD: 2x Seagate 1tb 7200 in Raid 0
OS: Win 8.1 Pro in UEFI mode
Corsair Link
Corsair H-100I Cooler

tinuz97

  • Easy OC
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: MSI MPOWER Z77 first bios corrupt
« Reply #4 on: 21-February-13, 19:16:54 »

No i did not clear the cmos.
I follwed the guide and now i realy have a problem,both bios wont boot after cmos clearing. ( i did clear the first one with switch to the left)

The status leds say FF as code................
I am on my laptop now....
Now i realy have no idea what to do.

 still on original 17.6 bios
« Last Edit: 21-February-13, 19:18:58 by tinuz97 »
Logged

xmad

  • MSI HQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8249
  • Salisbury MD
Re: MSI MPOWER Z77 first bios corrupt
« Reply #5 on: 21-February-13, 19:18:59 »

Did you short the JBAT pins or press the button with power cord removed?

FF usually isn't good.

The next thing to do is to remove all extra components. So just a single stick of ram is installed into DIMM2, CPU, Cooler and psu and see if it will boot to bios this way.
Logged
New:
Board MSI Z77 Mpower
Bios: Latest Official
VGA   MSI GTX 760
PSU:  Corsair GS700
Intel Core I7-3770K
MEM: Corsair 2133 2x4gb CL: 9 Dominator Platinum
500GB HHD
COOLER: Zalman 9900
OC: (Turbo)4.5Gh
Ram: 2133Mhz 1.55v
CL 9

Board: X79A-GD65 (8D)
Bios: 4.6
CPU: Intel 3930k Hexa-Core
Ram: Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x4gb 2133 CL:9
Vid: GTX 780TI 3GB in SLI
PSU: Corsair AX1200I
Cooler: Corsair 80I
SSD: Corsair Neutron GTX 240 GB SSD
Startech Raid Controller Card
HDD: 2x Seagate 500gb 7200 in Raid 0
HDD: 2x Seagate 1tb 7200 in Raid 0
OS: Win 8.1 Pro in UEFI mode
Corsair Link
Corsair H-100I Cooler

tinuz97

  • Easy OC
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: MSI MPOWER Z77 first bios corrupt
« Reply #6 on: 21-February-13, 19:23:39 »

First i did remove the powercord.
After that i removed the battery, and did short the pins with a jumper.
Also tryed the method with the clear button on the back of the motherboard.

going to try to remove 1 ddr module (weird they are a month old, corsair vengeance 1600mhz 9-9-9-24 timings)
They worked fine on my msi z68a g45-b3
Logged

tinuz97

  • Easy OC
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: MSI MPOWER Z77 first bios corrupt
« Reply #7 on: 21-February-13, 19:28:17 »

Also not booting with 1 ddr module installed.   ;-((

i think i need to bring it back to the shop where i buyed it???

Logged

xmad

  • MSI HQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8249
  • Salisbury MD
Re: MSI MPOWER Z77 first bios corrupt
« Reply #8 on: 21-February-13, 19:28:35 »

I doubt it is the ram, FF is supposed to be for future use.
 But we need to test everything else. Also the pressing of the power button causing this isn't a good sign.

You want to test that single stick of ram in each DIMM. You may also want to remove the main board and test on a non-conductive surface like plain wood or cardboard. Perhaps there is an extra stand off and when you pushed the button it shorted?
Logged
New:
Board MSI Z77 Mpower
Bios: Latest Official
VGA   MSI GTX 760
PSU:  Corsair GS700
Intel Core I7-3770K
MEM: Corsair 2133 2x4gb CL: 9 Dominator Platinum
500GB HHD
COOLER: Zalman 9900
OC: (Turbo)4.5Gh
Ram: 2133Mhz 1.55v
CL 9

Board: X79A-GD65 (8D)
Bios: 4.6
CPU: Intel 3930k Hexa-Core
Ram: Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x4gb 2133 CL:9
Vid: GTX 780TI 3GB in SLI
PSU: Corsair AX1200I
Cooler: Corsair 80I
SSD: Corsair Neutron GTX 240 GB SSD
Startech Raid Controller Card
HDD: 2x Seagate 500gb 7200 in Raid 0
HDD: 2x Seagate 1tb 7200 in Raid 0
OS: Win 8.1 Pro in UEFI mode
Corsair Link
Corsair H-100I Cooler

tinuz97

  • Easy OC
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: MSI MPOWER Z77 first bios corrupt
« Reply #9 on: 21-February-13, 19:43:34 »

I have a Corsair 500R with enough room between the motherboard and the case,dont think that is a problem.
Funny part is that if i bring i it back to the store and pay because they think it is user damage, funny, i only pressed the power button on the board 1 time.

that does not explain why the 2nd bios after clearing the cmos also is not working anymore. (without touching power button on mainboard,only used that 1 time)

So there is no option to flash a bios (still like i told before using the out of box bios 17.6) if i do not have a working one?
Logged

xmad

  • MSI HQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8249
  • Salisbury MD
Re: MSI MPOWER Z77 first bios corrupt
« Reply #10 on: 21-February-13, 19:46:56 »

Nope, you should try it out of the case. Often we see people install extra stand off's which short out the board and can cause all sorts of mayhem.
As for the re-seller, I don't think it will be an issue, it sounds like something wrong with the board. Best if you bought it all from the re-seller to bring the ram , cpu and board back so they can test.
Logged
New:
Board MSI Z77 Mpower
Bios: Latest Official
VGA   MSI GTX 760
PSU:  Corsair GS700
Intel Core I7-3770K
MEM: Corsair 2133 2x4gb CL: 9 Dominator Platinum
500GB HHD
COOLER: Zalman 9900
OC: (Turbo)4.5Gh
Ram: 2133Mhz 1.55v
CL 9

Board: X79A-GD65 (8D)
Bios: 4.6
CPU: Intel 3930k Hexa-Core
Ram: Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x4gb 2133 CL:9
Vid: GTX 780TI 3GB in SLI
PSU: Corsair AX1200I
Cooler: Corsair 80I
SSD: Corsair Neutron GTX 240 GB SSD
Startech Raid Controller Card
HDD: 2x Seagate 500gb 7200 in Raid 0
HDD: 2x Seagate 1tb 7200 in Raid 0
OS: Win 8.1 Pro in UEFI mode
Corsair Link
Corsair H-100I Cooler

tinuz97

  • Easy OC
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: MSI MPOWER Z77 first bios corrupt
« Reply #11 on: 21-February-13, 19:51:51 »

I have no extra standoff, board just in the case a usual in the corsair 500r case.

I think i have a monday morning motherboard like we say in holland lol.

Logged

tinuz97

  • Easy OC
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: MSI MPOWER Z77 first bios corrupt
« Reply #12 on: 21-February-13, 19:55:21 »

I gonna take the board out of the pc now, altough i think that is not the problem,because i do not use extra standoffs.
I keeps hanging on code FF on the status display,no matter what slot i use.
Logged

lfbb

  • Easy OC
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 40
Re: MSI MPOWER Z77 first bios corrupt
« Reply #13 on: 21-February-13, 20:37:38 »

Logged
Board: MSI Z77A-G45
Bios: Version 2.10B1
VGA: Asus 460GTX
PSU: Corsair HX650
CPU: Intel Core i7-3770 Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.9GHz Turbo Boost) LGA 1155 77W
MEM: Geil 1333 2x4gb + Samsung 1333 2x2gb
HDD: WD Caviar Black 1 TB
COOLER: Noctua NH-C12P SE14
OC: (Turbo) 4.1Ghz 1.211 CPUV ram: 1333 Mhz 1.5v
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional SP1

tinuz97

  • Easy OC
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: MSI MPOWER Z77 first bios corrupt
« Reply #14 on: 21-February-13, 21:00:03 »

lffb, what is that,no idea.
I removed the board from the case,still no joy  :noidea:
Logged

xmad

  • MSI HQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8249
  • Salisbury MD
Re: MSI MPOWER Z77 first bios corrupt
« Reply #15 on: 21-February-13, 21:41:14 »

Just take it back to the re-seller sounds like the board is defective.
Just bring everything with you as I said before so they can test all of the components. It could be that bad ram or something caused the bios's to fail.

Good luck
Logged
New:
Board MSI Z77 Mpower
Bios: Latest Official
VGA   MSI GTX 760
PSU:  Corsair GS700
Intel Core I7-3770K
MEM: Corsair 2133 2x4gb CL: 9 Dominator Platinum
500GB HHD
COOLER: Zalman 9900
OC: (Turbo)4.5Gh
Ram: 2133Mhz 1.55v
CL 9

Board: X79A-GD65 (8D)
Bios: 4.6
CPU: Intel 3930k Hexa-Core
Ram: Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x4gb 2133 CL:9
Vid: GTX 780TI 3GB in SLI
PSU: Corsair AX1200I
Cooler: Corsair 80I
SSD: Corsair Neutron GTX 240 GB SSD
Startech Raid Controller Card
HDD: 2x Seagate 500gb 7200 in Raid 0
HDD: 2x Seagate 1tb 7200 in Raid 0
OS: Win 8.1 Pro in UEFI mode
Corsair Link
Corsair H-100I Cooler

tinuz97

  • Easy OC
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: MSI MPOWER Z77 first bios corrupt
« Reply #16 on: 21-February-13, 22:37:12 »

Jip gonna bring it back.
I even tryed a core i3 3225 instead of my i7 3770K, i checked the pins from the socket (nice and not bended or something) tryed a other new powersupply, other memory (adata 1333mhz from my mediacenter pc)
Nothing is working......

Anyway thx for the help,keep you guys posted, hopefully i am getting a new one,it is just as we speak 6 hours old.

Can they ask money to see what is wrong? that guy from the store did say that,looks impossible to me.

Gonna take my msi z68a g45 B3 for now again  :undecided:
Logged

xmad

  • MSI HQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8249
  • Salisbury MD
Re: MSI MPOWER Z77 first bios corrupt
« Reply #17 on: 21-February-13, 22:43:42 »

Jip gonna bring it back.
I even tryed a core i3 3225 instead of my i7 3770K, i checked the pins from the socket (nice and not bended or something) tryed a other new powersupply, other memory (adata 1333mhz from my mediacenter pc)
Nothing is working......

Anyway thx for the help,keep you guys posted, hopefully i am getting a new one,it is just as we speak 6 hours old.

Can they ask money to see what is wrong? that guy from the store did say that,looks impossible to me.

Gonna take my msi z68a g45 B3 for now again  :undecided:

No, looks like you are in the EU from your IP, the re-seller takes care of the entire warranty. From the sound of this, you don't have anything to worry about.
Logged
New:
Board MSI Z77 Mpower
Bios: Latest Official
VGA   MSI GTX 760
PSU:  Corsair GS700
Intel Core I7-3770K
MEM: Corsair 2133 2x4gb CL: 9 Dominator Platinum
500GB HHD
COOLER: Zalman 9900
OC: (Turbo)4.5Gh
Ram: 2133Mhz 1.55v
CL 9

Board: X79A-GD65 (8D)
Bios: 4.6
CPU: Intel 3930k Hexa-Core
Ram: Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x4gb 2133 CL:9
Vid: GTX 780TI 3GB in SLI
PSU: Corsair AX1200I
Cooler: Corsair 80I
SSD: Corsair Neutron GTX 240 GB SSD
Startech Raid Controller Card
HDD: 2x Seagate 500gb 7200 in Raid 0
HDD: 2x Seagate 1tb 7200 in Raid 0
OS: Win 8.1 Pro in UEFI mode
Corsair Link
Corsair H-100I Cooler

tinuz97

  • Easy OC
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: MSI MPOWER Z77 first bios corrupt
« Reply #18 on: 22-February-13, 11:35:34 »

I called the store again today and i told that i made a topic here. And tryed everything you told me.
I get a new motherboard, and if they have time they will test the new board (i asked that because i want to avoid that it is not working again maybey) so i think the problem is getting solved.

Still i am wondering what happend to the board.
First time power on it rebooted 3 times by mobo self.
4th boot in windows.
After reset with the motherboard reset button a FF status on the bios onboard status leds.

But i think the first 3 auto reboots without toching the reset button is no good either.

I have inspected the corsair 500r case and there is enough room between the board and the case,
So no change that the board hits the case, original standoffs not adding other ones.

I must say that i am scared now for the new one  :sad:

Did sleep verry bad last night.
Logged

xmad

  • MSI HQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8249
  • Salisbury MD
Re: MSI MPOWER Z77 first bios corrupt
« Reply #19 on: 22-February-13, 13:34:54 »

I called the store again today and i told that i made a topic here. And tryed everything you told me.
I get a new motherboard, and if they have time they will test the new board (i asked that because i want to avoid that it is not working again maybey) so i think the problem is getting solved.

Still i am wondering what happend to the board.
First time power on it rebooted 3 times by mobo self.
4th boot in windows.
After reset with the motherboard reset button a FF status on the bios onboard status leds.

But i think the first 3 auto reboots without toching the reset button is no good either.

I have inspected the corsair 500r case and there is enough room between the board and the case,
So no change that the board hits the case, original standoffs not adding other ones.

I must say that i am scared now for the new one  :sad:

Did sleep verry bad last night.

Don't just look, count the standoff's and count the holes in the board. Many cases come with EXTRA stand offs.
Logged
New:
Board MSI Z77 Mpower
Bios: Latest Official
VGA   MSI GTX 760
PSU:  Corsair GS700
Intel Core I7-3770K
MEM: Corsair 2133 2x4gb CL: 9 Dominator Platinum
500GB HHD
COOLER: Zalman 9900
OC: (Turbo)4.5Gh
Ram: 2133Mhz 1.55v
CL 9

Board: X79A-GD65 (8D)
Bios: 4.6
CPU: Intel 3930k Hexa-Core
Ram: Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x4gb 2133 CL:9
Vid: GTX 780TI 3GB in SLI
PSU: Corsair AX1200I
Cooler: Corsair 80I
SSD: Corsair Neutron GTX 240 GB SSD
Startech Raid Controller Card
HDD: 2x Seagate 500gb 7200 in Raid 0
HDD: 2x Seagate 1tb 7200 in Raid 0
OS: Win 8.1 Pro in UEFI mode
Corsair Link
Corsair H-100I Cooler

tinuz97

  • Easy OC
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: MSI MPOWER Z77 first bios corrupt
« Reply #20 on: 22-February-13, 16:03:28 »

Got a new one, and typing on it now (this message)
First i gonna reboot like 40 times to be sure that that it stays good before i put back in my Asus gtx 680 top edition.

The store just switched the motherboard for a new one, and tested the new one before i did go out of the store (i wanted to be realy sure lol this time)

this one has bios 17.4 out of the box instead of 17.6 ,and i am not going to toch it,if it is not broken ,stay away from it is my motto  ;D

Again thanks for the fast respons and help, that is why i again bought a MSI motherboard, i like the support from this forum, the faulty motherboard does not keep me away from MSI, i just got unlucky i guess.

I hope you guys unstand what i am typing, not that good in english because i am dutch :P
Logged

tinuz97

  • Easy OC
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: MSI MPOWER Z77 first bios corrupt
« Reply #21 on: 24-February-13, 11:07:12 »

Update: the new board is working 100%  :agrees:
Logged

Froggy Gremlin

  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11110
Re: MSI MPOWER Z77 first bios corrupt
« Reply #22 on: 24-February-13, 11:12:26 »

That is great news! :yes:
Logged


Life Is Very Good Without Any Win 8/8.1, SSD's, RAID, Current AMD GPU's, G.Skill RAM, Hackers, Crackers, & Crypto Mining!

tinuz97

  • Easy OC
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: MSI MPOWER Z77 first bios corrupt
« Reply #23 on: 10-March-13, 13:17:26 »

I did flash 17.7 now, cleared cmos etc and everything still ok.

Love this motherboard  :agrees:
Logged

xmad

  • MSI HQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8249
  • Salisbury MD
Re: MSI MPOWER Z77 first bios corrupt
« Reply #24 on: 10-March-13, 20:21:49 »

Enjoy it my friend  :hat tip:
Logged
New:
Board MSI Z77 Mpower
Bios: Latest Official
VGA   MSI GTX 760
PSU:  Corsair GS700
Intel Core I7-3770K
MEM: Corsair 2133 2x4gb CL: 9 Dominator Platinum
500GB HHD
COOLER: Zalman 9900
OC: (Turbo)4.5Gh
Ram: 2133Mhz 1.55v
CL 9

Board: X79A-GD65 (8D)
Bios: 4.6
CPU: Intel 3930k Hexa-Core
Ram: Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x4gb 2133 CL:9
Vid: GTX 780TI 3GB in SLI
PSU: Corsair AX1200I
Cooler: Corsair 80I
SSD: Corsair Neutron GTX 240 GB SSD
Startech Raid Controller Card
HDD: 2x Seagate 500gb 7200 in Raid 0
HDD: 2x Seagate 1tb 7200 in Raid 0
OS: Win 8.1 Pro in UEFI mode
Corsair Link
Corsair H-100I Cooler
Pages: [1]   Go Up