Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4  All   Go Down

Author Topic: MSI MPOWER Z77 first bios corrupt  (Read 5292 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

tinuz97

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
MSI MPOWER Z77 first bios corrupt
« on: 21-February-13, 18:46:53 »

Hi, i upgraded from a z68a g-45 (b3) to the z77mpower.
Everything did worked fine, but after i used the onboard power key the system does not boot anymore,it will only boot if i switch to the 2nd bios.

Now i did the save the 2nd bios to my usb drive, but i have no idea how to recover the 1st bios,it is not in the manual.
I have standard bios 17.6.

Help  :noidea:
Logged

xmad

  • MSI HQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8603
  • Salisbury MD
« Reply #1 on: 21-February-13, 18:49:20 »

https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=160450.0

Mind as well follow that procedure with a newer bios: >>Beta BIOSes<<
Logged
Make sure to select a "best" answer once your issue has been resolved!
Mainboard: X79A-GD65 (8D)
CPU: I7-3930K
Setting: 4.5Ghz enhanced turbo w/ speed step functioning.
Memory: Corsair Dominator 2133 CL:9  1.5v 4x4gb
Setting: 2400 CL:10
VGA: 2 x GTX 780Ti Gaming 3G (SLI)
No Overclock other than default
PSU: Corsair AX1200i 12v: 100.1 Amps
SSD: Corsair GS 256GB
Corsair Link
Cooling: Corsair H100I

tinuz97

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
« Reply #2 on: 21-February-13, 18:51:08 »

But is hitting the onboard power button bad?
I only did that and nothing else,can it corrupt bios????
Logged

xmad

  • MSI HQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8603
  • Salisbury MD
« Reply #3 on: 21-February-13, 18:52:50 »

It shouldn't have, but none the less if the primary bios isn't booting and the back-up bios is fine this is the procedure to follow.

I have assumed you did a full cmos clear of the primary bios. >>Clear CMOS Guide<<
Logged
Make sure to select a "best" answer once your issue has been resolved!
Mainboard: X79A-GD65 (8D)
CPU: I7-3930K
Setting: 4.5Ghz enhanced turbo w/ speed step functioning.
Memory: Corsair Dominator 2133 CL:9  1.5v 4x4gb
Setting: 2400 CL:10
VGA: 2 x GTX 780Ti Gaming 3G (SLI)
No Overclock other than default
PSU: Corsair AX1200i 12v: 100.1 Amps
SSD: Corsair GS 256GB
Corsair Link
Cooling: Corsair H100I

tinuz97

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
« Reply #4 on: 21-February-13, 19:16:54 »

No i did not clear the cmos.
I follwed the guide and now i realy have a problem,both bios wont boot after cmos clearing. ( i did clear the first one with switch to the left)

The status leds say FF as code................
I am on my laptop now....
Now i realy have no idea what to do.

 still on original 17.6 bios
« Last Edit: 22-February-13, 02:18:58 by tinuz97 »
Logged

xmad

  • MSI HQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8603
  • Salisbury MD
« Reply #5 on: 21-February-13, 19:18:59 »

Did you short the JBAT pins or press the button with power cord removed?

FF usually isn't good.

The next thing to do is to remove all extra components. So just a single stick of ram is installed into DIMM2, CPU, Cooler and psu and see if it will boot to bios this way.
Logged
Make sure to select a "best" answer once your issue has been resolved!
Mainboard: X79A-GD65 (8D)
CPU: I7-3930K
Setting: 4.5Ghz enhanced turbo w/ speed step functioning.
Memory: Corsair Dominator 2133 CL:9  1.5v 4x4gb
Setting: 2400 CL:10
VGA: 2 x GTX 780Ti Gaming 3G (SLI)
No Overclock other than default
PSU: Corsair AX1200i 12v: 100.1 Amps
SSD: Corsair GS 256GB
Corsair Link
Cooling: Corsair H100I

tinuz97

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
« Reply #6 on: 21-February-13, 19:23:39 »

First i did remove the powercord.
After that i removed the battery, and did short the pins with a jumper.
Also tryed the method with the clear button on the back of the motherboard.

going to try to remove 1 ddr module (weird they are a month old, corsair vengeance 1600mhz 9-9-9-24 timings)
They worked fine on my msi z68a g45-b3
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4  All   Go Up