Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5  All   Go Down

Author Topic: MSI Big Bang XPower II - Firewire and PCI issues  (Read 6736 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

akI

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17

Hi all,

yesterday i recieved my new MSI Big Bang XPower II and got some really strange issues:

First of all ill let you know my hardware:

MSI Big Bang XPower II (BIOS v1.4) new
Intel I7 Extreme 3960X new
G.SKILL 64GB RAM Kit 1600 new
Palit NVIDIA GTX 680 - 4096 near new
3 x RME Soundcards used but okay
7 x WD 2TB SATA where 3 are OS Systems and 4 are Storage used but okay
Be Quiet Dark Power 1200W new

1 Problem:

There is absolutely no Firewire available. I tested the onboard connection (which is at the backplate) and i also tested the extension connection with a additional firewire slot. Also it seems that wether Windows nor Linux is recognizing the firewire at all. The strange thing is that i recieved this new board after i send the first one back to my reseller with exactly the same problem!!! I also take a look into the BIOS if there is any option i need to activate but as far as i see there is nothing to set for 1394?

2 Problem:

As you can read above i use my GTX680 and all 3 RME Soundcards each with one PCI Slot. But some of the slots are not working fine. If i, for example mount my GTX680 to Slot 1 and want to mount my first RME Souncard to slot 4 (2 and 3 are covered under my GTX680) its not working. If i try it in slot 6 for example, the soundcard works fine.
BUT:
The slot 4 is not damaged cause if i set my GTX680 to slot 8 and retry my RME Cards in slot 4 its working...

Never had that before!

I connected the 24pin ATX and both 8pin connectors (the 4pin additional connector for the graphics is not used).

Would be nice if someone guiding me through the dark  :pompom:
Logged

RemusM

  • Memory Expert
  • LIEUTENANT COLONEL
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1915
    • Necromanthus
« Reply #1 on: 02-March-13, 16:12:26 »

MSI Big Bang XPower II (BIOS v1.4) new
Intel I7 Extreme 3960X new
G.SKILL 64GB RAM Kit 1600 new
Palit NVIDIA GTX 680 - 4096 near new
3 x RME Soundcards used but okay
7 x WD 2TB SATA where 3 are OS Systems and 4 are Storage used but okay
Be Quiet Dark Power 1200W new

With so many components and shared resources, you are gambling with IORQs and I/O addressing space.
That's asking for troubles.
What is the purpose of your build anyway?
Why do you need GTX 680, 64GB RAM and 3 sound cards?
 ;D
And why do you need 7 HDDs?
 :lol_anim:
Logged

Mainboard: HC85
Processor: Zilog Z80 3.5MHz
System RAM: 48KB
Video RAM: 16KB (only 6912 bytes are used for Pixel Shader effects)
Video Card: integrated (16 colors)
PSU: 5V/3A
OS: BASIC Spectrum Sinclair

note: NO overclocking!

akI

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
« Reply #2 on: 02-March-13, 16:56:22 »

With so many components and shared resources, you are gambling with IORQs and I/O addressing space.
Mmmhmm i dont thought about getting interrupts, MSI is offering the board with that configration/features and if there is one user out who try to use the board near to the fullest it should of course work or not?!

What is the purpose of your build anyway?
Well im a musician and need a lot of storage ;-)

Why do you need GTX 680
Thats for sure only for gaming  :hypocrite:

64GB RAM
Got it new and very cheap (VERY!!)

and 3 sound cards
Like i say im a musician

And why do you need 7 HDDs

Also for store all samples and that stuff
Logged

RemusM

  • Memory Expert
  • LIEUTENANT COLONEL
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1915
    • Necromanthus
« Reply #3 on: 02-March-13, 17:12:34 »

Well im a musician and need a lot of storage ;-)
Like i say im a musician

I work with sound processing since DOS 5.0 and I did never waste my money in this way.
Get rid of those 3 sound cards, because you need only one. Buy a GREAT one!
Get rid of those 7 HDDs, because you need only 2-3.
Buy two 128-256GB SSDs for the OSs (Win XP/7/8 installations can share the same SSD) and 2x2TB to store other files.
With 64GB RAM you'll get into stability issues sooner or later. You don't need more than 32GB.
That GTX 680 (to play games) is not suitable for a working computer.
If you mix things, you'll end up with mixed results.
 :beerchug:
Logged

Mainboard: HC85
Processor: Zilog Z80 3.5MHz
System RAM: 48KB
Video RAM: 16KB (only 6912 bytes are used for Pixel Shader effects)
Video Card: integrated (16 colors)
PSU: 5V/3A
OS: BASIC Spectrum Sinclair

note: NO overclocking!

akI

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
« Reply #4 on: 02-March-13, 17:53:02 »

Well i changed my RAM to my old 8GB Kit, disconnected all HDDs except my OS and only start with my GPU-Card.
There is no firewire available.
Same Problem with the PCI lanes (and im only testing with one soundcard)

It cant be the peripherals as im running now with the lowest i can :-)
Logged

RemusM

  • Memory Expert
  • LIEUTENANT COLONEL
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1915
    • Necromanthus
« Reply #5 on: 02-March-13, 18:01:52 »

Well i changed my RAM to my old 8GB Kit, disconnected all HDDs except my OS and only start with my GPU-Card.
There is no firewire available.
Same Problem with the PCI lanes (and im only testing with one soundcard)

It cant be the peripherals as im running now with the lowest i can :-)

Many soundcards are problematic.
Sometimes, if you change their PCI slot, you get rid of troubles.
Other times, you need to reserve their IORQ in BIOS (to force them to take another one).
As I said before, it's all about shared rersources (IORQs and I/O addressing space).
 :beerchug:
Logged

Mainboard: HC85
Processor: Zilog Z80 3.5MHz
System RAM: 48KB
Video RAM: 16KB (only 6912 bytes are used for Pixel Shader effects)
Video Card: integrated (16 colors)
PSU: 5V/3A
OS: BASIC Spectrum Sinclair

note: NO overclocking!

akI

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
« Reply #6 on: 03-March-13, 09:48:19 »

Good morning  :sleep:

yesterday i tested more and now i wanted to start the board with only 1 module 4GB Ram and 1 SATA (to install the OS) and my GTX680

Same problems with the PCI-Slots.

I tested all slots with exactly the same hardware:

Slot1: Boot
Slot2: dont boot errorcode "dE"
Slot3: Boot
Slot4: dont boot errorcode "dE"
Slot5: Boot
Slot6: dont boot errorcode "dE"
Slot7: Boot

Anyone know what the debug led output "dE" means?

Any other ideas how i can fix this?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5  All   Go Up