Close

Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How do you decode the S/N to find Manufacture Date?? (Z87 XPower/4790k issues)  (Read 12650 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

cwwade77Topic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10

Sorry that my first post is asking a noob question.  I searched, and found several posts where people decoded someone's S/N.  I even found the MSI page that explained it (I guess they explained it...)  I still don't understand it at all.

For instance, my S/N is 601-7811-010B1306092***.  I can tell that it was manufactured in 2013, but I have no idea when. 

I'm trying to determine if my mobo has the updated BIOS to allow it to be able to run the i7 4790k processor.  I bought both and built my computer, but it won't boot.  Won't even post.  I thought it was a DOA mobo but searching showed that an old BIOS may be the issue. 

I'm trying to find out because I'm searching for a used LGA 1150 socket processor to use to flash BIOS, and not having any luck.  If I'm going to spend $50 on a processor to use for an hour and throw away, I want to make sure that it will fix the issue!  lol

Thanks for the help, guys. 
Logged

badboy2k

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 8769

S/N is 601-7811-010B1306092 = Date is 13/06/09  making it 2013-June-09 as the format is YY/MM/DD (the date format used is Taiwanese as they are made in Taiwan)

BIOS VERSION: 1.0 - 2013-05-31 will be yours (that is what was available at the time yours came off the line next version wasn't out till 2013/08/08)

your CPU requires 1.5 - 2014-02-27 (maybe a shop or the reseller can update the BIOS for you or you can get a supported CPU if you have access to one and use that to Flash the BIOS)
Logged
OS: Windows7 professional SP1 64bit (OEM)
Motherboard: MSI 790FX-GD70 (bios 1.17) AM3
Processor:AMD phenom IIx4 955 black edition 3.2GHz processor(Clock speed of 4GHz)
Cooler: corsair H100 cooler
Ram: 16GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600MHz ram (2 dual channel kits model: CMP8GX3M2A1600C9) (underclocked at 1333MHz)
GPU: 1: MSI R7870 -2GD5T/OC @ 1155mhz , 2: MSI R7850-Twin Frozer 2GD5/OC @ 925mhz
PSU: Thermaltake tougthpower 1500W (+12v1 20A, +12v2 20A, +12v3 40A, +12v4 40A) (+12v1=20+4 connector, +12v2=CPU power, +12v3=PCI_E connections, +12v4 = molex+sata+PCI_E connectors  )
Extras: 1 x 4 port raid card (model SIL3114) ASUS Xonar Essence STX sound card PCI-E X1.

cwwade77Topic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10

AH!  Ok, thanks.  The MSI page confused me.  They had serial number 131209 and said "1312 represents manufacture year as 2013, subsequent 2 digits represent manufacture month as February)"  In reality it would be December 9th, 2013.

Chalk it up to translation I suppose.  :)

Yeah, I've crawled over craigslist, checked every computer I own and at my job, the closest I found was a processor with 1155 chipset.  I called 6 different repair shops today and none had one for sale or one they could use to flash my PC.  I'll call a few more, and search pawn shops for old PC's that may have one (I'd rather pay $75 for a whole PC I could resell or give to my daughter than I would pay $50 for a cpu I couldn't give away.)

If I have no luck, I'll just buy the processor, but it's irritating.  Considering the $40 rebate form that MSI seems to have lost, this mobo will cost me $90 more than it was supposed to.  I wish I'd found out before, and I would've gotten a different board, but it's a little late now (not worth the hassle of RMA'ing it).

I really appreciate the help.  I'll find a processor one way or another, then to try and figure out the flashing process.  Wish me luck!  :D
Logged

badboy2k

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 8769

you have another option too!

contact shops around you and ask them if they have a SPI Flash programming Service for BIOS updates!
Logged
OS: Windows7 professional SP1 64bit (OEM)
Motherboard: MSI 790FX-GD70 (bios 1.17) AM3
Processor:AMD phenom IIx4 955 black edition 3.2GHz processor(Clock speed of 4GHz)
Cooler: corsair H100 cooler
Ram: 16GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600MHz ram (2 dual channel kits model: CMP8GX3M2A1600C9) (underclocked at 1333MHz)
GPU: 1: MSI R7870 -2GD5T/OC @ 1155mhz , 2: MSI R7850-Twin Frozer 2GD5/OC @ 925mhz
PSU: Thermaltake tougthpower 1500W (+12v1 20A, +12v2 20A, +12v3 40A, +12v4 40A) (+12v1=20+4 connector, +12v2=CPU power, +12v3=PCI_E connections, +12v4 = molex+sata+PCI_E connectors  )
Extras: 1 x 4 port raid card (model SIL3114) ASUS Xonar Essence STX sound card PCI-E X1.

cwwade77Topic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10

I checked, they all said they couldn't do it.  :(
Logged

badboy2k

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 8769

ok so your left with 2 choices then!

1: get a hold of a LGA 1150 CPU off the support list that will work on 1.0 (7811v10.zip) from the support list http://uk.msi.com/support/mb/Z87-XPOWER.html#support-cpu
2: RMA it to MSI to get the BIOS flashed
Logged
OS: Windows7 professional SP1 64bit (OEM)
Motherboard: MSI 790FX-GD70 (bios 1.17) AM3
Processor:AMD phenom IIx4 955 black edition 3.2GHz processor(Clock speed of 4GHz)
Cooler: corsair H100 cooler
Ram: 16GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600MHz ram (2 dual channel kits model: CMP8GX3M2A1600C9) (underclocked at 1333MHz)
GPU: 1: MSI R7870 -2GD5T/OC @ 1155mhz , 2: MSI R7850-Twin Frozer 2GD5/OC @ 925mhz
PSU: Thermaltake tougthpower 1500W (+12v1 20A, +12v2 20A, +12v3 40A, +12v4 40A) (+12v1=20+4 connector, +12v2=CPU power, +12v3=PCI_E connections, +12v4 = molex+sata+PCI_E connectors  )
Extras: 1 x 4 port raid card (model SIL3114) ASUS Xonar Essence STX sound card PCI-E X1.

cwwade77Topic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10

Wow, thanks so much for posting that list.  I was about to buy a Celeron G1850 (available on Amazon Prime and I needed it asap), but that uses 7811v15.  I would've lost my mind!  haha.

Looks like it'll be a G3220 Pentium for $59.  :(

This is frustrating.  But thanks for the help.
Logged

badboy2k

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 8769

no problem!

I thought you may need help with that as the socket has alot of CPU's that have all differing BIOS versions needed and you get a wrong one you have to return it and wait to get yet another if that too is not supported!
Logged
OS: Windows7 professional SP1 64bit (OEM)
Motherboard: MSI 790FX-GD70 (bios 1.17) AM3
Processor:AMD phenom IIx4 955 black edition 3.2GHz processor(Clock speed of 4GHz)
Cooler: corsair H100 cooler
Ram: 16GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600MHz ram (2 dual channel kits model: CMP8GX3M2A1600C9) (underclocked at 1333MHz)
GPU: 1: MSI R7870 -2GD5T/OC @ 1155mhz , 2: MSI R7850-Twin Frozer 2GD5/OC @ 925mhz
PSU: Thermaltake tougthpower 1500W (+12v1 20A, +12v2 20A, +12v3 40A, +12v4 40A) (+12v1=20+4 connector, +12v2=CPU power, +12v3=PCI_E connections, +12v4 = molex+sata+PCI_E connectors  )
Extras: 1 x 4 port raid card (model SIL3114) ASUS Xonar Essence STX sound card PCI-E X1.

cwwade77Topic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10

Huzzah!  It's alive, it's alive! 

Thanks for all the help.  Now I've got some playin' to do.
Logged

badboy2k

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 8769

well done! have fun and thank you for reporting back!

just one question! what CPU did you get to flash the board?
Logged
OS: Windows7 professional SP1 64bit (OEM)
Motherboard: MSI 790FX-GD70 (bios 1.17) AM3
Processor:AMD phenom IIx4 955 black edition 3.2GHz processor(Clock speed of 4GHz)
Cooler: corsair H100 cooler
Ram: 16GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600MHz ram (2 dual channel kits model: CMP8GX3M2A1600C9) (underclocked at 1333MHz)
GPU: 1: MSI R7870 -2GD5T/OC @ 1155mhz , 2: MSI R7850-Twin Frozer 2GD5/OC @ 925mhz
PSU: Thermaltake tougthpower 1500W (+12v1 20A, +12v2 20A, +12v3 40A, +12v4 40A) (+12v1=20+4 connector, +12v2=CPU power, +12v3=PCI_E connections, +12v4 = molex+sata+PCI_E connectors  )
Extras: 1 x 4 port raid card (model SIL3114) ASUS Xonar Essence STX sound card PCI-E X1.

cwwade77Topic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10

I got the Pentium G3220.

And I may not have been as successful as I thought.  Things are acting strangely.  For instance:

1. The WiFi initially saw all the available networks but wouldn't connect. Checking for issues found that drivers may not be responding correctly. I repaired the drivers and it wouldn't find any networks at all. So I uninstalled the drivers and reinstalled from scratch and it still won't find them.

2. Killen LAN drivers are installed, but it acts like they're not (I think I remember seeing a post about that so I'm going to check for it.)

3. My BluRay burner drive works every other restart. It's so weird, it'll work. Then I restart and it won't. Restart again and it's there.  It's ALWAYS every other restart.

So I think I did something wrong.  I reinstalled the ME drivers from the MSI cd and not from the board post, so I'm thinking that may be it.  I'll try installing those first thing this evening.
Logged

badboy2k

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 8769

what BIOS version did you install?
Logged
OS: Windows7 professional SP1 64bit (OEM)
Motherboard: MSI 790FX-GD70 (bios 1.17) AM3
Processor:AMD phenom IIx4 955 black edition 3.2GHz processor(Clock speed of 4GHz)
Cooler: corsair H100 cooler
Ram: 16GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600MHz ram (2 dual channel kits model: CMP8GX3M2A1600C9) (underclocked at 1333MHz)
GPU: 1: MSI R7870 -2GD5T/OC @ 1155mhz , 2: MSI R7850-Twin Frozer 2GD5/OC @ 925mhz
PSU: Thermaltake tougthpower 1500W (+12v1 20A, +12v2 20A, +12v3 40A, +12v4 40A) (+12v1=20+4 connector, +12v2=CPU power, +12v3=PCI_E connections, +12v4 = molex+sata+PCI_E connectors  )
Extras: 1 x 4 port raid card (model SIL3114) ASUS Xonar Essence STX sound card PCI-E X1.

cwwade77Topic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10

E7811IMS.181
Logged

cwwade77Topic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
Logged

cwwade77Topic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10

Well, now I'm confused. I flashed my BIOS back to 7811.15 (the last full release).  I completely wiped my RAID, recreated it and reinstalled windows. This time I installed the correct ME drivers and everything seems to be working better. Better, but not great.

My wifi still doesn't work, but at least it now recognizes networks. It won't connect to them, but it sees them. Wifi isn't mission critical for me, so I'm not that upset by it. A little frustrating for a board this price, but not the end of the world.

My ASMedia sata ports seem to be...iffy.  My bluray burner is connected to those and it gets disconnected every other reboot.  Hopefully I'll figure it out, those SATA parts are essential to my machine.

At least the wired LAN is working correctly. 

Thanks to all of you for your help (directly and indirectly). I couldn't have done it without you guys.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up