Close

Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MSI Cubi N - Second RAM slot not working?  (Read 1918 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

horschdwareTopic starter

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
MSI Cubi N - Second RAM slot not working?
« on: 19-October-16, 11:46:02 »

Hello,
I hope this is the correct subforum for this topic:
I just bought a Cubi N mini Computer with standard 2 GB RAM. My intention was to upgrade to 4 GB RAM using a Crucial CT25664BF160B 2 GB RAM Module DDR3L 1600 1.35V CL11.
Unfortunately the system won't POST with this setup. In order to rule out defective RAM I inserted the Crucial module into slot 1, leaving slot 2 empty. System starts up normally.
Having the stock 2 GB RAM module in slot 1 and leaving slot 2 empty also leads to normal startup.
As soon as both slots are used the system won't POST.

From my understanding two different types of RAM modules should be ok, as long as no dual channel is attempted and as long as clocking matches.

What is my error here? Is there something I missed?

I hope someone here can help me out
- Stefan
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 73871
Re: MSI Cubi N - Second RAM slot not working?
« Reply #1 on: 19-October-16, 19:02:57 »

what is your cubi BIOS version?
do you use the latest BIOS for it?
Logged

Yang

  • AIO Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1427
Re: MSI Cubi N - Second RAM slot not working?
« Reply #2 on: 19-October-16, 19:13:18 »

Don't use two different types of RAM module.
Maybe ths specification is different for this two different types of RAM module.
Logged

horschdwareTopic starter

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: MSI Cubi N - Second RAM slot not working?
« Reply #3 on: 20-October-16, 01:55:44 »

I am using
BIOS-Version EB120IMS.800
Build Date 26.10.2015
TXE FW Version 02.00.00.2073
which seems to be the latest available BIOS version for the Cubi N.
On german forums someone came up with a link showing that I am not the only person experiencing this kind of problem.
It seems the Cubi N does not like a setup with two different kinds of RAM modules.


Crosspost https://forum-de.msi.com/index.php/topic,110993.0.html
Logged

Yang

  • AIO Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1427
Re: MSI Cubi N - Second RAM slot not working?
« Reply #4 on: 20-October-16, 19:21:25 »

You are used incorrect way for installing.
Don't use two different type of RAM module.
Plesae use the same RMA together fot installing.
Logged

horschdwareTopic starter

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: MSI Cubi N - Second RAM slot not working?
« Reply #5 on: 24-October-16, 07:27:50 »

I bought another Crucial RAM module.
Now the system does start with two modules installed.

Still I do not understand, why it did not work with two different modules that shared the same specifications.
Logged

Nichrome

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17689
Re: MSI Cubi N - Second RAM slot not working?
« Reply #6 on: 24-October-16, 08:45:08 »

Hi

Mixing RAM is a bad practice.
On standard desktops, issues might occur but not necessarily.
On such devices that use SODIMM RAM (notebook sized RAM) it seems to not like mixing at all, so issues occur.

Best is to buy a single kit of 2x 4GB (or whatever you like). If it would have 4 slots for RAM, then a single kit of 4x 4GB.
Logged
I only take responsibility for what I say, not for what you understand.  Any posts are my own views!

Errors are red, My screen is blue .I think I deleted, System32.
99% of issues would be solved if people would read the manual first.

Svet

  • T9246ED
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 73871
Re: MSI Cubi N - Second RAM slot not working?
« Reply #7 on: 24-October-16, 10:57:30 »

Still I do not understand, why it did not work with two different modules that shared the same specifications.

because they are not exactly the same, therefor are not guaranteed to works together
even if they are same brand with same specs, they still may not works together,
if they are not a matched pairs (kit), memory chips revisions are also changed between versions and can cause issues,
also a differernt SPD programing can cause issues and so on
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up