Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MSI 970 WON'T POST showing B6 code  (Read 145 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

bradford_ricardoTopic starter

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
MSI 970 WON'T POST showing B6 code
« on: 09-January-18, 02:56:59 »

Hey, guys. So I built this machine back in 2015 and it worked fine for two years until last summer I stored it away while I packed the house to move. When I get to the new house and boot it up it boots just fine the first four or five times. Then, the next time I try to boot and it won't post. Not even a BIOS. All I get is a black screen with B6 code in the lower right corner. Any advice would be great. 

My setup is:
MSI 970 AMD FX-6300 Vishera 6-core 3.5g AM3+ 95W

EVGA GeForce GT740 4GB PCI Express 3.0 x16

GSkill 8 GBx2 F3-2133C10D DDR3

Seagate HDD ST3000DM001 3TB 64MB SATA 3.5"

Sandisk 2.5" 128GB SATA III SSD

Pioneer BDC-207DBK DVD/Blu-Ray

CoolMax ZU Series 500W 80plus Bronze ATI Crossfire SLI

ASUS VX238H-W 23" 1ms HDMI LED
Logged

shalala

  • FIRST LIEUTENANT
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 261
« Reply #1 on: 09-January-18, 09:34:58 »

Can you try clearing CMOS?
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 69503
« Reply #2 on: 10-January-18, 02:01:59 »

verify all data cables and power cables for your storages,
some cable is probably out or not making a good contact,
while the 2nd is plugged. (i.e: data cable out, power missing or opposite: power connected, data cable not)
Logged

bradford_ricardoTopic starter

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
« Reply #3 on: 11-January-18, 21:45:18 »

Okay, I found out that my USB 3.0 DATA was loose so I reconnected it.Thanks, Svet.  Now I'm not getting any codes but I'm getting a blinking command prompt that looks like this ( _ ). It's on a black screen. What do you guys think that means?
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 69503
« Reply #4 on: 11-January-18, 21:47:42 »

means computer is trying to boot from non bootable storage
verify and check the boot order priority in bios setup and make 1st boot storage the one who contain your OS
Logged

bradford_ricardoTopic starter

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
« Reply #5 on: 11-January-18, 21:51:09 »

So, do I have to clear my CMOS like shalala suggested? How else do I get to BIOS from black screen?
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 69503
« Reply #6 on: 11-January-18, 21:52:04 »

yes clear the CMOS, see >>Clear CMOS Guide<<


Quote
How else do I get to BIOS from black screen?

reboot the computer and press Del to enter in bios setup
Logged

bradford_ricardoTopic starter

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
« Reply #7 on: 11-January-18, 21:56:31 »

Thanks, guys. I'll try this later and let you know how it goes.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up