Close

Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: 1 2 [3]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: AMD AM4 Ryzen Overclocking Guide (X370 and B350)  (Read 55353 times)

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

darkhawkTopic starter

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10854
« Reply #100 on: 28-September-17, 10:28:05 »

Oh i almost forgot a question. I can't find any offset changing at the Voltages, i can just put fixed voltages, is it normal ' Thanks.

MSI hasn't implemented any 'offset' or 'adaptive' voltage settings for the AM4 series.

If you want a mode similar to that, your best option is to leave it set to AUTO.
Otherwise, set a static voltage and that's it.
Logged

mmosrc

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
« Reply #101 on: 28-September-17, 10:29:13 »

Good to know, thanks!
Logged

kaarelvirroja

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
« Reply #102 on: 03-October-17, 06:58:01 »

Did MSI change something with latest BIOS updates?
Default MB boost gives only 3.6 Ghz but previously it was 3.8.
Logged

gu.munoz

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
« Reply #103 on: 13-October-17, 01:35:29 »

Hey Guys,

I think my CPU is a very bad overclocker, I set the CPU voltage as 1.38v as in this post and I try the multipler 38 - to of course get 3800 mhz - when I hit F10 and save - I get a instant lock up and the system does not boot up - so I have to clear the CMOS - anyone got a similar case? my CPU in general runs around 3.6-3.7 and XFR at 3.9 sometimes, In other thread a saw a guy with the same mobo facing the same problem - whenever he set the multipler to anything else than auto - he has the same behavior

Regards,
Gustavo Muñoz
Logged

gu.munoz

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
« Reply #104 on: 16-October-17, 17:18:22 »

Hello Guys,

Note sure how to edit my last message - I could get it stable the 1500X@3.9 vCore: 1.3875v and RAM @2933 (v1.36) @16-18-18-18 - it not stable @ 3200 and 3.9 so it leads to the black screen after saving in BIOS :)
 - the best CINEBENCH score was 839 - with default (3.5 and 3200) it was 739 - so I prefer this configuration than stock.

Regards,
Gustavo Muñoz
Logged

haunter528

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
« Reply #105 on: 09-November-17, 22:25:29 »

It's my first time OC any PC. I have the x370 Gaming Pro Carbon and a Ryzen 1800x. I have try using Command Center from MSI and a little after I applied the changes to reach 4.0 GHz the screen goes black, mouse and keyboard stop responding and I have to hit the power button and turn on again, when I get back to windows I am back at 3.6 Ghz. Also I have try the application from AMD. I have up on both applications and try the BIOS option, I set the speed to 3.8Ghz and volt to 1.3 or 1.4 and reboot and nothing, I am not able to get into the BIOS, I see the LED from the motherboard but nothing. I have to remove the power cable and BIOS battery to start the PC again, I have try speeds of 3.8 and 4.0 with voltage of 1.3 and 1.4. Any help or recommendations would be highly appreciated.
Drivers are up to date. Any additional information that you need to know, ask me.

Thanks!
Logged

darkhawkTopic starter

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10854
« Reply #106 on: 09-November-17, 23:57:49 »

It's my first time OC any PC. I have the x370 Gaming Pro Carbon and a Ryzen 1800x. I have try using Command Center from MSI and a little after I applied the changes to reach 4.0 GHz the screen goes black, mouse and keyboard stop responding and I have to hit the power button and turn on again, when I get back to windows I am back at 3.6 Ghz. Also I have try the application from AMD. I have up on both applications and try the BIOS option, I set the speed to 3.8Ghz and volt to 1.3 or 1.4 and reboot and nothing, I am not able to get into the BIOS, I see the LED from the motherboard but nothing. I have to remove the power cable and BIOS battery to start the PC again, I have try speeds of 3.8 and 4.0 with voltage of 1.3 and 1.4. Any help or recommendations would be highly appreciated.
Drivers are up to date. Any additional information that you need to know, ask me.

Thanks!

Not every CPU is going to do great overclocking. Some do well, some don't. You might have gotten a CPU that can't overclock well.
Logged

cadientebenson

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
« Reply #107 on: 10-November-17, 03:07:09 »

Thank you for this detailed OC guide.. Ill overclock my R5 1600 as soon as i get my liquid cooling. This may be stupid question but just wanna ask if the CPU will run at the max speed all the time when you OC it? Kinda worried about power consumption if it does. or is there a setting that can make it run at lower clocks when not using it and it will just boost to max OC speed when needed?
Logged

nesty1990

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
« Reply #108 on: 10-November-17, 18:48:49 »

Thank you for this detailed OC guide.. Ill overclock my R5 1600 as soon as i get my liquid cooling. This may be stupid question but just wanna ask if the CPU will run at the max speed all the time when you OC it? Kinda worried about power consumption if it does. or is there a setting that can make it run at lower clocks when not using it and it will just boost to max OC speed when needed?

it is CnQ (Cool´n´Quiet) ... but here is the catch, since MSI motherboards do not have offset/adaptive mode, CnQ will be disabled if you change your vCore to any other value than auto...
On the other hand, core C6 state will still be enabled so idle power consumption wont be much higher, it is only 3-6W more than default settings on my system...

i personally OC´ed memory through the bios and CPU through the Ryzen Master to keep CnQ running to avoid temp spikes (and fan rpm spikes) with help of windows power plans and little utility called Full Throttle Override....
Logged
MSI B350 Tomahawk
AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.7 GHz 1.225V
EKWB Supremacy EVO, 2x240mm rad, EK-SPC
Corsair CMK16GX4M2B3000C15
Samsung SM961 128GB NVme
Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
Sapphire RX470 Nitro+ 4GB
Corsair RM550x

cadientebenson

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
« Reply #109 on: 11-November-17, 03:17:17 »

it is CnQ (Cool´n´Quiet) ... but here is the catch, since MSI motherboards do not have offset/adaptive mode, CnQ will be disabled if you change your vCore to any other value than auto...
On the other hand, core C6 state will still be enabled so idle power consumption wont be much higher, it is only 3-6W more than default settings on my system...

i personally OC´ed memory through the bios and CPU through the Ryzen Master to keep CnQ running to avoid temp spikes (and fan rpm spikes) with help of windows power plans and little utility called Full Throttle Override....


I was browsing on tomshardware and i read that you can just re enable the cool n quiet when your OC is stable? Is this really okay?
Logged

crazyclicker

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
« Reply #110 on: 12-November-17, 10:41:03 »

Guys, can you please help me with keeping fans on a normal rate after I've set ram to XMP2 profile with 3000mhz frequency on B350 carbon.

As it mentioned in try it! section mb increases fan speed after 2750mhz, but in my case it's really not necessary as CPU temp dont get higher that 33C. And fans get reeeeealy loud.
Logged

darkhawkTopic starter

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10854
« Reply #111 on: 12-November-17, 20:08:46 »

Guys, can you please help me with keeping fans on a normal rate after I've set ram to XMP2 profile with 3000mhz frequency on B350 carbon.

As it mentioned in try it! section mb increases fan speed after 2750mhz, but in my case it's really not necessary as CPU temp dont get higher that 33C. And fans get reeeeealy loud.

Setup your XMP2 settings. Save. Reboot. Go back into the BIOS, then change the fan settings, save, reboot and that should fix it.

If you follow that procedure the fan settings should stay properly.
Logged

crazyclicker

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
« Reply #112 on: 12-November-17, 20:48:22 »

Setup your XMP2 settings. Save. Reboot. Go back into the BIOS, then change the fan settings, save, reboot and that should fix it.

If you follow that procedure the fan settings should stay properly.

Thanks! It did the trick, but settings being auto changed each time I visit OC tab, so I guess fan settings should be the last to configure.

Also a question about memory: XMP2 profile states 3000mhz with 15 CAS but in fact sets 2933 and 16. Should I stay on profile and alter voltages or should I manually set frequency and latency? 
Btw it's only me who dont have 3000mhz option in manual setup but only 3066? =)
Logged

carlo.muzzolon

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
« Reply #113 on: 11-December-17, 21:01:24 »

Today I read around the web many guides, posts, messages of any kind, saying that leaving VCore on "Auto" results in a uselessly high voltage (far higher than necessary).
Tonight I made my first attempt: I set 3.7 GHz (I want maximum stability), and VCore on "Auto". Well, voltage and frequence scaling work flawlessly, and maximum voltage reached is 1,272, that seems perfect to me.

Did MSI change anything with one of the last bios? At the moment, I wouldn't see any benefit in setting a fixed voltage.
Logged

stefan.bielza

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
« Reply #114 on: 16-December-17, 23:50:49 »

My 1500x 3,9ghz at 1.36v on a b350 gaming pro carbon
Logged

Alan Slade

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
« Reply #115 on: 29-December-17, 08:27:15 »

Good morning everyone.
I recently built a 1700x pc with a Msi Gaming Pro Carbon Mobo.
I would like to know why, if I set the XMP to Profile 2, on top of the screen the speed remains at 2133 mhz, when instead in grey is written 3200 mhz (which is correct, as I have Ripjaws 3200 mhz). In the link you can see the image.
Thanks in advance
Logged

magxedin46

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
« Reply #116 on: 14-January-18, 15:55:37 »

Hello guys!
Is it ok to ask a question in this topic or should everyone start a separate topic?
Ihave b350 msi tomahawk + ryzen 1700 + corsair vengence ddr4 2*8 3200
By default it shows both in bios and windows 2133mhz. I tryed setting XMP profile @3200, it results in one boot with 3200 freq, and afterwards it shows both in Bios and in widonws 2133, though still showing as if XMP isactive in bios.
Next  i tried setting another XMP (its 3066 for me), and it works and doesnt drop back to 2133, but now PC starts from 2-4 times (like i push start button it coolers start working then aftert 5 seconds everything goes silent and then starts again).
1) why starting from several attempts happens? How to fix it?
2) why only 3066 works and 3200 doesnt even try?
3) Should i try instead of XMP "try it" mode?

Hope you can help, and this topic is still being read by someone who knows whats up, thank you
Logged

BErgao

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
« Reply #117 on: 11-February-18, 10:35:19 »

I flashed the new bios for my mainboard MSI B350 PC Mate. Why I can't put the CPU voltage below 1.3V? Why is this locked in the new bios 7A34vAA??????

https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/support/B350-PC-MATE
Logged

darkhawkTopic starter

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10854
« Reply #118 on: 11-February-18, 14:53:39 »

I flashed the new bios for my mainboard MSI B350 PC Mate. Why I can't put the CPU voltage below 1.3V? Why is this locked in the new bios 7A34vAA??????

https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/support/B350-PC-MATE

That's a limitation MSI has instituted. *WE* (ie the moderation team) doesn't know why they instituted this, but that's the way it is.
If it's a huge problem, contact MSI directly via : >>How to contact MSI.<<
Logged

pablocol

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
« Reply #119 on: 17-February-18, 13:23:40 »

Hello guys, i want to make a small comment about the new BIOS UPDATE 7A34v1C.
With the 7A34v19 Bios update i was able to reach 4.0 ghz stable at 1.362v, rock solid, With the new bios update my cpu can not handle 3.9 stable at 1.38. This is not a good stuff because with time, the MSI tomahawk was furbishing incompatibilities that came up with the Ryzen platform. But one year later MSI had an regression with memory compatibility.

Recommendation, ir u are not using an APU, do not Update Bios until they fix this.

TY for reading.
Logged

pablocol

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
« Reply #120 on: 17-February-18, 13:25:41 »

I flashed the new bios for my mainboard MSI B350 PC Mate. Why I can't put the CPU voltage below 1.3V? Why is this locked in the new bios 7A34vAA??????

https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/support/B350-PC-MATE
Did u fix that?

I would try it manual. Maybe is the bios.
Logged

BoutTime

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
« Reply #121 on: 20-February-18, 17:56:28 »

Personally I prefer he new Bios and here's why. From what I read you can't set manual vcore for anything below 1.3v. For that, you have to use Auto. The motherboard will then provide the correct voltage (up to 1.3v) with the added benefit that it will down volt when the CPU is idle.
Previously my R7 1700 would only run at 3.6Ghz maximum using Auto voltage (1.214v). To get 3.7 I'd have had to use manual voltage as Auto voltage wouldn't go high enough. I didn't want to use manual voltage as I don't want a constant 24/7 higher vcore.
But now with the latest bios Auto Voltage will go as high as 1.3v meaning I can run 3.7Ghz and the voltage will still decrease when the CPU is idle. So for me it's much, much better. Possibly MSI have realised after 10 months that it is perfectly ok to allow the motherboard to supply up to 1.3v whereas previously they were more cautious.

One very important thing to note though. After updating the BIOS my previous 3.6Ghz overclock wasn't stable anymore. Then my overclock profile would not restore as it apparently wasn't compatible with the new BIOS. I had to reset the CMOS. So I started afresh and that's when I figured out that the Auto Voltage setting now supplies a higher voltage effectively allowing a higher overclock.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3]  All   Go Up