Close

Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8   Go Down

Author Topic: MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon Beta Bios  (Read 59073 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

nonamelab

  • STAFF SERGEANT
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 53
« Reply #300 on: 12-March-18, 14:52:04 »

There is no way to reliably flash back. Which is why MSI hasn't released anything publicly.
Any of the ways that were posted come with a much higher risk of bricking the board and needing to send it back to MSI.

https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/support/X370-GAMING-PRO-CARBON#down-bios
Version 7A32v1E
Release Date 2018-03-09
File Size 10.05 MB

- Improved memory compatibility.
- Improved PCIE device compatibility.
- Update AGESA Code 1.0.0.1a to support new upcoming processors.

Is AGESA Code 1.0.0.1a a downgrade from AGESA Code 1.1.0.1 in previous official bios 7A32v1C ? After numbering it seems so..
Logged
X370 XPower Gaming Titanium - E7A31AMS.1D2 | AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @Stock | G.Skill F4-3200C16-32GTZR (Hynix H5AN8G8NAFR-TFC) 32GB (4x8GB) @2933Mhz XMP Profile 1
Seasonic X-750W 2010 | Asus Strix 380 2GB | 256GB 960 EVO M.2 , 1TB Crucial MX300 M.2 , 120GB 840 EVO , 2 x 1TB WD Blue HDD | Windows 7 x64 :>

Nichrome

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14888
« Reply #301 on: 12-March-18, 15:24:14 »

Hard to tell.. It's AMD's version naming after all and we have no info about it.
I'd suggest you ask MSI directly: >>How to contact MSI.<<
Logged
I only take responsibility for what I say, not for what you understand.  Any posts are my own views!

darkhawk

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11126
« Reply #302 on: 12-March-18, 15:54:29 »

As best as I can tell, it's a typo on the website.

It appears to have AGESA 1.1.0.1, according to the notes that are available to us.
Logged
MSI GS73VR 6RF
I7 6700HQ
16 GB DDR4
GTX1060 6GB

MSI X370 SLI Plus
Ryzen 5 1500X
16 GB DDR4
R9 290X
GTX1050Ti

nonamelab

  • STAFF SERGEANT
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 53
« Reply #303 on: 12-March-18, 16:34:36 »

Guess the typo is also in the bios file ;> But never mind that , comparing older version 7A32v1C to 7A32v1E i see that in Advanced DRAM Configuration the tRCPAGE has now a value of 1024 from 0 in older BIOS. The fun part is the Help String : tRCPAGE is SRRAM optional Features (tMAW,MAC). Range:0~1023 T :> This could be the reason for memory problems people are having here with newer bios.

Logged
X370 XPower Gaming Titanium - E7A31AMS.1D2 | AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @Stock | G.Skill F4-3200C16-32GTZR (Hynix H5AN8G8NAFR-TFC) 32GB (4x8GB) @2933Mhz XMP Profile 1
Seasonic X-750W 2010 | Asus Strix 380 2GB | 256GB 960 EVO M.2 , 1TB Crucial MX300 M.2 , 120GB 840 EVO , 2 x 1TB WD Blue HDD | Windows 7 x64 :>

er.particlecannon

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
« Reply #304 on: 13-March-18, 14:15:58 »

Anyone else having issues with Virtualbox using the new 1E BIOS?
Logged

virus-atl

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
« Reply #305 on: 13-March-18, 16:01:49 »

Anyone else having issues with Virtualbox using the new 1E BIOS?

Yes. Load after 5-7 retries.  Freezing if load VM.
Logged

nesty1990

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 28
« Reply #306 on: 13-March-18, 19:03:57 »

As best as I can tell, it's a typo on the website.

It appears to have AGESA 1.1.0.1, according to the notes that are available to us.

actually agesa pinnaclePI 1.0.0.1a is newer than summitPI 1.1.0.1 :D

my old 990FX board ran on agesa orochiPI 1.2.9.0 which is definetly not newer ...

i hope you see the point, higher number doesn´t mean it is newer...
Logged
MSI B350 Tomahawk
AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.85 GHz 1.3V
EK Supremacy EVO, 2x240mm rad, EK-D5
Corsair CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 @ 3000 15-17-17-35 1T
Samsung SM961 128GB NVme
Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
Sapphire RX470 Nitro+ 4GB
Corsair RM550x

http://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/7789236

darkhawk

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11126
« Reply #307 on: 13-March-18, 19:39:15 »

actually agesa pinnaclePI 1.0.0.1a is newer than summitPI 1.1.0.1 :D

my old 990FX board ran on agesa orochiPI 1.2.9.0 which is definetly not newer ...

i hope you see the point, higher number doesn´t mean it is newer...

It's possible, unfortunately the BIOS notes available to us at this time aren't even updated.

If it is PinnaclePi, sure.
But if it's not and is still RavenPi (ps RavenPi is 1.1.0.1, not SummitPi.....).

Either way, the AGESA code is pretty irrelevant at this time. No processors that require PinnaclePi are available, and honestly, the SummitPi BIOS's were probably the best released for this board.
Logged
MSI GS73VR 6RF
I7 6700HQ
16 GB DDR4
GTX1060 6GB

MSI X370 SLI Plus
Ryzen 5 1500X
16 GB DDR4
R9 290X
GTX1050Ti

nesty1990

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 28
« Reply #308 on: 13-March-18, 21:56:25 »

well as far as i know agesa itself is bootsrap protocol and it contains microcode for all generations of cpus of the same family, 
this is why same motherboard with same bios version should display one microcode version in cpu specifications with let´s say 2200g installed and another with 1800x installed.

Naming current agesa pinnaclePI does not mean that there is no newly patched microcode for summit ridge. Both AMD and Intel have been patching microcode for older generations years after release, fixing neverending line of errata and improving performance.

I wrote this because I noticed slightly lower cache latencies (l2 actually by 10 percent, other two marginally) after updating to 1.0.0.1a (summit ridge µcode 0x8001136h) which should help in latency sensitive applications ;-))
Logged
MSI B350 Tomahawk
AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.85 GHz 1.3V
EK Supremacy EVO, 2x240mm rad, EK-D5
Corsair CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 @ 3000 15-17-17-35 1T
Samsung SM961 128GB NVme
Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
Sapphire RX470 Nitro+ 4GB
Corsair RM550x

http://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/7789236

kacperkrolik99

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
« Reply #309 on: 17-March-18, 11:08:27 »

Sorry but only I have really long POST and flashing white bar??
Logged

kacperkrolik99

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
« Reply #310 on: 17-March-18, 11:12:31 »

Sorry but only I have really long POST and flashing white bar on new BIOS?
Logged

ZjemCiKolege

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
« Reply #311 on: 17-March-18, 17:28:45 »

@up
No any problem
Logged

kacperkrolik99

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
« Reply #312 on: 17-March-18, 17:50:32 »

I have Ryzen 1700 and this mobo and when i press power buttom i have in the up left corner flashing white bar and it's flashing for a long time after that i have standard MSI logo with car and system starting normally. In previous BIOS I don't have that, so it's strange, but I can't go to previous BIOS because M-Flash is locked :(
Logged

makar0niasty

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
« Reply #313 on: 18-March-18, 17:01:24 »

hmm a question - anybody has any idea why does the latest Bios 7A32v1E released on 09/03/2018 claims to be incompatible with Win  7? That's some joke on MSI side ?
Logged

darkhawk

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11126
« Reply #314 on: 18-March-18, 20:39:24 »

hmm a question - anybody has any idea why does the latest Bios 7A32v1E released on 09/03/2018 claims to be incompatible with Win  7? That's some joke on MSI side ?

No idea. But generally speaking, Ryzen isn't made to work with Win7.
And honestly, at this point, there's no reason to continue lagging back using Windows 7.

And yes, I know it 'can' work, but not without 'making' it work.
Logged
MSI GS73VR 6RF
I7 6700HQ
16 GB DDR4
GTX1060 6GB

MSI X370 SLI Plus
Ryzen 5 1500X
16 GB DDR4
R9 290X
GTX1050Ti

phrost

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
« Reply #315 on: 19-March-18, 13:43:50 »

Are there any positive field reports with the latest BIOS? Has memory compatibility truly improved with the common 3200mhz RAM kit everyone here has? Corsair C16?
Logged
Motherboard    msi x370 pro gaming carbon
Processor    amd ryzen 1600x/corsair h100i v2
Memory    corsair vengeance lpx CMK16GX4M2B3200C16W
Video Card # 1    evga 1080ti ftw3
Video Card # 2    evga 1070ti ftw2
Hard Drive # 1    750gb
Power Supply    cooler master v750
Case    corsair crystal 460x
Monitor    Acer XB271HU
Operating System    windows 10 64 bit

liviut2003

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
« Reply #316 on: 19-March-18, 18:38:33 »

I am using the latest 1E and i am happy to say my corsairs that are rated at 3000 and 15-17-17-35 works like a charm at 2933-14-16-16-34.
My opinion 1C and 1E are one of the best bioses for memory on ryzen.
Logged

julianphilipp

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
« Reply #317 on: 19-March-18, 23:52:00 »

1C improved stable memory speed/timings by a lot, 1E just brought the fantastic memory/cache speed bug...
I'm using the most common Corsair 3200MHz CL16 Kit (2x8GB) and with 1C and 1E it runs stable at 3200MHz 16-17-17-17-30 1T.
Logged

jamin280672Topic starter

  • STAFF SERGEANT
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
« Reply #318 on: 20-March-18, 16:13:05 »

1C improved stable memory speed/timings by a lot, 1E just brought the fantastic memory/cache speed bug...
I'm using the most common Corsair 3200MHz CL16 Kit (2x8GB) and with 1C and 1E it runs stable at 3200MHz 16-17-17-17-30 1T.



Can I back flash to 1C from 1E ? getting strange behaviour, hating it, 1E is more like a beta
Logged

julianphilipp

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
« Reply #319 on: 20-March-18, 16:31:47 »

As far as I know flashing back isn't possible any more. But I didn't tried it personally...
Logged

MLipfert

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
« Reply #320 on: 20-March-18, 20:11:08 »

Here is a german manual how to downgrade the BIOS via EFI flasher. It should be easy translateable via Google Translator if needed. Registered users can download the full package which is needed for flashing directly from that forum. The main post contains the parameter list which is absolutely necessary to successfully downgrade the BIOS.
Logged

phrost

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
« Reply #321 on: 20-March-18, 21:23:04 »

So I only did a short memtest64 and played some ass creed but my rig seems to be pretty stable with the latest 1E BIOS.

I have the same ram kit a lot of the people here do (corsair 3200 C16) and a ryzen 1600x. All I did was enable game boost mode and XMP2. The ram is running at the rated 3200mhz speed, the cpu is at 3800mhz and vcore doesn't seem to go much higher than 1.36v. All in all i'm pretty happy with these results.
Logged
Motherboard    msi x370 pro gaming carbon
Processor    amd ryzen 1600x/corsair h100i v2
Memory    corsair vengeance lpx CMK16GX4M2B3200C16W
Video Card # 1    evga 1080ti ftw3
Video Card # 2    evga 1070ti ftw2
Hard Drive # 1    750gb
Power Supply    cooler master v750
Case    corsair crystal 460x
Monitor    Acer XB271HU
Operating System    windows 10 64 bit

Nichrome

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14888
« Reply #322 on: 20-March-18, 21:33:48 »

Here is a german manual how to downgrade the BIOS via EFI flasher. It should be easy translateable via Google Translator if needed. Registered users can download the full package which is needed for flashing directly from that forum. The main post contains the parameter list which is absolutely necessary to successfully downgrade the BIOS.
Obviously you are aware, that on this forum, and MSI itself, does not support downgrading of AM4 BIOS. Right? If things go wrong, you are on your own.
Logged
I only take responsibility for what I say, not for what you understand.  Any posts are my own views!

darkhawk

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11126
« Reply #323 on: 20-March-18, 22:49:11 »

Here is a german manual how to downgrade the BIOS via EFI flasher. It should be easy translateable via Google Translator if needed. Registered users can download the full package which is needed for flashing directly from that forum. The main post contains the parameter list which is absolutely necessary to successfully downgrade the BIOS.

And to follow-up Flobelix's statement.....we do not agree with the German forum either, nor do we help support it (in case you haven't noticed, they don't care, listen, or even follow any of the information that flows down from MSI's HQ....). If you downgrade and it messes up (last I tested, results were showing a 50% failure rate....another HUGE reason we haven't released a tool or info on how to directly do it), you'll have to spend your time there getting it corrected.
Logged
MSI GS73VR 6RF
I7 6700HQ
16 GB DDR4
GTX1060 6GB

MSI X370 SLI Plus
Ryzen 5 1500X
16 GB DDR4
R9 290X
GTX1050Ti

ollanketojo

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23
« Reply #324 on: 21-March-18, 20:56:31 »

I did manage to downgrade my Bios to 1C0 version, everything works now like it should. Memory bandwith is Ok. I'm gonna stay away New BIOSes until I'll get confirmstion that memory bandwith is fixed! Thx for the German MSI mods for great help!
Logged
Cosmos SE
Nexus RX 1000W PSU
MSI X370 Gaming Carbon Pro ( BIOS E7A32AMS.1B0 )
AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4GHz | Arctic Cooling Liquid Freeze 240 |
G.Skill 16GB (2x8GB), Trident Z, DDR4 3600MHz ( F4-3600C15D-16GTZ )
Samsung 960 EVO 256GB
INNO3D GTX 1080 @ 2151MHz / 10920MHz | Arctic Cooling Xtreme IV |
Windows 10 64Bit
Noctua Case Fans

nonamelab

  • STAFF SERGEANT
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 53
« Reply #325 on: 27-March-18, 18:29:19 »

hmm a question - anybody has any idea why does the latest Bios 7A32v1E released on 09/03/2018 claims to be incompatible with Win  7? That's some joke on MSI side ?
It's even better on the B350-TOMAHAWK : https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/support/B350-TOMAHAWK

Version 7A34v1G Release Date 2018-03-20 File Size 10.18 MB
- Improved memory compatibility.
 - Improved M.2 device compatibility.
 - Improved Windowns7 compatibility.

Quote
1. Do not update this BIOS if you're currently using windows7
 2. This BIOS doesn't support Windows7.

They break the Legacy Boot in Bios so now u can't boot in Linux not only Windows 7 :>>>
Logged
X370 XPower Gaming Titanium - E7A31AMS.1D2 | AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @Stock | G.Skill F4-3200C16-32GTZR (Hynix H5AN8G8NAFR-TFC) 32GB (4x8GB) @2933Mhz XMP Profile 1
Seasonic X-750W 2010 | Asus Strix 380 2GB | 256GB 960 EVO M.2 , 1TB Crucial MX300 M.2 , 120GB 840 EVO , 2 x 1TB WD Blue HDD | Windows 7 x64 :>

jamin280672Topic starter

  • STAFF SERGEANT
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
« Reply #326 on: 27-March-18, 19:11:08 »

It's even better on the B350-TOMAHAWK : https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/support/B350-TOMAHAWK

Version 7A34v1G Release Date 2018-03-20 File Size 10.18 MB
- Improved memory compatibility.
 - Improved M.2 device compatibility.
 - Improved Windowns7 compatibility.

They break the Legacy Boot in Bios so now u can't boot in Linux not only Windows 7 :>>>


That's got to be a typo on MSI's side, how can you have [font="Segoe UI","Helvetica Neue","Liberation Sans","Nimbus Sans L",Arial,sans-serif]Improved Windowns7 compatibility, ut then says, doesn't support windows 7[/font][/color]
Logged

makar0niasty

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
« Reply #327 on: 27-March-18, 19:45:10 »

It's even better on the B350-TOMAHAWK : https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/support/B350-TOMAHAWK

Version 7A34v1G Release Date 2018-03-20 File Size 10.18 MB
- Improved memory compatibility.
 - Improved M.2 device compatibility.
 - Improved Windowns7 compatibility.

They break the Legacy Boot in Bios so now u can't boot in Linux not only Windows 7 :>>>
so notes say "Improved Windows7 Compatibility"
then below:
1. Do not update this BIOS if you're currently using windows7
 2. This BIOS doesn't support Windows7.

lulz :D
Indeed, definitely an improvement...kudos to MSI dev team :D
Logged

rindman

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
« Reply #328 on: 30-March-18, 10:05:56 »

Since agesa 1.10.0-Pinacle1.0.0.1, the, memory compatibility have improved, but I have more cold bug at boots. And memory Try it is not working anymore. I often have the "cmos cleared" and the options for loading the profile ...

The only thing that's fixed, is manual overclocking without the possibility of keeping Cool'N'Quiet working.
Logged

makar0niasty

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
« Reply #329 on: 30-March-18, 19:19:52 »

hmm a question - anybody has any idea why does the latest Bios 7A32v1E released on 09/03/2018 claims to be incompatible with Win  7? That's some joke on MSI side ?

And to add a new twist...looks like MSI updated this and REMOVED any information about Windows 7...now its a question - yet another mistake on MSI side ? (Boy they are going downhill....)
Logged

nonamelab

  • STAFF SERGEANT
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 53
« Reply #330 on: 01-April-18, 19:26:06 »

Changelogs are just copy&paste since all have same misspelling : Improved Windowns7 compatibility. In MSI words this would be a sub par bios for a sub par motherboard :>
Logged
X370 XPower Gaming Titanium - E7A31AMS.1D2 | AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @Stock | G.Skill F4-3200C16-32GTZR (Hynix H5AN8G8NAFR-TFC) 32GB (4x8GB) @2933Mhz XMP Profile 1
Seasonic X-750W 2010 | Asus Strix 380 2GB | 256GB 960 EVO M.2 , 1TB Crucial MX300 M.2 , 120GB 840 EVO , 2 x 1TB WD Blue HDD | Windows 7 x64 :>

makar0niasty

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
« Reply #331 on: 05-April-18, 17:09:33 »

Changelogs are just copy&paste since all have same misspelling : Improved Windowns7 compatibility. In MSI words this would be a sub par bios for a sub par motherboard :>
Yeah..I am already starting to regret going MSI :S
And to make it even funnier - Win7 warning is back....:censored: MSI ?
Logged

jamin280672Topic starter

  • STAFF SERGEANT
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
« Reply #332 on: 06-April-18, 19:02:31 »

I just fell in love with MSI and AMD all over again, and the latest bios, Im currently on the Windows 10 insider program and after the last update, its been playing up with a few crashes from edge browser, so decided to download the ISO and do a full format, im using 2 x Samsung 960 250gb nvme drives on this board, with 1 x western digital green 4tb just for backing up stuff too, anyway, like I said I decided to wipe and re-install, this starts with downloading the latest drivers, and whilst getting the AMD drivers from the AMD website themselves, I noticed they have very quietly enabled RAID for nvme drives on X370 boards, with the latest bios update too, "not mentioned in any bios update notes", something ive been after from the beginning, im now here on a fresh install of Windows 10 on nvme RAID 0., this mean I wont be upgrading to X470 or RyZen 2, saves me some money, i'll leave my upgrade until RyZen 3 next year now.
Logged

paulinew

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 24
« Reply #333 on: 07-April-18, 04:24:19 »

This latest bios has caused my 1700X to be stuck at 3.5ghz all the time its not down clocking its just stuck wide open at 3.5, i messaged support who were no help at all ive tried all the suggestions to correct the issue but nothing works. I dont have my CPU overclocked its all stock and because you can no longer downgrade the bios im stuck until MSI update the bios again. If someone has a idea how to correct this issue id be glad to hear there ideas as i cannot overclock my CPU incase strange stuff happens so im stuck
Logged

virus-atl

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
« Reply #334 on: 10-April-18, 14:17:35 »

Anybody test new bios 7A32v1F?
Logged

jamin280672Topic starter

  • STAFF SERGEANT
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
« Reply #335 on: 10-April-18, 15:46:40 »

Anybody test new bios 7A32v1F?


Just downloaded it, will flash it very soon, cant be any worse then E lets face it, but everything is running slow here as Virgin Media have buggered up my Broadband, I now have to wait 4 days for an engineer to visit, so for now, ive tethered my mobile phone to my PC "something im not really allowed to do on my contract" and using the mobile data to access the net on my PC.
Logged

virus-atl

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
« Reply #336 on: 10-April-18, 16:01:07 »

Anybody test new bios 7A32v1F?

Have the same bugs(memory, cache, VM) that 7A32v1E - no improvements. Revert back to 7A32vC0
Logged

jamin280672Topic starter

  • STAFF SERGEANT
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
« Reply #337 on: 10-April-18, 16:11:09 »

Have the same bugs(memory, cache, VM) that 7A32v1E - no improvements. Revert back to 7A32vC0


Have you Successfully back flashed to C ? I wasn't sure if it was possible ?
Logged

virus-atl

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
« Reply #338 on: 10-April-18, 17:02:00 »

Have you Successfully back flashed to C ? I wasn't sure if it was possible ?

Instruction(not guarantee, you broke you bios) =)))):
https://forum-de.msi.com/index.php?topic=113838.0
Logged

jamin280672Topic starter

  • STAFF SERGEANT
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
« Reply #339 on: 10-April-18, 17:47:56 »

Instruction(not guarantee, you broke you bios) =)))):
https://forum-de.msi.com/index.php?topic=113838.0


I'll leave it thanks, the new bios F comes with some new features.

Plus my nvme RAID 0 Scores are up
Cinebench scores are up

All on the same overclock ive always used, R7 1700 @ 3.9ghz, 16gb G.Skill Trident Z CL16 @ 3200mhz
Logged

lyraull

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
« Reply #340 on: 11-April-18, 15:59:12 »

Each new Bios lowers the speed :undecided:


G.Skill Ripjaws V Black DDR4 3466
AMD Ryzen 1600X 4.1Ghz
7A32v1F= 45000
7A32v1E=47000
7A32v1C=49000
7A32v19= 51000
BETA V1.97= 56000
Logged

kameraider_9

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
« Reply #341 on: 11-April-18, 16:50:37 »

Each new Bios lowers the speed :undecided:


G.Skill Ripjaws V Black DDR4 3466
AMD Ryzen 1600X 4.1Ghz
7A32v1F= 45000
7A32v1E=47000
7A32v1C=49000
7A32v19= 51000
BETA V1.97= 56000

To say that there was improvement compared to the Ryzen 1000 when they launched Ryzen 2000
Logged

neonaus

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 30
« Reply #342 on: 14-April-18, 22:58:36 »

Each new Bios lowers the speed :undecided:


G.Skill Ripjaws V Black DDR4 3466
AMD Ryzen 1600X 4.1Ghz
7A32v1F= 45000
7A32v1E=47000
7A32v1C=49000
7A32v19= 51000
BETA V1.97= 56000


I want to flash back to C  but on the odd chance something goes wrong Its too much for me to handle.... 
with these decreases in memory bandwidth does this impact Gaming performance?
Logged

julianphilipp

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
« Reply #343 on: 17-April-18, 13:24:15 »

It might affect the gaming performance a bit, but I'm not sure if you will actually notice the difference. I cannot recommend to update the bios after 1C0 and I also successfully downgraded the bios, but that's nothing anyone can/should do. I just hope that there will be an update to fix this soon.
Logged

jofu77

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
« Reply #344 on: 17-April-18, 15:26:01 »

Not sure I am in the right place but after updating the Bios to Version F of the x370 pro gaming carbon, nothing but blue screens. 
after trial and error i fixed the issue by keeping memory frequency at auto which lowers my ram to 2133, before bios update ran memory at 2400mhz and xmp profile 2 no issues. even keeping xmp off and setting memory to 2400mhz blue screen errors. Only works when set to auto memory and lower 2133 mhz, any way to fix this?

I sent this to MSI tech support and their answer was  - 'Overclocking is never guaranteed' 

Specs: 
1800x Ryzen (no overclock)
2 8Gb Memory Gskill 2400mhz
500tb SSD + 2GB HD
MSI 1070 Graphics
Logged

kameraider_9

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
« Reply #345 on: 17-April-18, 19:21:56 »

Not sure I am in the right place but after updating the Bios to Version F of the x370 pro gaming carbon, nothing but blue screens.
after trial and error i fixed the issue by keeping memory frequency at auto which lowers my ram to 2133, before bios update ran memory at 2400mhz and xmp profile 2 no issues. even keeping xmp off and setting memory to 2400mhz blue screen errors. Only works when set to auto memory and lower 2133 mhz, any way to fix this?

I sent this to MSI tech support and their answer was  - 'Overclocking is never guaranteed'

Specs:
1800x Ryzen (no overclock)
2 8Gb Memory Gskill 2400mhz
500tb SSD + 2GB HD
MSI 1070 Graphics

If you are not having any issue with old BIOS. Do a downgrade and Be happy.
Logged

lyraull

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
« Reply #346 on: 17-April-18, 20:25:21 »

After running the risk of downloading the BIOS version 7A32v1F, i prefer the BETA version 1.97 the one that works best.


Ryzen 1600X 1,370v 4,1Ghz, Ram 3466Mhz :biggthumbsup:
Sometimes it goes up and down the memory reading from 52 to 57, I suppose it will be for the use of the PC, but it's never lower than 52. :typing:
Logged

jderas

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
« Reply #347 on: 17-April-18, 21:51:17 »

For those looking to downgrade, my experience so far is that it works reliably.  Actually you can use the released UEFI script/tool to upgrade and downgrade.  I've tried rev E -> C, E -> F, C->F, F->C, all without issues.  Remember to always clear CMOS and load the defaults with each new BIOS image.
Logged

julianphilipp

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14
« Reply #348 on: 18-April-18, 10:19:06 »

Is there a difference between clearing the CMOS and loading the default settings?

And does the 1600X have a slower cache than a 1700? Because I get significantly higher L1 and L2 speeds at a lower CPU clock.

Logged

neonaus

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 30
« Reply #349 on: 18-April-18, 10:55:57 »

I was easily able to flash back to C bios a user on overclock called SirShrek uploaded the flash utility ready to go back to bios C just copy across and run no editing required

http://www.overclock.net/forum/27187225-post504.html
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8   Go Up