Close

Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Unable to boot with Optane.  (Read 4933 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

pstepanoffTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Unable to boot with Optane.
« on: 18-November-17, 14:17:30 »

After adding the optane 32GB memory module and activating Optane Genie, I am unable to boot into windows. Keep getting message "Reboot and select proper BOOT device."
After rebooting and disabling the Optane Genie the system boots fine into my Windows 10 Pro. Why can't I boot with Optane installed and activated?
Logged

badboy2k

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8561
Re: Unable to boot with Optane.
« Reply #1 on: 18-November-17, 14:26:21 »

before you enabled optane did you download the Optane setup program and install it on your Computers hard drive?

if not do so before you go back to the BIOS to turn on Optane!
Logged
OS: Windows7 professional SP1 64bit (OEM)
Motherboard: MSI 790FX-GD70 (bios 1.17) AM3
Processor:AMD phenom IIx4 955 black edition 3.2GHz processor(Clock speed of 4GHz)
Cooler: corsair H100 cooler
Ram: 16GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600MHz ram (2 dual channel kits model: CMP8GX3M2A1600C9) (underclocked at 1333MHz)
GPU: 1: MSI R7870 -2GD5T/OC @ 1155mhz , 2: MSI R7850-Twin Frozer 2GD5/OC @ 925mhz
PSU: Thermaltake tougthpower 1500W (+12v1 20A, +12v2 20A, +12v3 40A, +12v4 40A) (+12v1=20+4 connector, +12v2=CPU power, +12v3=PCI_E connections, +12v4 = molex+sata+PCI_E connectors  )
Extras: 1 x 4 port raid card (model SIL3114) ASUS Xonar Essence STX sound card PCI-E X1.

pstepanoffTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Unable to boot with Optane.
« Reply #2 on: 18-November-17, 14:59:22 »

Yes, I tried that, but it will not let me install the app. It says that my BIOS is not compatible.......Go Figure!
Logged

badboy2k

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8561
Re: Unable to boot with Optane.
« Reply #3 on: 18-November-17, 15:15:13 »

what board exactly do you have?
Logged
OS: Windows7 professional SP1 64bit (OEM)
Motherboard: MSI 790FX-GD70 (bios 1.17) AM3
Processor:AMD phenom IIx4 955 black edition 3.2GHz processor(Clock speed of 4GHz)
Cooler: corsair H100 cooler
Ram: 16GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600MHz ram (2 dual channel kits model: CMP8GX3M2A1600C9) (underclocked at 1333MHz)
GPU: 1: MSI R7870 -2GD5T/OC @ 1155mhz , 2: MSI R7850-Twin Frozer 2GD5/OC @ 925mhz
PSU: Thermaltake tougthpower 1500W (+12v1 20A, +12v2 20A, +12v3 40A, +12v4 40A) (+12v1=20+4 connector, +12v2=CPU power, +12v3=PCI_E connections, +12v4 = molex+sata+PCI_E connectors  )
Extras: 1 x 4 port raid card (model SIL3114) ASUS Xonar Essence STX sound card PCI-E X1.

pstepanoffTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Unable to boot with Optane.
« Reply #4 on: 18-November-17, 15:46:17 »

Sorry, that was the reason for my double post I neglected to list the details. This Board format is new to me and I haven't quite grasped it yet! :)
I have the M5 board with the latest 170 BIOS. I don't understand why the Optane setup program won't install and is telling me the BIOS is not correct!
Logged

badboy2k

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8561
Re: Unable to boot with Optane.
« Reply #5 on: 18-November-17, 15:50:56 »

z170, z270 or z370 or something else as there are many M5 Boards MSI have made?


have you checked Intels Guide how to install optane? https://www.intel.co.uk/content/www/uk/en/support/articles/000023845/memory-and-storage/intel-optane-memory.html
Logged
OS: Windows7 professional SP1 64bit (OEM)
Motherboard: MSI 790FX-GD70 (bios 1.17) AM3
Processor:AMD phenom IIx4 955 black edition 3.2GHz processor(Clock speed of 4GHz)
Cooler: corsair H100 cooler
Ram: 16GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600MHz ram (2 dual channel kits model: CMP8GX3M2A1600C9) (underclocked at 1333MHz)
GPU: 1: MSI R7870 -2GD5T/OC @ 1155mhz , 2: MSI R7850-Twin Frozer 2GD5/OC @ 925mhz
PSU: Thermaltake tougthpower 1500W (+12v1 20A, +12v2 20A, +12v3 40A, +12v4 40A) (+12v1=20+4 connector, +12v2=CPU power, +12v3=PCI_E connections, +12v4 = molex+sata+PCI_E connectors  )
Extras: 1 x 4 port raid card (model SIL3114) ASUS Xonar Essence STX sound card PCI-E X1.

pstepanoffTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Unable to boot with Optane.
« Reply #6 on: 18-November-17, 16:35:00 »

Yes I have. I printed out the PDF and have it in front of me.  I followed the instructions to a letter, I'm not sure why I'm having this problem.  It just doesn't make any sense, but I must be overlooking something.

This is the only problem I've had with this build, everything else is working as it supposed to. I have been building my systems for a lot of years but, this is my first MSI Motherboard in a while, I was hoping someone here may have had  a similar issue.
Logged

pstepanoffTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Unable to boot with Optane.
« Reply #7 on: 18-November-17, 18:33:46 »

Ok, I think I found what's causing the problem.
Looks my system is booting into Legacy BIOS mode, and the Optane software requires UEFI. I have the "Legacy + UEFI boot"  in in the Setup, if I change it to "UEFI" the system does not boot it jus keeps returning back to the  Setup screen.  The only way it boots is in Legacy + UEFI mode making it a Legacy Boot.
Is there anyway to change the Boot System in my WIN 10 Pro OS to force the boot into UEFI, without having to reinstall the whole thing and lose all my data?
Logged

badboy2k

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8561
Re: Unable to boot with Optane.
« Reply #8 on: 18-November-17, 18:52:48 »

Ok, I think I found what's causing the problem. Looks my system is booting into Legacy BIOS mode, and the Optane software requires UEFI. I have the "Legacy + UEFI boot" in in the Setup, if I change it to "UEFI" the system does not boot it jus keeps returning back to the Setup screen. The only way it boots is in Legacy + UEFI mode making it a Legacy Boot. Is there anyway to change the Boot System in my WIN 10 Pro OS to force the boot into UEFI, without having to reinstall the whole thing and lose all my data?

oh no that is BAD as you would need to reinstall the OS while the board is in UEFI mode with Windows WHQL turned on to make it full UEFI mode!
Logged
OS: Windows7 professional SP1 64bit (OEM)
Motherboard: MSI 790FX-GD70 (bios 1.17) AM3
Processor:AMD phenom IIx4 955 black edition 3.2GHz processor(Clock speed of 4GHz)
Cooler: corsair H100 cooler
Ram: 16GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600MHz ram (2 dual channel kits model: CMP8GX3M2A1600C9) (underclocked at 1333MHz)
GPU: 1: MSI R7870 -2GD5T/OC @ 1155mhz , 2: MSI R7850-Twin Frozer 2GD5/OC @ 925mhz
PSU: Thermaltake tougthpower 1500W (+12v1 20A, +12v2 20A, +12v3 40A, +12v4 40A) (+12v1=20+4 connector, +12v2=CPU power, +12v3=PCI_E connections, +12v4 = molex+sata+PCI_E connectors  )
Extras: 1 x 4 port raid card (model SIL3114) ASUS Xonar Essence STX sound card PCI-E X1.

pstepanoffTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Unable to boot with Optane.
« Reply #9 on: 18-November-17, 19:08:41 »

Well I guess I'll just run without the Optane. I don't want to go through reinstalling the OS and everything else that goes with it. I thought there may be an easier way to force the OS into UEFI boot.
This is not what I wanted to hear, but thanks anyway.
Logged

badboy2k

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8561
Re: Unable to boot with Optane.
« Reply #10 on: 18-November-17, 19:17:36 »

one thing that may work is if you backup the whole disk to another drive using a backup tool to make a full disk image

convert the disk to UEFI and GPT mode using the windows installer and then use the tool again to write the Backup back to the drive

this is risky though! so its upto you if you want to attempt it!
Logged
OS: Windows7 professional SP1 64bit (OEM)
Motherboard: MSI 790FX-GD70 (bios 1.17) AM3
Processor:AMD phenom IIx4 955 black edition 3.2GHz processor(Clock speed of 4GHz)
Cooler: corsair H100 cooler
Ram: 16GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600MHz ram (2 dual channel kits model: CMP8GX3M2A1600C9) (underclocked at 1333MHz)
GPU: 1: MSI R7870 -2GD5T/OC @ 1155mhz , 2: MSI R7850-Twin Frozer 2GD5/OC @ 925mhz
PSU: Thermaltake tougthpower 1500W (+12v1 20A, +12v2 20A, +12v3 40A, +12v4 40A) (+12v1=20+4 connector, +12v2=CPU power, +12v3=PCI_E connections, +12v4 = molex+sata+PCI_E connectors  )
Extras: 1 x 4 port raid card (model SIL3114) ASUS Xonar Essence STX sound card PCI-E X1.

pstepanoffTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Unable to boot with Optane.
« Reply #11 on: 19-November-17, 05:28:42 »

Yes , that may be worth a try.
There is another possibility: AOMEI Partition Assistant program claims to be able to convert boot partitions to UFEI on the fly without data loss. The cost is not prohibitive and it does look like nice software.
Of course it's also risky, but if it works it would certainly be worth a try. In any case I would make a disk partition image prior to any attempts.

Thanks for all the help.
Logged

badboy2k

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8561
Re: Unable to boot with Optane.
« Reply #12 on: 19-November-17, 14:34:07 »

before you try anything make sure to have a full disk backup image so you can get your stuff back if something goes wrong with a conversion!
Logged
OS: Windows7 professional SP1 64bit (OEM)
Motherboard: MSI 790FX-GD70 (bios 1.17) AM3
Processor:AMD phenom IIx4 955 black edition 3.2GHz processor(Clock speed of 4GHz)
Cooler: corsair H100 cooler
Ram: 16GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600MHz ram (2 dual channel kits model: CMP8GX3M2A1600C9) (underclocked at 1333MHz)
GPU: 1: MSI R7870 -2GD5T/OC @ 1155mhz , 2: MSI R7850-Twin Frozer 2GD5/OC @ 925mhz
PSU: Thermaltake tougthpower 1500W (+12v1 20A, +12v2 20A, +12v3 40A, +12v4 40A) (+12v1=20+4 connector, +12v2=CPU power, +12v3=PCI_E connections, +12v4 = molex+sata+PCI_E connectors  )
Extras: 1 x 4 port raid card (model SIL3114) ASUS Xonar Essence STX sound card PCI-E X1.

pstepanoffTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: Unable to boot with Optane.
« Reply #13 on: 19-November-17, 16:39:33 »

Will do.

Thanks
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up