Close

Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: GS65 Stealth - Fan volume  (Read 204 times)

josephdoyleTopic starter

• PRIVATE E-2
GS65 Stealth - Fan volume
« on: 26-April-19, 08:20:48 »

Ok i'm a noob regarding MSI gaming laptops and Dragon Center.

When i play a game (Pillars of Eternity), my Fan1 ramps up to max 4400 rpm and basically stays there.
If i stay on the same screen in the game for a few mins the fan calms down, but if i move again or load a new zone it's back up to max.

The fan is loud, i have to crank up the laptop volume to try and hear the game over it.
After playing for an hour i exit game and it's such a relief to have the fan quieten down again.

Dragon Center has settings: the fan is set to Auto.
Should i be adjusting these and manually turn down the rpms?

RaiderGamer

• MAJOR
Re: GS65 Stealth - Fan volume
« Reply #1 on: 26-April-19, 11:44:03 »

u can redo thermal paste

u can prop the back of the laptop up for better cooling

you can get a quieter usb fan that might help

you can uninstall some heavy apps that use too much resources

you can wear headphones

josephdoyleTopic starter

• PRIVATE E-2
« Reply #2 on: 26-April-19, 12:49:55 »

Hi

I only just received the laptop.
Have no other programs open when playing, besides what's running the background - but this is probably mostly MSI and Windows stuff.

Is it normal to have to adjust fan speed?
Is that what people do with these laptops?

msm_muddassir

• STAFF SERGEANT
« Reply #3 on: 28-April-19, 22:20:38 »

It is a thin gaming laptop you have got there, temperatures do go up fast the moment performance is required. Since these fans are capable of running real fast (and loud!) to get the most performance possible out of the hardware that is in there, there are actually situations where a more mild ramp is preferred. I actually enjoy tinkering and optimising, but I understand it is not everyone.