Close

Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: B350m Bazooka Vcore  (Read 1916 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

nepatsalldayTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
B350m Bazooka Vcore
« on: 06-February-18, 18:19:20 »

I updated my MB to the latest bios, 7A38v1A, and now my Vcore hovers around 1.45v in the bios. I have reset all everything back to default and reflashed. Stays at 1.45v for 20-30 seconds before dropping to normal range and then right back up again. Also, according to HWinfo it spikes at 1.52v. When I attempt to manually set the voltage to 1.3 volts, because now it wont allow the voltage below that, it locks my PC up on boot. It will only allow me to run the voltage on "auto". Is anyone else having these issues and is it possible to downgrade the BIOS?

Ryzen 1500x
Msi Bazooka
Team Dark 2400mhz
EVGA Gtx 1080
Logged

nepatsalldayTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
« Reply #1 on: 06-February-18, 21:15:59 »

I’ve reset the cmos and not sure what else to do. Any help would be appreciated. I’m afraid I’m going to damage my CPU and/or MB.

https://imgur.com/gallery/5x2po
Logged

gr33nbits

  • STAFF SERGEANT
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 90
« Reply #2 on: 07-February-18, 01:55:03 »

I updated my B350 Gaming Plus too and can't go bellow 1.3vcore also i was at 3.7ghz with 1.2375vcore since i can't go bellow 1.3vcore i bumped the speed to 3.8ghz with 1.3vcore seems stable and all good, something im really happy is that now my Gskill Tridendz 3200cl16 now work at 3200mhz and before could go past 2666mhz.
Logged
Ryzen 5 1600 @4.0 1.4v (H2O Cooled) | MSI B350 Gaming Plus 7A34vM7 | Gskill TridentZ 3200CL16 @3200mhz 1.35v | Gigabyte Aorus RX580 8gb | NZXT S340 (2x120mm Intake + 2x120mm Outake) | Corsair CX600 | SSD Evo 850 120gb + SSD Evo 850 250gb + 2x HDD 1Tb Western Digital Blue 7200rpm 64mb cache | LG 24MP68VQ-P ips@75hz Freesync + ASUS MG248Q tn@144hz Freesync | Gskill KM780RGB + Logitech 502 Proteus Spectrum @SteelSeries QCK+ | Logitech X-140 + Logitech G230

gr33nbits

  • STAFF SERGEANT
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 90
« Reply #3 on: 07-February-18, 01:59:55 »

Forgot to mention that my cpu is a Ryzen 5 1600.
Logged
Ryzen 5 1600 @4.0 1.4v (H2O Cooled) | MSI B350 Gaming Plus 7A34vM7 | Gskill TridentZ 3200CL16 @3200mhz 1.35v | Gigabyte Aorus RX580 8gb | NZXT S340 (2x120mm Intake + 2x120mm Outake) | Corsair CX600 | SSD Evo 850 120gb + SSD Evo 850 250gb + 2x HDD 1Tb Western Digital Blue 7200rpm 64mb cache | LG 24MP68VQ-P ips@75hz Freesync + ASUS MG248Q tn@144hz Freesync | Gskill KM780RGB + Logitech 502 Proteus Spectrum @SteelSeries QCK+ | Logitech X-140 + Logitech G230

nepatsalldayTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
« Reply #4 on: 07-February-18, 02:49:26 »

I may have found why it was spiking at 1.4 and 1.5 volts. This bios update apparently makes the core performance boost hate the motherboard and tries to destroy it. I turned off core performance and voltage stabilized. But after turning it off now the voltage drops from 1.265v to .85v before rebounding. At this point I’ll take it. At least it won’t burn my motherboard up. Hopefully some of these issues are ironed out soon.
Logged

Nichrome

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15708
« Reply #5 on: 07-February-18, 11:31:05 »

Hi

As far as I am aware, MSI made minimum voltage to be 1.3v. I do not know the reason for this though.
Logged
I only take responsibility for what I say, not for what you understand.  Any posts are my own views!

polkunov

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
« Reply #6 on: 07-February-18, 12:11:30 »

This is an obvious problem with the new BIOS, even if you did the voltage to the core 1.3 volt default with senseless dissipation at default frequencies, then call the default DDR voltage 1.55 volts, in my head. Do you have any idea how many memory modules will fail in humans who won't pay attention to it?
Logged

Nichrome

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15708
« Reply #7 on: 07-February-18, 12:13:31 »

This is an obvious problem with the new BIOS, even if you did the voltage to the core 1.3 volt default with senseless dissipation at default frequencies, then call the default DDR voltage 1.55 volts, in my head. Do you have any idea how many memory modules will fail in humans who won't pay attention to it?
What board are you running that you have DDR voltage as 1.5v in default? Is it B350M Gaming Pro by any chance?
Logged
I only take responsibility for what I say, not for what you understand.  Any posts are my own views!

polkunov

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
« Reply #8 on: 07-February-18, 12:40:35 »

Logged

Nichrome

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15708
« Reply #9 on: 07-February-18, 12:42:50 »

Yes it is B350M Gaming Pro
Ok, it's a known issue, and we already got BETA if you'd like to try. It apparently fixes DDR voltage.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/oeo3j9hficaf070/E7A39AMS.2D1?dl=0
Logged
I only take responsibility for what I say, not for what you understand.  Any posts are my own views!

nepatsalldayTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
« Reply #10 on: 07-February-18, 13:13:11 »

Im just curious if the vcore issue im having on my Bazooka as stated above is a known issue? Whether the core performance is turned on or off the vcore appears to bounce all over the place. I'd rather it bounce very low like it current does than bounce all the way up to 1.52v like it was with core performance boost on.
Logged

Nichrome

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15708
« Reply #11 on: 07-February-18, 13:16:34 »

Im just curious if the vcore issue im having on my Bazooka as stated above is a known issue? Whether the core performance is turned on or off the vcore appears to bounce all over the place. I'd rather it bounce very low like it current does than bounce all the way up to 1.52v like it was with core performance boost on.
No. Known issue is 1.5v on DDR on B350m Gaming Pro motherboard which we already received BETA BIOS for to fix it.
Unsure of this vcore spikes to be honest. Might get more information about it later on.
Logged
I only take responsibility for what I say, not for what you understand.  Any posts are my own views!

nepatsalldayTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
« Reply #12 on: 07-February-18, 14:12:24 »

No. Known issue is 1.5v on DDR on B350m Gaming Pro motherboard which we already received BETA BIOS for to fix it.
Unsure of this vcore spikes to be honest. Might get more information about it later on.
Ok. Thank you for your quick responses. I'll continue to mess around with it and see if I can find a solution.
Logged

shorne2159

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
« Reply #13 on: 04-June-18, 13:30:17 »

first of all i had a very same problem with sa and io voltages , 1.35. is not great at all ,with latest bios v4 this has been fixed and the voltage needed has been lowered a lot on both sa and io .as for your memory and xmp ,ive had trouble in the past with g skill memory and found very temperamental and often, xmp would not work .is your memory on the qvl list of compatible tested memory on msi site and on g skill site .ive had said compatable memory not work with xmp ,and found it is the memory module at fault not the motherboard .i changed to team memory and have now no problems at all runs xmp as stated overclocks better than g skill in my opinion.xmp works on setting it .if no xmp runs at 2133mghz as coffeelake max is 2666mghz and thats why the voltages went high on sa and io.but now msi have fixed that and the default voltages are much much lower so there is mjuch more headroom for overclocking memory .i have 8600k sli plus team menory dark pro 3200 mghz
Logged

Nichrome

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15708
« Reply #14 on: 04-June-18, 22:00:08 »

This has nothing to do with AMD system
Also open own topic. >>Please read and comply with the Forum Rules.<<

:nichlock:
Logged
I only take responsibility for what I say, not for what you understand.  Any posts are my own views!
Pages: [1]   Go Up