Close

Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: RGB Connections Questions  (Read 269 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ichichTopic starter

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
RGB Connections Questions
« on: 12-June-18, 23:47:10 »

Hello, I have an X470 Gaming Plus Board, and want to connect LED RGB Strips and Fans, which are not at the Compatibility List at Mystic Light.

I do not know much about the "devices". They have a 4 Pin RGB Connector, and Fans do have 4 Pin RGB Connector + 3 Pin PWM Connector.
Currenty, they are connected to a prebuilt-in RGB+PWM circuit board. But it has only 2 prebuilt in effects. I want to do something like music sync.

Can I simply connect the 4 pin RGB Connectors to the JRGB COnnectors at the Mainboard, and the 3 Pin PWM Connectors to the 4 Pin System Fan Connectors at the Mainboard?

Is this possible, even without having the devices or Brand written on the Compatibility List? And if this is possible, will I be able, to use all Effects, like Music Sync?

If you have an answer, please give me your answers to every point that I have written, so I can know what Im dealing with.

Thank you for reading!
Logged

badboy2k

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 8063
« Reply #1 on: 13-June-18, 01:54:55 »

what controller do you have exactly there?
Logged
OS: Windows7 professional SP1 64bit (OEM)
Motherboard: MSI 790FX-GD70 (bios 1.17) AM3
Processor:AMD phenom IIx4 955 black edition 3.2GHz processor(Clock speed of 4GHz)
Cooler: corsair H100 cooler
Ram: 16GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600MHz ram (2 dual channel kits model: CMP8GX3M2A1600C9) (underclocked at 1333MHz)
GPU: 1: MSI R7870 -2GD5T/OC @ 1155mhz , 2: MSI R7850-Twin Frozer 2GD5/OC @ 925mhz
PSU: Thermaltake tougthpower 1500W (+12v1 20A, +12v2 20A, +12v3 40A, +12v4 40A) (+12v1=20+4 connector, +12v2=CPU power, +12v3=PCI_E connections, +12v4 = molex+sata+PCI_E connectors  )
Extras: 1 x 4 port raid card (model SIL3114) ASUS Xonar Essence STX sound card PCI-E X1.

ichichTopic starter

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
« Reply #2 on: 13-June-18, 05:02:43 »

what controller do you have exactly there?

Hi, thank you for your answer.

I'm not sure what you could mean, but if youre talking about something like an RGB Controller, like the Corsair Commander Pro: I dont use it. I want to connect the fans with a raw 4pin RGB Connector. I know I cant connect all, but first I want just to connect the ones that I really see.

If youre tlaking about the prebuilt in backplate, it is a simple "nobrand" one, which was delivered with the case. On it, all the RGB things and Fans are connected, and some more stuff. The board is connected at the Power, via Floppy, and at a System Fan Port at the Mainboard. But I want to directly connect them to the board, because of eventually Mystic Light, and because of at the current state the RPM in the Bios switched from 0 to 1000 to 2000 like every second. I dont know if it is because of 3 pin (PWM?, or virtual PWM per board?), or because of the 3rd party board. But I would like to change it.

 If you mean the RGB Strips: I dont know anything about it, and couldnt find it. I just know it has an 4pin RGB Connector, and a 3 Pin PWM Fan Connector, on the prebuilt plate it says something like RGB+PWM Board.
Logged

badboy2k

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 8063
« Reply #3 on: 13-June-18, 14:02:22 »

ok you will probably need a RGB splitter (RGB header should be able to use around 4 of them before it reaches its limit!)

as for the fans them self you can connect them directly to the motherboard!
Logged
OS: Windows7 professional SP1 64bit (OEM)
Motherboard: MSI 790FX-GD70 (bios 1.17) AM3
Processor:AMD phenom IIx4 955 black edition 3.2GHz processor(Clock speed of 4GHz)
Cooler: corsair H100 cooler
Ram: 16GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600MHz ram (2 dual channel kits model: CMP8GX3M2A1600C9) (underclocked at 1333MHz)
GPU: 1: MSI R7870 -2GD5T/OC @ 1155mhz , 2: MSI R7850-Twin Frozer 2GD5/OC @ 925mhz
PSU: Thermaltake tougthpower 1500W (+12v1 20A, +12v2 20A, +12v3 40A, +12v4 40A) (+12v1=20+4 connector, +12v2=CPU power, +12v3=PCI_E connections, +12v4 = molex+sata+PCI_E connectors  )
Extras: 1 x 4 port raid card (model SIL3114) ASUS Xonar Essence STX sound card PCI-E X1.

ichichTopic starter

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
« Reply #4 on: 21-June-18, 13:23:47 »

ok you will probably need a RGB splitter (RGB header should be able to use around 4 of them before it reaches its limit!)

as for the fans them self you can connect them directly to the motherboard!

Hello, now I bought an additional 2meter RGB Strip, A 2meter Phanteks one. I connected it, and the connector looks like the ones from the case. Also I noticed a "1" on one side of the connector of the strips of the case. Maybe this is the Voltage one? But it is really big, so maybe its something else

But now I have a problem with the Phanteks one too. Its connector is BGR. But the JRGB Connector is GRB. And the ones from the case maybe RGB. So I cant really sync all the strips together. Well, I think I will stay the Case Ones just like they are, so I dont need a Splitter, and put the new one around my other table (my first one already has one, but its a simple remote one. Not especially for a PC. But I would like to know anyways, If I could just connect it to a splitte OR directy to the motherboardr, without being sure which side is the 12volt one.

And can this connection issue (RGB Order,12v+BRG,12v+GRB) harm the motherboard (or in long term) (or the strip), or is it just a dumb issue? Strip works when connected to it

Btw, I connected the fans successfully to the motherboard, while the LED connector of the fans is still in the prebuilt-in board.  And thank you for the answers

EDIT: Would the Phanteks RGB Extension Cable help, or is it just of you want the light start/end longer and not directly at the motherboard? Product ID: PH-CB_RGB4p) http://www.phanteks.com/PH-CB_RGB4P.html
It says something with GRB, which I would need
Or is it something like for Phanteks Cases? If they have something like my case? My case is not from Phanteks!

EDIT again: Saw in a vid, that their Phanteks Strip has GRB, so what I need. Why do I have BGR? Is it for Asus Mainboard or what. So the extension cable probably wont "convert" it right?

AGAIN
Or am I using the completely wrong side (the other one is a male connector), and I really need that extension to conect it to a Mainboard? I watched again on the product site, and it says:
1 x RGB LED Extension Connector (12V, G, R, B),
 1x Motherboard RGB LED Connector, 1x RGB LED Strip Connector

So probably I need the extra extension or what? But the Strip says BGR so that covnerts it tro GRB ior what

Probably nobody will understand what I mean.. I would delete this but maybe I need it later again
Logged

badboy2k

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 8063
« Reply #5 on: 21-June-18, 23:17:44 »

you would be better off asking phanteks about if that adapter flips the signals from the strip you have to the +12v,G,R,B format
Logged
OS: Windows7 professional SP1 64bit (OEM)
Motherboard: MSI 790FX-GD70 (bios 1.17) AM3
Processor:AMD phenom IIx4 955 black edition 3.2GHz processor(Clock speed of 4GHz)
Cooler: corsair H100 cooler
Ram: 16GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600MHz ram (2 dual channel kits model: CMP8GX3M2A1600C9) (underclocked at 1333MHz)
GPU: 1: MSI R7870 -2GD5T/OC @ 1155mhz , 2: MSI R7850-Twin Frozer 2GD5/OC @ 925mhz
PSU: Thermaltake tougthpower 1500W (+12v1 20A, +12v2 20A, +12v3 40A, +12v4 40A) (+12v1=20+4 connector, +12v2=CPU power, +12v3=PCI_E connections, +12v4 = molex+sata+PCI_E connectors  )
Extras: 1 x 4 port raid card (model SIL3114) ASUS Xonar Essence STX sound card PCI-E X1.
Pages: [1]   Go Up