Close

Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: System won't boot after changing VRAM  (Read 344 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
This topic contains a post which is marked as Best Answer. Press here if you would like to see it.

rickstoopTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
System won't boot after changing VRAM
« on: 09-October-18, 19:22:23 »

Hi Guys,

I'm stuck with a huge problem since my system doesn't boot anymore after switching VRAM frequency from DDR4-2800 to DDR4-2933
My system is : 
MSI x370 gaming plus mobo
ryzen 5 2600x 
MSI GFORCE GTX 1060 GamingX 6GB
[font=arial, helvetica, "Liberation Sans", sans-serif]G.Skill Aegis F4-3000C16D-16GISB[/font][/url]
[/color]
[font=arial, helvetica, "Liberation Sans", sans-serif]Sharkoon DG7000-G Rood[/font][/url]
[/color]
[font=arial, helvetica, "Liberation Sans", sans-serif]Seasonic Focus Plus 550 Gold[/font][/url]
[/color]
[font=arial, helvetica, "Liberation Sans", sans-serif]Samsung 970 Evo 250GB[/font][/color]

I tried to reboot my system using the CMOS reset (pins with screwdriver AND leaving battery out)
I also tried to replace some hardware but nothing seems to help!

I'm posting this here since I think it is BIOS related and don't know where else to post it!

Hopefully you guys can help me out!

Rick
Logged

Nichrome

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15741
« Reply #1 on: 09-October-18, 21:49:07 »

Hi

Clearing CMOS should've helped. Are you sure you have followed the instructions from the manual correctly?
Logged
I only take responsibility for what I say, not for what you understand.  Any posts are my own views!

rickstoopTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
« Reply #2 on: 09-October-18, 23:41:47 »

Thanks for the reply! 

I'm absolutely positive! Only I used a screwdriver instead of a jumper that's the only difference!
Logged

badboy2k

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8191
« Reply #3 on: 10-October-18, 00:48:21 »

did you:

1. Power off the computer but DO NOT unplug the power cord (system under S5/
Soft-off mode)
2. Use a jumper cap to short JBAT1 for about 5-10 seconds.
3. Remove the jumper cap from JBAT1.
4. Power on the computer.

but instead of using a cap use a screw driver?
Logged
OS: Windows7 professional SP1 64bit (OEM)
Motherboard: MSI 790FX-GD70 (bios 1.17) AM3
Processor:AMD phenom IIx4 955 black edition 3.2GHz processor(Clock speed of 4GHz)
Cooler: corsair H100 cooler
Ram: 16GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600MHz ram (2 dual channel kits model: CMP8GX3M2A1600C9) (underclocked at 1333MHz)
GPU: 1: MSI R7870 -2GD5T/OC @ 1155mhz , 2: MSI R7850-Twin Frozer 2GD5/OC @ 925mhz
PSU: Thermaltake tougthpower 1500W (+12v1 20A, +12v2 20A, +12v3 40A, +12v4 40A) (+12v1=20+4 connector, +12v2=CPU power, +12v3=PCI_E connections, +12v4 = molex+sata+PCI_E connectors  )
Extras: 1 x 4 port raid card (model SIL3114) ASUS Xonar Essence STX sound card PCI-E X1.

rickstoopTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
« Reply #4 on: 10-October-18, 07:30:48 »

That is correct! 

Even without the battery in the system it doesn't work! 
Is it possible that the battery is dead and that I need a new 3V for the mobo? Or is something else going on?
Logged

rbleroy91

  • MAJOR GENERAL
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3423
  • RBL_FR
« Reply #5 on: 10-October-18, 07:47:28 »

Hello,
1/ What do the EZ DEBUG LED just after you power on:

CPU one must light on and, after 1s, light off; then, same for DRAM LEDs; then, same for VGA LED. Of course, BOOT LED must then light on and remains on. Do you see that?
2/ How are the DIMM LED in front of each slot where you have a RAM stick?
3/ How is the PCI_E2 where you have the 1060 GPU?
4/ Do the CPU, GPU and PSU fans spin just after you power on (1060's must start that stop rapidly)?
Good luck,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.61)  –  Windows 7-10 Pro x64 (1803)  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 960 PRO 2TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse

rickstoopTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
« Reply #6 on: 10-October-18, 08:08:48 »

Thanks! 

I Just looked into it and only my CPU led goes on and off! 
With regard to the other LEDs, I don't see anything happing from my pov, is that not supposed to be? 
All fans are up and running and what you say about the gpu fans is true as well! Furthermore, all additional cosmetic LEDs from the mobo are alight as well!
Logged

Nichrome

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15741
« Reply #7 on: 10-October-18, 08:28:54 »

Other LEDs should lit up at least once for a second, as it's POSTing (power on self testing).
I would suggest to try tnother RAM and CPU if possible. Maybe colleague, friend, neighbour or local IT services/shop can help testing tifferent parts.
Logged
I only take responsibility for what I say, not for what you understand.  Any posts are my own views!
Marked as best answer by rickstoop on 12-October-18, 14:15:26

rbleroy91

  • MAJOR GENERAL
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3423
  • RBL_FR
« Reply #8 on: 10-October-18, 08:31:18 »

Hello,
1/ Try to exchange the battery cell with a new one.
2/ If that does not resolve, retry a clear CMOS:
- Power off pc, DO NOT unplug the power cord.
- Either
    . short JBAT1 during at least 20s
      (if you have not a jumper cap, use something like a screwdriver but be cautious to touch only the 2 pins of JBAT1) or
    . remove the battery cell during 30mn.

- Plug the power cord then power on.

3/ If #2 does not resolve, build a minimal configuration: CPU + CPU-Cooler + Only 1 RAM stick in DIMMA2 (2nd slot from CPU) + 1060 in PCI_E2 + PSU connected to CPU_PWR1, ATX_PWR1 and 1060's Power In (be aware to use only cables furnished with the PSU) + Keyboard/mouse, nothing else. Connect your monitor to the 1060. Do again a clear CMOS.
Good luck,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.61)  –  Windows 7-10 Pro x64 (1803)  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 960 PRO 2TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse

rickstoopTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
« Reply #9 on: 11-October-18, 16:24:12 »

Hi Guys, 

Thanks for the effort! 
I'm into the bios now, what I did was unplugging optical drive and Hdd from mobo and that was all! 

If there are some problems from now on I will keep you posted, otherwise it turned out back to normal! 

Cheers, Rick
Logged

rbleroy91

  • MAJOR GENERAL
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3423
  • RBL_FR
« Reply #10 on: 11-October-18, 17:04:03 »

I'm into the bios now, what I did was unplugging optical drive and Hdd from mobo and that was all!
Good news, happy for you! :pompom: 
Have a good day,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.61)  –  Windows 7-10 Pro x64 (1803)  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 960 PRO 2TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse

rickstoopTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
« Reply #11 on: 12-October-18, 09:56:33 »

Sadly i'm in more trouble now!

After clearing CMOS my system still says that my BIOS is damaged!
So what I did was trying to flash it with the 3 latest versions of the systems BIOS. 
The systeems does update them to the new BIOS (because I can see the name of the version change), however after flashing the system still says that the BIOS is damaged and I need to flash again.

What do I do?
Logged

rbleroy91

  • MAJOR GENERAL
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3423
  • RBL_FR
« Reply #12 on: 12-October-18, 17:54:16 »

Hello,
Good idea to open a specific topic because the problem is different! :biggthumbsup: 
My answer: >>BIOS damaged but can't be undamaged<<.
have a good day,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.61)  –  Windows 7-10 Pro x64 (1803)  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 960 PRO 2TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse
Pages: [1]   Go Up