Close

Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Z170A Gaming M7 After 3 years 00 error code  (Read 434 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

gameplayerTopic starter

  • STAFF SERGEANT
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
Z170A Gaming M7 After 3 years 00 error code
« on: 09-January-19, 01:49:08 »

I have had quite a few problems with my PC lately.
First it was a RAM issue which I fixed by replacing the RAM.
Then a new problem cropped up.

One morning the PC refused to bootup. 00 on the MB display.
I copied BIOS E7976IMS.1L0 to a FAT32 USB stick and renamed it MSI.ROM and did BIOS flashback using the flashback button on the MB.
All went well and I went into the BIOS screen.
I setup BIOS and Saved and Rebooted. The PC then kept going into the BIOS screen everytime I rebooted from BIOS.
I eventually powed off the PC.
Now I'm back to square one with 00 on the MB display and PC refuses to bootup (which was the original problem).

I also tested the PSU and it is fine.
MSI Gaming M7
6700K
GPU removed (using IGP for troubleshooting)
Logged
MB: Z170A Gaming M7; BIOS E7976IMS.1L0 (Latest)  |  CPU: Intel Skylake 6700k @4.3GHz  | GPU: MSI R9 390 8G  | RAM: 16GB (2 x 8GB) Corsair Vengence 3000MHz  | PSU: Thermeltake Toughpower Gold 750W  | SSD: Samsung 970 EVO M.2 Nvme 250GB + Sandisk SSD 250GB  |  iiyama 4k 40inch monitor via DisplayPort  |  OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit (1809)

plutomate

  • COLONEL
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2806
Re: Z170A Gaming M7 After 3 years 00 error code
« Reply #1 on: 09-January-19, 03:22:18 »

Does the problem come back after you "force" entering BIOS/power off for couple times?
If yes, check CPU socket and see if any bent pin in there, make sure there's not burnt mark on the CPU and do CLEAR CMOS.
Also, did you install system in UEFI mode before? the reason why you were forced to enter BIOS might be because you forget to install win8.1 WHQL support option in BIOS while you install system under pure UEFI mode before.
Logged

Nichrome

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16095
Re: Z170A Gaming M7 After 3 years 00 error code
« Reply #2 on: 09-January-19, 04:52:10 »

Hi

Have you removed any OC from CPU and memory?
Logged
I only take responsibility for what I say, not for what you understand.  Any posts are my own views!

https://valid.x86.fr/mbld36

gameplayerTopic starter

  • STAFF SERGEANT
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
Re: Z170A Gaming M7 After 3 years 00 error code
« Reply #3 on: 09-January-19, 05:24:15 »

Does the problem come back after you "force" entering BIOS/power off for couple times? NO
If yes, check CPU socket and see if any bent pin in there, make sure there's not burnt mark on the CPU and do CLEAR CMOS. I checked this three times (applied Artic Silver and refitted cooler). I have done Clear CMOS, removed the battery shorted the clear CMOS pins etc....
Also, did you install system in UEFI mode before? YES, Windows 10 Clean instal.
the reason why you were forced to enter BIOS might be because you forget to install win8.1 WHQL support option in BIOS while you install system under pure UEFI mode before. I set this to Win 8.1/10 WHQL Support - Enabled.
When the PC booted into BIOS after I did BIOS Flashback +, I setup the BIOS to my OC profile
CPU 4.0GHz to 4.3GHz
Ram 2133MHz to 3000 MHz and all the timings etc as per RAM specification. XMP ON
Set Date and Time
Enabled Win 8.1/10 WHQL Support, Disabled Win 7
Save and Exit.
PC booted back into BIOS by itself. Then kept doing this until I did Hard Power OFF.
Powered back on and got 00 on MB display.
Logged
MB: Z170A Gaming M7; BIOS E7976IMS.1L0 (Latest)  |  CPU: Intel Skylake 6700k @4.3GHz  | GPU: MSI R9 390 8G  | RAM: 16GB (2 x 8GB) Corsair Vengence 3000MHz  | PSU: Thermeltake Toughpower Gold 750W  | SSD: Samsung 970 EVO M.2 Nvme 250GB + Sandisk SSD 250GB  |  iiyama 4k 40inch monitor via DisplayPort  |  OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit (1809)

Nichrome

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16095
Re: Z170A Gaming M7 After 3 years 00 error code
« Reply #4 on: 09-January-19, 05:29:45 »

Remove all OC. Let CPU run on auto, and set RAM to 2133MHz.
Logged
I only take responsibility for what I say, not for what you understand.  Any posts are my own views!

https://valid.x86.fr/mbld36

gameplayerTopic starter

  • STAFF SERGEANT
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
Re: Z170A Gaming M7 After 3 years 00 error code
« Reply #5 on: 09-January-19, 05:49:01 »

Remove all OC. Let CPU run on auto, and set RAM to 2133MHz.
OK. I reflashed the BIOS and when the PC rebooted, I selected F2 to continue to Win10 and NOT F1 to run Setup.
PC booted up fine. So, what's next? Is it now safe to shut down and then do BIOS setup?
Logged
MB: Z170A Gaming M7; BIOS E7976IMS.1L0 (Latest)  |  CPU: Intel Skylake 6700k @4.3GHz  | GPU: MSI R9 390 8G  | RAM: 16GB (2 x 8GB) Corsair Vengence 3000MHz  | PSU: Thermeltake Toughpower Gold 750W  | SSD: Samsung 970 EVO M.2 Nvme 250GB + Sandisk SSD 250GB  |  iiyama 4k 40inch monitor via DisplayPort  |  OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit (1809)

Nichrome

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16095
Re: Z170A Gaming M7 After 3 years 00 error code
« Reply #6 on: 09-January-19, 05:55:02 »

Keep BIOS settings on default and see if it's stable for the next few days.
Unstable CPU can also cause code 00 to appear, had this happen when I tried to push my 6700K to 5.2GHz.
Logged
I only take responsibility for what I say, not for what you understand.  Any posts are my own views!

https://valid.x86.fr/mbld36

gameplayerTopic starter

  • STAFF SERGEANT
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
Re: Z170A Gaming M7 After 3 years 00 error code
« Reply #7 on: 09-January-19, 06:01:52 »

With everything at default and Windows 10 running, I Shut Down the PC and the problem has come back. (Now 00 on MB again).
Logged
MB: Z170A Gaming M7; BIOS E7976IMS.1L0 (Latest)  |  CPU: Intel Skylake 6700k @4.3GHz  | GPU: MSI R9 390 8G  | RAM: 16GB (2 x 8GB) Corsair Vengence 3000MHz  | PSU: Thermeltake Toughpower Gold 750W  | SSD: Samsung 970 EVO M.2 Nvme 250GB + Sandisk SSD 250GB  |  iiyama 4k 40inch monitor via DisplayPort  |  OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit (1809)

Nichrome

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16095
Re: Z170A Gaming M7 After 3 years 00 error code
« Reply #8 on: 09-January-19, 06:07:13 »

I'd suggest you test your CPU and RAM in different system. Might be faulty motherboard, but not quite sure to be honest.
Logged
I only take responsibility for what I say, not for what you understand.  Any posts are my own views!

https://valid.x86.fr/mbld36

gameplayerTopic starter

  • STAFF SERGEANT
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
Re: Z170A Gaming M7 After 3 years 00 error code
« Reply #9 on: 09-January-19, 06:15:55 »

I tried new RAM in the syatem today. Had the same problem. I will return the RAM tomorrow.

While the system was up, I ran CPU-Z and everything looked fine. I didn't stress test it though.
Logged
MB: Z170A Gaming M7; BIOS E7976IMS.1L0 (Latest)  |  CPU: Intel Skylake 6700k @4.3GHz  | GPU: MSI R9 390 8G  | RAM: 16GB (2 x 8GB) Corsair Vengence 3000MHz  | PSU: Thermeltake Toughpower Gold 750W  | SSD: Samsung 970 EVO M.2 Nvme 250GB + Sandisk SSD 250GB  |  iiyama 4k 40inch monitor via DisplayPort  |  OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit (1809)

gameplayerTopic starter

  • STAFF SERGEANT
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
Re: Z170A Gaming M7 After 3 years 00 error code
« Reply #10 on: 11-January-19, 17:54:11 »

I am still having this problem and it looks like the disease is spreading.....

I think we need MSI's help on this BRICKED MB issue.
Logged
MB: Z170A Gaming M7; BIOS E7976IMS.1L0 (Latest)  |  CPU: Intel Skylake 6700k @4.3GHz  | GPU: MSI R9 390 8G  | RAM: 16GB (2 x 8GB) Corsair Vengence 3000MHz  | PSU: Thermeltake Toughpower Gold 750W  | SSD: Samsung 970 EVO M.2 Nvme 250GB + Sandisk SSD 250GB  |  iiyama 4k 40inch monitor via DisplayPort  |  OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit (1809)

Nichrome

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16095
Re: Z170A Gaming M7 After 3 years 00 error code
« Reply #11 on: 11-January-19, 18:39:51 »

As I already said, it indicates to be faulty motherboard or CPU. If you still have warranty on motherboard, RMA it.
I'd RMA CPU as well, to be on a safe side.
Logged
I only take responsibility for what I say, not for what you understand.  Any posts are my own views!

https://valid.x86.fr/mbld36

gameplayerTopic starter

  • STAFF SERGEANT
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
Re: Z170A Gaming M7 After 3 years 00 error code
« Reply #12 on: 11-January-19, 19:51:20 »

No Warranty left on MB or CPU.
Logged
MB: Z170A Gaming M7; BIOS E7976IMS.1L0 (Latest)  |  CPU: Intel Skylake 6700k @4.3GHz  | GPU: MSI R9 390 8G  | RAM: 16GB (2 x 8GB) Corsair Vengence 3000MHz  | PSU: Thermeltake Toughpower Gold 750W  | SSD: Samsung 970 EVO M.2 Nvme 250GB + Sandisk SSD 250GB  |  iiyama 4k 40inch monitor via DisplayPort  |  OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit (1809)

Nichrome

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16095
Re: Z170A Gaming M7 After 3 years 00 error code
« Reply #13 on: 12-January-19, 03:13:13 »

Trying another CPU or motherboard could help you narrow down what's the issue, and eventually could replace CPU or motherboard. But in this case, it's a dead end.
Logged
I only take responsibility for what I say, not for what you understand.  Any posts are my own views!

https://valid.x86.fr/mbld36

rbleroy91

  • LIEUTENANT GENERAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4305
  • RBL_FR
Re: Z170A Gaming M7 After 3 years 00 error code
« Reply #14 on: 12-January-19, 05:12:44 »

Hello,
Because this mobo has the wonderfull Flashback+ option, I would try to load the V1.I0 (before the Intel patchs for Spectre/Meltdown) following exactly that:
- Power off PSU, unplug the power cord and wait that all mobo's leds light off.
- Keep the "Clear CMOS" button on the back panel pressed during at least 20s.
- Plug the power cord and power on.
- If you see the message, choose to load default values and change nothing at this time.
  If you do not, don't worry and go to the next.
- Get an USB pen having no more than 16GB (physical size) and create on it a single FAT32 (not FAT) partition (same size as the pen). Verify it with CHKDSK.
- Download >>Bios V1.I0<<.
- Extract then copy the file "E7976IMS.1I0" on the empty root of the USB pen.
- Rename "E7976IMS.1I0" to "MSI.ROM".
- Plug the USB pen into the "BIOS FLASHBACK+" port on the back panel:
[ ERROR: SPECIFIED ATTACHMENT MISSING ]
- Press the "BIOS FLASHBACK+" button on the back panel.
  => Does the button's LED (and the USB pen light if there is) flash? If not, wait 1-2mn after to have pressed the button...
- If Flashback+ has goodly ended (could require up to 10mn), power off PSU, unplug the power cord and wait 10s after all mobo's leds light off.
Hoping it shall help,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.61)  –  Windows 7-10 Pro x64 (1809)  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 970 PRO 1TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse

gameplayerTopic starter

  • STAFF SERGEANT
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
Re: Z170A Gaming M7 After 3 years 00 error code
« Reply #15 on: 13-January-19, 18:28:24 »

I think I will wait a while for Intel or MS to release some future Chipset update before trying anything more bearing in mind that the EEPOM (BIOS chip) have a limited number of re-writes.

It is unlikely that the MB or CPU are faulty as I am able to get the PC to Bootup and POST and go into Win 10 Desktop using a certain procedure as I described above.
Logged
MB: Z170A Gaming M7; BIOS E7976IMS.1L0 (Latest)  |  CPU: Intel Skylake 6700k @4.3GHz  | GPU: MSI R9 390 8G  | RAM: 16GB (2 x 8GB) Corsair Vengence 3000MHz  | PSU: Thermeltake Toughpower Gold 750W  | SSD: Samsung 970 EVO M.2 Nvme 250GB + Sandisk SSD 250GB  |  iiyama 4k 40inch monitor via DisplayPort  |  OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit (1809)

rbleroy91

  • LIEUTENANT GENERAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4305
  • RBL_FR
Re: Z170A Gaming M7 After 3 years 00 error code
« Reply #16 on: 14-January-19, 02:20:48 »

Hello,
Quote
Bearing in mind that the EEPOM (BIOS chip) have a limited number of re-writes.
I think you will never get the limit number of rewrites.
Quote
It is unlikely that the MB or CPU are faulty as I am able to get the PC to Bootup and POST and go into Win 10 Desktop using a certain procedure as I described above.
I think issue is not du to hard but to a bios partially corrupted. That is why I suggest to reload it knowing that this mobo has the wonderfull Flashback+ function.
Quote
I think I will wait a while for Intel or MS to release some future Chipset update.
You may be disppointed by Intel and MS priorities...
Have a good day,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.61)  –  Windows 7-10 Pro x64 (1809)  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 970 PRO 1TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse

gameplayerTopic starter

  • STAFF SERGEANT
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
Re: Z170A Gaming M7 After 3 years 00 error code
« Reply #17 on: 14-January-19, 19:40:34 »

I think issue is not du to hard but to a bios partially corrupted. That is why I suggest to reload it
Thanks for the reply, much appreciated. 

So, how can a new BIOS download from the MSI website (for example V.1L0) get (partially) corrupted if loaded onto clean (formatted FAT32 USB)?

And why go back to BIOS V.1I0?
Logged
MB: Z170A Gaming M7; BIOS E7976IMS.1L0 (Latest)  |  CPU: Intel Skylake 6700k @4.3GHz  | GPU: MSI R9 390 8G  | RAM: 16GB (2 x 8GB) Corsair Vengence 3000MHz  | PSU: Thermeltake Toughpower Gold 750W  | SSD: Samsung 970 EVO M.2 Nvme 250GB + Sandisk SSD 250GB  |  iiyama 4k 40inch monitor via DisplayPort  |  OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit (1809)

Nichrome

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16095
Re: Z170A Gaming M7 After 3 years 00 error code
« Reply #18 on: 15-January-19, 02:36:15 »

I had this issue happen on my Z170 Xpower. It turned out that BIOS switch was faulty, and MSI just replaced my board with functional one. But yes, still had warranty. And it did boot fine once or twice after BIOS flash, then went bad again. Would function normal though once booted.
Logged
I only take responsibility for what I say, not for what you understand.  Any posts are my own views!

https://valid.x86.fr/mbld36

rbleroy91

  • LIEUTENANT GENERAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4305
  • RBL_FR
Re: Z170A Gaming M7 After 3 years 00 error code
« Reply #19 on: 15-January-19, 02:55:00 »

Hello,
Quote
And why go back to BIOS V.1I0?
I explained in my previous post: "because this mobo has the wonderfull Flashback+ option, I would try to load the V1.I0 (version just before the Intel patchs for Spectre/Meltdown)". I sugested to load again bios with Flashback+ bacuse that could correct your issue.
Good luck,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.61)  –  Windows 7-10 Pro x64 (1809)  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 970 PRO 1TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse

gameplayerTopic starter

  • STAFF SERGEANT
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
Re: Z170A Gaming M7 After 3 years 00 error code
« Reply #20 on: 15-January-19, 15:53:37 »

Yes, Spectre/Meldown seems to be the culprit.
There are reports from Windows insiders reporting no bootup or bootup loop after 1809 update atributing the problem to Spectre/Meldown corrupting the microcode.

Microsoft is rolling out Google's Retpoline replacement for Spectre/Meltdown code named 19H1 in 2019. (Hopefully, the Bootup problem will be addressed by this patch).

Looks like both Intel and AMD processors may be effected by a Spectre flaw.

There may be a way to fix this issue without BIOS rollback. I am looking into it.

Unfortuantely, I am away from home for the next 2 to 3 weeks so, won't be able to apply any fix until some time next month.
Logged
MB: Z170A Gaming M7; BIOS E7976IMS.1L0 (Latest)  |  CPU: Intel Skylake 6700k @4.3GHz  | GPU: MSI R9 390 8G  | RAM: 16GB (2 x 8GB) Corsair Vengence 3000MHz  | PSU: Thermeltake Toughpower Gold 750W  | SSD: Samsung 970 EVO M.2 Nvme 250GB + Sandisk SSD 250GB  |  iiyama 4k 40inch monitor via DisplayPort  |  OS: Windows 10 Pro 64bit (1809)

rbleroy91

  • LIEUTENANT GENERAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4305
  • RBL_FR
Re: Z170A Gaming M7 After 3 years 00 error code
« Reply #21 on: 15-January-19, 16:40:39 »

There may be a way to fix this issue without BIOS rollback. I am looking into it.
Unfortuantely, I am away from home for the next 2 to 3 weeks so, won't be able to apply any fix until some time next month.
Ok, let us known and give a chance to load of V1.I0 with Flashback+.
Good luck,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.61)  –  Windows 7-10 Pro x64 (1809)  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 970 PRO 1TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse
Pages: [1]   Go Up